DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the communications filed on 7 July 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No.10-2023-0112104, filed on 25 August 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,5-6,8-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Hereinafter, Kim, US 2017/0108997 A1) in view of Anantharaman et al. (Hereinafter, Anantharaman, US 2015/0095419 A1), and further in view of Ferdowsi et al. (Hereinafter, Ferdowsi, US 2012/0331108 A1 ).
Per claim 1, Kim discloses a method for controlling a mobile multimedia device to share content between devices (Abstract; paragraph [0014], “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, a method is provided for sharing content between an electronic device and an external device ... “), the method comprising:
in response to a request for sharing content including information on a content type of the content to be shared (e.g., steps (a) to (c) as shown in Fig. 5; Abstract, “ … Information on the at least one piece of content is transmitted to the external device. “; paragraphs [0014], “… Information on the at least one piece of content is transmitted to the external device. “; paragraph [0073],” In response to the information on the content being transmitted to the external device 20, as illustrated in (b) of FIG. 1, the external device 20 reproduces the content based on the received content. For example, in response to the received content being a video link address, the external device 20 may acquire the video indicated by the video link address by accessing the server, and reproduce the acquired video.”; paragraph [0136], “In response to the user input, as illustrated in (c) of FIG. 5, the processor 190 controls the display 130 to display an external device list 503 including at least one external device connectable to the electronic device 10. The external device list 503 includes a plurality of pieces of external device identification information 503-1, 503-2, 503-3 corresponding to the at least one external device 20.” ), outputting information about sharing candidate devices(e.g., external device list 503 includes a plurality of pieces of external device identification information 503-1, 503-2, 503-3 corresponding to the at least one external device 20 as shown in Fig. 5(c); paragraphs [0138-0139]; Examiner’s Note: As shown in Fig. 5, user swipes down to display share content interface 502-1. In response to selecting content interface 502-1, external device identification information, i.e., candidate devices 503-1, 503-2, 503-3 are displayed.);
detecting a selection of a selected device among the sharing candidate devices(paragraph [0138], “…Subsequently, the sensor 180 may sense a user input of selecting the external device identification information 503-1 on an external device to share the contents. “);
transmitting the information for sharing the content to the selected device(paragraph [0140], “According to an embodiment, in response to the at least one piece of content executable in the video reproducing device 20-1 being determined from among the contents of at least one of the electronic document 501 and the other electronic document, the processor 190 controls the communicator 140 to transmit information 601, including the determined video or the link address of the video, to the video reproducing device 20-1.”); but does not expressly disclose:
determining a sharing type based on the content type or the selected device, and generating information for sharing content based on the sharing type, the sharing type including a communication protocol for transmitting the content,
wherein generating the information for sharing content comprises generating link information for accessing the shared content or a request for initiating an application based on the sharing type, and incorporating the generated link information or the request into the information for sharing content.
Anantharaman discloses determining a sharing type based on the content type or the selected device, and generating information for sharing content based on the sharing type (e.g., block 312 as shown in Fig. 3; Abstract; paragraph [0005]; paragraph [0019]; paragraph [0020-0021]; paragraph [0047], “ At block 312, methodology 300 may include computing application associated performance parameters by the first device, wherein the performance parameters are computed by the first device based at least on a type of content identified for sharing by the application on the first device and the determined multimedia capabilities of the one or more second devices …. “; paragraph [0057]; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 1 illustrates determining a sharing type based on content source, content type, content destination, and mode of operation), the sharing type including a communication protocol for transmitting the content (paragraph[0030], “In an aspect, communication protocol component 206 may be configured to apply communication protocols for communicating with the one or more second devices and creating an association between the first device and the one or more second devices. For example, in an aspect, communication protocol component 206 may apply communication protocols for sharing content with other wireless devices identified by the host device as the protocols required for communication may be dependent on the type of content to be shared and/or type of device with the which the content is shared, and/or the type of wireless connection over which the content is shared.” ).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to use the method and apparatus of Anantharaman with the Kim’s electronic device for providing a technology-independent solution for real-time sharing of multimedia content between wireless devices as suggested by Anantharaman (See paragraph [0003]).
