DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on 4/9/2026.
3. This Office Action is made Final.
4. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim have been fully considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection set forth herein with at least one new reference as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HASANZADEZONUZY et al. US 20250008404 hereafter Hasanzadezonuzy in view of LEE et al. US 20190320352 hereafter Lee.
As to Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Hasanzadezonuzy discloses a cellular communication [i.e. LTE, 5G, or 6G, see 0049] system comprising [Fig. 1, Sections 0003, 0034: Multiple-access RATs adopted in telecommunication standards; for example 5G NR. FIG. 1 illustrating an example of a wireless communication network-100 include elements of a 5G or a 6G network that support communications]:
a plurality of small cell radio access points [i.e. Network Nodes-110/Base Stations/TRPs/Access points-APs; Section 0035: A network node may be referred to as gNB and an access point (AP)] wherein: each small cell radio access point is associated with a small cell comprising a femto cell, a pico cell or a micro cell [Fig. 1, Sections 0042, 0054-0055: Radio access technologies (RATs) employ one or more access points-APs (i.e. base stations/gNBs). Network nodes-110 (for example base station, RU, or TRP) provide communication coverage for geographic area term “cell” and support multiple cells; and network nodes-110 referred to as a pico network node. The wireless communication includes different types such as pico network nodes and femto network nodes];
each small cell radio access point [i.e. Network Nodes-110/ Base Stations/TRPs/Access points-APs] comprises a Radio Unit (RU) and a Distributed Unit (DU) communicatively coupled to the RU [Fig. 3, Sections 0038, 0085, 0087: The network nodes include distributed units (DUs) and radio units (RUs). Components of base station architecture-300 included in network nodes-110 (or each nodes-110) which include DUs-330 and each DUs communicate with one or more RUs-340. Each DU correspond to a logical unit that control the operation of one or more RUs];
the RU comprises radio hardware used to communicate with user equipment (UEs) and supports at least a physical (PHY) layer of a communication protocol stack associated with a cellular network [Fig. 3, Sections 0036, 0038, 0085, 0201: For example, network node-110 implements radio protocol stack. An RU host RF processing functions and PHY layer functions. Components of architecture-300 include RUs-340; and each of the RUs communicate with one or more UEs. As used herein, the term “component” is intended to be construed as hardware];
the DU is a software entity deployed by a computing node [i.e. CU or Processor] at the radio access point [i.e. Network Nodes-110/ Base Stations/TRPs/Access points-APs], and supports at least a radio link control (RLC) layer and a medium access control (MAC) layer of the communication protocol stack [Figs. 2-3, Sections 0030, 0038, 0087: The apparatuses and techniques in the drawings by various components, circuits, or processes collectively implemented using hardware, software, or a combination of. The network nodes include distributed units (DUs), and DU host radio link control (RLC) layer, a medium access control (MAC) layer, and physical (PHY) layers. A DU host various layers, such as RLC layer, a MAC layer, PHY layers and each layer may be referred to as a module may be implemented with an interface for communicating signals with other layers/modules with the control functions hosted by the CU (Central Unit)-310];
and the DU at least partially controls operation of the RU [Fig. 3, Sections 0085, 0087: Each DUs communicate with one or more RUs-340. Each DU correspond to a logical unit that control the operation of one or more RUs];
a cloud server [Controller-325; Section 0090: Controller-325 linked to servers] communicatively coupled to each of the plurality of small cell radio access points [Fig. 3, Sections 0037, 0039, 0088, 0089: Alternatively, network nodes-110 (i.e. small cell/pico access points) used in vRAN known as a cloud radio access network (C-RAN). A network node include a combination of one or more CUs associated with virtual unit associated with a cloud deployment. The intelligent controller for RAN coverage managed and interact with a cloud computing platform-390; and CU implemented in a cloud-based RAN architecture. The Controller-325 enables control of RAN elements and resources via data collection and actions connecting one or more CUs with the Controller-325],
