DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on the application submitted on November 27, 2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 14 recite the limitation “the first indication that the second skill is installed.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner subsequently interprets Claim 7 as depending on Claim 6, and Claim 14 as depending on Claim 13 for the purpose of further examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 11, 13-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140075032 (hereinafter “Vasudevan”) in view of US 20150106430 (hereinafter “y Arcas”), and further in view of US 20200059420 (hereinafter “Abraham”).
As per Claim 1, Vasudevan discloses:
A computer-implemented method, comprising:
managing, by a computing system, a plurality of skills corresponding to a plurality of services to be deployed by a cloud infrastructure orchestration system […], a first skill of the plurality of skills indicating a dependency on a second skill of the plurality of skills, each skill of the plurality of skills being associated with a corresponding skill state of a plurality of skill states (Paragraph [0038], “A cloud infrastructure system may provide many capabilities including […] providing customers with an integrated development experience for building and deploying services in the cloud infrastructure system and providing customers with a seamless integration between business software, middleware, database and infrastructure services in the cloud infrastructure system (emphasis added).”; Paragraph [0227], “A service provider may supply service runtime information for a service in the service declaration for the service. This is used by cloud infrastructure system 100 to process and present runtime information about the service. The runtime information processed by infrastructure system 100 for a service can include: service metric data; service state; service availability data; events affecting the service; and the like (emphasis added).”; Paragraph [0239], “Some services have a requirement to have an implicit dependent service instance to be created as a by-product of creation of the primary service instance [managing, by a computing system, a plurality of skills corresponding to a plurality of services to be deployed by a cloud infrastructure orchestration system […], a first skill of the plurality of skills indicating a dependency on a second skill of the plurality of skills, each skill of the plurality of skills being associated with a corresponding skill state of a plurality of skill states] (emphasis added).”;
by the computing system (Paragraph [0038], “A cloud infrastructure system may provide many capabilities including […] providing customers with an integrated development experience for building and deploying services in the cloud infrastructure system and providing customers with a seamless integration between business software, middleware, database and infrastructure services in the cloud infrastructure system [by the computing system] (emphasis added).”;
transitioning, by the computing system, the second skill of the plurality of skills from a first state of the plurality of skill states to a second state of the plurality of skill states […] (Paragraph [0085], “In one embodiment, order processing module 310 may process each order to identify a number of states pertaining to the order. In one example, the different states of an order may be an initialized state, a provisioned state, an active state, an administration required state, an error state, and the like. An initialized state refers to the state of a new order; a provisioned state refers to the state of an order once the services and resources for the order have been provisioned [transitioning, by the computing system, the second skill of the plurality of skills from a first state of the plurality of skill states to a second state of the plurality of skill states […]] (emphasis added).”; and
[…] based at least in part on transitioning the second skill from the first state to the second state (Paragraph [0085], “In one embodiment, order processing module 310 may process each order to identify a number of states pertaining to the order. In one example, the different states of an order may be an initialized state, a provisioned state, an active state, an administration required state, an error state, and the like. An initialized state refers to the state of a new order; a provisioned state refers to the state of an order once the services and resources for the order have been provisioned [[…] based at least in part on transitioning the second skill from the first state to the second state] (emphasis added).”.
Vasudevan does not explicitly disclose:
[…] during a process associated with building a data center […]
maintaining, by the computing system, an association between the second skill of the plurality of skills and a corresponding capability of a plurality of capabilities associated with the plurality of services to be deployed;
identifying, by the computing system, that the corresponding capability associated with the second skill is available;
[…] based at least in part on the association between the second skill and the corresponding capability; and
tracking, by the computing system, progress of the cloud infrastructure orchestration system through the process associated with building the data center, the tracking being performed […]
However, y Arcas discloses:
maintaining […] an association between the second skill of the plurality of skills and a corresponding capability of a plurality of capabilities associated with the plurality of services to be deployed (Paragraph [0028], “FIG. 4A illustrates an example of a system 400 for deploying a local service on a client device 114. In an example, a map cloud service 102 may be hosted within a cloud computing environment 124 accessible to apps on various devices through a network 126. The map cloud service 102 may comprise data (e.g., a businesses database 104, a houses database 106, a map database 108, and/or other databases) and/or functionality (e.g., map display functionality 110, directions functionality 112, and/or other functionality) that may be used to process requests from such apps. [[maintaining […] an association between the second skill of the plurality of skills and a corresponding capability of a plurality of capabilities associated with the plurality of services to be deployed] (emphasis added).”.
