Request to Continue Examination
Claims 1-3, 5-12, and 14-19 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kawano et al., U.S. 2024/0101142 in view of Yamanaka et al., U.S. 5,815,072 and Smith et al., WO 2013/139840 and Dagsi et al., U.S. 2007/0001830.
On claim 1, Kawano cites except as underlined:
A displaying apparatus for a vehicle, the displaying apparatus comprising:
a speed limit recognition unit configured to obtain a speed limit of a road on which the vehicle travels;
[0032] The first acquisition part 32 acquires the first set speed set on the basis of the speed limit of the road on which the vehicle is located. For example, the first acquisition part 32 identifies a sign indicating a speed limit in the captured image generated by the imaging part 2, and acquires the first set speed. In other words, the first acquisition part 32 acquires, as the speed limit, a speed which is recognized on the basis of an image captured by the imaging part 2, the image being an image of the sign of the road on which the vehicle is located.
Also
[0033] In such a case, by updating the first set speed in response to detection of a change in the speed limit from the map data, the vehicle can travel at the appropriate set speed.
and
a speedometer display unit configured to display a visual bar varying according to a current speed of the vehicle on a background speed scale image and display a visual indicator for the speed limit, wherein the speedometer display unit is configured to adjust a length of the visual bar according to the current speed of the vehicle so that the visual bar approaches the visual indicator as the current speed approaches the speed limit.
Figure 2, R1
Regarding the excepted underlined limitations, “visual bar varying according to a current speed of the vehicle on a background speed scale image and display a visual indicator for the speed limit at a corresponding position of the background speed scale image, Kawano, figure 2, R1, discloses a graphical representation of the speed of a vehicle. Kawano doesn’t disclose the underlined limitations,
In the same art of speedometers, Yamanaka discloses:
Col. 1, lines 10-15, With the digital speedometer, particularly the one displaying the car speed as the numeral value by the 7-segment LED display or the like, a precise speed up to a figure of 1 km/h can be obtained and the displayed number size can be large enough. Accordingly, it has advantages in that reading mistakes and errors are less compared with those from the analog type in which the number size provided on the dial is limited. It is also advantageous in that it has a large degree of freedom for display shape and attachment, so that the best arrangement and plan are practicable in terms of a design, and so on.
And
Figure 1a and Col 2, lines 55-65, With the digital speedometer, particularly the one displaying the car speed as the numeral value by the 7-segment LED display or the like, a precise speed up to a figure of 1 km/h can be obtained and the displayed number size can be large enough. Accordingly, it has advantages in that reading mistakes and errors are less compared with those from the analog type in which the number size provided on the dial is limited. It is also advantageous in that it has a large degree of freedom for display shape and attachment, so that the best arrangement and plan are practicable in terms of a design, and so on.
Yamanaka, as above, discloses an embodiment, wherein, figure 1a, discloses the described digital speedometer where speed is shown in 1 km/h increments. The claimed “background speed scale image” is met with the cited semi-circular LED display with moving bars.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify Kawano’s speedometer display using the display disclosed in Yamanaka such that the claimed invention is realized.
Per Yamanaka, “it has advantages in that reading mistakes and errors are less compared with those from the analog type in which the number size provided on the dial is limited.”
Regarding the excepted: so that a difference between the speed limit and the current speed is able to be seen by showing how close an end of the visual bar approaches the visual indicator for the speed limit, Yamanaka, as previously disclosed, included a semi-circular moving LED display. However, Yamanaka fails to disclose the excepted claim limitations.
In the same art of speed indication devices,
Smith, figure 1G and page 8, lines 10-21, discloses a feature wherein a speedometer 1 is shown with a current speed indicator 5’s end collocated to a speed limit indication 15.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify Yamanaka’s digital speedometer using the speed limit indication feature disclosed in Smith such that the claimed invention is realized. As cited, Smith discloses a known feature for indicating the speed limit on a speedometer and one of ordinary skill would have included this feature for showing the driver he should be driving at or under the displayed limit.
