DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a protector” in claim 1 and “a light shield” in claims 5-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 12-15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung (KR 20210002442 with reliance upon the provided machine translation).
In regard to claim 1, Jung discloses an ultraviolet ray radiation apparatus (main body 1) comprising a light emitter (light source 11) configured to emit ultraviolet light; a light receiver (photodetector 21) configured to output a signal varying with an amount of light received (“transmits an electrical signal corresponding to the amount of light received to the sensitivity adjustment unit;” [0028]); and a protector (filter member 25, light path conversion unit 30 and/or optical member 15) configured to protect the light receiver from ultraviolet light. See paragraphs [0023]-[0031] and Figure 1.
In regard to claim 2, Jung discloses wherein the protector (filter member 25 and/or optical member 15) is configured to attenuate an amount of ultraviolet light entering the light receiver (the filter member 25 functions to “filter light other than ultraviolet light of a predetermined wavelength irradiated from a light source” while optical member 15 “transmits some light irradiated from the light source” and reflects some from the incident surface 15a; [0028]-[0029]). See Figure 1.
In regard to claim 3-4, Jung discloses wherein the protector includes a reflector (optical member 15 or light path conversion unit 30 can both reflect light; [0029]) configured to reflect ultraviolet light at least once before the ultraviolet light enters the light receiver from the light emitter. See Figure 1.
In regard to claims 5-7, Jung discloses wherein the protector includes a light shield (filter member 25) configured to block light with a wavelength shorter than a peak wavelength of ultraviolet light emitted from the light emitter (the filter member 25 functions to “filter light other than ultraviolet light of a predetermined wavelength irradiated from a light source” which the predetermined wavelength is equivalent to the recited peak wavelength; [0028]). See Figure 1.
In regard to claims 12-15, Jung discloses wherein the light emitter is an LED. See [0008].
In regard to claim 17, Jung discloses a control unit (sensitivity adjustment unit 40) configured to adjust a driving current of the LED (light source 11 can be an LED; [0008]) based on a signal from the light receiver (photodetector 21) to control an amount of light emitted from the LED. See [0030] and Figure 1.
In regard to claim 19, Jung discloses wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are integrated together as they are both components of the main body 1 as depicted in Figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung as applied to claims 1-3 and 5 above.
In regard to claims 8-11 and 18, Jung discloses wherein the protector includes a light shield/optical filter (filter member 25) which is provided in front of the light receiver. See Figure 1 and [0028].
Jung does not explicitly disclose wherein the filter member 25 is configured to block light with a wavelength less than or equal to 280 nm or greater than or equal to 300 nm. Jung does disclose wherein the filter member 25 functions to “filter light other than ultraviolet light of a predetermined wavelength irradiated from a light source.” See [0028].
However, it would have been within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determined an optimum or workable range of wavelength for the light source 11 to produce and to have the filter member filter out light other than the ultraviolet light of the wavelength produced by the light source through routine experimentation and without creating any new or unexpected results. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). It is further noted that the instant application does not disclose the criticality of the disclosed wavelength ranges which are to be filtered.
In regard to claim 16, Jung discloses wherein the light emitter is an LED as applied to claims 12-15 above. See [0008].
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY C CLEVELAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774