identifying […] that the corresponding capability associated with the second skill is available (Paragraph [0040], “The system 850 may comprise a runtime execution component 504. […] The runtime execution component 504 may identify the map local service 804 as being configured to process the request 854 based upon the map local service 804 being with the directions functionality code package [identifying […] that the corresponding capability associated with the second skill is available] (emphasis added).”.
[…] based at least in part on the association between the second skill and the corresponding capability (Paragraph [0025], “In an example, the local service may be updated based upon an update to the cloud service (e.g., the local service may be updated by a functionality update and/or a data update) [[…] based at least in part on the association between the second skill and the corresponding capability] (emphasis added).”; and
Vasudevan is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding a method for offering a set of services at a cloud infrastructure system. y Arcas is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding one or more techniques and/or systems are provided for cloud service hosting on a client device. Thus, Vasudevan and y Arcas are analogous art to the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of y Arcas into the teaching of Vasudevan to include “maintaining, by the computing system, an association between the second skill of the plurality of skills and a corresponding capability of a plurality of capabilities associated with the plurality of services to be deployed; identifying, by the computing system, that the corresponding capability associated with the second skill is available; […] based at least in part on the association between the second skill and the corresponding capability; and” The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skills in the art would be motivated to provide functionalities corresponding to a service within a cloud computing environment ( y Arcas, paragraph [0033]).
The combination of Vasudevan and y Arcas does not explicitly disclose:
[…] during a process associated with building a data center […]
Tracking […] progress of the cloud infrastructure orchestration system through the process associated with building the data center, the tracking being performed […]
However, Abraham discloses:
[…] during a process associated with building a data center […] (Paragraph [0011], “For example, the controller may use a first template to build and maintain computing infrastructure in a first data center operated by a first provider [[…] during a process associated with building a data center […]] (emphasis added).
Tracking […] progress of the cloud infrastructure orchestration system through the process associated with building the data center, the tracking being performed […] (Paragraph [0011], “For example, the controller may use a first template to build and maintain computing infrastructure in a first data center operated by a first provider (emphasis added).”; Paragraph [0048], “Transformer 150 may use a plurality of rules to govern the conversion of topology 152 into instructions for directing controller 102 to build and monitor infrastructure of data centers 110 [tracking […] progress of the cloud infrastructure orchestration system through the process associated with building the data center, the tracking being performed […]] (emphasis added).”;
Abraham is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding a method for provisioning virtual computing environments in a computing infrastructure. Thus, Abraham is an analogous art to the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Abraham into the combined teachings of Vasudevan and y Arcas to include “[…] during a process associated with building a data center […] tracking, by the computing system, progress of the cloud infrastructure orchestration system through the process associated with building the data center, the tracking being performed […]”. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skills in the art would be motivated to enable provisioning and building of a data center ( Abraham, paragraph [0008]).
As per Claim 2, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated; and Vasudevan discloses “ by the computing system”, the combination of Vasudevan and Abraham does not explicitly disclose:
identifying, by the computing system, an additional capability of the plurality of capabilities;
determining, by the computing system, that the additional capability lacks an association with the plurality of skills;
generating, by the computing system, a shadow skill that represents the additional capability; and
adding the shadow skill to the plurality of skills managed by the computing system.