Ferdowsi discloses wherein generating the information for sharing content comprises (Abstract, “ Users specify that a file set comprising their files, folders, or other content owned by the users should be made accessible via a link, such as a uniform resource locator (URL)…“; paragraph [0002],”The disclosed embodiments relate generally to sharing of data over a network. In particular, the disclosed embodiments are directed to sharing of user files via user-generated links.”; paragraph [0024]; paragraph [0033], “… In one embodiment, upon receiving a request to share a particular file set via a link, the link generation module 230 generates a file set descriptor unambiguously describing the file set to be shared and a unique URL that serves as the link, and then saves an association of the file set descriptor and the URL in the sharing database 220 ... “; Examiner’s Note: Ferdowsi teaches generating a unique link (such as a URL or resource identifier) that dictates how the receiver accesses it, i.e., a protocol ) generating link information for accessing the shared content or a request for initiating an application based on the sharing type (paragraph [0007], “In some embodiments, the links may be associated with other links, thus allowing multiple levels of indirection, and they may specify an application or plug-in used to view or otherwise interact with the associated file set.”; paragraph [0035]), and incorporating the generated link information or the request into the information for sharing content (paragraph [0035] “In one embodiment, a user may specify a particular application or plug-in with which the file set should be viewed or otherwise interacted with. For example, an identifier that uniquely identifies an application or plug-in can be embedded within the generated link ….”; paragraph [0043]; ; Examiner’s Note: Ferdowsi teaches generating a link to a specified application.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to use the link generation of Ferdowsi with the Kim and Anantharaman’s electronic device for sharing files between multiple computers as suggested by Ferdowsi (See paragraph [0004]).
Per claim 2, Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi disclose the method of claim 1, the method further comprising:
in response to the content type being a first type or a second type(Kim, paragraph [0063]; paragraph [0064], “For example, the plurality of contents may include the video link address, the audio link address, and the text link address. In this case, a type of the content corresponding to the video link address may be the video, a type of the content corresponding to the audio link address may be the audio, and a type of the content corresponding to the text link address may be the text.”; Examiner’s Note: Kim discloses at least a video or audio content type.), generating first link information for accessing the shared content and incorporating the first link information into the information for sharing the content(Kim, paragraph [0065], “According to an embodiment, in response to the external device 20 being realized as a TV, and the function information on the TV indicating the video reproducing function, the content determined to be executed in the TV may be the video link address.”; paragraph [0072]),
wherein the shared content is output via execution of a first application using the first link information on the selected device (Kim, paragraph [0073], “In response to the information on the content being transmitted to the external device 20, as illustrated in (b) of FIG. 1, the external device 20 reproduces the content based on the received content. For example, in response to the received content being a video link address, the external device 20 may acquire the video indicated by the video link address by accessing the server, and reproduce the acquired video.”).
Per claim 5, Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi disclose the method of claim1,wherein the sharing candidate devices are selected based on the request for sharing the content(Kim, paragraph [0136], “In response to the user input, as illustrated in (c) of FIG. 5, the processor 190 controls the display 130 to display an external device list 503 including at least one external device connectable to the electronic device 10. The external device list 503 includes a plurality of pieces of external device identification information 503-1, 503-2, 503-3 corresponding to the at least one external device 20.”).
Per claim 6, Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: activating a control user interface (UI) for controlling an application of the selected device for the content after transmitting the information for sharing the content to the selected device (Kim, paragraph [0170], “The processor 190 of the electronic device 10 controls the display 130 to display a UI 705 for controlling the content being reproduced in the external device 20.”; paragraph [0171]; Fig. 7 illustrates activating a control user interface (UI) 705 for controlling an application of the selected device for the content after transmitting the information for sharing the content to the selected device).
