DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to application filed 04/14/2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9-12, 16, 20, 23, 27, and 30 are amended. No claims are cancelled or added.
Response to Amendment
Rejection of claims 1, 12, 23, and 30 under U.S.C. § 112(b) is withdrawn.
Rejection of Claims 5, 16, and 27 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant clarified during the interview of 02/08/2026 that the IDS, filed 02/09/2024, and the IDS references cited in the IDS were split in two while providing a complete copy of the IDS references in the file wrapper. Examiner withdraws the IDs failure to comply with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/09/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 23-29 have been interpreted under 112(f) as a means plus function.
Claim 23 reciting “means for receiving,”, “means for monitoring”, and “means for stopping monitoring” has been interpreted under 112(f) as a means plus function. The corresponding structure is found at Fig. 13 and 14, and in the specification at ¶¶0172-0176, 0177.
Claim 28 reciting “means for receiving,” has been interpreted under 112(f) as a means plus function. The corresponding structure is found at Fig. 13 and 14, and in the specification at ¶¶0172-0176, 0177.
Claim 29 reciting “means for monitoring” has been interpreted under 112(f) as a means plus function. The corresponding structure is found at Fig. 13 and 14, and in the specification at ¶¶0172-0176, 0177.
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-14, 17-25, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. (US 20230141378 A1, hereinafter “Lai”), in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 20220408458 A1, hereinafter “MolavianJazi”), in view of Tsai et al. (US 20220150946 A1, hereinafter “Tsai”).
RE Claim 1, 12, 23, 30, Lai discloses an apparatus or method for wireless communications, or non-transitory computer-readable medium:
comprising:
one or more memories (Memory. ¶¶0117, 0121, Fig. 13:134); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Processor and memory. ¶¶0117, 0121, 0122, Fig. 13:128, 134; Non-transitory CRM. ¶0017, 0119, 121, 122), configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive, in a downlink channel (UE receives PDCCH indication from network. ¶0081, Fig. 5), an indication to stop monitoring (UE receives a PDCCH skipping indication, containing/carrying a specific DCI format from network. ¶0081, Fig. 5), after an activation time associated with the indication (UE applies the PDCCH skipping indication after a time period of an application delay, an activation time. ¶0081, Fig. 5), a plurality of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasions that the apparatus was previously scheduled to monitor (UE monitors PDCCH and stops after the time period of an application delay, an activation time. ¶0081, Fig. 5),
based on the indication, stop monitoring one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions after the activation time (PDCCH adaptation time period includes PDCCH skipping duration. ¶0016; PDCCH skipping information and indication used to indicate a duration that the UE is stop monitoring PDCCH. ¶0081, Fig. 5; UE monitors PDCCH after PDCCH skipping indication and stops monitoring PDCCH after end of the time period of an application delay. ¶0081, Fig. 5).
Lai does not explicitly disclose:
wherein at least one of the downlink channel or the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions is associated with at least one of a first stage downlink control information (DCI) of a two stage DCI or a second stage DCI of the two stage DCI and wherein the activation time comprises a starting application time associated with the indication;
based on the indication, monitor at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions after the activation time; and
However, Tsai discloses:
based on the indication, monitor at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions after the activation time (As described above, the present disclosure provides a mechanism for dynamic search space (SS) switching (or SS group switching) by a UE to efficiently reduce the PDCCH monitoring duration which may result in efficient power saving. ¶0059; In some implementations, a timer may be configured for SS (or SSG) switching. In some implementations, the UE may start or restart a timer when a UE detects at least one of: a specific DCI and a SS switching indication set to 1; any DCI on an SS associated with a specific SSG; and/or any DCI on any SS. Upon expiration of the timer, the UE may switch SS monitoring to a first SSG (e.g., to monitor the first SSG and stop monitoring a second SSG). ¶069; In some implementations, SS configuration parameters, such as monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset and/or duration in an SS Information Element (IE), may determine the specific slot(s) in the PDCCH that a UE monitors. In some implementations, parameters, such as monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot in SS and duration in ControlResourceSet IE, may determine at least a PDCCH monitoring occasion pattern within a slot. ¶0070; In some implementations, if a UE performs an SSG switching to a first