DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to application filed 11/27/2023.
Claims 1-30 are pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 02/09/2024 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the documents are incomplete copies. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
The first NPL document(s), two copies, included is “3GPP: "3rd Generation Partnership Project, Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network, NR, Physical Layer
Procedures for Control (Release 18)", 3GPP TS 38.213, V18.0.0, September 2023, pp. 1-286”. The attached NPL document referenced only includes pages 1-143. The document is incomplete.
The second NPL document is “3GPP: "3rd Generation Partnership Project, Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network, NR, Physical Layer
Procedures for Data (Release 18)", 3GPP TS 38.214 V18.0.0, September 2023, pp. 1-278.” The attached NPL document referenced only includes pages 141-278. The document is incomplete.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/20/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 23, 28, and 29 have been interpreted under 112(f) as a means plus function.
Claim 23 reciting “means for receiving,”, “means for monitoring”, and “means for stopping monitoring” has been interpreted under 112(f) as a means plus function. The corresponding structure is found at Fig. 13 and 14, and in the specification at ¶¶0172-0176, 0177.
Claim 28 reciting “means for receiving,” has been interpreted under 112(f) as a means plus function. The corresponding structure is found at Fig. 13 and 14, and in the specification at ¶¶0172-0176, 0177.
Claim 29 reciting “means for monitoring” has been interpreted under 112(f) as a means plus function. The corresponding structure is found at Fig. 13 and 14, and in the specification at ¶¶0172-0176, 0177.
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim s 1, 12, 23, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 12, 23, and 30 recites the limitation "receiving, in a downlink channel, an indication indicating to stop monitoring, after an activation time for the indication,". The limitation ‘after an activation time for the indication’ is indefinite as to a point in time or a time period claimed. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “after an activation time after receiving the indication”. Refer to Fig. 6A for Indication 606 preceding Activation Time 605 after which PDCCH monitoring occasions 620 are no longer monitored, stopped, as an interpretation.
Claims 5, 16, and 27 recites the limitation "does not include a second SSS corresponding to the other one of the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, i.e. ‘the other one of the first stage DCI’. For purposes of examination, ‘the other one’ is interpreted as ‘the first SSS of the first stage DCI’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-14, 17-25,and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. (US 20230141378 A1, hereinafter “Lai”), in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 20220408458 A1, hereinafter “MolavianJazi”), in view of Tsai et al. (US 20220150946 A1, hereinafter “Tsai”).
RE Claim 1 , 12, 23, 30, Lai discloses an apparatus or method for wireless communications, or non-transitory computer-readable medium:
comprising:
one or more memories (Memory. ¶¶0117, 0121, Fig. 13:134); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Processor and memory. ¶¶0117, 0121, 0122, Fig. 13:128, 134; Non-transitory CRM. ¶0017, 0119, 121, 122), configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive, in a downlink channel (UE receives PDCCH indication from network. ¶0081, Fig. 5), an indication indicating to stop monitoring (UE receives a PDCCH skipping indication, containing/carrying a specific DCI format from network. ¶0081, Fig. 5), after an activation time for the indication (UE applies the PDCCH skipping indication after a time period of an application delay, an activation time. ¶0081, Fig. 5), a plurality of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasions that the apparatus was previously scheduled to monitor (UE monitors PDCCH and stops after the time period of an application delay, an activation time. ¶0081, Fig. 5),
based on the indication, monitor at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions after the activation time (UE receives a PDCCH skipping indication, containing/carrying a specific DCI format from network. ¶0081, Fig. 5; UE applies the PDCCH skipping indication after a time period of an application delay, an activation time. ¶0081, Fig. 5; UE monitors PDCCH after PDCCH skipping indication and stops monitoring PDCCH after end of the time period of an application delay. ¶0081, Fig. 5); and
based on the indication, stop monitoring one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions after the activation time (PDCCH adaptation time period includes PDCCH skipping duration. ¶0016; PDCCH skipping information and indication used to indicate a duration that the UE is stop monitoring PDCCH. ¶0081, Fig. 5; UE monitors PDCCH after PDCCH skipping indication and stops monitoring PDCCH after end of the time period of an application delay. ¶0081, Fig. 5).
Lai does not explicitly disclose:
wherein at least one of the downlink channel or the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions is associated with at least one of a first stage downlink control information (DCI) of a two stage DCI or a second stage DCI of the two stage DCI.