Per claim 8, Kim discloses a multimedia device for sharing content (e.g., electronic device 10 as shown in Figs. 1 and 2; Abstract; paragraph [0045]), the multimedia device comprising:
a display (e.g., display 130 as shown in Fig. 2) configured to output content(paragraphs [0076-0077]); and
a controller (e.g., processor 190 as shown in Fig. 2 ) configured to execute one or more applications and control the content to be output on the display (paragraphs [0079-0083]),
wherein the controller is configured to:
receive information for sharing the content (paragraph [0068], “In response to at least one content executable in the external device 20 being determined from among the plurality of contents, as illustrated in (a) of FIG. 1, the electronic device 10 displays a content list 102 including at least one piece of content representative information corresponding to the at least one determined content …”; paragraph[0072], “In response to the at least one piece of content representative information 102-1 being selected, the electronic device 10 transmits information on the content corresponding to the selected content representative information 102-1 to the external device 20 …” );
determine an application to be executed for the content based on the information for sharing the content(paragraph [0110], “… In response to a UI object being selected, a main central processing unit (CPU) 194 may execute an application corresponding to the selected UI object by using the application module 340. “); and
execute the application (paragraph [0119]), but does not expressly disclose:
wherein the information for sharing the content is generated based on a content type of the content or a sharing type determined based on the multimedia device, the sharing type including a communication protocol for transmitting the content, and
wherein the information for sharing the content includes link information for accessing the shared content or a request for initiating an application, which is generated based on the sharing type.
Anantharaman discloses wherein the information for sharing the content is generated based on a content type of the content or a sharing type determined based on the multimedia device (e.g., block 312 as shown in Fig. 3; Abstract; paragraph [0005]; paragraph [0019]; paragraph [0020-0021]; paragraph [0047], “ At block 312, methodology 300 may include computing application associated performance parameters by the first device, wherein the performance parameters are computed by the first device based at least on a type of content identified for sharing by the application on the first device and the determined multimedia capabilities of the one or more second devices …. “; paragraph [0057]; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 1 illustrates determining a sharing type based on content source, content type, content destination, and mode of operation), the sharing type including a communication protocol for transmitting the content (paragraph[0030], “In an aspect, communication protocol component 206 may be configured to apply communication protocols for communicating with the one or more second devices and creating an association between the first device and the one or more second devices. For example, in an aspect, communication protocol component 206 may apply communication protocols for sharing content with other wireless devices identified by the host device as the protocols required for communication may be dependent on the type of content to be shared and/or type of device with the which the content is shared, and/or the type of wireless connection over which the content is shared.” ).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to use the method and apparatus of Anantharaman with the Kim’s electronic device for providing a technology-independent solution for real-time sharing of multimedia content between wireless devices as suggested by Anantharaman (See paragraph [0003]).
Ferdowsi discloses wherein the information for sharing the content includes link information for accessing the shared content or a request for initiating an application, which is generated based on the sharing type (Abstract, “ Users specify that a file set comprising their files, folders, or other content owned by the users should be made accessible via a link, such as a uniform resource locator (URL)…“; paragraph [0002],”The disclosed embodiments relate generally to sharing of data over a network. In particular, the disclosed embodiments are directed to sharing of user files via user-generated links.”; paragraph [0007], “In some embodiments, the links may be associated with other links, thus allowing multiple levels of indirection, and they may specify an application or plug-in used to view or otherwise interact with the associated file set.”; paragraph [0024]; paragraph [0033], “… In one embodiment, upon receiving a request to share a particular file set via a link, the link generation module 230 generates a file set descriptor unambiguously describing the file set to be shared and a unique URL that serves as the link, and then saves an association of the file set descriptor and the URL in the sharing database 220 ... “; paragraph [0035] “In one embodiment, a user may specify a particular application or plug-in with which the file set should be viewed or otherwise interacted with. For example, an identifier that uniquely identifies an application or plug-in can be embedded within the generated link ….”; paragraph [0043]; Examiner’s Note: Ferdowsi teaches generating a unique link (such as a URL or resource identifier) that dictates how the receiver accesses it, i.e., a protocol ) ).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to use the link generation of Ferdowsi with the Kim and Anantharaman’s electronic device for sharing files between multiple computers as suggested by Ferdowsi (See paragraph [0004]).
Per claim 9, Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi disclose the multimedia device of claim 8,
wherein the information for sharing the content includes first link information for accessing the shared content (Kim, paragraph [0041]; paragraph [0057]; paragraph [0064] ), and
wherein the controller is configured to execute a first application using the first link information(Kim, paragraph [0066]).