However, y Arcas discloses:
identifying […] an additional capability of the plurality of capabilities (Paragraph [0040], “The system 850 may comprise a runtime execution component 504. […] The runtime execution component 504 may identify the map local service 804 as being configured to process the request 854 based upon the map local service 804 being with the directions functionality code package [identifying […] an additional capability of the plurality of capabilities] (emphasis added).”;
determining […] that the additional capability lacks an association with the plurality of skills (Paragraph [0040], “In an example where the updated map local service 804 is missing at least a portion of functionality used to process the request 854 (e.g., restaurant reservation functionality), a functionality retrieval component (e.g., 402 in FIG. 4A) may be configured to invoke the map cloud service 102 to perform such functionality and/or may be configured to retrieve a functionality code package, corresponding to the missing portion, from the map cloud service 102 for utilization by the updated map local service 804 [determining […] that the additional capability lacks an association with the plurality of skills] (emphasis added).”;
generating […] a shadow skill that represents the additional capability (Paragraph [0038], “The functionality retrieval component 402 may install 806 the directions functionality code package 802 into the map local service 408, resulting in an updated map local service 804. In this way, the updated map local service 804 may provide directions to apps on the client device 114. [generating […] a shadow skill that represents the additional capability] (emphasis added).”; and
adding the shadow skill to the plurality of skills managed […] (Paragraph [0038], “The functionality retrieval component 402 may install 806 the directions functionality code package 802 into the map local service 408, resulting in an updated map local service 804 [adding the shadow skill to the plurality of skills managed […]] (emphasis added).”;
y Arcas is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding one or more techniques and/or systems are provided for cloud service hosting on a client device. Thus, y Arcas is an analogous art to the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of y Arcas into the combined teachings of Vasudevan and Abraham to include “identifying, by the computing system, an additional capability of the plurality of capabilities; determining, by the computing system, that the additional capability lacks an association with the plurality of skills; generating, by the computing system, a shadow skill that represents the additional capability; and adding the shadow skill to the plurality of skills managed by the computing system.” The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skills in the art would be motivated to provide functionalities corresponding to a service within a cloud computing environment (y Arcas, paragraph [0033]).
As per Claim 4, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated; and Vasudevan further discloses:
the cloud infrastructure orchestration service (Paragraph [0038], “A cloud infrastructure system may provide many capabilities including […] providing customers with an integrated development experience for building and deploying services in the cloud infrastructure system and providing customers with a seamless integration between business software, middleware, database and infrastructure services in the cloud infrastructure system [the cloud infrastructure orchestration service] (emphasis added).”;
The combination of Vasudevan and Abraham does not explicitly disclose:
wherein identifying that the corresponding capability associated with the second skill is available comprises identifying that the corresponding capability was published by a capabilities service of […]
However, y Arcas discloses:
wherein identifying that the corresponding capability associated with the second skill is available comprises identifying that the corresponding capability was published by a capabilities service of […] (Paragraph [0038], “The functionality retrieval component 402 may determine that an app on the client device 114 may request driving directions (e.g., a user calendar entry may indicate an upcoming driving vacation). Accordingly, the functionality retrieval component 402 may retrieve a directions functionality code package 802 comprising at least some of the directions functionality 112 of the map cloud service 102 [wherein identifying that the corresponding capability associated with the second skill is available comprises identifying that the corresponding capability was published by a capabilities service of the cloud infrastructure orchestration service] (emphasis added).”;
y Arcas is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding one or more techniques and/or systems are provided for cloud service hosting on a client device. Thus, y Arcas is an analogous art to the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of y Arcas into the combined teachings of Vasudevan and Abraham to include “wherein identifying that the corresponding capability associated with the second skill is available comprises identifying that the corresponding capability was published by a capabilities service of […].” The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skills in the art would be motivated to provide functionalities corresponding to a service within a cloud computing environment (y Arcas, paragraph [0033]).
