DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 1/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5, 7, 13-14 and 18 have been amended. Claims 2, 8 and 15 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-14 and 16-19 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 7, 13 and 14 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9-10, 13-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 2020/0052844; provided in Applicant’s IDS dated 4/25/2025, hereinafter Yu) in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2025/0015963, hereinafter Matsumura).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a method comprising: determining, by a wireless communication device, a first beam state associated with a first type of signal [Yu Figure 1 discloses a wireless system comprising a base station and a UE; and Figure 5 discloses a flow between a base station and a UE. Yu discloses the a UE may receive one or more multiple MAC CE activation commands for indicating one or more TCI states for one or more configured CORESET, and receive QCL indication for PDCCH reception (see Yu Figure 5, step 515; paragraph 0033). In step 516 of Yu Figure 5, the UE determines QCL assumptions for the DMRS ports associated with PDCCH receptions in the configured CORESETs (Yu Figure 5, step 516, paragraph 0033). The PDCCH reception corresponds to a first type of signal. Determining QCL for PDCCH reception corresponds to determining a first beam state associated with a first type of signal. Yu further discloses that a TCI state is used to provide or indicate QCL assumption (Yu paragraph 0028); which also indicates that a TCI state corresponds to a QCL or a beam state], wherein the first beam state is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCI) different from that of a serving cell;
Determining, by the wireless communication device, a second beam state associated with a second type of signal [Yu discloses that the UE may receive DCI and perform DCI decoding, which conveys QCL indication for PDSCH reception for the UE (see Yu Figure 5, steps 531, 532 and 533; paragraph 0034). This corresponds to determining a second beam state associated with a second type of signal (e.g. PDSCH). Also see Yu Figure 1, PDSCH reception 151 and QCL assumption for PDSCH reception (Yu paragraph 0021)], according to a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index in a last monitored time unit, wherein the second type of signal comprises a downlink signal whose scheduling offset is less than a threshold, and wherein the second beam state comprises a quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption [Yu discloses that a UE may report its UE capability to gNB which may include a Time Duration required for PDSCH reception. The gNB may schedule a PDSCH reception with scheduling offset less than the Time Duration reported by the UE (Yu paragraph 0033). Thus, the Time Duration corresponds to a threshold, and the PDSCH corresponds to a downlink signal whose scheduling offset is less than a threshold. Yu further discloses that the UE may use a QCL assumption to perform the scheduled PDSCH reception at time T2; and may monitor the CORESET with lowest ID in the latest slot (i.e. a CORSET with a lowest index in a last monitored time unit) such that a spatial Rx filter may be formed to receive and buffer the symbols within the monitored search space associated with the CORESET (Yu paragraph 0034 and Figure 5). Thus, the second beam state corresponds to a QCL assumption. Also see Yu Figure 1, paragraphs 0021-0022]; and
Applying, by the wireless communication device, the second beam state to the second type of signal [Yu discloses that the UE may use a QCL assumption to perform the scheduled PDSCH reception at time T2; and may monitor the CORESET with lowest ID in the latest slot such that a spatial Rx filter may be formed to receive and buffer the symbols within the monitored search space associated with the CORESET. The UE may adjust its spatial Rx filter for the PDSCH reception based on the QCL (Yu paragraph 0034). This corresponds to applying the second beam state (i.e. adjusting spatial Rx filter based on QCL) to the second type of signal (PDSCH). Also see Yu paragraph 0021: there is a Time Duration for determining and applying a spatial RX filter according to the QCL indication for the PDSCH reception, where the Time Duration may include a latency for decoding the DCI and a latency for adjusting the spatial RX filter].
Yu does not expressly disclose wherein the first beam state is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCI) different from that of a serving cell.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Matsumura discloses that with a UE capability of inter-cell mobility, only the TCI state corresponding to one PCI can be activated. For example, only the TCI state corresponding to the PCI of the serving cell or only the TCI state corresponding to a PCI different from the PCI of the serving cell can be activated (see Matsumura paragraph 0068). Thus, a beam state (e.g. TCI state) may be associated with a PCI different from that of a serving cell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu to have the features of wherein the first beam state is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCI) different from that of a serving cell; as taught by Matsumura. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method where communication can be appropriately performed when inter-cell mobility is performed using a plurality of transmission/reception points (Matsumura paragraphs 0008 and 0009).