However, MolavianJazi discloses:
wherein at least one of the downlink channel or the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions is associated with at least one of a first stage downlink control information (DCI) of a two stage DCI or a second stage DCI of the two stage DCI (Two linked PDCCHs corresponding to two different search space sets. ¶0247; UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions for a period time before stopping PDCCH monitoring, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for two associated DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. Without the PDCCH monitoring adaptation method, the UE would immediately stop PDCCH monitor after recipient of the indicator resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0027, 0067, 0091; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250)
RE Claim 2, 13, 24, Lai discloses an apparatus, a method:
wherein: the indication comprises a PDCCH skipping command for a time period (PDCCH adaptation time period includes PDCCH skipping duration. ¶0016; PDCCH skipping information and indication used to indicate a duration that the UE is stop monitoring PDCCH. ¶0081, Fig. 5); and
the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions are scheduled during the time period (PDCCH adaptation time period includes PDCCH skipping duration. ¶0016; PDCCH skipping information and indication used to indicate a duration that the UE is stop monitoring PDCCH. ¶0081, Fig. 5).
RE Claim 3, 14, 25, Lai discloses an apparatus, a method:
wherein: the indication comprises a search space set group (SSSG) switching command indicating to switch from a first SSSG to a second SSSG (Explicit search space, SS, switching between two SSSGs indicated by DCI format 2_0 with bit field indicating SS Group 0 and SS Group 1. ¶0077; PDCCH skipping and SSSG switching. ¶0091; UE performs BWP switching during PDCCH adaption application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay, an activation time. The PDCCH adaptation starts after the application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay, an activation time. ¶0093; UE receives a DCI for BWP switching and PDCCH adaptation, an indication. PDCCH adaptation starts after the application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay, an activation time. ¶0094); and
the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions are associated with the first SSSG (UE performs BWP switching during PDCCH adaption application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay. The PDCCH adaptation starts after the application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay. ¶0093; UE receives a DCI for BWP switching and PDCCH adaptation, an indication. PDCCH adaptation starts after the application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay. ¶0094).
RE Claim 6, 17, 28, Lai does not explicitly disclose an apparatus, a method:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the first stage DCI.
However, MolavianJazi discloses:
wherein the one or more processors (¶¶0046-0050, Fig. 3) are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the first stage DCI (UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions for a period time before stopping PDCCH monitoring, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for two associated DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. Without the PDCCH monitoring adaptation method, the UE would immediately stop PDCCH monitor after recipient of the indicator resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0027, 0067, 0091; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250)
RE Claim 7, 18, 29, Lai discloses an apparatus, a method:
wherein to monitor the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions (UE receives a PDCCH skipping indication, containing/carrying a specific DCI format from network. ¶0081, Fig. 5; UE applies the PDCCH skipping indication after a time period of an application delay. ¶0081, Fig. 5; UE monitors PDCCH after PDCCH skipping indication and stops monitoring PDCCH after end of the time period of an application delay, an activation time. ¶0081, Fig. 5),
Lai does not explicitly disclose:
the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion for the second stage DCI associated with the first stage DCI that is scheduled after receiving the indication.
However, MolavianJazi discloses:
the one or more processors (¶¶0046-0050, Fig. 3) are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion for the second stage DCI associated with the first stage DCI that is scheduled after receiving the indication (UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate, an indication, for a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such an indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions for a period time before stopping PDCCH monitoring, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for two associated DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. Without the PDCCH monitoring adaptation method, the UE would immediately stop PDCCH monitor after recipient of the indicator resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0027, 0067, 0091; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250)
RE Claim 8, 19, Lai does not explicitly disclose an apparatus, a method:
wherein the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion associated with the first stage DCI comprises all PDCCH monitoring occasions for the second stage DCI associated with the first stage DCI that are scheduled after receiving the indication.
However, MolavianJazi discloses:
wherein the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion associated with the first stage DCI comprises all PDCCH monitoring occasions for the second stage DCI associated with the first stage DCI that are scheduled after receiving the indication (In one example, the UE can be provided, by higher layers, a mapping among a first PDCCH candidate for the first PDCCH that provides the first DCI format and one or multiple PDCCH candidates for the second PDCCH that provides the second DCI format. When such mapping provides multiple linked PDCCH candidates for the second PDCCH. ¶0250; UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate, an indication, for a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such an indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions for a period time before stopping PDCCH monitoring, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for a first DCI associated with multiple second DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. Without the PDCCH monitoring adaptation method, the UE would immediately stop PDCCH monitor after recipient of the indicator resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0027, 0067, 0091; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250)
RE Claim 9, 20, Lai discloses an apparatus, a method:
to monitor the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions (UE receives a PDCCH skipping indication, containing/carrying a specific DCI format from network. ¶0081, Fig. 5; UE applies the PDCCH skipping indication after a time period of an application delay. ¶0081, Fig. 5; UE monitors PDCCH after PDCCH skipping indication and stops monitoring PDCCH after end of the time period of an application delay, an activation time. ¶0081, Fig. 5),
to stop monitoring the one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions, the one or more processors (Processor and memory. ¶¶0117, 0121, 0122, Fig. 13:128, 134; Non-transitory CRM. ¶0017, 0119, 121, 122) are configured to cause the apparatus to stop monitoring the one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the first stage DCI that are scheduled after the activation time for the indication and before a second time the other first stage DCI is scheduled (UE performs BWP switching, a first stage DCI, during a PDCCH adaptation time period. UE switches bandwidth part, BWP, from BWP 0 to BWP 1 and will not apply or continue the PDCCH adaptation of BWP 0 in BWP 1 after switching to BWP 1, stops monitoring of PDCCH occasions associated with first stage DCI of BWP 0. UE may start or restart a PDCCH adaptation time period in BWP 1 after switching to BWP 1. ¶0096, Fig. 7).