Per claim 10, Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi disclose the multimedia device of claim 8,
wherein the information for sharing the content includes second link information included in a request for sharing the content (Kim, paragraph [0057] ),
wherein the controller is configured to execute a second application using the second link information, or execute a third application when the second app is not executable(Kim, paragraph [0065]), or
wherein the controller is configured to execute the third application using the second link information(Kim, paragraph [0066]).
Per claim 12, Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi disclose the multimedia device of claim 8, wherein the controller is configured to: in response to multimedia device being located outside of a local network of a device that initiated the sharing, receive the information for sharing the content from a server (Kim, paragraph [0062], “ …In response to receiving a user input for reproducing the content in the external device 20, the electronic device 10 may acquire the function information from the server or from the external device 20. In response to the electronic device 10 communicating with the external device 20, the electronic device 10 may acquire the function information from the external device 20.”; paragraph [0070]; paragraph [0073]).
Per claim 13, Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi disclose the multimedia device of claim 12, wherein the information for sharing the content includes third link information generated by the server when the content type is a first type or a second type (Kim, paragraph [0070]), and wherein the controller is configured to execute a first application using the third link information to access the content uploaded to the server(paragraph [0070]).
Per claim 14, Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi disclose the multimedia device of claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to output a message on the display for receiving a selection input from a user selecting one of executing the application and outputting the shared content on the display before executing the application (Kim, paragraph [0072]).
Per claim 15, Kim discloses a mobile multimedia device for sharing content(e.g., electronic device 10 as shown in Figs. 1 and 2; Abstract; paragraph [0045]), the mobile multimedia device comprising:
a transceiver configured to transmit information for sharing content(e.g., communicator 140 as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0078]); and
a controller configured to generate the information for sharing the content and control the transceiver (e.g., processor 190 as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0079]), wherein the controller is configured to:
in response to a request for sharing content including information on a content type of the content to be shared (e.g., steps (a) to (c) as shown in Fig. 5; Abstract, “ … Information on the at least one piece of content is transmitted to the external device. “; paragraphs [0014], “… Information on the at least one piece of content is transmitted to the external device. “; paragraph [0073],” In response to the information on the content being transmitted to the external device 20, as illustrated in (b) of FIG. 1, the external device 20 reproduces the content based on the received content. For example, in response to the received content being a video link address, the external device 20 may acquire the video indicated by the video link address by accessing the server, and reproduce the acquired video.”; paragraph [0136], “In response to the user input, as illustrated in (c) of FIG. 5, the processor 190 controls the display 130 to display an external device list 503 including at least one external device connectable to the electronic device 10. The external device list 503 includes a plurality of pieces of external device identification information 503-1, 503-2, 503-3 corresponding to the at least one external device 20.” ), output information about sharing candidate devices(e.g., external device list 503 includes a plurality of pieces of external device identification information 503-1, 503-2, 503-3 corresponding to the at least one external device 20 as shown in Fig. 5(c); paragraphs [0138-0139]; Examiner’s Note: As shown in Fig. 5, user swipes down to display share content interface 502-1. In response to selecting content interface 502-1, external device identification information, i.e., candidate devices 503-1, 503-2, 503-3 are displayed.);
detect a selection of a selected device among the sharing candidate devices(paragraph [0138], “…Subsequently, the sensor 180 may sense a user input of selecting the external device identification information 503-1 on an external device to share the contents. “);
transmit the information for sharing the content to the selected device(paragraph [0140], “According to an embodiment, in response to the at least one piece of content executable in the video reproducing device 20-1 being determined from among the contents of at least one of the electronic document 501 and the other electronic document, the processor 190 controls the communicator 140 to transmit information 601, including the determined video or the link address of the video, to the video reproducing device 20-1.”) ; but does not expressly disclose:
determine a sharing type based on the content type or the selected device, and generating information for sharing content based on the sharing type, the sharing type including a communication protocol for transmitting the content,
wherein generating the information for sharing the content comprises generating link information for accessing the shared content or a request for initiating an application based on the sharing type, and incorporating the generated link information or the request into the information for sharing content.