SSG, the UE may monitor both the first SS sets in the first SSG and the second SS sets in the second SSG and/or all configured SS sets. In some implementations, if the UE performs an SSG switching to a second SSG, the UE may only monitor second SS sets in the second SSG and stop monitoring first SS sets in a first SSG. In some implementations, if the UE performs an SS switching to a second SSG (e.g., an empty SSG), the UE may not monitor any SS/SSS on a PDCCH. In some implementations, if the UE performs an SS switching to a second SSG (e.g., a dormant SSG), the UE may not monitor some specific SS/SSS on a PDCCH. In some implementations, if the UE performs an SS (or SSG) switching to a second SSG (e.g., a dormant SSG), the UE may only monitor some specific SS/SSS on a PDCCH within a specific time period (e.g., depending on a HARQ (ACK and/or NACK), timers, some events, etc.). ¶0080);
Lai and Tsai do not explicitly disclose:
wherein at least one of the downlink channel or the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions is associated with at least one of a first stage downlink control information (DCI) of a two stage DCI or a second stage DCI of the two stage DCI and wherein the activation time comprises a starting application time associated with the indication;
However, MolavianJazi discloses:
wherein at least one of the downlink channel or the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions is associated with at least one of a first stage downlink control information (DCI) of a two stage DCI or a second stage DCI of the two stage DCI (Two linked PDCCHs corresponding to two different search space sets. ¶0247; UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253) and wherein the activation time comprises a starting application time associated with the indication (In certain embodiments, a UE (such as the UE 116) determines a PDCCH monitoring occasion on an active DL BWP from the PDCCH monitoring periodicity, the PDCCH monitoring offset, and the PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot. For search space set s, the UE determines that a PDCCH monitoring occasion(s) exists in a slot with number n.sub.s,f.sup.μ in a frame with number n.sub.f if (n.sub.f.N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ+n.sub.s,f.sup.μ−o.sub.s) mod k.sub.s=0. The UE monitors PDCCH candidates for search space set s for T.sub.s consecutive slots, starting from slot n.sub.s,f.sup.μ, and does not monitor PDCCH candidates for search space set s for the next k.sub.s−T.sub.s consecutive slots.¶0144);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions for a period time before stopping PDCCH monitoring, with the teachings of Tsai, stop and start PDCCH monitoring of two different SSGs based on SSG switching for UE power saving, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for two associated DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. With the PDCCH monitoring adaptation method, the UE would immediately stop PDCCH monitor after recipient of the indicator resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0027, 0067, 0091; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250; Tsai: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0003-0006, 0025, 0067, 0078-0079)
RE Claim 2, 13, 24, Lai discloses an apparatus, a method:
wherein: the indication comprises a PDCCH skipping command for a time period (PDCCH adaptation time period includes PDCCH skipping duration. ¶0016; PDCCH skipping information and indication used to indicate a duration that the UE is stop monitoring PDCCH. ¶0081, Fig. 5); and
the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions are scheduled during the time period (PDCCH adaptation time period includes PDCCH skipping duration. ¶0016; PDCCH skipping information and indication used to indicate a duration that the UE is stop monitoring PDCCH. ¶0081, Fig. 5).
RE Claim 3, 14, 25, Lai discloses an apparatus, a method:
wherein: the indication comprises a search space set group (SSSG) switching command that indicates to switch from a first SSSG to a second SSSG (Explicit search space, SS, switching between two SSSGs indicated by DCI format 2_0 with bit field indicating SS Group 0 and SS Group 1. ¶0077; PDCCH skipping and SSSG switching. ¶0091; UE performs BWP switching during PDCCH adaption application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay, an activation time. The PDCCH adaptation starts after the application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay, an activation time. ¶0093; UE receives a DCI for BWP switching and PDCCH adaptation, an indication. PDCCH adaptation starts after the application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay, an activation time. ¶0094); and
the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions are associated with the first SSSG (UE performs BWP switching during PDCCH adaption application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay. The PDCCH adaptation starts after the application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay. ¶0093; UE receives a DCI for BWP switching and PDCCH adaptation, an indication. PDCCH adaptation starts after the application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay. ¶0094).