As per Claim 6, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated; and Vasudevan further discloses:
transitioning, by the computing system, the first skill from a third state to a fourth state based at least in part on receiving, by the computing system, a first indication that the second skill is installed (Paragraph [0084], “In certain embodiments, processing the order includes generating a customer record which includes information about the order such as a service type, a service level, a customer level, the type of resources, the amount of the resources to be allocated to the service instance and a time period during which the service is desired (emphasis added).”; Paragraph [0085], “In one embodiment, order processing module 310 may process each order to identify a number of states pertaining to the order. In one example, the different states of an order may be an initialized state, a provisioned state, an active state, an administration required state, an error state, and the like. An initialized state refers to the state of a new order; a provisioned state refers to the state of an order once the services and resources for the order have been provisioned. An order is in an active state when the order has been processed by TAS module 204 and a notification to that effect has been delivered to the customer. An order is in an administration required state when intervention by an administrator is needed to resolve the issue. The order is in an error state when the order cannot be processed [transitioning, by the computing system, the first skill from a third state to a fourth state based at least in part on receiving, by the computing system] (emphasis added).”; Paragraph [0166], “Service declarations thus provide an extensible model for adding cloud services and making them available through cloud infrastructure system 100 (emphasis added).”; Paragraph [0168], “For example, the service declaration for a service may provide information indicating that an onboarding operation for the service involves creating an instance of the service and requires certain parameters (e.g., user requirements, if the service needs to scale out) to be specified [a first indication that the second skill is installed] (emphasis added).”;
in response to receiving the indication that the first skill is installed, transmitting, by the computing system, a second indication that […] is available (Paragraph [0166], “Service declarations thus provide an extensible model for adding cloud services and making them available through cloud infrastructure system 100 (emphasis added).”; Paragraph [0168], “For example, the service declaration for a service may provide information indicating that an onboarding operation for the service involves creating an instance of the service and requires certain parameters (e.g., user requirements, if the service needs to scale out) to be specified (emphasis added).”; Paragraph [0182], “In another embodiment, orchestrator 610 may receive information stored in the service declaration for the service via blueprint parser 612 [in response to receiving the indication that the first skill is installed, transmitting, by the computing system, a second indication that […] is available] (emphasis added).”.
The combination of Vasudevan and Abraham does not explicitly disclose:
identifying, by the computing system and based at least in part on the association, an additional capability associated with the first skill; and
[…] the capability associated with the first skill […]
However, y Arcas discloses:
identifying, by the computing system and based at least in part on the association, an additional capability associated with the first skill (Paragraph [0040], “The system 850 may comprise a runtime execution component 504. […] The runtime execution component 504 may identify the map local service 804 as being configured to process the request 854 based upon the map local service 804 being with the directions functionality code package [identifying, by the computing system and based at least in part on the association, an additional capability associated with the first skill] (emphasis added).”; and
[…] the capability associated with the first skill […] (Paragraph [0040], “In an example where the updated map local service 804 is missing at least a portion of functionality used to process the request 854 (e.g., restaurant reservation functionality), a functionality retrieval component (e.g., 402 in FIG. 4A) may be configured to invoke the map cloud service 102 to perform such functionality and/or may be configured to retrieve a functionality code package, corresponding to the missing portion, from the map cloud service 102 for utilization by the updated map local service 804 [[…] the capability associated with the first skill […]] (emphasis added).”;
y Arcas is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding one or more techniques and/or systems are provided for cloud service hosting on a client device. Thus, y Arcas is an analogous art to the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of y Arcas into the combined teachings of Vasudevan and Abraham to include “identifying, by the computing system and based at least in part on the association, an additional capability associated with the first skill; and […] the capability associated with the first skill […]” The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skills in the art would be motivated to provide functionalities corresponding to a service within a cloud computing environment (y Arcas, paragraph [0033]).
As per Claim 7, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated; and the combination of y Arcas and Abraham discloses “the capability associated with the first skill” and “a capabilities service”, and Vasudevan further discloses:
wherein the first indication that the second skill is installed is received from an orchestrator of the cloud infrastructure orchestration system, and wherein the second indication that […] is transmitted to […] of the cloud infrastructure orchestration system (Paragraph [0166], “Service declarations thus provide an extensible model for adding cloud services and making them available through cloud infrastructure system 100 (emphasis added).”; Paragraph [0168], “For example, the service declaration for a service may provide information indicating that an onboarding operation for the service involves creating an instance of the service and requires certain parameters (e.g., user requirements, if the service needs to scale out) to be specified (emphasis added).”; Paragraph [0182], “In another embodiment, orchestrator 610 may receive information stored in the service declaration for the service via blueprint parser 612 [wherein the first indication that the second skill is installed is received from an orchestrator of the cloud infrastructure orchestration system, and wherein the second indication that […] is transmitted to […] of the cloud infrastructure orchestration system] (emphasis added).”.