Regarding claim 3, Yu and Matsumura disclose the method of claim 1. Yu and Matsumura further disclose wherein the first beam state comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state [Yu discloses the a UE may receive one or more multiple MAC CE activation commands for indicating one or more TCI states for one or more configured CORESET, and receive QCL indication for PDCCH reception (see Yu Figure 5, step 515; paragraph 0033). In step 516 of Yu Figure 5, the UE determines QCL assumptions for the DMRS ports associated with PDCCH receptions in the configured CORESETs (Yu Figure 5, step 516, paragraph 0033). Determining QCL for PDCCH reception corresponds to determining a first beam state associated with a first type of signal. Yu further discloses that a TCI state is used to provide or indicate QCL assumption (Yu paragraph 0028); which also indicates that a TCI state corresponds to a QCL or a beam state]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Yu and Matsumura disclose the method of claim 1. Yu and Matsumura further disclose wherein the second type of signal comprises: a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) [Yu discloses that the UE may receive DCI and perform DCI decoding, which conveys QCL indication for PDSCH reception for the UE (see Yu Figure 5, steps 531, 532 and 533; paragraph 0034). This corresponds to determining a second beam state associated with a second type of signal (e.g. PDSCH). Also see Yu Figure 1, PDSCH reception 151 and QCL assumption for PDSCH reception (Yu paragraph 0021)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Yu discloses a wireless communication device, comprising: at least one processor configured to [Yu Figure 1 discloses a wireless system comprising a base station and a UE. Yu Figure 2 discloses a block diagram of a wireless device 211 (e.g. a UE) comprising components such as a processor, memory, transceiver, etc. (Yu Figure 2, paragraphs 0023-0026)]:
Determine a first beam state associated with a first type of signal [Yu discloses the a UE may receive one or more multiple MAC CE activation commands for indicating one or more TCI states for one or more configured CORESET, and receive QCL indication for PDCCH reception (see Yu Figure 5, step 515; paragraph 0033). In step 516 of Yu Figure 5, the UE determines QCL assumptions for the DMRS ports associated with PDCCH receptions in the configured CORESETs (Yu Figure 5, step 516, paragraph 0033). The PDCCH reception corresponds to a first type of signal. Determining QCL for PDCCH reception corresponds to determining a first beam state associated with a first type of signal. Yu further discloses that a TCI state is used to provide or indicate QCL assumption (Yu paragraph 0028); which also indicates that a TCI state corresponds to a QCL or a beam state], wherein the first beam state is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCI) different from that of a serving cell;
Determine a second beam state associated with a second type of signal [Yu discloses that the UE may receive DCI and perform DCI decoding, which conveys QCL indication for PDSCH reception for the UE (see Yu Figure 5, steps 531, 532 and 533; paragraph 0034). This corresponds to determining a second beam state associated with a second type of signal (e.g. PDSCH). Also see Yu Figure 1, PDSCH reception 151 and QCL assumption for PDSCH reception (Yu paragraph 0021)], according to a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index in a last monitored time unit, wherein the second type of signal comprises a downlink signal whose scheduling offset is less than a threshold, and wherein the second beam state comprises a quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption [Yu discloses that a UE may report its UE capability to gNB which may include a Time Duration required for PDSCH reception. The gNB may schedule a PDSCH reception with scheduling offset less than the Time Duration reported by the UE (Yu paragraph 0033). Thus, the Time Duration corresponds to a threshold, and the PDSCH corresponds to a downlink signal whose scheduling offset is less than a threshold. Yu further discloses that the UE may use a QCL assumption to perform the scheduled PDSCH reception at time T2; and may monitor the CORESET with lowest ID in the latest slot (i.e. a CORSET with a lowest index in a last monitored time unit) such that a spatial Rx filter may be formed to receive and buffer the symbols within the monitored search space associated with the CORESET (Yu paragraph 0034 and Figure 5). Thus, the second beam state corresponds to a QCL assumption. Also see Yu Figure 1, paragraphs 0021-0022]; and
Apply the second beam state to the second type of signal [Yu discloses that the UE may use a QCL assumption to perform the scheduled PDSCH reception at time T2; and may monitor the CORESET with lowest ID in the latest slot such that a spatial Rx filter may be formed to receive and buffer the symbols within the monitored search space associated with the CORESET. The UE may adjust its spatial Rx filter for the PDSCH reception based on the QCL (Yu paragraph 0034). This corresponds to applying the second beam state (i.e. adjusting spatial Rx filter based on QCL) to the second type of signal (PDSCH). Also see Yu paragraph 0021: there is a Time Duration for determining and applying a spatial RX filter according to the QCL indication for the PDSCH reception, where the Time Duration may include a latency for decoding the DCI and a latency for adjusting the spatial RX filter].