wherein: the cloud server [Controller-325] implements a Control Unit (CU) that at least supports a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) layer, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer and a radio resource control (RRC) layer of the communication protocol stack [Fig. 3, Sections 0038, 0088-0089: A CU host higher layer control functions such as radio resource control (RRC) functions, packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) functions, and service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) functions. CU implemented in a cloud-based RAN architecture. The Controller-325 enables control of RAN elements and resources via data collection and actions connecting one or more CUs with the Controller-325];
and the CU [i.e. CU-310] at least partially controls operation of a plurality of DUs [i.e. DUs-330] associated with the plurality of small cell radio access points [Fig. 3, Sections 0038, 0085, 0087: The network nodes (i.e. small cell/pico access points) include CUs and distributed units (DUs). The CU 310 may communicate with one or more DUs 330. The CU deployed to communicate with one or more DUs for network control and signaling];
and a network core [Core Network-320] communicatively coupled to the cloud server [Controller-325], wherein the CU provides each small cell radio access point access to the network core [Fig. 3 (Core Network-320, CU-310), Sections 0038, 0039, 0085-0086, 0118: The network nodes (i.e. small cell/pico access points) include CUs and DUs. A network node include a combination of CUs associated with a cloud deployment. A CU-310 communicate directly with a core network-320. Each of the components including the CUs and Controller-325, include one or more interfaces coupled for receiving or transmitting signals. For example, configuration actions and core network communication actions may be performed by a CU],
Although Hasanzadezonuzy disclose CU deployed at cloud server (0088-0090) it does not explicitly state that the CU deployed at the cloud server form a single gNB/network node/base station; thus doesn’t explicitly state such that the CU deployed at the cloud server, and the plurality of DUs and RUs deployed at the respective small cell radio access points together form a single gNodeB (gNB);
However, Lee teaches such that the CU [i.e. CU-622] deployed at the cloud server [Section 0032: In a centralized RAN/cloud based RAN, the Central Unit (CU) of a gNB may be provided as a cloud service and the CU located in cloud servers], and the plurality of DUs and RUs [Section 0061: A DU host TRPs and radio head/units (i.e. RUs)] deployed at the respective small cell radio access points together form a single gNodeB (gNB) [Figs. 3 (C-RU), 6 (Depicts Single gNB-620 includes CU-622 (CU deployed at Cloud Server, see section 0032) and DUs-624), Fig. 7, Sections 0004, 0041, 0043, 0073: A base station define an eNB and include a number of DUs, RHs/RUs, etc. in communication with CUs, where a set of DUs in communication with a central unit (CU) define a gNB. Each BS/gNB-110 provide communication coverage for a geographic area/cell in which the terms “cell” and “gNB” and access point (AP) may be interchangeable. A base station (BS) may provide communication coverage for a pico/femto cell which is small geographic area; a BS may be referred to as a pico/femto BS and support multiple cells (i.e. includes APs, see 0041). The gNB includes a CU-622 (i.e. cloud server CU) and a plurality of DUs-624].
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the methods of Hasanzadezonuzy relating to each network node/gNB associated with small/pico APs includes DUs communicating with RUs and a CU; a CU implemented in cloud based RAN and can be associated with cloud server/controller with the teaching of Lee relating to CU deployed at cloud server/controller is includes in an gNB/base station; and single gNB includes multiple small/pico cells/APs; CU deployed at cloud server, DUs, RUs, etc. By combining the methods/systems, by definition the RAN architecture can support a CU deployed at cloud server to be located withing the gNB/base station in addition to the other modules i.e. DUs, RUs, etc… without undue experimentation thereby allowing the gNB to support multiple cells in order to manage multiple communication coverage areas concurrently associated with the cloud as suggested by Lee.