Regarding the excepted: wherein the speedometer display unit is configured to adjust a length of the visual bar according to the current speed of the vehicle so that the visual bar approaches the visual indicator as the current speed approaches the speed limit, Kawano cites:
Figure 2 and [0028], R1 and G1
[0028] The electronic device 10 recognizes a speed limit of the road on which the vehicle is traveling, and causes the display part 8 to display the speed limit. For example, the electronic device 10 causes the display screen 8a to display the icon G1 indicating the speed limit. Also, the electronic device 10 causes the notification part 7 (specifically, the display part 8 and the audio output part 9) to provide the first notification when the vehicle speed exceeds the first set speed that has been set on the basis of the speed limit of the road, and causes the notification part 7 to provide the second notification when the vehicle speed exceeds the second set speed set by the user. By doing this, the driver who is the user of the vehicle can easily grasp whether the vehicle speed has exceeded the first set speed or the second set speed.
In other words, figure 2 discloses a speedometer R1 with a speedometer collocated next to a bar graph temperature indicator. The bar graph indicator increases in length as the temperature rises. Furthermore, Kawano, discloses displaying the speed limit at G1. Kawano doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations.
In the same art of vehicle displays, Yamanaka cites:
Figure 1a and col. 7, lines 12-22. As mentioned above, the car speed is calculated and displayed by a bar graph. For example, a car speed at 40 km/h is shown as a nearly linear bar graph by lighting all the segments 4a in the range of the speed scale marks from "0" to "40". The bar graph changes its length in an arc figure from "Okm" of scale marks in accordance with the value of the car speed. Therefore, a driver can know the car speed by reading a speed scale mark at which a top end of the lighting bar graph is located. Further, at a short glance around the mark, he or she can immediately recognize the approximate value of the car speed from its length.
As indicated in Yamanaka, the lighting bar is increasing in length as the speed of the vehicle increases, which is interpreted to be the same as the excepted claim limitations.
Furthermore, in the same art of vehicle displays, Dagsi discloses in figure 4, [0032] and [0037]:
[0032] A tick mark may be inserted onto the speedometer to indicate the speed limit of the current road. In this exemplary embodiment, the driver can visually determine if the speed limit is being exceeded by examining the position of the needle in relation to the position of the tick mark. The tick mark can be implemented as a secondary physical needle that will swing to the new speed limit at the appropriate time. The tick mark may be implemented such that the tick mark will be highlighted (for example, a backlit LED) and a speed limit change will be indicated by setting the tick mark to the new speed. Alternatively, the tick mark can be animated to move from the old speed limit to the new speed limit.
[0037] FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of the present invention where the at speed, caution, and warning ranges are visible up to the needle of the gauge. In this example, the default color of green is utilized to indicate when the driver is in the at speed range. As the vehicle increases beyond the at speed range, an indication is provided that the vehicle speed has progressed into a cautionary or warning zone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify Kawano’s vehicle display using the features described in Yamanaka and Dagsi such that the claimed invention is realized.
Kawano’s embodiment teaches a bar indicator, figure 2, which includes an bar graph indicator which increases in length as the parameters to which the bar graph indicates increases in temperature. Furthermore, Kawano discloses a known embodiment of displaying the speed limit, G1, which is collocated to the vehicle speed indicator, R1. However, while Kawano doesn’t disclose the bar graph generator feature being used to measure the vehicle’s speed, Yamanaka discloses a similar embodiment wherein speed is measured using the increasing bar dial indicator to indicate the speed of the vehicle, whereas the speed of the vehicle increases, so does the dial indicator 4a shown figure 1a.
As disclosed in Yamanaka, a bar graph increases in length concurrent to the increased speed of the vehicle. Yamanaka doesn’t disclose its speed bar indicator as approaching a speed limit visual indicator, as in the claimed invention, Yamanaka teaches (as previously cited):
Therefore, a driver can know the car speed by reading a speed scale mark at which a top end of the lighting bar graph is located. Further, at a short glance around the mark, he or she can immediately recognize the approximate value of the car speed from its length.