Claims 8, 9, 11, 13 and 14 are cloud-computing system claims corresponding to the computer-implemented method claims hereinabove (Claims 1, 2, 4, 6 and 7 respectively). Therefore, Claims 8, 9, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 1, 2, 4, 6 and 7.
Claims 15, 16 and 20 are non-transitory computer-readable medium claims corresponding to the computer-implemented method claims hereinabove (Claims 1, 2 and 6, respectively). Therefore, Claims 15, 16 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of Claims 1, 2 and 6.
Claims 3, 10, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasudevan in view of y Arcas and Abraham as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of US 20230020974 (hereinafter “Liu”).
As per Claim 3, the rejection of Claim 2 is incorporated; and Vasudevan discloses “the cloud infrastructure orchestration system”, but Vasudevan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein identifying the additional capability comprises obtaining historical capabilities data indicating a set of capabilities historical published by the cloud infrastructure orchestration system in at least one previous build of a corresponding data center, the set of capabilities comprising the additional capability.
However, Abraham discloses:
[…] in at least one previous build of a corresponding data center […] (Paragraph [0011], “For example, the controller may use a first template to build and maintain computing infrastructure in a first data center operated by a first provider [[…] in at least one previous build of a corresponding data center […]] (emphasis added).
Abraham is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding a method for provisioning virtual computing environments in a computing infrastructure. Thus, Abraham is an analogous art to the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Abraham into the teaching of Vasudevan to include “[…] in at least one previous build of a corresponding data center […]”. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skills in the art would be motivated to enable provisioning and building of a data center ( Abraham, paragraph [0008]).
The combination of Vasudevan and Abraham does not explicitly disclose:
wherein identifying the additional capability comprises obtaining […] capabilities […] indicating a set of capabilities […] published by […], the set of capabilities comprising the additional capability
However, y Arcas discloses:
wherein identifying the additional capability comprises obtaining […] capabilities […] indicating a set of capabilities […] published by […], the set of capabilities comprising the additional capability (Paragraph [0040], “The system 850 may comprise a runtime execution component 504. The runtime execution component 504 may be configured to receive (e.g., intercept) a request from an app on the client device 114 for functionality provided by the map cloud service 102. For example, the runtime execution component 504 may receive a request 854 from a restaurant app 852 for directions to a Mexican restaurant. The runtime execution component 504 may identify the updated map local service 804 as being configured to process the request 854 based upon the updated map local service 804 being updated with the directions functionality code package. [wherein identifying the additional capability comprises obtaining […] capabilities […] indicating a set of capabilities […] published by […], the set of capabilities comprising the additional capability] (emphasis added).”.
y Arcas is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding one or more techniques and/or systems are provided for cloud service hosting on a client device. Thus, y Arcas is an analogous art to the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of y Arcas into the combined teachings of Vasudevan and Abraham to include “wherein identifying the additional capability comprises obtaining […] capabilities […] indicating a set of capabilities […] published by […], the set of capabilities comprising the additional capability” The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skills in the art would be motivated to provide functionalities corresponding to a service within a cloud computing environment (y Arcas, paragraph [0033]).
The combination of Vasudevan, Abraham and y Arcas does not explicitly disclose:
[…] obtaining historical […] data […] historical […]
However, Liu discloses:
[…] obtaining historical […] data […] historical […] (Paragraph [0029], “After obtaining the historical service data, the statistics collection node may assign the historical service data to the at least one key phase based on the service type and a feature of the historical service data [[…] obtaining historical […] data […] historical […]] (emphasis added).
