DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a first stimulation mechanism in claims 1 and 18 and a second stimulation mechanism in claims 7 and 14. These components are described in paragraphs 0063-0064 of the published application and can include vibratory or suction modules/devices, movable actuators, and rotating beads.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an individual" in line 4. It is not clear if this is intended to refer to the individual recited in lines 2-3 or to be a separate individual.
Claim 1 also recites the limitation "the sensed relative motion" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; the claim only previously recites sensing movement.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "an individual to which the first device is coupled" in lines 1-2. It is not clear if this is intended to refer to the individual recited in claim 1 or to be a separate individual.
Claims 2-17 are rejected by virtue of their dependence upon at least one rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cooper et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0167514 A1; hereinafter known as “Cooper”).
Regarding claim 1, Cooper discloses an apparatus 6 for sexual stimulation (Abstract; Figs. 3, 4), comprising: a first device 1 that is configured to be held by, worn by or mounted to an individual; and a second device 1 that is configured to be coupled to an individual, the second device including: a first sensor 3S that is configured to sense movement of the first device relative to the second device and to generate a first motion signal based on the sensed relative motion, and a first stimulation mechanism 2 for sexually stimulating the individual to which the second device is coupled, wherein the first stimulation mechanism is configured to operate based, at least in part, on the first motion signal ([0010]-[0012]; [0033]; [0039]-[0040]; [0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Cooper discloses that the first device includes a metallic element and the first sensor is configured to sense motion of the metallic element relative to the second device ([0017]-[0021]; [0067]; [0097]-[0099]).
Regarding claim 3, Cooper discloses that the first device includes a magnet and the first sensor is configured to sense motion of the magnet relative to the second device ([0017]-[0021]; [0067]; [0097]-[0099]).
Regarding claim 4, Cooper discloses that the first motion signal generated by the first sensor is indicative of a proximity of the first device to the second device ([0010]-[0012]; [0033]; [0054]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Cooper discloses that an operational state of the first stimulation mechanism is selectively varied based on the first motion signal ([0033]; [0142]).
Regarding claim 7, Cooper discloses that the second device includes a second stimulation mechanism for sexually stimulating the individual to which the second device is coupled ([0109]; [0119]-[0120]).
Regarding claims 8-11, Cooper discloses that the second stimulation mechanism is configured to operate based, at least in part, on the first motion signal, wherein an operational state of the first stimulation mechanism is selectively varied in a first way based on the first motion signal and wherein an operational state of the second stimulation mechanism is varied in a second way based on the first motion signal, wherein the first way is the same as or different from the second way ([0036]-[0037]; [0120]).
Regarding claim 12, Cooper discloses that the second device further comprises at least one processor 5 that is configured to generate a drive signal based on the first motion signal, wherein the drive signal is used to drive operation of the first stimulation mechanism ([0033]; [0052]; [0058]).
Regarding claim 14, Cooper discloses that the first device includes a second stimulation mechanism 2 configured to sexually stimulate an individual to which the first device is coupled ([0058]).
Regarding claim 15, Cooper discloses that the second stimulation mechanism is configured to operate based, at least in part, on the first motion signal ([0010]-[0012]; [0033]; [0057]-[0058]; [0063]).
Regarding claim 16, Cooper discloses that the second device includes a wireless transmitter 8 configured to transmit a second device signal that is based on the first motion signal, wherein the first device comprises a wireless receiver 9 configured to receive the second device signal, and wherein the second stimulation device is configured to operate based, at least in part, on the received second device signal ([0059]; [0092]-[0096]).
Regarding claim 17, Cooper discloses that the second device comprises a wireless receiver/transceiver, and wherein the first stimulation mechanism is configured to operate based, at least in part, on a control signal received via the wireless receiver/transceiver ([0059]; [0092]-[0096]).
Regarding claim 18, Cooper discloses an apparatus 6 for sexual stimulation (Abstract; Figs. 3, 4), comprising: a housing 1 that is configured to be held coupled to an individual; a sensor 3S mounted on the housing and configured to sense movement of a separate device relative to the sensor, wherein the sensor generates a motion signal based on the sensed relative movement, and a first stimulation mechanism 2 for sexually stimulating the individual to which the housing is coupled, wherein the first stimulation mechanism is configured to operate based, at least in part, on the motion signal ([0010]-[0012]; [0033]; [0039]-[0040]; [0057]).
Regarding claim 19, Cooper discloses that the sensor is configured to sense movement of a metallic or magnetic element on the separate device relative to the sensor ([0017]-[0021]; [0067]; [0097]-[0099]).
Regarding claim 20, Cooper discloses that an operational state of the first stimulation mechanism is selectively varied based on the motion signal ([0033]; [0142]).
Claims 1, 4, 5, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bauer (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0330319 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bauer discloses an apparatus 1 for sexual stimulation (Abstract; Figs. 1-3), comprising: a first device 2 that is configured to be held by, worn by or mounted to an individual, and a second device 3 that is configured to be coupled to an individual, the second device including: a first sensor 26 that is configured to sense movement of the first device relative to the second device and to generate a first motion signal based on the sensed relative motion, and a first stimulation mechanism 18 for sexually stimulating the individual to which the second device is coupled, wherein the first stimulation mechanism is configured to operate based, at least in part, on the first motion signal ([0041]-[0042]; [0047]-[0050]; [0053]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 4, Bauer discloses that the first motion signal generated by the first sensor is indicative of a proximity of the first device to the second device ([0008]; [0017]; [0050]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 5, Bauer discloses that the first motion signal generated by the first sensor is also indicative of a speed of movement of the first device relative to the second device ([0013]; [0017]).
Regarding claim 12, Bauer discloses that the second device further comprises at least one processor 20 that is configured to generate a drive signal based on the first motion signal, wherein the drive signal is used to drive operation of the first stimulation mechanism ([0047]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 13, Bauer discloses that the at least one processor is configured to generate a speed signal indicative of a speed of movement of the first device relative to the second device based on the first motion signal, and wherein the drive signal generated by the at least one processor is also based on the speed signal ([0013]; [0017]).
Conclusion
/THADDEUS B COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791