DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 9, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-8, 12, 18-21, and 23-24 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-7 of Response to Non-Final Office Action, filed April 9, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8, 12, 18-21, and 23-24 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gafni et al. (Dynamic Neural Radiance Fields for Monocular 4D Facial Avatar Reconstruction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 8 and 21 contain subject matter: “wherein the appearance parameters comprise a colour of pixels of the feature”. This subject matter is already included in claims 1 and 12, which claims 8 and 12 are dependent on respectively. Thus, the dependent claims 8 and 21 fail to further limit the subject matter. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12, 18-21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Black et al. (US 10529137 B1) in view of Martin et al. (US 20240005590 A1) and Gafni et al. (Dynamic Neural Radiance Fields for Monocular 4D Facial Avatar Reconstruction), hereinafter Black, Martin, and Gafni respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Black teaches an image deformation apparatus, the apparatus comprising one or more processors and a memory storing in non-transient form data defining program code executable by the one or more processors (Col. 5 lines 53-60, Col. 15 lines 56-64 – “The image augmentation system 205 includes at least one memory 220 and one or more processing units (or processor(s)) 242… When the process 300 is initiated, a set of executable program instructions stored on one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (e.g., hard drive, flash memory, removable media, etc.) may be loaded into memory (e.g., random access memory or “RAM”) of a server or other computing device of the computing environment 200. The executable instructions may then be executed by a hardware-based computer processor (e.g., a central processing unit or “CPU”) of the computing device”; Note: the image augmentation system is equivalent to the image deformation apparatus), the apparatus being configured to:
receive an input image (Col. 16 lines 1-4 – “the image augmentation system 205 receives an input image depicting a human in a certain pose. The input image may also depict various foreground and background objects”);
extract arrangement parameters of a feature from the input image, each arrangement parameter defining a location of a point of the feature (Col. 16 lines 5-10 and 33-37 – “the image augmentation system 205 inputs the image data into a first machine learning model, for instance pose identification model 225A, that is trained to identify pixels corresponding to the human body and a pose depicted by those pixels… the pose can be defined using a 2D array of joint vertices identified in the image data, and the pose-to-model-pose comparison can involve comparison of these joint locations and/or of segments connecting these joints”; Note: the pose identification model extracts the location of the joints of the human, which is equivalent to the arrangement parameters. The body of the human is equivalent to the feature);
extract appearance parameters of the feature from the input image, each appearance parameter defining appearance information of a point of the feature (Col. 16 lines 46-49 and 54-57 – “the image augmentation system 205 inputs the image data into a second machine learning model, for example, shape identification model 225B, trained to identify the shape of the human body…The shape detection model 225B can also generate a texture map representing the skin, hair, and clothing of the human and/or a displacement map representing the actual contours of the human body surfaces”; Note: the shape detection model extracts the texture map of the human, which is equivalent to the appearance parameter);
generate deformed arrangement parameters by modifying the location of at least one point of the feature (Col. 17 lines 7-16 – “the image augmentation rules can specify a model pose representing a model of correct body form/posture for the identified pose. The rules can also specify how the identified pose should be compared to the model pose, and further how the image representation of the human body is to be morphed based on comparison of the identified pose with the model pose. The image augmentation can include morphing the depicted human body into the correct pose by moving the determined 3D representation into alignment with the correct pose”; Note: the location of the human is modified based on the model pose, which results in deformed arrangement parameters);
and render an output image comprising a deformed feature corresponding to the feature in dependence on the deformed arrangement parameters and the appearance parameters (Col. 17 lines 19-28 and 38-39 – “the rendering engine 226 of the image augmentation system 205 applies image augmentation based on the outputs of machine learning models and on image augmentation rules…an underlying skeletal structure of the body model in a rest pose can be aligned into the new pose. Blend skinning can be applied to move the ‘skin vertices’—the vertices of the model of the exterior surfaces of the body—according to the movement of the underlying skeletal structure to which it was attached in the rest pose. The rendering engine 226 can then apply the texture map and/or displacement map generated at block 320 to the morphed body model in order to recreate the particular appearance of the depicted human in the new pose…the image augmentation system 205 outputs the augmented image for display to the user”; Note: the rendering engine produces an output image that corresponds to a new pose, which is the deformed feature, and corresponds to the same appearance as the input),