As to Claim 2. (Original) Hasanzadezonuzy discloses the cellular communication system of claim 1 [i.e. 3GPP 4G LTE, 5G, or 6G, see 0049], wherein the CU is configured to [Sections 0038, 0118: The network nodes-110 include central units (CUs). Handover procedure involve a UE and network nodes; the configuration actions performed by a first network node for example a CU]:
receive, from a UE communicatively coupled to a first small cell radio access point [i.e. Network Nodes-110/Access points-APs; Section 0035: A network node-110 may be referred to as an access point (AP)], a first indication of a first signal quality [i.e. RSRP, RSRQ, RSSI, and/or a SINR or end-end quality] associated with the first small cell radio access point; receive, from the UE, an indication of a second signal quality [i.e. RSRP, RSRQ, RSSI, and/or a SINR or end-end quality] associated with a second small cell radio access point [Sections 0055, 0120, 0142: The wireless communication network includes network nodes-110 of different types, such as pico (small cell) network nodes. The UE perform measurements of serving cell measurements and neighbor cell measurements, and transmit a measurement report associated with the one or more measurements to the source network node (i.e. CU); the measurement report indicate, RSRP, RSRQ, RSSI, and/or a SINR for the serving cell and neighbor cells. The first network node make a handover decision for the UE in accordance with the end-to-end link quality between the UE and each of the network nodes-1010 and the second network node];
determine to handover the UE from the first small cell radio access point to the second small cell radio access point based at least in part upon the first signal quality and the second signal quality; and handover the UE from the first small cell radio access point to the second small cell radio access point [Sections 0120, 0142: The source network node (i.e. CU); use the measurement report to determine whether to trigger a handover to the target network node (i.e. second node). The first network node make a handover decision for the UE in accordance with the end-to-end link quality between the UE and each of the network nodes-1010 and the second network node; furthermore, first network node determines that the UE is to be handed over to the second network node and sends a handover request to the CU associated with the second network node].
As to Claim 4. (Original) Hasanzadezonuzy discloses the cellular communication system of claim 1 [i.e. 3GPP 4G LTE, 5G, or 6G, see 0049], further comprising: a macro base station [i.e. Macro Network Node] communicatively coupled to the CU, wherein the CU at least partially controls operation of the macro base station [Fig. 1 (Depicts Macro cell), Sections 0038, 0046, 0054: The network nodes-110 include one or more central units-CUs (a CU is a controller). The network node for example, a macro network node-110a. Network nodes for example base station; and a network node may provide communication coverage for a macro cell referred to as a macro network node].
As to Claim 5. (Original) Hasanzadezonuzy discloses the cellular communication system of claim 4 [i.e. 3GPP 4G LTE, 5G, or 6G, see 0049], wherein the CU is configured to [Sections 0038, 0087, 0118: The network nodes-110 include one or more central units-CUs. The CU deployed for network control and signaling. For example, configuration actions and communication actions may be performed by a first CU]: provide dual connectivity [i.e. Simultaneous Connection] of a UE with a first small cell radio access point and the macro base station by [Sections 0041, 0046, 0129: A network node and a UE operating in a full-duplex mode can transmit and receive communications concurrently; for example, a UE may simultaneously transmit an UL transmission to a first network node and receive a DL transmission from a second network node in the same time resources. The network node for example, a macro network node-110a. The UE may maintain simultaneous connections with the source network node and the target network node during a time period]:
assigning a first carrier frequency for communication between the UE and the first small cell radio access point; and assigning a second carrier frequency for communication between the UE and the macro base station [Sections 0041, 0046, 0056, 0067: Full-duplex (i.e. concurrent/simultaneous) operation of network node and UE involve frequency-division duplexing (FDD), performed in a first frequency band or component carrier and in a second frequency band or second component carrier different than the first frequency band or component carrier, respectively. The network node for example, a macro network node-110a. The network nodes and the UE communicate using the frequency or carriers, and/or channels, each RAT (cell) operate on different frequencies to avoid interference with one another. The network node (i.e. first CU) use the scheduler to schedule (assign) UE frequency domain resources].
As to Claim 6. (Original) Hasanzadezonuzy discloses the cellular communication system of claim 4 [i.e. 3GPP 4G LTE, 5G, or 6G, see 0049], wherein the CU is configured to control handover of a UE between a first small cell radio access point and the macro base station [Sections 0118, 0121, 0142: Handover procedure involve a UE and network nodes; the configuration actions performed by for example a CU. In a second operation, the source network node and the target network node communicate with one another to prepare for a handover of the UE. The first network node make a handover decision for the UE in accordance with the end-to-end link quality between the UE and each of the network nodes-1010 and the second network node].