Anantharaman discloses determine a sharing type based on the content type or the selected device, and generating information for sharing content based on the sharing type (e.g., block 312 as shown in Fig. 3; Abstract; paragraph [0005]; paragraph [0019]; paragraph [0020-0021]; paragraph [0047], “ At block 312, methodology 300 may include computing application associated performance parameters by the first device, wherein the performance parameters are computed by the first device based at least on a type of content identified for sharing by the application on the first device and the determined multimedia capabilities of the one or more second devices …. “; paragraph [0057]; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 1 illustrates determining a sharing type based on content source, content type, content destination, and mode of operation), the sharing type including a communication protocol for transmitting the content (paragraph[0030], “In an aspect, communication protocol component 206 may be configured to apply communication protocols for communicating with the one or more second devices and creating an association between the first device and the one or more second devices. For example, in an aspect, communication protocol component 206 may apply communication protocols for sharing content with other wireless devices identified by the host device as the protocols required for communication may be dependent on the type of content to be shared and/or type of device with the which the content is shared, and/or the type of wireless connection over which the content is shared.” ).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to use the method and apparatus of Anantharaman with the Kim’s electronic device for providing a technology-independent solution for real-time sharing of multimedia content between wireless devices as suggested by Anantharaman (See paragraph [0003]).
Ferdowsi discloses generating link information for accessing the shared content or a request for initiating an application based on the sharing type (paragraph [0007], “In some embodiments, the links may be associated with other links, thus allowing multiple levels of indirection, and they may specify an application or plug-in used to view or otherwise interact with the associated file set.”; paragraph [0035]), and incorporating the generated link information or the request into the information for sharing content (paragraph [0035] “In one embodiment, a user may specify a particular application or plug-in with which the file set should be viewed or otherwise interacted with. For example, an identifier that uniquely identifies an application or plug-in can be embedded within the generated link ….”; paragraph [0043]; ; Examiner’s Note: Ferdowsi teaches generating a link to a specified application.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to use the link generation of Ferdowsi with the Kim and Anantharaman’s electronic device for sharing files between multiple computers as suggested by Ferdowsi (See paragraph [0004]).
Per claim 16, Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi disclose the mobile multimedia device for claim 15, wherein the controller is configured to: in response to the request for sharing the content, display a plurality of icons corresponding to the sharing candidate devices and a thumbnail image of the content on a same screen(Kim, paragraph [0154], “According to another embodiment, in (c) of FIG. 5, the user may select the external device identification information 503-3 corresponding to a text display device 20-3 (e.g., tablet PC or e-book reader) that is capable of displaying text as the external device 20.”; Fig. 5 illustrates in response to the request for sharing the content, display a plurality of icons corresponding to the sharing candidate devices and a thumbnail image of the content on a same screen. ).
Per claim 17, Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi disclose the mobile multimedia device for claim 16, wherein the controller is configured to:
in response to the request for sharing the content, display a list of candidate applications to use for sharing the content before displaying the plurality of icons corresponding to the sharing candidate devices (Kim, e.g., external device list 503 as shown in Fig. 5; paragraph [0136], “In response to the user input, as illustrated in (c) of FIG. 5, the processor 190 controls the display 130 to display an external device list 503 including at least one external device connectable to the electronic device 10. The external device list 503 includes a plurality of pieces of external device identification information 503-1, 503-2, 503-3 corresponding to the at least one external device 20.” ), and
in response to receiving a selection of an application among the list of candidate applications, display the plurality of icons corresponding to the sharing candidate devices (Kim, paragraph [0137]).
Per claim 18, Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi disclose the mobile multimedia device for claim 16, wherein a list of candidate applications and a thumbnail image of the content are displayed together on a same screen (Kim, e.g., Fig. 5 (C) illustrates wherein a list of candidate applications and a thumbnail image of the content are displayed together on a same screen; paragraph [0136]).