Yu does not expressly disclose wherein the first beam state is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCI) different from that of a serving cell.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Matsumura discloses that with a UE capability of inter-cell mobility, only the TCI state corresponding to one PCI can be activated. For example, only the TCI state corresponding to the PCI of the serving cell or only the TCI state corresponding to a PCI different from the PCI of the serving cell can be activated (see Matsumura paragraph 0068). Thus, a beam state (e.g. TCI state) may be associated with a PCI different from that of a serving cell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu to have the features of wherein the first beam state is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCI) different from that of a serving cell; as taught by Matsumura. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method where communication can be appropriately performed when inter-cell mobility is performed using a plurality of transmission/reception points (Matsumura paragraphs 0008 and 0009).
Regarding claim 9, Yu and Matsumura disclose the wireless communication device of claim 7. Yu and Matsumura further disclose wherein the first beam state comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state [Yu discloses the a UE may receive one or more multiple MAC CE activation commands for indicating one or more TCI states for one or more configured CORESET, and receive QCL indication for PDCCH reception (see Yu Figure 5, step 515; paragraph 0033). In step 516 of Yu Figure 5, the UE determines QCL assumptions for the DMRS ports associated with PDCCH receptions in the configured CORESETs (Yu Figure 5, step 516, paragraph 0033). Determining QCL for PDCCH reception corresponds to determining a first beam state associated with a first type of signal. Yu further discloses that a TCI state is used to provide or indicate QCL assumption (Yu paragraph 0028); which also indicates that a TCI state corresponds to a QCL or a beam state]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 10, Yu and Matsumura disclose the wireless communication device of claim 7. Yu and Matsumura further disclose wherein the second type of signal comprises: a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) [Yu discloses that the UE may receive DCI and perform DCI decoding, which conveys QCL indication for PDSCH reception for the UE (see Yu Figure 5, steps 531, 532 and 533; paragraph 0034). This corresponds to determining a second beam state associated with a second type of signal (e.g. PDSCH). Also see Yu Figure 1, PDSCH reception 151 and QCL assumption for PDSCH reception (Yu paragraph 0021)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 13, Yu discloses a method comprising: communicating, by a wireless communication node with a wireless communication device, a first type of signal [Yu Figure 1 discloses a wireless system comprising a base station/gNB (i.e. a wireless communication node) and a UE. Yu discloses the a UE may receive one or more multiple MAC CE activation commands for indicating one or more TCI states for one or more configured CORESET, and receive QCL indication for PDCCH reception (see Yu Figure 5, step 515; paragraph 0033). In step 516 of Yu Figure 5, the UE determines QCL assumptions for the DMRS ports associated with PDCCH receptions in the configured CORESETs (Yu Figure 5, step 516, paragraph 0033). The PDCCH reception corresponds to a first type of signal], wherein a first beam state is associated with the first type of signal, and the second beam state is associated with the second type of signal [Yu discloses the a UE may receive QCL indication for PDCCH reception (see Yu Figure 5, step 515; paragraph 0033). In step 516 of Yu Figure 5, the UE determines QCL assumptions for the DMRS ports associated with PDCCH receptions