As to Claim 7. (Original) Hasanzadezonuzy discloses the cellular communication system of claim 1 [i.e. 3GPP 4G LTE, 5G, or 6G, see 0049], wherein the CU is configured to [Sections 0038, 0087, 0118: The network nodes-110 include one or more central units-CUs. The CU deployed for network control and signaling. For example, configuration actions and communication actions may be performed by a first CU] provide dual connectivity of a UE with a first small cell radio access point and a second small cell radio access point by [Sections 0041, 0054, 0129: A network node and a UE operating in a full-duplex mode can transmit and receive communications concurrently; for example, a UE may simultaneously transmit an UL transmission to a first network node and receive a DL transmission from a second network node in the same time resources. Network nodes-110 can be referred to as a pico network node. The UE may maintain simultaneous connections with the source network node and the target network node during a time period]:
assigning a first carrier frequency for communication between the UE and the first small cell radio access point; and assigning a second carrier frequency for communication between the UE and the second small cell radio access point [Sections 0041, 0056, 0067: Full-duplex (i.e. concurrent/simultaneous) operation of network node and UE involve frequency-division duplexing (FDD), performed in a first frequency band or component carrier and in a second frequency band or second component carrier different than the first frequency band or component carrier, respectively. The network nodes (i.e. small cell access points or nodes) and the UE communicate using the frequency or carriers, and/or channels, each RAT (cell) operate on different frequencies to avoid interference with one another. The network node (i.e. first CU) use the scheduler to schedule (assign) UE frequency domain resources].
As to Claim 8. (Currently Amended) Hasanzadezonuzy discloses a method for wireless communication, the method comprising [Fig. 1, Sections 0003, 0034: Multiple-access RATs adopted in telecommunication standards; for example 5G NR. FIG. 1 illustrating an example of a wireless communication network-100 include elements of a 5G or a 6G network that support communications]:
deploying a plurality of small cell radio access points [i.e. Network Nodes-110/Base Stations/TRPs/Access points-APs; Section 0035: A network node may be referred to as gNB and an access point (AP)] wherein: each small cell radio access point is associated with a small cell comprising a femto cell, a pico cell or a micro cell [Fig. 1, Sections 0042, 0054-0055: Radio access technologies (RATs) employ one or more access points-APs (i.e. base stations/gNBs). Network nodes-110 (for example base station, RU, or TRP) provide communication coverage for geographic area term “cell” and support multiple cells; and network nodes-110 referred to as a pico network node. The wireless communication includes different types such as pico network nodes and femto network nodes];
each small cell radio access point [i.e. Network Nodes-110/ Base Stations/TRPs/Access points-APs] comprises a Radio Unit (RU) and a Distributed Unit (DU) communicatively coupled to the RU [Fig. 3, Sections 0038, 0085, 0087: The network nodes include distributed units (DUs) and radio units (RUs). Components of base station architecture-300 included in network nodes-110 (or each nodes-110) which include DUs-330 and each DUs communicate with one or more RUs-340. Each DU correspond to a logical unit that control the operation of one or more RUs];
the RU comprises radio hardware used to communicate with user equipment (UEs) and supports at least a physical (PHY) layer of a communication protocol stack associated with a cellular network [Fig. 3, Sections 0036, 0038, 0085, 0201: For example, network node-110 implements radio protocol stack. An RU host RF processing functions and PHY layer functions. Components of architecture-300 include RUs-340; and each of the RUs communicate with one or more UEs. As used herein, the term “component” is intended to be construed as hardware];
the DU is a software entity deployed by a computing node [i.e. CU or Processor] at the radio access point [i.e. Network Nodes-110/ Base Stations/TRPs/Access points-APs] and supports at least a radio link control (RLC) layer and a medium access control (MAC) layer of the communication protocol stack [Figs. 2-3, Sections 0030, 0038, 0087: The apparatuses and techniques in the drawings by various components, circuits, or processes collectively implemented using hardware, software, or a combination of. The network nodes include distributed units (DUs), and DU host radio link control (RLC) layer, a medium access control (MAC) layer, and physical (PHY) layers. A DU host various layers, such as RLC layer, a MAC layer, PHY layers and each layer may be referred to as a module may be implemented with an interface for communicating signals with other layers/modules with the control functions hosted by the CU (Central Unit)-310];
and the DU at least partially controls operation of the RU [Fig. 3, Sections 0085, 0087: Each DUs communicate with one or more RUs-340. Each DU correspond to a logical unit that control the operation of one or more RUs];