Per claim 19, Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi disclose the mobile multimedia device for claim 15, wherein the content to be shared includes at least one of an image, a video, a webpage or a uniform resource locator (URL) (Kim, paragraph [0057], “The content may be audio content, a video, text, or images, for example. The content may be a link address designating a location where the content is stored, for example, uniform resource locator (URL). That is, the content may be an audio link address, a video link address, a text link address, or an image link addresses. The content may be a thumbnail of the content. That is, the content may be a video thumbnail, a text thumbnail, or an image thumbnail. As an example, the content may consist of two or more types of contents described above. As another example, the content may include both the video thumbnail and the video link address.”).
Per claim 20, Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi disclose the mobile multimedia device for claim 15, wherein the controller is configured to: in response to the request for sharing the content, receive, from a server, content support information indicating types of content supported by the sharing candidate devices (Kim, paragraph[0062], “… In response to receiving a user input for reproducing the content in the external device 20, the electronic device 10 may acquire the function information from the server or from the external device 20. In response to the electronic device 10 communicating with the external device 20, the electronic device 10 may acquire the function information from the external device 20.“; paragraph [0070]; paragraph [0073]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Hereinafter, Kim, US 2017/0108997 A1) in view of Anantharaman et al. (Hereinafter, Anantharaman, US 2015/0095419 A1 ), Ferdowsi et al. (Hereinafter, Ferdowsi, US 2012/0331108 A1 ), and further in view of Lu (US 2023/0385008 A1) .
Per claim 3, Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi disclose the method of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose the method as further comprising:
in response to the content type being a third type or a fourth type, incorporating second link information included in the request for sharing the content into the information for sharing the content,
wherein the shared content of the third type is output via execution of a second application using the second link information on the selected device, or output via a third application when the second application is not executable, and
wherein the shared content of the fourth type is output via execution of the third application using the second link information on the selected device.
Lu discloses:
in response to the content type being a third type or a fourth type(e.g., online projection as shown in Fig. 1B; paragraph [0039]; paragraph [0068]), incorporating second link information included in the request for sharing the content into the information for sharing the content(paragraph [0065], “2. Online projection: Both a mobile device and an electronic device access the internet or a local area network. The mobile device sends only a website address corresponding to a multimedia resource to be projected, for example, a uniform resource locator (uniform resource locator, URL), to the electronic device. The electronic device obtains corresponding multimedia content from the internet side or the local area network side based on the website address, to output (for example, play or display) the multimedia content. “; paragraph [0279]; Examiner’s Note: A mobile device shares a URL with an external electronic device which allows the electronic device to access content directly as shown in Fig. 1B.),
wherein the shared content of the third type is output via execution of a second application using the second link information on the selected device, or output via a third application when the second application is not executable(paragraph [0010]; paragraph [0260]; Examiner’s Note: Lu discloses initiating an online projection service which cause a video application to execute. ), and
wherein the shared content of the fourth type is output via execution of the third application using the second link information on the selected device(paragraph [0065], “… The mobile device sends only a website address corresponding to a multimedia resource to be projected, for example, a uniform resource locator (uniform resource locator, URL), to the electronic device …. “; paragraph [0252]; paragraph [0260]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to use the wireless projection method of Lu with the Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi’s electronic device for improving user experience as suggested by Lu (See paragraph [0005]).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Hereinafter, Kim, US 2017/0108997 A1) in view of Anantharaman et al. (Hereinafter, Anantharaman, US 2015/0095419 A1 ), Ferdowsi et al. (Hereinafter, Ferdowsi, US 2012/0331108 A1 ), and further in view of Fontaine et al. (Hereinafter, Fontaine, US 2014/0372558 A1).
Per claim 4, Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi disclose the method of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose
wherein the information for sharing the content includes a request for initiating mirroring in response to the content type not being one of a first type, a second type, a third type, and a fourth type,
wherein the request for initiating the mirroring includes communication port information to be used for the mirroring.