RE Claim 6, 17, 28, Lai does not explicitly disclose an apparatus, a method:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the first stage DCI.
However, MolavianJazi discloses:
wherein the one or more processors (¶¶0046-0050, Fig. 3) are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the first stage DCI (UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions for a period time before stopping PDCCH monitoring, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for two associated DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. Without the PDCCH monitoring adaptation method, the UE would immediately stop PDCCH monitor after recipient of the indicator resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0027, 0067, 0091; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250)
RE Claim 7, 18, 29, Lai discloses an apparatus, a method:
wherein to monitor the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions (UE receives a PDCCH skipping indication, containing/carrying a specific DCI format from network. ¶0081, Fig. 5; UE applies the PDCCH skipping indication after a time period of an application delay. ¶0081, Fig. 5; UE monitors PDCCH after PDCCH skipping indication and stops monitoring PDCCH after end of the time period of an application delay, an activation time. ¶0081, Fig. 5),
Lai does not explicitly disclose:
the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion for the second stage DCI associated with the first stage DCI that is scheduled after receiving the indication.
However, MolavianJazi discloses:
the one or more processors (¶¶0046-0050, Fig. 3) are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion for the second stage DCI associated with the first stage DCI that is scheduled after receiving the indication (UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate, an indication, for a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such an indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions for a period time before stopping PDCCH monitoring, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for two associated DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. Without the PDCCH monitoring adaptation method, the UE would immediately stop PDCCH monitor after recipient of the indicator resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0027, 0067, 0091; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250)
RE Claim 8, 19, Lai does not explicitly disclose an apparatus, a method:
wherein the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion associated with the first stage DCI comprises all PDCCH monitoring occasions for the second stage DCI associated with the first stage DCI that are scheduled after receiving the indication.
However, MolavianJazi discloses:
wherein the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion associated with the first stage DCI comprises all PDCCH monitoring occasions for the second stage DCI associated with the first stage DCI that are scheduled after receiving the indication (In one example, the UE can be provided, by higher layers, a mapping among a first PDCCH candidate for the first PDCCH that provides the first DCI format and one or multiple PDCCH candidates for the second PDCCH that provides the second DCI format. When such mapping provides multiple linked PDCCH candidates for the second PDCCH. ¶0250; UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate, an indication, for a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such an indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions for a period time before stopping PDCCH monitoring, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for a first DCI associated with multiple second DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. Without the PDCCH monitoring adaptation method, the UE would immediately stop PDCCH monitor after recipient of the indicator resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0027, 0067, 0091; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250)
RE Claim 9, 20, Lai discloses an apparatus, a method:
to cause the apparatus to monitor the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions (UE receives a PDCCH skipping indication, containing/carrying a specific DCI format from network. ¶0081, Fig. 5; UE applies the PDCCH skipping indication after a time period of an application delay. ¶0081, Fig. 5; UE monitors PDCCH after PDCCH skipping indication and stops monitoring PDCCH after end of the time period of an application delay, an activation time. ¶0081, Fig. 5),
to cause the apparatus to stop monitoring the one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions, the one or more processors (Processor and memory. ¶¶0117, 0121, 0122, Fig. 13:128, 134; Non-transitory CRM. ¶0017, 0119, 121, 122) are configured to cause the apparatus to stop monitoring the one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the first stage DCI that are scheduled after the activation time for the indication and before a second time the other first stage DCI is scheduled (UE performs BWP switching, a first stage DCI, during a PDCCH adaptation time period. UE switches bandwidth part, BWP, from BWP 0 to BWP 1 and will not apply or continue the PDCCH adaptation of BWP 0 in BWP 1 after switching to BWP 1, stops monitoring of PDCCH occasions associated with first stage DCI of BWP 0. UE may start or restart a PDCCH adaptation time period in BWP 1 after switching to BWP 1. ¶0096, Fig. 7).