and deploying a cloud server [Controller-325; Section 0090: Controller-325 linked to servers] communicatively coupled to each of the plurality of small cell radio access points [Fig. 3, Sections 0037, 0039, 0088, 0089: Alternatively, network nodes-110 (i.e. small cell/pico access points) used in vRAN known as a cloud radio access network (C-RAN). A network node include a combination of one or more CUs associated with virtual unit associated with a cloud deployment. The intelligent controller for RAN coverage managed and interact with a cloud computing platform-390; and CU implemented in a cloud-based RAN architecture. The Controller-325 enables control of RAN elements and resources via data collection and actions connecting one or more CUs with the Controller-325],
wherein: the cloud server [Controller-325] implements a Control Unit (CU) that at least supports a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) layer, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer and a radio resource control (RRC) layer of the communication protocol stack [Fig. 3, Sections 0038, 0088-0089: A CU host higher layer control functions such as radio resource control (RRC) functions, packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) functions, and service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) functions. CU implemented in a cloud-based RAN architecture. The Controller-325 enables control of RAN elements and resources via data collection and actions connecting one or more CUs with the Controller-325];
and the CU [i.e. CU-310] at least partially controls operation of a plurality of DUs [i.e. DUs-330] associated with the plurality of small cell radio access points [Fig. 3, Sections 0038, 0085, 0087: The network nodes (i.e. small cell/pico access points) include CUs and distributed units (DUs). The CU 310 may communicate with one or more DUs 330. The CU deployed to communicate with one or more DUs for network control and signaling];
and wherein a network core [Core Network-320] is communicatively coupled to the cloud server [Controller-325], wherein the CU provides each small cell radio access point access to the network core [Fig. 3 (Core Network-320, CU-310), Sections 0038, 0039, 0085-0086, 0118: The network nodes (i.e. small cell/pico access points) include CUs and DUs. A network node include a combination of CUs associated with a cloud deployment. A CU-310 communicate directly with a core network-320. Each of the components including the CUs and Controller-325, include one or more interfaces coupled for receiving or transmitting signals. For example, configuration actions and core network communication actions may be performed by a CU],
Although Hasanzadezonuzy disclose CU deployed at cloud server (0088-0090) it does not explicitly state that the CU deployed at the cloud server form a single gNB/network node/base station; thus doesn’t explicitly state such that the CU deployed at the cloud server, and the plurality of DUs and RUs deployed at the respective small cell radio access points together form a single gNodeB (gNB);
However, Lee teaches such that the CU [i.e. CU-622] deployed at the cloud server [Section 0032: In a centralized RAN/cloud based RAN, the Central Unit (CU) of a gNB may be provided as a cloud service and the CU located in cloud servers], and the plurality of DUs and RUs [Section 0061: A DU host TRPs and radio head/units (i.e. RUs)] deployed at the respective small cell radio access points together form a single gNodeB (gNB) [Figs. 3 (C-RU), 6 (Depicts Single gNB-620 includes CU-622 (CU deployed at Cloud Server, see section 0032) and DUs-624), Fig. 7, Sections 0004, 0041, 0043, 0073: A base station define an eNB and include a number of DUs, RHs/RUs, etc. in communication with CUs, where a set of DUs in communication with a central unit (CU) define a gNB. Each BS/gNB-110 provide communication coverage for a geographic area/cell in which the terms “cell” and “gNB” and access point (AP) may be interchangeable. A base station (BS) may provide communication coverage for a pico/femto cell which is small geographic area; a BS may be referred to as a pico/femto BS and support multiple cells (i.e. includes APs, see 0041). The gNB includes a CU-622 (i.e. cloud server CU) and a plurality of DUs-624].
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the methods of Hasanzadezonuzy relating to each network node/gNB associated with small/pico APs includes DUs communicating with RUs and a CU; a CU implemented in cloud based RAN and can be associated with cloud server/controller with the teaching of Lee relating to CU deployed at cloud server/controller is includes in an gNB/base station; and single gNB includes multiple small/pico cells/APs; CU deployed at cloud server, DUs, RUs, etc. By combining the methods/systems, by definition the RAN architecture can support a CU deployed at cloud server to be located withing the gNB/base station in addition to the other modules i.e. DUs, RUs, etc… without undue experimentation thereby allowing the gNB to support multiple cells in order to manage multiple communication coverage areas concurrently associated with the cloud as suggested by Lee.