Fontaine discloses
wherein the information for sharing the content includes a request for initiating mirroring (e.g., step S0 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0071], “ Step S0 corresponds to the initialisation and the global configuration of the network gateway, following its being switched on. The control unit of the gateway copies to the random access memory and executes the embedded software routines initially stored in the non-volatile memory. … At the end of step S0, the gateway is configured and operates as a modem-router making it possible, among other things, to interconnect the network WAN 6 connected to the interface GW-WAN-IF 26 with the LAN local network, constituted of LAN network paths LAN-L1 4 and LAN-L2 5. The gateway also acts on the LAN network as a UPnP/DLNA server and controller enabling the user to share content between devices connected to the LAN network. “) in response to the content type not being one of a first type, a second type, a third type, and a fourth type(e.g., step S1 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0001]; paragraph [0071], “… In step S1, under control of the control unit GWCU 20, the processing module P-IF1 23 insert information elements IE indicating that the gateway is a reproduction device capable of receiving an item of audiovisual content in MAC frames transmitted to the interface GW-IF1 21 over the wireless network LAN-L1 …. “; Step S3 as shown in Fig. 3 discloses adaption of the content and/or transcoding to a format compatible with a port.; Examiner’s Note: Fontaine discloses initiating the WI-FI Display sharing or mirroring of content between devices connected to the LAN network.),
wherein the request for initiating the mirroring includes communication port information to be used for the mirroring (e.g., step S4 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0071], “ … Step S4 corresponds to the transmission of the prepared data to the interface GW-IF2, itself connected to the Ethernet interface of the control unit TV-CU of the television set CONN-TV 3. The control unit TV-CU 30 processes the data on arrival and transfers the data to the audio and video reproduction modules TV-AR 33 and TV-VR 32 of the television set CONN-TV 3. The content available on the portable device WFDISP 1 whose display has been forwarded and/or duplicated is reproduced on the reproduction device CONN-TV 3. The gateway acts as a relay of proxy type in content transmission according to the WiFi Display standard. “; Examiner’s Note: At Step 2 as shown in Fig. 3, communication port information to be used for the mirroring is received by a gateway, i.e., a communications port. See paragraph [0071].).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to use the WIFI display compatible network gateway of Fontaine with the Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi’s electronic device for implementing a user-friendly feature of connection and display via wireless connection as suggested by Fontaine (See paragraph [0014]).
Per claim 11, Kim and Anantharaman disclose the multimedia device of claim 8, but do not expressly disclose wherein the information for sharing the content includes a request for initiating mirroring,
wherein the controller is configured to execute a fourth application for the mirroring in response to the request for initiating the mirroring,
wherein the request for initiating the mirroring includes communication port information to be used for the mirroring.
Fontaine discloses wherein the information for sharing the content includes a request for initiating mirroring (e.g., step S0 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0071], “ Step S0 corresponds to the initialisation and the global configuration of the network gateway, following its being switched on. The control unit of the gateway copies to the random access memory and executes the embedded software routines initially stored in the non-volatile memory. … At the end of step S0, the gateway is configured and operates as a modem-router making it possible, among other things, to interconnect the network WAN 6 connected to the interface GW-WAN-IF 26 with the LAN local network, constituted of LAN network paths LAN-L1 4 and LAN-L2 5. The gateway also acts on the LAN network as a UPnP/DLNA server and controller enabling the user to share content between devices connected to the LAN network. “),
wherein the controller is configured to execute a fourth application for the mirroring in response to the request for initiating the mirroring (e.g., step S1 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0001]; paragraph [0071], “… In step S1, under control of the control unit GWCU 20, the processing module P-IF1 23 insert information elements IE indicating that the gateway is a reproduction device capable of receiving an item of audiovisual content in MAC frames transmitted to the interface GW-IF1 21 over the wireless network LAN-L1 …. “; Step S3 as shown in Fig. 3 discloses adaption of the content and/or transcoding to a format compatible with a port.; Examiner’s Note: Fontaine discloses initiating the WI-FI Display sharing or mirroring of content between devices connected to the LAN network.),
wherein the request for initiating the mirroring includes communication port information to be used for the mirroring (e.g., step S4 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0071], “ … Step S4 corresponds to the transmission of the prepared data to the interface GW-IF2, itself connected to the Ethernet interface of the control unit TV-CU of the television set CONN-TV 3. The control unit TV-CU 30 processes the data on arrival and transfers the data to the audio and video reproduction modules TV-AR 33 and TV-VR 32 of the television set CONN-TV 3. The content available on the portable device WFDISP 1 whose display has been forwarded and/or duplicated is reproduced on the reproduction device CONN-TV 3. The gateway acts as a relay of proxy type in content transmission according to the WiFi Display standard. “; Examiner’s Note: At Step 2 as shown in Fig. 3, communication port information to be used for the mirroring is received by a gateway, i.e., a communications port. See paragraph [0071].).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to use the WIFI display compatible network gateway of Fontaine with the Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi’s electronic device for implementing a user-friendly feature of connection and display via wireless connection as suggested by Fontaine (See paragraph [0014]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Hereinafter, Kim, US 2017/0108997 A1) in view of Anantharaman et al. (Hereinafter, Anantharaman, US 2015/0095419 A1 ), Ferdowsi et al. (Hereinafter, Ferdowsi, US 2012/0331108 A1), and further in view of Kamal et al. (Hereinafter, Kamal, US 2013/0324169 A1) .