in the configured CORESETs (Yu Figure 5, step 516, paragraph 0033). The PDCCH reception corresponds to a first type of signal. Determining QCL for PDCCH reception corresponds to a first beam state being associated with a first type of signal. Yu further discloses that a TCI state is used to provide or indicate QCL assumption (Yu paragraph 0028); which also indicates that a TCI state corresponds to a QCL or a beam state. Yu further discloses that the UE may receive DCI and perform DCI decoding, which conveys QCL indication for PDSCH reception for the UE (see Yu Figure 5, steps 531, 532 and 533; paragraph 0034). This corresponds to a second beam state associated with a second type of signal (e.g. PDSCH). Also see Yu Figure 1, PDSCH reception 151 and QCL assumption for PDSCH reception (Yu paragraph 0021)], the first beam state is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCI) different from that of a serving cell, and
Communicating, by the wireless communication node with the wireless communication device, the second type of signal to which the second beam state is applied by the wireless communication device [Yu discloses that the UE may receive DCI and perform DCI decoding, which conveys QCL indication for PDSCH reception for the UE (see Yu Figure 5, steps 531, 532 and 533; paragraph 0034). This corresponds to a second beam state associated with a second type of signal (e.g. PDSCH). Also see Yu Figure 1, PDSCH reception 151 and QCL assumption for PDSCH reception (Yu paragraph 0021)],
Wherein the second beam state comprises a quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption and is determined by the wireless communication device according to a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index in a last monitored time unit, wherein the second type of signal is a downlink signal whose scheduling offset is less than a threshold [Yu discloses that the UE may use a QCL assumption to perform the scheduled PDSCH reception at time T2; and may monitor the CORESET with lowest ID in the latest slot (i.e. a CORSET with a lowest index in a last monitored time unit) such that a spatial Rx filter may be formed to receive and buffer the symbols within the monitored search space associated with the CORESET (Yu paragraph 0034 and Figure 5). Thus, the second beam state corresponds to a QCL assumption. Yu discloses that a UE may report its UE capability to gNB which may include a Time Duration required for PDSCH reception. The gNB may schedule a PDSCH reception with scheduling offset less than the Time Duration reported by the UE (Yu paragraph 0033). Thus, the Time Duration corresponds to a threshold, and the PDSCH corresponds to a downlink signal whose scheduling offset is less than a threshold. Also see Yu Figure 1, paragraphs 0021-0022].
Yu does not expressly disclose the first beam state is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCI) different from that of a serving cell.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Matsumura discloses that with a UE capability of inter-cell mobility, only the TCI state corresponding to one PCI can be activated. For example, only the TCI state corresponding to the PCI of the serving cell or only the TCI state corresponding to a PCI different from the PCI of the serving cell can be activated (see Matsumura paragraph 0068). Thus, a beam state (e.g. TCI state) may be associated with a PCI different from that of a serving cell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu to have the features of the first beam state is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCI) different from that of a serving cell; as taught by Matsumura. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method where communication can be appropriately performed when inter-cell mobility is performed using a plurality of transmission/reception points (Matsumura paragraphs 0008 and 0009).