As to Claim 9. (Original) The method of claim 8, wherein the CU handovers a UE from a first radio access point to a second small cell radio access point by: receiving, from a UE communicatively coupled to a first small cell radio access point, a first indication of a first signal quality associated with the first small cell radio access point; receiving, from the UE, an indication of a second signal quality associated with a second small cell radio access point; determining to handover the UE from the first small cell radio access point to the second small cell radio access point based on the first signal quality and the second signal quality; and handing over the UE from the first small cell radio access point to the second small cell radio access point [See Claim 2 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 11. (Original) The method of claim 8, further comprising: deploying a macro base station communicatively coupled to the CU, wherein the CU at least partially controls operation of the macro base station [See Claim 4 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 12. (Original) The method of claim 11, wherein the CU provides dual connectivity of a UE with a first small cell radio access point and the macro base station by: assigning a first carrier frequency for communication between a UE and the first small cell radio access point; and assigning a second carrier frequency for communication between the UE and the macro base station [See Claim 5 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 13. (Original) The method of claim 11, wherein the CU controls handover of a UE between a first small cell radio access point and the macro base station [See Claim 6 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 14. (Original) The method of claim 8, wherein the CU provides dual connectivity of a UE with a first small cell radio access point and a second small cell radio access point by: assigning a first carrier frequency for communication between the UE and the first small cell radio access point; and assigning a second carrier frequency for communication between the UE and the second small cell radio access point [See Claim 7 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 15. (Currently Amended) Hasanzadezonuzy discloses a control unit [i.e. CU] comprising: a memory storing software instructions; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory and configured to execute the software instructions to [Sections 0091, 0199: The memory store data and program codes for the CU 310, for example, the set of instructions, when executed by one or more processors of the CU-310 may cause the one or more processors to perform process as described herein. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the device to perform the method of Aspects 1-16]:
implement a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) layer, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer and a radio resource control (RRC) layer of a communication protocol stack associated with a cellular network [Figs. 1, 3, Sections 0034, 0038: FIG. 1 illustrating an example of a wireless communication network 100 include elements of a 5G or a 6G network (i.e. cellular network) that support communications. A CU host higher layer control functions such as radio resource control (RRC) functions, packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) functions, and service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) functions],
at least partially control operation of a plurality of small cell radio access points[i.e. Network Nodes-110/ Base Stations/TRPs/Access points-Aps, Sections 0035, 0054: A network node may be referred to as gNB and an access point (AP). Network nodes-110 (for example base station, RU, or TRP) provide communication coverage for geographic area term “cell” and support multiple cells; and network nodes-110 referred to as a pico network node];
and provide each small cell radio access point access to a network core [Fig. 3 (Core Network-320, CU-310), Sections 0038, 0085, 0086, 0118: The network nodes (i.e. small cell/pico access points) include CUs and distributed units (DUs). A CU-310 can communicate directly with a core network-320. Each of the components including the CUs and Controller-325, and the SMO Framework 305, include one or more interfaces coupled for receiving or transmitting signals. For example, configuration actions and core network communication actions may be performed by a CU],
wherein: each small cell radio access point is associated with a small cell comprising a femto cell, a pico cell or a micro cell [Fig. 1, Sections 0042, 0054-0055: Radio access technologies (RATs) employ one or more access points-APs (i.e. base stations/gNBs). Network nodes-110 (for example base station, RU, or TRP) provide communication coverage for geographic area term “cell” and support multiple cells; and network nodes-110 referred to as a pico network node. The wireless communication includes different types such as pico network nodes and femto network nodes];