Liu is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding a service monitoring method. Thus, Liu is an analogous art to the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Liu into the combined teachings of Vasudevan, Abraham and y Arcas to include “[…] obtaining historical […] data […] historical […]” The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skills in the art would be motivated to increase quantity of service by providing historical data related to services (Liu, paragraph [0003]) .
Claim 10 is a cloud-computing system claim corresponding to the computer-implemented method claim hereinabove (Claim 3). Therefore, Claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 3.
Claim 17 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim corresponding to the computer-implemented method claim hereinabove (Claim 3). Therefore, Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 3.
As per Claim 18, the rejection of Claim 17 is incorporated; and Vasudevan further discloses:
wherein executing the computer-executable instructions that cause the cloud-computing system to […] further causes the one or more processors to […] (Paragraph [0078], “FIG. 3A depicts a simplified flowchart 300 depicting processing that may be performed by the TAS module in the cloud infrastructure system, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The processing depicted in FIG. 3A may be implemented in software (e.g., code, instructions, program) executed by one or more processors, hardware, or combinations thereof. The software may be stored in memory (e.g., on a memory device, on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [wherein executing the computer-executable instructions that cause the cloud-computing system to […] further causes the one or more processors to […]] (emphasis added).”;
the cloud infrastructure orchestration service (Paragraph [0038], “A cloud infrastructure system may provide many capabilities including […] providing customers with an integrated development experience for building and deploying services in the cloud infrastructure system and providing customers with a seamless integration between business software, middleware, database and infrastructure services in the cloud infrastructure system [the cloud infrastructure orchestration service] (emphasis added).”;
The combination of Vasudevan, Abraham and Liu does not explicitly disclose:
[…] identify that the corresponding capability associated with the second skill is available […] identify that the corresponding capability was published by a capabilities service of […]
However, y Arcas discloses:
[…] identify that the corresponding capability associated with the second skill is available […] identify that the corresponding capability was published by a capabilities service of […] (Paragraph [0038], “The functionality retrieval component 402 may determine that an app on the client device 114 may request driving directions (e.g., a user calendar entry may indicate an upcoming driving vacation). Accordingly, the functionality retrieval component 402 may retrieve a directions functionality code package 802 comprising at least some of the directions functionality 112 of the map cloud service 102 [[…] identify that the corresponding capability associated with the second skill is available […] identify that the corresponding capability was published by a capabilities service of […]] (emphasis added).”;
y Arcas is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding one or more techniques and/or systems are provided for cloud service hosting on a client device. Thus, y Arcas is an analogous art to the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of y Arcas into the combined teachings of Vasudevan, Abraham and Liu to include “[…] identify that the corresponding capability associated with the second skill is available […] identify that the corresponding capability was published by a capabilities service of […]” The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skills in the art would be motivated to provide functionalities corresponding to a service within a cloud computing environment (y Arcas, paragraph [0033]).
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasudevan in view of y Arcas and Abraham as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of US 20230060675 (hereinafter “Szabó”).
As per Claim 5, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated; and Vasudevan further discloses:
managing a user interface configured to present […] (Paragraph [0072], “Sales personnel 218 may directly interact with order management module 214 via a user interface (not shown in FIG. 2) provided by order management module 214 for placing orders or for providing quotes for the customer [managing a user interface configured to present […]] (emphasis added).”;
Vasudevan does not explicitly disclose:
[…] skill metadata associated with the second skill of the plurality of skills, the skill metadata comprising at least one of: a current state, a skill version, a set of one or more associated capabilities, an associated service of the plurality of services, and contact information associated with entities corresponding to the associated service.
However, Abraham discloses:
[…] a current state […] (Paragraph [0010], “In some examples, in addition to applying a desired computing infrastructure to a data center, the controller may be configured to observe a current state of computing infrastructure of the data center [managing a user interface configured to present […] a current state […]] (emphasis added).”;
Abraham is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding a method for provisioning virtual computing environments in a computing infrastructure. Thus, Abraham is an analogous art to the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Abraham into the teaching of Vasudevan to include “[…] a current state […]”. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skills in the art would be motivated to enable provisioning and building of a data center ( Abraham, paragraph [0008]).