Lai does not explicitly disclose:
wherein to cause the apparatus to receive the indication, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the indication in the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI);
the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor a PDCCH monitoring occasion associated with another first stage DCI of another two stage DCI;
However, MolavianJazi discloses:
wherein to cause the apparatus to receive the indication, the one or more processors (¶¶0046-0050, Fig. 3) are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the indication in the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI (UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253);
the one or more processors(¶¶0046-0050, Fig. 3) are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor a PDCCH monitoring occasion associated with another first stage DCI of another two stage DCI (UE includes a transceiver to receive a first PDCCH providing a first DCI and a second PDCCH providing a second DCI. UE processor configured to determine, monitoring, the values of the fields of the DCIs. ¶0074; UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251;); and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions that may include a first stage DCI during that time period, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for two associated DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. A UE may receive a first stage DCI during the PDCCH monitoring adaptation period indicating BWP switching and corresponding change in PDCCH monitoring. By adjusting the PDCCH adaptation method at a switching event, the UE can determine a selection of new search spaces and need for new PDCCH skipping indication resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0024, 0027, 0067, 0091-0092; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250)
RE Claim 10, 21, Lai discloses an apparatus, a method:
to cause the apparatus to monitor the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions (UE receives a PDCCH skipping indication, containing/carrying a specific DCI format from network. ¶0081, Fig. 5; UE applies the PDCCH skipping indication after a time period of an application delay. ¶0081, Fig. 5; UE monitors PDCCH after PDCCH skipping indication and stops monitoring PDCCH after end of the time period of an application delay, an activation time. ¶0081, Fig. 5),
Lai does not explicitly disclose:
wherein: the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the indication in the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI; and
the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with a single stage DCI.
However, MolavianJazi disclose:
wherein: the one or more processors (¶¶0046-0050, Fig. 3) are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the indication in the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI (UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253); and
the one or more processors(¶¶0046-0050, Fig. 3) are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with a single stage DCI (If search space is CSS set, the UE is provided by an indication to monitor PDCCH candidates for DCI format 1_0, single stage DCI. ¶0139).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions for a period time before stopping PDCCH monitoring, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for two associated DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. Without the PDCCH monitoring adaptation method, the UE would immediately stop PDCCH monitor after recipient of the indicator resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0027, 0067, 0091; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250)
RE Claim 11, 22, Lai does not explicitly disclose an apparatus, a method:
wherein to cause the apparatus to receive the indication, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the indication in at least one of:
the first stage DCI; or
the second stage DCI.
However, MolavianJazi discloses:
wherein to cause the apparatus to receive the indication, the one or more processors (¶¶0046-0050, Fig. 3) are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the indication in at least one of:
the first stage DCI (Two linked PDCCHs corresponding to two different search space sets. ¶0247; UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253); or
the second stage DCI (Two linked PDCCHs corresponding to two different search space sets. ¶0247; UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions for a period time before stopping PDCCH monitoring, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for two associated DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. Without the PDCCH monitoring adaptation method, the UE would immediately stop PDCCH monitor after recipient of the indicator resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0027, 0067, 0091; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250)
RE Claim 4, 15, 26, Lai discloses an apparatus, a method:
wherein: the first SSSG includes a first search space set (SSS) (Explicit search space, SS, switching between two SSSGs indicated by DCI format 2_0 with bit field indicating SS Group 0 and SS Group 1. ¶0077; PDCCH skipping and SSSG switching. ¶0091);
the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions are associated with the first SSS (Explicit search space, SS, switching between two SSSGs indicated by DCI format 2_0 with bit field indicating SS Group 0 and SS Group 1. ¶0077; PDCCH skipping and SSSG switching and which search space set(s) to monitor such as default SSSG, includes a first SSS. ¶¶0091-0092; UE performs BWP switching during PDCCH adaption application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay. The PDCCH adaptation starts after the application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay. ¶0093; UE receives a DCI for BWP switching and PDCCH adaptation, an indication. PDCCH adaptation starts after the application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay. ¶0094).