each small cell radio access point [i.e. Network Nodes-110/ Base Stations/TRPs/Access points-APs] comprises a Radio Unit (RU) and a Distributed Unit (DU) communicatively coupled to the RU [Fig. 3, Sections 0038, 0085, 0087: The network nodes include distributed units (DUs) and radio units (RUs). Components of base station architecture-300 included in network nodes-110 (or each nodes-110) which include DUs-330 and each DUs communicate with one or more RUs-340. Each DU correspond to a logical unit that control the operation of one or more RUs];
the RU comprises radio hardware used to communicate with user equipment (UEs) and supports at least a physical (PHY) layer of a communication protocol stack associated with the cellular network [Fig. 3, Sections 0036, 0038, 0085, 0201: For example, network node-110 implements radio protocol stack. An RU host RF processing functions and PHY layer functions. Components of architecture-300 include RUs-340; and each of the RUs communicate with one or more UEs. As used herein, the term “component” is intended to be construed as hardware];
the DU is a software entity deployed by a computing node [i.e. CU or Processor] at the radio access point [i.e. Network Nodes-110/ Base Stations/TRPs/Access points-APs] and supports at least a radio link control (RLC) layer and a medium access control (MAC) layer of the communication protocol stack [Figs. 2-3, Sections 0030, 0038, 0087: The apparatuses and techniques in the drawings by various components, circuits, or processes collectively implemented using hardware, software, or a combination of. The network nodes include distributed units (DUs), and DU host radio link control (RLC) layer, a medium access control (MAC) layer, and physical (PHY) layers. A DU host various layers, such as RLC layer, a MAC layer, PHY layers and each layer may be referred to as a module may be implemented with an interface for communicating signals with other layers/modules with the control functions hosted by the CU (Central Unit)-310];
the DU at least partially controls operation of the RU [Fig. 3, Sections 0085, 0087: Each DUs communicate with one or more RUs-340. Each DU correspond to a logical unit that control the operation of one or more RUs];
Although Hasanzadezonuzy disclose CU deployed at cloud server (0088-0090) it does not explicitly state that the CU deployed at the cloud server form a single gNB/network node/base station; thus doesn’t explicitly state and the control unit deployed at a cloud server, and the plurality of DUs and RUs deployed at the respective small cell radio access points together form a single gNodeB (gNB);
However, Lee teaches the control unit [i.e. CU-622] deployed at a cloud server [Section 0032: In a centralized RAN/cloud based RAN, the Central Unit (CU) of a gNB may be provided as a cloud service and the CU located in cloud servers], and the plurality of DUs and RUs [Section 0061: A DU host TRPs and radio head/units (i.e. RUs)] deployed at the respective small cell radio access points together form a single gNodeB (gNB) [Figs. 3 (C-RU), 6 (Depicts Single gNB-620 includes CU-622 (CU deployed at Cloud Server, see section 0032) and DUs-624), Fig. 7, Sections 0004, 0041, 0043, 0073: A base station define an eNB and include a number of DUs, RHs/RUs, etc. in communication with CUs, where a set of DUs in communication with a central unit (CU) define a gNB. Each BS/gNB-110 provide communication coverage for a geographic area/cell in which the terms “cell” and “gNB” and access point (AP) may be interchangeable. A base station (BS) may provide communication coverage for a pico/femto cell which is small geographic area; a BS may be referred to as a pico/femto BS and support multiple cells (i.e. includes APs, see 0041). The gNB includes a CU-622 (i.e. cloud server CU) and a plurality of DUs-624].
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the methods of Hasanzadezonuzy relating to each network node/gNB associated with small/pico APs includes DUs communicating with RUs and a CU; a CU implemented in cloud based RAN and can be associated with cloud server/controller with the teaching of Lee relating to CU deployed at cloud server/controller is includes in an gNB/base station; and single gNB includes multiple small/pico cells/APs; CU deployed at cloud server, DUs, RUs, etc. By combining the methods/systems, by definition the RAN architecture can support a CU deployed at cloud server to be located withing the gNB/base station in addition to the other modules i.e. DUs, RUs, etc… without undue experimentation thereby allowing the gNB to support multiple cells in order to manage multiple communication coverage areas concurrently associated with the cloud as suggested by Lee.