Regarding claim 14, Yu discloses a wireless communication node, comprising: at least one processor configured to [Yu Figure 1 discloses a wireless system comprising a base station and a UE. Yu Figure 2 discloses a block diagram of a wireless device 201 (e.g. a base station) comprising components such as a processor, memory, transceiver, etc. (Yu Figure 2, paragraphs 0023-0026)]:
Communicate, via a transceiver with a wireless communication device, a first type of signal [Yu Figure 1 discloses a wireless system comprising a base station/gNB (i.e. a wireless communication node) and a UE. Yu discloses the a UE may receive one or more multiple MAC CE activation commands for indicating one or more TCI states for one or more configured CORESET, and receive QCL indication for PDCCH reception (see Yu Figure 5, step 515; paragraph 0033). In step 516 of Yu Figure 5, the UE determines QCL assumptions for the DMRS ports associated with PDCCH receptions in the configured CORESETs (Yu Figure 5, step 516, paragraph 0033). The PDCCH reception corresponds to a first type of signal], wherein a first beam state is associated with the first type of signal, and the second beam state is associated with the second type of signal [Yu discloses the a UE may receive QCL indication for PDCCH reception (see Yu Figure 5, step 515; paragraph 0033). In step 516 of Yu Figure 5, the UE determines QCL assumptions for the DMRS ports associated with PDCCH receptions in the configured CORESETs (Yu Figure 5, step 516, paragraph 0033). The PDCCH reception corresponds to a first type of signal. Determining QCL for PDCCH reception corresponds to a first beam state being associated with a first type of signal. Yu further discloses that a TCI state is used to provide or indicate QCL assumption (Yu paragraph 0028); which also indicates that a TCI state corresponds to a QCL or a beam state. Yu further discloses that the UE may receive DCI and perform DCI decoding, which conveys QCL indication for PDSCH reception for the UE (see Yu Figure 5, steps 531, 532 and 533; paragraph 0034). This corresponds to a second beam state associated with a second type of signal (e.g. PDSCH). Also see Yu Figure 1, PDSCH reception 151 and QCL assumption for PDSCH reception (Yu paragraph 0021)], the first beam state is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCI) different from that of a serving cell, and
Communicate, via the transceiver with the wireless communication device, the second type of signal to which the second beam state is applied by the wireless communication device [Yu discloses that the UE may receive DCI and perform DCI decoding, which conveys QCL indication for PDSCH reception for the UE (see Yu Figure 5, steps 531, 532 and 533; paragraph 0034). This corresponds to a second beam state associated with a second type of signal (e.g. PDSCH). Also see Yu Figure 1, PDSCH reception 151 and QCL assumption for PDSCH reception (Yu paragraph 0021)], and
Wherein the second beam state comprises a quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption and is determined by the wireless communication device according to a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index in a last monitored time unit, wherein the second type of signal is a downlink signal whose scheduling offset is less than a threshold [Yu discloses that the UE may use a QCL assumption to perform the scheduled PDSCH reception at time T2; and may monitor the CORESET with lowest ID in the latest slot (i.e. a CORSET with a lowest index in a last monitored time unit) such that a spatial Rx filter may be formed to receive and buffer the symbols within the monitored search space associated with the CORESET (Yu paragraph 0034 and Figure 5). Thus, the second beam state corresponds to a QCL assumption. Yu discloses that a UE may report its UE capability to gNB which may include a Time Duration required for PDSCH reception. The gNB may schedule a PDSCH reception with scheduling offset less than the Time Duration reported by the UE (Yu paragraph 0033). Thus, the Time Duration corresponds to a threshold, and the PDSCH corresponds to a downlink signal whose scheduling offset is less than a threshold. Also see Yu Figure 1, paragraphs 0021-0022].
Yu does not expressly disclose the first beam state is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCI) different from that of a serving cell.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Matsumura discloses that with a UE capability of inter-cell mobility, only the TCI state corresponding to one PCI can be activated. For example, only the TCI state corresponding to the PCI of the serving cell or only the TCI state corresponding to a PCI different from the PCI of the serving cell can be activated (see Matsumura paragraph 0068). Thus, a beam state (e.g. TCI state) may be associated with a PCI different from that of a serving cell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu to have the features of the first beam state is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCI) different from that of a serving cell; as taught by Matsumura. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method where communication can be appropriately performed when inter-cell mobility is performed using a plurality of transmission/reception points (Matsumura paragraphs 0008 and 0009).