As previously disclosed in Dagsi,
A tick mark may be inserted onto the speedometer to indicate the speed limit of the current road. In this exemplary embodiment, the driver can visually determine if the speed limit is being exceeded by examining the position of the needle in relation to the position of the tick mark.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, using the elements disclosed in Kawano, Yamanaka, and Dagsi to produce an embodiment meeting the claimed invention.
Yamanaka includes an embodiment in which the apparent length of bar graph increases with speed.
Furthermore, Yamanaka states a driver would know the approximate value of the car speed by looking at the length of the bar graph.
Furthermore, a driver equipped with the Dagsi embodiment would know the speed limit and the current vehicle speed, and from the two displays, derive the speed the vehicle is traveling with respect to the speed limit.
One of ordinary skill would have derived at least an approximation of how far the speed indication would be compared to the speed limit such that the claimed invention is realized. Thus, one of ordinary skill, equipped with these known features, would have provided an embodiment meeting the claimed invention with a likelihood of success.
On claim 2, Kawano cites:
The displaying apparatus of claim 1, wherein the speed limit recognition unit is further configured to recognize an image of a road sign based on an image
[0032] The first acquisition part 32 acquires the first set speed set on the basis of the speed limit of the road on which the vehicle is located. For example, the first acquisition part 32 identifies a sign indicating a speed limit in the captured image generated by the imaging part 2, and acquires the first set speed.
of a pre-registered speed limit sign and obtain the speed limit based on numbers in the image of the road sign.
Abstract: An electronic device includes a first acquisition part that acquires a first set speed set on the basis of a speed limit which is (i) recognized on the basis of an image of a sign of a road on which a vehicle is located, captured by an imaging part or (ii) identified from map information of the road.
Also,
[0033] In such a case, by updating the first set speed in response to detection of a change in the speed limit from the map data, the vehicle can travel at the appropriate set speed.
The cited “map information” is the same as the claimed “pre-registered speed limit sign.” The speed limit image and speed limit according to the map information are presumed to be the same.
On claim 3, Kawano cites:
The displaying apparatus of claim 1, further including a speed limit comparison unit configured to compare the speed limit with a previous speed limit displayed on the speedometer display unit, and determine to change the previous speed limit.
[0033] In such a case, by updating the first set speed in response to detection of a change in the speed limit from the map data, the vehicle can travel at the appropriate set speed.
The cited “updating the first set speed” would be the updated speed limit to display as required in the claim.
On claim 6, Kawano and Yamanaka cites:
The displaying apparatus of claim 1, wherein the visual bar includes a round bar.
In the rejection of claim 1, Yamanaka cites:
Figure 1a and col. 7, lines 12-22. As mentioned above, the car speed is calculated and displayed by a bar graph.
Figure 1a is a semi-circular display, which is considered to be the same as the claimed “round bar.”
On claim 7, Kawamo cites:
The displaying apparatus of claim 1, further including a speed limit comparison unit configured to compare the speed limit obtained by the speed limit recognition unit with a previous speed limit previously displayed on the speedometer display unit to determine which to display.
[0033] In such a case, by updating the first set speed in response to detection of a change in the speed limit from the map data, the vehicle can travel at the appropriate set speed.
The cited “updating the first set speed” would be the updated speed limit to display as required in the claim.
On claim 8, Kawano cites except:
The displaying apparatus of claim 1, wherein the background speed scale image includes a circular scale, and the speedometer display unit is further configured to display the speed limit inside the circular scale.
Kawano cites:
Figure 2, R1
In other words, figure 2 discloses a speedometer R1 with a speedometer collocated next to a bar graph temperature indicator. The bar graph indicator increases in length as the temperature rises. Kawano doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations.
In the same art of vehicle displays, Yamanaka cites:
Figure 1a and col. 7, lines 12-22. As mentioned above, the car speed is calculated and displayed by a bar graph. For example, a car speed at 40 km/h is shown as a nearly linear bar graph by lighting all the segments 4a in the range of the speed scale marks from "0" to "40". The bar graph changes its length in an arc figure from "Okm" of scale marks in accordance with the value of the car speed. Therefore, a driver can know the car speed by reading a speed scale mark at which a top end of the lighting bar graph is located. Further, at a short glance around the mark, he or she can immediately recognize the approximate value of the car speed from its length.