The combination of Vasudevan and Abraham does not explicitly disclose:
[…] a set of one or more associated capabilities, an associated service of the plurality of services, and contact information associated with entities corresponding to the associated service
However, y Arcas discloses:
[…] a set of one or more associated capabilities, an associated service of the plurality of services, and contact information associated with entities corresponding to the associated service (Paragraph [0040], “In an example where the updated map local service 804 is missing at least a portion of functionality used to process the request 854 (e.g., restaurant reservation functionality), a functionality retrieval component (e.g., 402 in FIG. 4A) may be configured to invoke the map cloud service 102 to perform such functionality and/or may be configured to retrieve a functionality code package, corresponding to the missing portion, from the map cloud service 102 for utilization by the updated map local service 804. In this way, requests from apps on the client device 114 may be locally processed by local services and/or processed by cloud services [[…] a set of one or more associated capabilities, an associated service of the plurality of services, and contact information associated with entities corresponding to the associated service] (emphasis added).”;
y Arcas is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding one or more techniques and/or systems are provided for cloud service hosting on a client device. Thus, y Arcas is an analogous art to the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of y Arcas into the combined teachings of Vasudevan and Abraham to include “[…] a set of one or more associated capabilities, an associated service of the plurality of services, and contact information associated with entities corresponding to the associated service” The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skills in the art would be motivated to provide functionalities corresponding to a service within a cloud computing environment (y Arcas, paragraph [0033]).
The combination of y Vasudevan, Abraham and y Arcas does not explicitly disclose:
[…] skill metadata associated with the second skill of the plurality of skills, the skill metadata comprising at least one of: […] a skill version […]
However, Szabó discloses:
[…] skill metadata associated with the second skill of the plurality of skills, the skill metadata comprising at least one of: […] a skill version […] (Paragraph [0048], “A service function specification/descriptor may include various information about the service function type that it describes (e.g., default values for attributes, boundaries for attributes, whether an attribute is read-only or read-write (which may depend on the reference point where an instance is accessed), a version of the service function if several versions are available for a given service function type) (emphasis added).”; Paragraph [0054], “As a non-limiting example, to satisfy a service requirement of the requested service (such as the latency requirement) a particular edge data center needs to be selected for a given service function of the requested service; however, the selected version of the service function that was identified during the service definition procedure may not be suitable at that edge-cloud computing system.” [[…] skill metadata associated with the second skill of the plurality of skills, the skill metadata comprising at least one of: […] a skill version […]] (emphasis added).”;
Szabó is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding a method and system of deployment of a virtualized service on a cloud infrastructure. Thus, Szabó is an analogous art to the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Szabó into the combined teachings of Vasudevan, Abraham and y Arcas to include “[…] skill metadata associated with the second skill of the plurality of skills, the skill metadata comprising at least one of: […] a skill version […]” The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skills in the art would be motivated to enable service functions deployment on a cloud infrastructure (Szabó, paragraph [0043]).
Claim 12 is cloud-computing system claim corresponding to the computer-implemented method claim hereinabove (Claims 5). Therefore, Claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of Claim 5.
Claim 19 is non-transitory computer-readable medium claim corresponding to the computer-implemented method claim hereinabove (Claims 5). Therefore, Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of Claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicant’s disclosure. They are as follows:
US 2022/0050699 (hereinafter “Momchilov”) discloses a client device includes resource caches, and a processor coupled to the resource caches.
US 2019/0166208 (hereinafter “Shi”) discloses a method for cognitively detecting cloud service availability in a cloud environment.
US 2018/0123890 (hereinafter “Merk”) discloses a system for implementing an autonomous configuration system for configuring a service infrastructure.
US 2018/0077031 (hereinafter “Chen”) discloses a service availability management method, a service availability management apparatus, and a network function virtualization architecture.
US 11010191 (hereinafter “Hornbeck”) discloses systems and methods for implementing a platform-independent interface for generating virtualized multi-service hardware systems
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Wei Mui, can be reached at 571-272-3708. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2191
/WEI Y MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2191