Regarding claim 16, Yu and Matsumura disclose the wireless communication node of claim 14. Yu and Matsumura further disclose wherein the first beam state comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state [Yu discloses the a UE may receive one or more multiple MAC CE activation commands for indicating one or more TCI states for one or more configured CORESET, and receive QCL indication for PDCCH reception (see Yu Figure 5, step 515; paragraph 0033). In step 516 of Yu Figure 5, the UE determines QCL assumptions for the DMRS ports associated with PDCCH receptions in the configured CORESETs (Yu Figure 5, step 516, paragraph 0033). Determining QCL for PDCCH reception corresponds to determining a first beam state associated with a first type of signal. Yu further discloses that a TCI state is used to provide or indicate QCL assumption (Yu paragraph 0028); which also indicates that a TCI state corresponds to a QCL or a beam state]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 14.
Regarding claim 17, Yu and Matsumura disclose the wireless communication node of claim 14. Yu and Matsumura further disclose wherein the second type of signal comprises: a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) [Yu discloses that the UE may receive DCI and perform DCI decoding, which conveys QCL indication for PDSCH reception for the UE (see Yu Figure 5, steps 531, 532 and 533; paragraph 0034). This corresponds to determining a second beam state associated with a second type of signal (e.g. PDSCH). Also see Yu Figure 1, PDSCH reception 151 and QCL assumption for PDSCH reception (Yu paragraph 0021)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 14.
Claims 5, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0370218, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 5, Yu and Matsumura disclose the method of claim 1. Yu and Matsumura further disclose that the first type of signal comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) [Yu discloses that the UE determines QCL assumptions for the DMRS ports associated with PDCCH receptions in the configured CORESETs (Yu Figure 5, step 516, paragraph 0033). The PDCCH reception corresponds to a first type of signal].
Yu and Matsumura do not expressly disclose wherein the first type of signal comprises: a PDCCH that is only associated with both of a UE-specific search space (USS) and a type-3 common search space (CSS) set.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhang discloses that an indication of an SSB associated with a first set of search space (SS) and a second set of SS may be received. The SS may include USS and at least type3-PDCCH CSS set (Zhang paragraph 0067). In another example a COREST may be associated with types of SS with a TCI state, and types of SS may be USS and type3-PDCCH CSS set (Zhang paragraph 0069).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu and Matsumura to have the features of the first type of signal comprises: a PDCCH that is only associated with both of a UE-specific search space (USS) and a type-3 common search space (CSS) set; as taught by Zhang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for providing beam indications to a UE in TCI states, and flexibly configuring the indication per TCI sate (Zhang abstract and paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 11, Yu and Matsumura disclose the wireless communication device of claim 7. Yu and Matsumura further disclose that the first type of signal comprises a PDCCH [Yu discloses that the UE determines QCL assumptions for the DMRS ports associated with PDCCH receptions in the configured CORESETs (Yu Figure 5, step 516, paragraph 0033). The PDCCH reception corresponds to a first type of signal].
Yu and Matsumura do not expressly disclose wherein the first type of signal comprises: a PDCCH that is only associated with both of a UE-specific search space (USS) and a type-3 common search space (CSS) set.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhang discloses that an indication of an SSB associated with a first set of search space (SS) and a second set of SS may be received. The SS may include USS and at least type3-PDCCH CSS set (Zhang paragraph 0067). In another example a COREST may be associated with types of SS with a TCI state, and types of SS may be USS and type3-PDCCH CSS set (Zhang paragraph 0069).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu and Matsumura to have the features of wherein the first type of signal comprises: a PDCCH that is only associated with both of a UE-specific search space (USS) and a type-3 common search space (CSS) set; as taught by Zhang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for providing beam indications to a UE in TCI states, and flexibly configuring the indication per TCI sate (Zhang abstract and paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 18, Yu and Matsumura disclose the wireless communication node of claim 14. Yu and Matsumura further disclose that the first type of signal comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) [Yu discloses that the UE determines QCL assumptions for the DMRS ports associated with PDCCH receptions in the configured CORESETs (Yu Figure 5, step 516, paragraph 0033). The PDCCH reception corresponds to a first type of signal].