In Yamanaka’s embodiment, a semi-circular speedometer shown in figure 1a. While the display is not characterized as being set “inside the circular scale,” one of ordinary skill would extrapolate Yamanaka’s speedometer as being included within a unmarked circle, as the semi-circle configuration of figure 1a suggests it is part of a circle. In fact and in comparison, the applicant’s figure 2 shows a speedometer with a scale not fully encircled by the shown circle. While the claimed invention, as suggested in the applicant’s figure 2, is not the same, clearly, the scale disclosed in Yamanaka is substantially part of a circle as is the claimed invention. Thus, one of ordinary skill would have provided an embodiment realizing the claimed invention based on geometrical figures known in the art.
On claim 9, Kawano cites:
The displaying apparatus of claim 2, further including a camera configured to obtain the image of the road sign.
[0002] image capture of road sign with dash cam.
On claim 10, Kawano cites except as underlined:
A displaying method for a vehicle, the method including:
a speed limit recognition step of obtaining, by a controller
[0029] and figure control part 30
provided in the vehicle, a speed limit of a road on which the vehicle travels;
[0032] The first acquisition part 32 acquires the first set speed set on the basis of the speed limit of the road on which the vehicle is located. For example, the first acquisition part 32 identifies a sign indicating a speed limit in the captured image generated by the imaging part 2, and acquires the first set speed. In other words, the first acquisition part 32 acquires, as the speed limit, a speed which is recognized on the basis of an image captured by the imaging part 2, the image being an image of the sign of the road on which the vehicle is located.
and a speedometer display step of displaying, by the controller, a visual bar varying according to a current speed of the vehicle on a background speed scale image and displaying a visual indicator for the speed limit, wherein the speedometer display unit is configured to adjust a length of the visual bar according to the current speed of the vehicle so that the visual bar approaches the visual indicator as the current speed approaches the speed limit.
Figure 2, R1
Regarding the excepted underlined limitations, “visual bar varying according to a current speed of the vehicle on a background speed scale image and display a visual indicator for the speed limit at a corresponding position of the background speed scale image, Kawano, figure 2, R1, discloses a graphical representation of the speed of a vehicle. Kawano doesn’t disclose the underlined limitations,
In the same art of speedometers, Yamanaka discloses:
Col. 1, lines 10-15, With the digital speedometer, particularly the one displaying the car speed as the numeral value by the 7-segment LED display or the like, a precise speed up to a figure of 1 km/h can be obtained and the displayed number size can be large enough. Accordingly, it has advantages in that reading mistakes and errors are less compared with those from the analog type in which the number size provided on the dial is limited. It is also advantageous in that it has a large degree of freedom for display shape and attachment, so that the best arrangement and plan are practicable in terms of a design, and so on.
And
Figure 1a and Col 2, lines 55-65, With the digital speedometer, particularly the one displaying the car speed as the numeral value by the 7-segment LED display or the like, a precise speed up to a figure of 1 km/h can be obtained and the displayed number size can be large enough. Accordingly, it has advantages in that reading mistakes and errors are less compared with those from the analog type in which the number size provided on the dial is limited. It is also advantageous in that it has a large degree of freedom for display shape and attachment, so that the best arrangement and plan are practicable in terms of a design, and so on.
Yamanaka, as above, discloses an embodiment, wherein, figure 1a, discloses the described digital speedometer where speed is shown in 1 km/h increments. The claimed “background speed scale image” is met with the cited semi-circular LED display with moving bars.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify Kawano’s speedometer display using the display disclosed in Yamanaka such that the claimed invention is realized.
Per Yamanaka, “it has advantages in that reading mistakes and errors are less compared with those from the analog type in which the number size provided on the dial is limited.”