wherein the one or more processors are configured to (Col. 15 lines 55-64 – “When the process 300 is initiated, a set of executable program instructions stored on one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (e.g., hard drive, flash memory, removable media, etc.) may be loaded into memory (e.g., random access memory or “RAM”) of a server or other computing device of the computing environment 200. The executable instructions may then be executed by a hardware-based computer processor (e.g., a central processing unit or “CPU”) of the computing device”; Note: the processor is configured to execute the process) repeat the steps for at least one subsequent input image to render a corresponding subsequent output image (Col. 15 lines 37-46 and 52-56, Col. 17 lines 38-43 – “The rendering engine 226 takes the pose identification 227A, body shape 227B, and scene elements 227C as inputs together with rules 237 from the image augmentation rules data repository 236. In one example, the rules 237 can specify a model pose representing a model of correct body form/posture for the identified pose, and can specify how the image representation of the human body is to be morphed based on comparison of the pose of the pose identification 227A with the model pose. Based on these inputs, the rendering engine 226 outputs the augmented image 228…The process 300 may begin in response to an event, such as on a predetermined or dynamically determined schedule, on demand when initiated by a user, or in response to some other event…the image augmentation system 205 outputs the augmented image for display to the user. This can serve to provide visual form correction feedback to the user, which can beneficially assist the user in athletic training, physical therapy, or other endeavors that involve precision with body posture”; Note: the process can be repeated multiple times depending on the schedule or as long as the user continues to initiate it. Additionally, a subsequent input image would result in a subsequent output image); and render a 3D output image (Col. 17 lines 13-18 and 35-39 – “The image augmentation can include morphing the depicted human body into the correct pose by moving the determined 3D representation into alignment with the correct pose…the rendering engine 226 can morph the depiction of the human body into the correct pose while maintaining the other semantic content of the image…the image augmentation system 205 outputs the augmented image for display to the user”; Note: a 3D representation is rendered and outputted).
Black does not teach implementing an image deformation model; nor that the output image and the subsequent output image are 2D images and comprise the same deformed feature from different viewpoints. However, Martin teaches implementing an image deformation model (Paragraph 0004 – “generating a deformation model based on the image data, the deformation model describing movements made by the non-rigidly deforming object while the image data was generated”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Black to incorporate the teachings of Martin to implement an image deformation model because using an AI model to perform the process would make it more efficient. Additionally, Martin teaches that the output image and the subsequent output image are 2D images and comprise the same deformed feature from different viewpoints (Fig. 4A and 4B, Paragraph 0016 and 0069 – “To render this five-dimensional function, or NeRF, one can: 1) march camera rays through the scene to generate a sampled set of 3D points, 2) use those points and their corresponding 2D viewing directions as input to the neural network to produce an output set of colors and densities, and 3) use classical volume rendering techniques to accumulate those colors and densities into a 2D image…The effect of the deformation field on a subject is illustrated in FIGS. 4A, 4B, and 4C. FIG. 4A is a diagram that illustrates an example pose 400 of a human subject in an observation frame. FIG. 4B is a diagram that illustrates an example pose 450 of a human subject in a canonical frame. In both FIGS. 4A and 4B, the subjects are shown with insets showing orthographic views in the forward and left directions. In FIG. 4A (the observation frame), note the right-to-left and front-to-back displacements between the observation and canonical model, which are modeled by the deformation field for this observation”; Note: Fig. 4A and 4B shows 2D output images of the same deformed feature, a person, from different viewpoints. The subsequent output image was previously taught by Black). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Black to incorporate the teachings of Martin to have the output images be 2D and comprise the same deformed feature from different viewpoints for the benefit of enhancing the user experience by allowing the user to see the feature from multiple angles. For instance, in the invention of Black, the output is used to show correct yoga poses. Being able to see the poses from different angles would help the user understand and copy the form better.