Yu and Matsumura do not expressly disclose wherein the first type of signal comprises: a PDCCH that is only associated with both of a UE-specific search space (USS) and a type-3 common search space (CSS) set.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhang discloses that an indication of an SSB associated with a first set of search space (SS) and a second set of SS may be received. The SS may include USS and at least type3-PDCCH CSS set (Zhang paragraph 0067). In another example a COREST may be associated with types of SS with a TCI state, and types of SS may be USS and type3-PDCCH CSS set (Zhang paragraph 0069).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu and Matsumura to have the features of wherein the first type of signal comprises: a PDCCH that is only associated with both of a UE-specific search space (USS) and a type-3 common search space (CSS) set; as taught by Zhang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for providing beam indications to a UE in TCI states, and flexibly configuring the indication per TCI sate (Zhang abstract and paragraph 0029).
Claims 6, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2023/0119019; provided in Applicant’s IDS dated 4/25/2025, hereinafter Matsumura_9019).
Regarding claim 6, Yu and Matsumura disclose the method of claim 1. Yu and Matsumura further disclose wherein the first type of signal comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and the second type of signal comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) [Yu discloses that the UE determines QCL assumptions for the DMRS ports associated with PDCCH receptions in the configured CORESETs (Yu Figure 5, step 516, paragraph 0033). The PDCCH reception corresponds to a first type of signal. Yu also discloses that the UE may receive DCI and perform DCI decoding, which conveys QCL indication for PDSCH reception for the UE (see Yu Figure 5, steps 531, 532 and 533; paragraph 0034). This corresponds to determining a second beam state associated with a second type of signal (e.g. PDSCH)].
Yu and Matsumura do not expressly disclose the features of if the PDCCH and the PDSCH are overlapped in a time unit, and if a beam state corresponding to the PDCCH is different from that corresponding to the PDSCH, then reception of the PDCCH is prioritized.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Matsumura_9019 discloses that if the PDSCH DMRS “QCL type D” differs from the PDCCH DMRS “QCL type D” (i.e. the beam states corresponding to the PDCCH is different from that corresponding to the PDSCH) that overlaps in at least one symbol, the UE assumes that reception of a PDCCH associated with the CORESET is prioritized (see Matsumura_9019 paragraph 0265).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu and Matsumura to have the features of if the PDCCH and the PDSCH are overlapped in a time unit, and if a beam state corresponding to the PDCCH is different from that corresponding to the PDSCH, then reception of the PDCCH is prioritized; as taught by Matsumura_9019. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method to appropriately determine QCL parameters (Matsumura_9019 abstract, paragraphs 0007-0008 and 0010).
Regarding claim 12, Yu and Matsumura disclose the wireless communication device of claim 7. Yu and Matsumura further disclose wherein the first type of signal comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and the second type of signal comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) [Yu discloses that the UE determines QCL assumptions for the DMRS ports associated with PDCCH receptions in the configured CORESETs (Yu Figure 5, step 516, paragraph 0033). The PDCCH reception corresponds to a first type of signal. Yu also discloses that the UE may receive DCI and perform DCI decoding, which conveys QCL indication for PDSCH reception for the UE (see Yu Figure 5, steps 531, 532 and 533; paragraph 0034). This corresponds to determining a second beam state associated with a second type of signal (e.g. PDSCH)].
Yu and Matsumura do not expressly disclose the features of if the PDCCH and the PDSCH are overlapped in a time unit, and if a beam state corresponding to the PDCCH is different from that corresponding to the PDSCH, then reception of the PDCCH is prioritized.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Matsumura_9019 discloses that if the PDSCH DMRS “QCL type D” differs from the PDCCH DMRS “QCL type D” (i.e. the beam states corresponding to the PDCCH is different from that corresponding to the PDSCH) that overlaps in at least one symbol, the UE assumes that reception of a PDCCH associated with the CORESET is prioritized (see Matsumura_9019 paragraph 0265).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu and Matsumura to have the features of if the PDCCH and the PDSCH are overlapped in a time unit, and if a beam state corresponding to the PDCCH is different from that corresponding to the PDSCH, then reception of the PDCCH is prioritized; as taught by Matsumura_9019. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method to appropriately determine QCL parameters (Matsumura_9019 abstract, paragraphs 0007-0008 and 0010).