Regarding the excepted: wherein the speedometer display unit is configured to adjust a length of the visual bar according to the current speed of the vehicle so that the visual bar approaches the visual indicator as the current speed approaches the speed limit, Kawano cites:
Figure 2 and [0028], R1 and G1
[0028] The electronic device 10 recognizes a speed limit of the road on which the vehicle is traveling, and causes the display part 8 to display the speed limit. For example, the electronic device 10 causes the display screen 8a to display the icon G1 indicating the speed limit. Also, the electronic device 10 causes the notification part 7 (specifically, the display part 8 and the audio output part 9) to provide the first notification when the vehicle speed exceeds the first set speed that has been set on the basis of the speed limit of the road, and causes the notification part 7 to provide the second notification when the vehicle speed exceeds the second set speed set by the user. By doing this, the driver who is the user of the vehicle can easily grasp whether the vehicle speed has exceeded the first set speed or the second set speed.
In other words, figure 2 discloses a speedometer R1 with a speedometer collocated next to a bar graph temperature indicator. The bar graph indicator increases in length as the temperature rises. Furthermore, Kawano, discloses displaying the speed limit at G1. Kawano doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations.
In the same art of vehicle displays, Yamanaka cites:
Figure 1a and col. 7, lines 12-22. As mentioned above, the car speed is calculated and displayed by a bar graph. For example, a car speed at 40 km/h is shown as a nearly linear bar graph by lighting all the segments 4a in the range of the speed scale marks from "0" to "40". The bar graph changes its length in an arc figure from "Okm" of scale marks in accordance with the value of the car speed. Therefore, a driver can know the car speed by reading a speed scale mark at which a top end of the lighting bar graph is located. Further, at a short glance around the mark, he or she can immediately recognize the approximate value of the car speed from its length.
As indicated in Yamanaka, the lighting bar is increasing in length as the speed of the vehicle increases, which is interpreted to be the same as the excepted claim limitations.
Furthermore, in the same art of vehicle displays, Dagsi discloses in figure 4, [0032] and [0037]:
[0032] A tick mark may be inserted onto the speedometer to indicate the speed limit of the current road. In this exemplary embodiment, the driver can visually determine if the speed limit is being exceeded by examining the position of the needle in relation to the position of the tick mark. The tick mark can be implemented as a secondary physical needle that will swing to the new speed limit at the appropriate time. The tick mark may be implemented such that the tick mark will be highlighted (for example, a backlit LED) and a speed limit change will be indicated by setting the tick mark to the new speed. Alternatively, the tick mark can be animated to move from the old speed limit to the new speed limit.
[0037] FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of the present invention where the at speed, caution, and warning ranges are visible up to the needle of the gauge. In this example, the default color of green is utilized to indicate when the driver is in the at speed range. As the vehicle increases beyond the at speed range, an indication is provided that the vehicle speed has progressed into a cautionary or warning zone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify Kawano’s vehicle display using the features described in Yamanaka and Dagsi such that the claimed invention is realized.
Kawano’s embodiment teaches a bar indicator, figure 2, which includes an bar graph indicator which increases in length as the parameters to which the bar graph indicates increases in temperature. Furthermore, Kawano discloses a known embodiment of displaying the speed limit, G1, which is collocated to the vehicle speed indicator, R1. However, while Kawano doesn’t disclose the bar graph generator feature being used to measure the vehicle’s speed, Yamanaka discloses a similar embodiment wherein speed is measured using the increasing bar dial indicator to indicate the speed of the vehicle, whereas the speed of the vehicle increases, so does the dial indicator 4a shown figure 1a.
As disclosed in Yamanaka, a bar graph increases in length concurrent to the increased speed of the vehicle. Yamanaka doesn’t disclose its speed bar indicator as approaching a speed limit visual indicator, as in the claimed invention, Yamanaka teaches (as previously cited):
Therefore, a driver can know the car speed by reading a speed scale mark at which a top end of the lighting bar graph is located. Further, at a short glance around the mark, he or she can immediately recognize the approximate value of the car speed from its length.
As previously disclosed in Dagsi,
A tick mark may be inserted onto the speedometer to indicate the speed limit of the current road. In this exemplary embodiment, the driver can visually determine if the speed limit is being exceeded by examining the position of the needle in relation to the position of the tick mark.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, using the elements disclosed in Kawano, Yamanaka, and Dagsi to produce an embodiment meeting the claimed invention.