Lai does not explicitly disclose:
the second SSSG does not include the first SSS; and
However, Tsai discloses:
the second SSSG does not include the first SSS (New methods for a UE to dynamically/implicitly switch between different search space groups, SSGs, which includes different search spaces, SS, in each SSG. Based on network indication, the UE dynamically switches between the different SSGs. ¶0004; Explicit SS switching of two SSGs achieved via detection of a specific DCI. UE switches from the first SSG, first SSS and second SSS, to monitor the second SSG, different SSS, and stop monitoring the first SSG, first SSS and second SSS. ¶0067; First SS sets in a first SSG may be a sparse PDCCH monitoring and the second SS sets in the second SSG may be a frequent, e.g. dense, PDCCH monitoring. ¶0079); and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions for a period time before stopping PDCCH monitoring, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for two associated DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions, with the teachings of Tsai, two search space groups that have at least one search space not in common such as sparse versus dense PDCCH monitoring.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. UE adapts, switches, PDCCH monitoring for sparse or dense PDCCH monitoring resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0027, 0067, 0091; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250; Tsai: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0003-0006, 0025, 0067, 0078-0079)
RE Claim 5, 16, 27 Lai does not explicitly disclose an apparatus, a method:
wherein the first SSSG includes a first search space set (SSS) that corresponds to one of the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI and does not include a second SSS that corresponds to one of the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI, whichever does not correspond to the first SSS, and
wherein the SSSG switching command indicates to stop monitoring PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the first SSS and PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the second SSS).
However, MolavianJazi discloses:
wherein the first SSSG includes a first search space set (SSS) that corresponds to one of the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI and does not include a second SSS that corresponds to one of the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI, whichever does not correspond to the first SSS (Two linked PDCCHs corresponding to two different search space sets. ¶0247; UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253), and
Lai and MolavianJazi do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the SSSG switching command indicates to stop monitoring PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the first SSS and PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the second SSS).
However, Tsai discloses:
wherein the SSSG switching command indicates to stop monitoring PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the first SSS and PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the second SSS (New methods for a UE to dynamically/implicitly switch between different search space groups, SSGs, which includes different search spaces, SS, in each SSG. Based on network indication, the UE dynamically switches between the different SSGs. ¶0004; Explicit SS switching of two SSGs achieved via detection of a specific DCI. UE switches from the first SSG, first SSS and second SSS, to monitor the second SSG, different SSS, and stop monitoring the first SSG, first SSS and second SSS. ¶0067).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions for a period time before stopping PDCCH monitoring, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for two associated DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions, with the teachings of Tsai, two search space groups that have at least one search space not in common such as sparse versus dense PDCCH monitoring.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. UE adapts, switches, PDCCH monitoring for sparse or dense PDCCH monitoring resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0027, 0067, 0091; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250; Tsai: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0003-0006, 0025, 0067, 0078-0079)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 12, 23, and 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US-20240235787-A1 Shubhi et al.
“Multi-States Physical Downlink Control Channel Monitoring Adaptation”
A wireless device is configured with at least a first search-space set group, SSSG and a second SSSG. A method by the wireless device includes receiving a first indication to transition from the first SSSG to the second SSSG. Based on the first indication, the wireless device starts a SSSG-switching timer. While monitoring a Physical Downlink Control Channel, PDCCH, according to the second SSSG, the wireless device receives a second indication to transition to PDCCH skipping for a duration. When the SSSG-switching timer expires before the duration ends, the wireless device continues PDCCH skipping until the duration ends.
WO-2022271607-A1 Zhou et al.
“DOWNLINK CONTROL CHANNEL MONITORING ADAPTATION FOR CARRIER AGGREGATION”
A wireless device receives configuration parameters, of a first cell, indicating the first cell self-schedules the first cell and cross-carrier schedules a second cell. A downlink control information (DCI) is received via the first cell. In response to the DCI indicating self-scheduling and the DCI indicating skipping physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring, the wireless device: skips monitoring first PDCCH candidates, of the first cell, for self scheduling the first cell, and skips monitoring second PDCCH candidates, of the first cell, for cross-carrier scheduling the second cell.
US 20230262599 A1 Jung et al.
“POWER EFFICIENT PDCCH MONITORING”
Apparatuses, methods, and systems are disclosed for power efficient PDCCH monitoring. One apparatus includes a processor that monitors a first downlink control information (“DCI”) format according to a first search space configuration in a first cell, detects DCI of the first DCI format in the first cell scheduling at least one physical data channel on at least one slot of a second cell, and skips monitoring of a second DCI format on a set of physical downlink control channel (“PDCCH”) monitoring occasions of a plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions, the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions configured for the second DCI format by a second search space configuration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409