Regarding claim 19, Yu and Matsumura disclose the wireless communication node of claim 14. Yu and Matsumura further disclose wherein the first type of signal comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and the second type of signal comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) [Yu discloses that the UE determines QCL assumptions for the DMRS ports associated with PDCCH receptions in the configured CORESETs (Yu Figure 5, step 516, paragraph 0033). The PDCCH reception corresponds to a first type of signal. Yu also discloses that the UE may receive DCI and perform DCI decoding, which conveys QCL indication for PDSCH reception for the UE (see Yu Figure 5, steps 531, 532 and 533; paragraph 0034). This corresponds to determining a second beam state associated with a second type of signal (e.g. PDSCH)].
Yu and Matsumura do not expressly disclose the features of if the PDCCH and the PDSCH are overlapped in a time unit, and if a beam state corresponding to the PDCCH is different from that corresponding to the PDSCH, then reception of the PDCCH is prioritized.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Matsumura_9019 discloses that if the PDSCH DMRS “QCL type D” differs from the PDCCH DMRS “QCL type D” (i.e. the beam states corresponding to the PDCCH is different from that corresponding to the PDSCH) that overlaps in at least one symbol, the UE assumes that reception of a PDCCH associated with the CORESET is prioritized (see Matsumura_9019 paragraph 0265).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu and Matsumura to have the features of if the PDCCH and the PDSCH are overlapped in a time unit, and if a beam state corresponding to the PDCCH is different from that corresponding to the PDSCH, then reception of the PDCCH is prioritized; as taught by Matsumura_9019. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method to appropriately determine QCL parameters (Matsumura_9019 abstract, paragraphs 0007-0008 and 0010).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 1/29/2026 with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-8 of Applicant's remarks, the Applicant argues the following with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and § 103:
…Nowhere does Matsumura ‘963 ever contemplate the wireless communication device as determining any TCI state…In other words, Matsumura ‘963 never contemplates a terminal that determines the TCI state, never mind such a TCI state that is associated with a PCI that is different from that of the serving cell…
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's arguments for the following reasons:
The amended claim limitation recites: “determining, by a wireless communication device, a first beam state associated with a first type of signal, wherein the first beam state is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCI) different from that of a serving cell”.
Prior art Yu discloses that the UE receives MAC CE activation commands for indicating one or more TCI states for one or more configured CORSET, and receives QCL indication for PDCCH reception (see Yu Figure 5, step 515; paragraph 0033). The UE determines QCL assumptions for the DMRS ports associated with PDCCH receptions in the configured CORESETs (Yu Figure 5, step 516, paragraph 0033). Determining QCL for PDCCH reception corresponds to determining a first beam state associated with a first type of signal. Yu further discloses that a TCI state is used to provide or indicate QCL assumption (Yu paragraph 0028); indicating that a TCI state corresponds to a QCL or a beam state. Thus, Yu discloses the claimed feature of determining, by a wireless communication device, a first beam state associated with a first type of signal.
Prior art Matsumura ‘963 discloses that with a UE capability of inter-cell mobility, only the TCI state corresponding to one PCI can be activated. For example, only the TCI state corresponding to the PCI of the serving cell or only the TCI state corresponding to a PCI different from the PCI of the serving cell can be activated (see Matsumura ‘963 paragraph 0068). Thus, Matsumura ‘963 discloses that a beam state (e.g. TCI state) may be associated with a PCI different from that of a serving cell.
Further, Matsumura ‘963 discloses several examples where a UE performs certain action, such as monitoring the CSS, receive/acquire paging, etc., based on the TCI state (see Matsumura ‘963 paragraphs 0097 and 0102). In other words, the UE is able to determine a TCI state implicitly and perform an action accordingly.
As mentioned above, Yu already discloses the feature of determining a first beam state associated with a first type of signal (see above). Therefore, combined teachings of Yu and Matsumura ‘963 clearly disclose the amended independent claim feature of “determining, by a wireless communication device, a first beam state associated with a first type of signal, wherein the first beam state is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCI) different from that of a serving cell”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414