Yamanaka includes an embodiment in which the apparent length of bar graph increases with speed.
Furthermore, Yamanaka states a driver would know the approximate value of the car speed by looking at the length of the bar graph.
Furthermore, a driver equipped with the Dagsi embodiment would know the speed limit and the current vehicle speed, and from the two displays, derive the speed the vehicle is traveling with respect to the speed limit.
One of ordinary skill would have derived at least an approximation of how far the speed indication would be compared to the speed limit such that the claimed invention is realized. Thus, one of ordinary skill, equipped with these known features, would have provided an embodiment meeting the claimed invention with a likelihood of success.
On claim 11, Kawano cites:
The method of claim 10, wherein the speed limit recognition step includes recognizing an image of a road sign based on an image
[0032] The first acquisition part 32 acquires the first set speed set on the basis of the speed limit of the road on which the vehicle is located. For example, the first acquisition part 32 identifies a sign indicating a speed limit in the captured image generated by the imaging part 2, and acquires the first set speed.
of a pre-registered speed limit sign and obtaining the speed limit based on numbers in the image of the road sign.
Abstract: An electronic device includes a first acquisition part that acquires a first set speed set on the basis of a speed limit which is (i) recognized on the basis of an image of a sign of a road on which a vehicle is located, captured by an imaging part or (ii) identified from map information of the road.
The cited “map information” is the same as the claimed “pre-registered speed limit sign.” The speed limit image and speed limit according to the map information are presumed to be the same.
On claim 12, Kawano cites:
The method of claim 10, further including comparing the speed limit with a previous speed limit displayed on a speedometer display unit, and determining to change the previous speed limit.
[0033] In such a case, by updating the first set speed in response to detection of a change in the speed limit from the map data, the vehicle can travel at the appropriate set speed.
The cited “updating the first set speed” would be the updated speed limit to display as required in the claim.
On claim 15, Kawano and Yamanaka cites:
The method of 10, wherein the visual bar includes a round bar.
In the rejection of claim 4, Yamanaka cites:
Figure 1a and col. 7, lines 12-22. As mentioned above, the car speed is calculated and displayed by a bar graph.
Figure 1a is a semi-circular display, which is considered to be the same as the claimed “round bar.”
On claim 16, Kawano cites:
The method of 10, further including a speed limit comparison step of comparing the speed limit obtained by a speed limit recognition unit with a previous speed limit previously displayed on a speedometer display unit to determine which to display
[0033] In such a case, by updating the first set speed in response to detection of a change in the speed limit from the map data, the vehicle can travel at the appropriate set speed.
The cited “updating the first set speed” would be the updated speed limit to display as required in the claim.
On claim 17, Kawano cites except as underlined:
The method of 10, wherein the background speed scale image includes a circular scale, and a speedometer display unit is further configured to display the speed limit inside the circular scale.
Kawano cites:
Figure 2, R1
In other words, figure 2 discloses a speedometer R1 with a speedometer collocated next to a bar graph temperature indicator. The bar graph indicator increases in length as the temperature rises. Kawano doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations.
In the same art of vehicle displays, Yamanaka cites:
Figure 1a and col. 7, lines 12-22. As mentioned above, the car speed is calculated and displayed by a bar graph. For example, a car speed at 40 km/h is shown as a nearly linear bar graph by lighting all the segments 4a in the range of the speed scale marks from "0" to "40". The bar graph changes its length in an arc figure from "Okm" of scale marks in accordance with the value of the car speed. Therefore, a driver can know the car speed by reading a speed scale mark at which a top end of the lighting bar graph is located. Further, at a short glance around the mark, he or she can immediately recognize the approximate value of the car speed from its length.