Per claim 7, Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi disclose the method of claim 1, but the method do not disclose the method as further comprising: in response to the selected device being a device in a remote network and the content type being a first type or a second type, uploading the shared content to a server.
Kamal discloses in response to the selected device being a device in a remote network (e.g., Step 235 as shown in Fig. 2B; paragraph [0035],” In step 235, the MS 103a determines whether the MS 103b with which a link was established in step 233 is a MS that is part of the NFC-share group selected in step 231. “) and the content type being a first type or a second type (e.g., step 231 as shown in Fig. 2B; paragraph [0033], “The method 230 beings with step 231, in which the MS 103a receives a selection of content to be shared (e.g., a picture, video, contact or electronic business card, file, or the like) and a selection of a NFC-share group with which the content should be shared. The MS 103a may receive the selections from user input (e.g., in the form of user selections on a display screen of the MS 103a) or by any other appropriate means.”), uploading the shared content to a server (e.g., step 241 as shown in Fig. 2B; paragraph [0041], “Upon determining that the linked device is part of the NFC-share group in step 235, and/or upon sending the transmitted information to the responding MS in step 239, the MS 103a uploads the selected content to a NFC-share server 105 in step 241. The MS 103a uploads the selected content via the mobile communication network 101…”).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to use the group sharing of Kamal with the Kim, Anantharaman, and Ferdowsi’s electronic device for improving the sharing of content with near field communication (NFC) technology.as suggested by Kamal(See paragraph [0003]).
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102
Applicant's arguments filed on 7 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-8 of Applicant’s Remarks, with reference to claim 1, Applicant argues that “Kim fails to disclose or suggest each and every feature of independent claim 1” since “Kim makes no disclosure or suggestion related to generating information for sharing content based on a dynamically determined communication protocol.” Additionally, Applicant argues that Anantharaman does not teach or suggest actively generating information for sharing content based on a dynamically determined communication protocol.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which the applicant relies (i.e., actively generating information for sharing content based on a dynamically determined communication protocol) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument, on page 8 (with respect to claim 1), that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In this case, Examiner's earlier stated reason to combine Anantharaman's teaching of a technology-independent solution for real-time sharing of multimedia content between wireless devices was to allow the electronic device of Kim to apply communication protocols and create associations multiple different wireless devices (See Abstract).
Applicant asserts that Examiner’s reasoning for combining Kim and Anantharaman is “a bald assertion that is nothing more than impermissible hindsight reconstruction of the claimed methods and devices.”
Firstly, regarding the that there is " no teaching, suggestion, or motivation in any reference to modify Kim to actively generate information for sharing content based on a dynamically determined communication protocol ", Examiner submits that a person of ordinary skill in this art or any art would combine Anantharaman with Kim to allow Kim’s wireless device to apply communication protocols and create an association between a first device and one or more second device. Therefore, generating information for sharing content based on a dynamically determined communication protocol was known without knowledge of Applicant’s claimed invention.
Similar comments apply to other independent claims 8 and 15 as they recite similar features in a varying scope. Thus, independent claims 1, 8 and 15 and their dependent claims (due to the dependency) are not patentable over the applied art, and the rejections are respectfully maintained.
Conclusion
DARRIN HOPE
Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178