Lai does not explicitly disclose:
wherein to receive the indication, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the indication in the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI);
the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor a PDCCH monitoring occasion associated with another first stage DCI of another two stage DCI;
However, MolavianJazi discloses:
wherein to receive the indication, the one or more processors (¶¶0046-0050, Fig. 3) are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the indication in the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI (UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253);
the one or more processors(¶¶0046-0050, Fig. 3) are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor a PDCCH monitoring occasion associated with another first stage DCI of another two stage DCI (UE includes a transceiver to receive a first PDCCH providing a first DCI and a second PDCCH providing a second DCI. UE processor configured to determine, monitoring, the values of the fields of the DCIs. ¶0074; UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251;); and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions that may include a first stage DCI during that time period, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for two associated DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. A UE may receive a first stage DCI during the PDCCH monitoring adaptation period indicating BWP switching and corresponding change in PDCCH monitoring. By adjusting the PDCCH adaptation method at a switching event, the UE can determine a selection of new search spaces and need for new PDCCH skipping indication resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0024, 0027, 0067, 0091-0092; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250)
RE Claim 10, 21, Lai discloses an apparatus, a method:
to monitor the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions (UE receives a PDCCH skipping indication, containing/carrying a specific DCI format from network. ¶0081, Fig. 5; UE applies the PDCCH skipping indication after a time period of an application delay. ¶0081, Fig. 5; UE monitors PDCCH after PDCCH skipping indication and stops monitoring PDCCH after end of the time period of an application delay, an activation time. ¶0081, Fig. 5),
Lai does not explicitly disclose:
wherein: the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the indication in the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI; and
the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with a single stage DCI.
However, MolavianJazi disclose:
wherein: the one or more processors (¶¶0046-0050, Fig. 3) are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the indication in the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI (UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253); and
the one or more processors(¶¶0046-0050, Fig. 3) are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with a single stage DCI (If search space is CSS set, the UE is provided by an indication to monitor PDCCH candidates for DCI format 1_0, single stage DCI. ¶0139).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions for a period time before stopping PDCCH monitoring, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for two associated DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. Without the PDCCH monitoring adaptation method, the UE would immediately stop PDCCH monitor after recipient of the indicator resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0027, 0067, 0091; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250)
RE Claim 11, 22, Lai does not explicitly disclose an apparatus, a method:
wherein to receive the indication, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the indication in at least one of:
the first stage DCI; or
the second stage DCI.
However, MolavianJazi discloses:
wherein to receive the indication, the one or more processors (¶¶0046-0050, Fig. 3) are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the indication in at least one of:
the first stage DCI (Two linked PDCCHs corresponding to two different search space sets. ¶0247; UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253); or
the second stage DCI (Two linked PDCCHs corresponding to two different search space sets. ¶0247; UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions for a period time before stopping PDCCH monitoring, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for two associated DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. Without the PDCCH monitoring adaptation method, the UE would immediately stop PDCCH monitor after recipient of the indicator resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0027, 0067, 0091; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250)
Claim(s) 4, 5, 15, 16, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai, in view of MolavianJazi, in view of Tsai et al. (US 20220150946 A1, hereinafter “Tsai”).
RE Claim 4, 15, 26, Lai discloses an apparatus, a method:
wherein: the first SSSG includes a first search space set (SSS) (Explicit search space, SS, switching between two SSSGs indicated by DCI format 2_0 with bit field indicating SS Group 0 and SS Group 1. ¶0077; PDCCH skipping and SSSG switching. ¶0091);
the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions are associated with the first SSS (Explicit search space, SS, switching between two SSSGs indicated by DCI format 2_0 with bit field indicating SS Group 0 and SS Group 1. ¶0077; PDCCH skipping and SSSG switching and which search space set(s) to monitor such as default SSSG, includes a first SSS. ¶¶0091-0092; UE performs BWP switching during PDCCH adaption application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay. The PDCCH adaptation starts after the application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay. ¶0093; UE receives a DCI for BWP switching and PDCCH adaptation, an indication. PDCCH adaptation starts after the application delay, i.e. PDCCH skipping application delay and SSSG switching delay. ¶0094).