In Yamanaka’s embodiment, a semi-circular speedometer shown in figure 1a. While the display is not characterized as being set “inside the circular scale,” one of ordinary skill would extrapolate Yamanaka’s speedometer as being included within a unmarked circle, as the semi-circle configuration of figure 1a suggests it is part of a circle. In fact and in comparison, the applicant’s figure 2 shows a speedometer with a scale not fully encircled by the shown circle. While the claimed invention, as suggested in the applicant’s figure 2, is not the same, clearly, the scale disclosed in Yamanaka is substantially part of a circle as is the claimed invention. Thus, one of ordinary skill would have provided an embodiment realizing the claimed invention based on geometrical figures known in the art.
On claim 18, Kawano cites:
The method of 10, further including a step of obtaining the image of the road sign by use of a camera.
[0002] image capture of road sign with dash cam.
On claim 19, Kawano cites:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions to cause one or more processors to perform the displaying method of claim 1.
[0008] A fourth aspect of the present disclosure provides a storage medium storing a program for causing a processor to execute: acquiring a first set speed set on the basis of a speed limit which is (i) recognized on the basis of an image of a sign of a road on which a vehicle is located, captured by an imaging part or (ii) identified from map information of the road; acquiring a second set speed set by a user of the vehicle; and causing a notification par to provide a first notification when a speed of the vehicle exceeds the first set speed, and causing the notification part to provide a second notification which is distinguishable from the first notification when the speed exceeds the second set speed.
And
[0020] The notification part 7 has a function of providing notification in response to an instruction from the electronic device 10. Although details will be described later, the notification part 7 provides a first notification when the vehicle speed exceeds a first set speed (a set speed that has been set on the basis of a speed limit of the road), and provides a second notification which is distinguished from the first notification when the vehicle speed exceeds a second set speed (a set speed set by the user). The notification part 7 includes a display part 8 and an audio output part 9.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kawano et al., U.S. 2024/0101142 in view of Yamanaka et al., U.S. 5,815,072 and Scherl et al., U.S. 2005/0006165.
On claim 5, Kawano cites except as underlined:
The displaying apparatus of claim 1, wherein the visual indicator includes a dot.
In the rejection of claim 4, Yamanaka disclosed:
Figure 1a and col. 7, lines 12-22: As mentioned above, the car speed is calculated and displayed by a bar graph. For example, a car speed at 40 km/h is shown as a nearly linear bar graph by lighting all the segments 4a in the range of the speed scale marks from "0" to "40". The bar graph changes its length in an arc figure from "Okm" of scale marks in accordance with the value of the car speed. Therefore, a driver can know the car speed by reading a speed scale mark at which a top end of the lighting bar graph is located. Further, at a short glance around the mark, he or she can immediately recognize the approximate value of the car speed from its length.
In short, Yamanaka disclosed an embodiment in which a bar graph is used to show a driver the measured speed of the car he is driving. However, neither Kawano nor Yamanaka discloses an embodiment wherein “includes a dot.”
(Per the applicant’s published specification, the claimed “dot” is disclosed in figure 3 and [0072] as
“the speed limit area 30 may be set to be displayed in a form of a highlighted dot SLI as a visual indicator at a corresponding position of the background speed scale image, and thus the driver can directly and intuitively recognize how close the current speed approaches to the speed limit by giving a quick glance to the bar RB approaching the dot SLI.”
In other words, the claimed “dot,” as disclosed in figure 3 as “SL1,” is a type of setpoint indicator to determine how close the driver speed is to the set speed limit set using SL1).
Neither Kawano nor Yamanaka disclose this feature.
In the same art of speed limit displays, Scherl discloses a feature in which setpoints are used to indicate to a user the following:
[0034] the speed will be regulated to a setpoint speed of 50 km/h. This circumstance is displayed here by the fact that light-emitting diode (auxiliary display) 32b, which corresponds to the setpoint speed of 50 km/h, lights up.
In other words, an LED is used to show a setpoint speed to a user and how the user’s speed is measured compared to the user’s current speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to include into Kawano and Yamanaka the setpoint indicator disclosed in Scherl such that the claimed invention is realized. Scherl discloses a known device used to show the user how far the user’s speed is compared to the setpoint speed, or speed limit. The setpoint would be used to mark a speed limit, as disclosed in the references. One of ordinary skill would have included such a feature to show a user how far away the user’s speed is from the set speed limit.