As to Claim 16. (Original) Hasanzadezonuzy discloses the control unit of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to [Sections 0091, 0199]: receive, from a UE communicatively coupled to a first small cell radio access point, a first indication of a first signal quality associated with the first small cell radio access point; receive, from the UE, an indication of a second signal quality associated with a second small cell radio access point; determine to handover the UE from the first small cell radio access point to the second small cell radio access point based at least in part upon the first signal quality and the second signal quality; and handover the UE from the first small cell radio access point to the second small cell radio access point [See Claim 2 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 18. (Original) Hasanzadezonuzy discloses the control unit of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to [Sections 0091, 0199]: at least partially control operation of a macro base station communicatively coupled to the control unit. [See Claim 4 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 19. (Original) Hasanzadezonuzy discloses the control unit of claim 18, wherein the processor is further configured to [Sections 0091, 0199]: provide dual connectivity of a UE with a first small cell radio access point and the macro base station by: assigning a first carrier frequency for communication between the UE and the first small cell radio access point; and assigning a second carrier frequency for communication between the UE and the macro base station. [See Claim 5 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 20. (Original) Hasanzadezonuzy discloses the control unit of claim 18, wherein the processor is further configured to [Sections 0091, 0199]: control handover of a UE between a first small cell radio access point and the macro base station. [See Claim 6 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
2. Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HASANZADEZONUZY et al. US 20250008404 hereafter Hasanzadezonuzy in view of LEE et al. US 20190320352 hereafter Lee and in further view of LEROUX et al. US 20180376380 hereafter Leroux.
As to Claim 3. (Original) Hasanzadezonuzy discloses the cellular communication system of claim 1 [i.e. 3GPP 4G LTE, 5G, or 6G, see 0049], wherein the CU is configured to coordinate between two or more of the small cell radio access points [i.e. Pico network nodes] with overlapping cell coverages to [Sections 0033, 0055, 0087: Multiple RAT/cells can have overlapping spectrum usage. Various different types of network nodes transmit at different power levels, serve different coverage areas, and/or have different impacts on interference in the wireless communication network; for example, macro network nodes have a high transmit power level whereas pico network nodes have lower transmit power levels. The CU perform network control and signaling]
Although Hasanzadezonuzy discloses interference between network nodes (i.e. small access point/Pico network node) in coverage areas, it is silent on ICIC; and Lee does not disclose ICIC; hence the combination of Hasanzadezonuzy and Lee do not explicitly state implement Inter-Cell Interference Coordination (ICIC) to reduce signal interference between the two or more small cell radio access points.
However, Leroux teaches implement Inter-Cell Interference Coordination (ICIC) [Sections 0120, 0145: Capabilities including inter-cell interference coordination (ICIC). At the CU, the interference information is centralized and the CU establishes a joint ICIC optimization strategy] to reduce signal interference between the two or more small cell radio access points [Figs. 2-6, Sections 0091, 0095, 0119, 0171: At least one of optimization capability, which supposes that the CU is in charge of managing and minimizing (i.e. reduce) interference. CU deal with mobility, in the same way that different cells connectivity take into account the type (pico/small/macro) or coverage region of a cell. Coverage information enable CU to evaluate interference. The eNB (CU, see 172) would control a number of possibly overlapping cells with different frequencies; small cell deployment with DC could enable handover UEs from small cell to small cell, while keeping a macro cell active].
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the methods of Hasanzadezonuzy relating to CU performing network management/control, the pico/small cells/network nodes or small access points have overlapping coverages and impacts interference and method of Lee regarding BS have different impact on interference (0045) with the teaching of Leroux relating to the CU manage and evaluate interference of different small cells or coverage region and use ICIC strategy in order to minimize or reduce interference. By combining the methods/systems, the CU/control network node can manage interference in the network using ICIC thereby minimizing or reducing signal interference in the system in order to provide optimization in communication as suggested by Leroux.
As to Claim 10. (Original) The method of claim 8, wherein the CU coordinates between two or more of the small cell radio access points with overlapping cell coverage to implement Inter-Cell Interference Coordination (ICIC) to reduce signal interference between the two or more small cell radio access points [See Claim 3 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 17. (Original) Hasanzadezonuzy discloses the control unit of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to [Sections 0091, 0199]: coordinate between two or more of the small cell radio access points with overlapping cell coverages to implement Inter-Cell Interference Coordination (ICIC) to reduce signal interference between the two or more small cell radio access points. [See Claim 3 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kim et al. US 20190342809 and Xu et al. US 20220232433
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
June 19, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477