Lai does not explicitly disclose:
the second SSSG does not include the first SSS; and
However, Tsai discloses:
the second SSSG does not include the first SSS (New methods for a UE to dynamically/implicitly switch between different search space groups, SSGs, which includes different search spaces, SS, in each SSG. Based on network indication, the UE dynamically switches between the different SSGs. ¶0004; Explicit SS switching of two SSGs achieved via detection of a specific DCI. UE switches from the first SSG, first SSS and second SSS, to monitor the second SSG, different SSS, and stop monitoring the first SSG, first SSS and second SSS. ¶0067; First SS sets in a first SSG may be a sparse PDCCH monitoring and the second SS sets in the second SSG may be a frequent, e.g. dense, PDCCH monitoring. ¶0079); and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions for a period time before stopping PDCCH monitoring, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for two associated DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions, with the teachings of Tsai, two search space groups that have at least one search space not in common such as sparse versus dense PDCCH monitoring.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. UE adapts, switches, PDCCH monitoring for sparse or dense PDCCH monitoring resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0027, 0067, 0091; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250; Tsai: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0003-0006, 0025, 0067, 0078-0079)
RE Claim 5, 16, 27 Lai does not explicitly disclose an apparatus, a method:
wherein the first SSSG includes a first search space set (SSS) corresponding to one of the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI and does not include a second SSS corresponding to the other one of the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI, and
wherein the SSSG switching command indicates to stop monitoring PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the first SSS and PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the second SSS).
However, MolavianJazi discloses:
wherein the first SSSG includes a first search space set (SSS) corresponding to one of the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI and does not include a second SSS corresponding to the other one of the first stage DCI or the second stage DCI (Two linked PDCCHs corresponding to two different search space sets. ¶0247; UE can associate a second PDCCH to a first PDCCH based on a PDCCH monitoring occasion. UE receives a pair of first and second PDCCHs that provide a first-stage DCI and a second-stage DCI respectively during any interval of size N slots/spans. ¶0251; First DCI can indicate a slot/span or a monitoring occasion in which the UE can receive the second PDCCH. Such indication is referred to as a DCI linkage indication, DLI, field. ¶¶0252-0253), and
Lai and MolavianJazi do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the SSSG switching command indicates to stop monitoring PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the first SSS and PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the second SSS).
However, Tsai discloses:
wherein the SSSG switching command indicates to stop monitoring PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the first SSS and PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the second SSS (New methods for a UE to dynamically/implicitly switch between different search space groups, SSGs, which includes different search spaces, SS, in each SSG. Based on network indication, the UE dynamically switches between the different SSGs. ¶0004; Explicit SS switching of two SSGs achieved via detection of a specific DCI. UE switches from the first SSG, first SSS and second SSS, to monitor the second SSG, different SSS, and stop monitoring the first SSG, first SSS and second SSS. ¶0067).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lai, a method to indicate PDCCH skipping with an application delay that allows UE to continue to monitor PDCCH occasions for a period time before stopping PDCCH monitoring, with the teachings of MolavianJazi, apply a two stage DCI method for two associated DCIs, the first and second stage DCIs, and indication of associated PDCCH monitoring occasions, with the teachings of Tsai, two search space groups that have at least one search space not in common such as sparse versus dense PDCCH monitoring.
The motivation in doing so would be to support a two stage DCI for PDCCH reception for a set period of time after PDCCH skipping indication is received, referred to as PDCCH Monitoring Adaptation. UE adapts, switches, PDCCH monitoring for sparse or dense PDCCH monitoring resulting in reduced overhead signaling, scheduling flexibility, and power savings. (Lai: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0016, 0027, 0067, 0091; MolavianJazi: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0007, 0068, 0108, 0115, 0243, 0250; Tsai: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0003-0006, 0025, 0067, 0078-0079)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US-20200029315-A1 Lin et al.
US-20240235787-A1 Shubhi et al.
US-20250081288-A1 Moon et al.
WO-2022271607-A1 Zhou et al.
WO-2024071808-A1 Wang et al.
MEDIATEK INC., 'Discussion on DCI-based power saving adaptation during DRX active time1, R1-2008966, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e, e-Meeting, 2020.11.01; https://www.3gpp.org/ftp/TSG_RAN/WG1_RL1/TSGR1_103-e/Docs/R1-2008966.zip; Retrieved 01-16-2026 (Year: 2020)
NORDIC SEMICONDUCTOR ASA, 'On PDCCH monitoring adaptation', R1-2112381, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #107, e-Meeting, 2021.11.05; https://www.3gpp.org/ftp/TSG_RAN/WG1_RL1/TSGR1_107-e/Docs/R1-2112381.zip; Retrieved 01-16-2026 (Year: 2021)
The above references disclose various aspects of PDCCH monitoring adaptation methods.
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419