On claim 14, Kawano cites except as underlined:
The method of claim 10, wherein the visual indicator includes a dot.
In the rejection of claim 4, Yamanaka disclosed:
Figure 1a and col. 7, lines 12-22:
As mentioned above, the car speed is calculated and displayed by a bar graph. For example, a car speed at 40 km/h is shown as a nearly linear bar graph by lighting all the segments 4a in the range of the speed scale marks from "0" to "40". The bar graph changes its length in an arc figure from "Okm" of scale marks in accordance with the value of the car speed. Therefore, a driver can know the car speed by reading a speed scale mark at which a top end of the lighting bar graph is located. Further, at a short glance around the mark, he or she can immediately recognize the approximate value of the car speed from its length.
In short, Yamanaka disclosed an embodiment in which a bar graph is used to show a driver the measured speed of the car he is driving. However, neither Kawano nor Yamanaka discloses an embodiment wherein “includes a dot.”
(Per the applicant’s published specification, the claimed “dot” is disclosed in figure 3 and [0072] as
“the speed limit area 30 may be set to be displayed in a form of a highlighted dot SLI as a visual indicator at a corresponding position of the background speed scale image, and thus the driver can directly and intuitively recognize how close the current speed approaches to the speed limit by giving a quick glance to the bar RB approaching the dot SLI.”
In other words, the claimed “dot,” as disclosed in figure 3 as “SL1,” is a type of setpoint indicator to determine how close the driver speed is to the set speed limit set using SL1).
Neither Kawano nor Yamanaka disclose this feature.
In the same art of speed limit displays, Scherl discloses a feature in which setpoints are used to indicate to a user the following:
[0034] the speed will be regulated to a setpoint speed of 50 km/h. This circumstance is displayed here by the fact that light-emitting diode (auxiliary display) 32b, which corresponds to the setpoint speed of 50 km/h, lights up.
In other words, an LED is used to show a setpoint speed to a user and how the speed limit is measured compared to the user’s current speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to include into Kawano and Yamanaka the setpoint indicator disclosed in Scherl such that the claimed invention is realized. Scherl discloses a known device used to show the user how far the user’s speed is compared to the setpoint speed, or speed limit. The setpoint would be used to mark a speed limit, as disclosed in the references. One of ordinary skill would have included such a feature to show a user how far away the user’s speed is from the set speed limit.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 1 has been carefully reviewed. The limitations were taken from now cancelled claim 4 and have been amended into claim 1.
The claim limitations recite: “wherein the speedometer display unit is configured to adjust a length of the visual bar according to the current speed of the vehicle so that the visual bar approaches the visual indicator as the current speed approaches the speed limit.”
In short, and as previously described, the invention relates to a speedometer which displays the current speed of the vehicle in a graphical bar format. As the speed of the vehicle increases, the visual bar displayed to the driver is lengthened. Along the same scale, a speed limit indicator is displayed. As the speed is increased, the bar lengthens and if the speed continues to increase, the bar eventually makes contact with the speed limit indicator. If the bar indicator goes past the speed limit indicator, the driver is said to be in excess of the speed limit. As previously disclosed in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the speedometer display unit is configured to adjust a length of the visual bar according to the current speed of the vehicle. That embodiment does not disclose a speed limit indicator as in the invention. However, in a separate embodiment, at least the speed limit is numerically displayed. As was described in Yamanaka,
a driver can know the car speed by reading a speed scale mark at which a top end of the lighting bar graph is located.
Accordingly, Kawano discloses showing the speed limit in numerical form while Dagsi discloses a known embodiment to apprise the driver where the speed limit on a speedometer is shown on a tick mark of the speedometer. Because of this construction, the applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive. Furthermore, the above rendering regarding the rejection of claim 1 also applies to the rejection of claim 10.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CAL EUSTAQUIO whose telephone number is (571)270-7229. The examiner can normally be reached on 8am-5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Brian Zimmerman, can be reached at (571) 272-3059. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application lnformation Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAlR only. For more information about the PAlR system, see http:/lpair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAlR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-91 99 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/CAL J EUSTAQUIO/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686