Screenshot of Fig. 4A and 4B (taken from Martin)
Black modified by Martin still does not teach wherein the appearance parameters comprise a color of pixels for each of a plurality of points of the feature and a density of the pixels for each of the plurality of points of the feature, wherein a first point of the feature has a different pixel density than a second point of the feature; wherein color and light absorption characteristics of the feature are maintained in the deformed feature; nor rendering a 3D output image from the at least two output images. However, Gafni teaches wherein the appearance parameters comprise a color of pixels for each of a plurality of points of the feature and a density of the pixels for each of the plurality of points of the feature (Paragraph 1 and 4 in 1st Col. of Page 4, Paragraph 1 in 2nd Col. of Page 4 – “As the dynamic radiance field is a function of position p, view v and dynamics in terms of facial expressions δ, we provide these inputs to the MLP which outputs color as well as density values for volumetric rendering…We cast rays through each individual pixel of a frame, and accumulate the sampled density and RGB values along the rays to compute the final output color… Using the tracking information P of the morphable model, we transform the ray sample points to the canonical space of the head model and evaluate the dynamic neural radiance field at these locations”; Note: the color and density values correspond to the pixels for the sample points of the feature. The feature in this case is the face and facial expression), wherein a first point of the feature has a different pixel density than a second point of the feature (Paragraph 4 in 1st Col. of Page 4, Paragraph 2 in 2nd Col. of Page 4 – “We cast rays through each individual pixel of a frame, and accumulate the sampled density and RGB values along the rays to compute the final output color…The densities predicted by the coarse network are used for importance sampling of the query points for the fine network, such that areas of high density are sampled more”; Note: it is implied that a first point has a different density than a second point because there are areas of low density and areas of high density); wherein color and light absorption characteristics of the feature are maintained in the deformed feature (Fig. 6, Paragraph 1 in 1st Col. of Page 4, Paragraph 1 in 1st Col. of Page 7 – “As the dynamic radiance field is a function of position p, view v and dynamics in terms of facial expressions δ, we provide these inputs to the MLP which outputs color as well as density values for volumetric rendering…our method is able to reproduce the photo-realistic appearance of the subjects”; Note: the color and density of the face is maintained after deformation of the pose or expression, as shown in screenshot of Fig. 6 below. The density is equivalent to the light absorption characteristic); and rendering a 3D output image from the at least two output images (Fig. 2 Caption on Page 3, Paragraph 4 in 1st Col. of Page 4 – “Given a portrait video and an image without the person (background image) as input, we apply facial expression tracking using a 3D morphable model. Based on the estimated pose and expression, we use volumetric rendering to synthesize the image of the face… The moving and talking human in the training portrait video is represented with a dynamic neural radiance field as introduced in the previous section. To render images of this implicit geometry and appearance representation, we use volumetric rendering”; Note: the volumetric rendering is equivalent to the 3D output image. The rendering is from multiple images; see screenshot of Fig. 2 below).
Screenshot of Fig. 2 (taken from Gafni)
Screenshot of Fig. 6 (taken from Gafni)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Black to incorporate the teachings of Gafni to have the appearance parameters comprise a color and density of pixels and to maintain them in the deformed feature because color and density are important parts of how a subject may appear to a viewer and being able to maintain those characteristics allow for producing realistic novel views that look the same or similar to the original image. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Black to incorporate the teachings of Gafni to have the points of the features have different pixel densities because logically, it is not likely for a feature in an image to have the same pixel density throughout. Lighting or material type usually makes it so that parts of an image may be more opaque or transparent than other parts, which means that there will commonly be at least one point with a different pixel density from another point. Finally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Black to incorporate the teachings of Gafni to render a 3D image from multiple other images for the benefit of synthesizing the images and creating new poses. Image synthesis is commonly known for being able to produce new, customizable content, such as videos and animations, without little to no manual effort.
Regarding claim 2, Black in view of Martin and Gafni teaches the image deformation apparatus of claim 1. Black further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to (Col. 15 lines 45-47 and 55-64 – “the rendering engine 226 outputs the augmented image 228…When the process 300 is initiated, a set of executable program instructions stored on one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (e.g., hard drive, flash memory, removable media, etc.) may be loaded into memory (e.g., random access memory or “RAM”) of a server or other computing device of the computing environment 200. The executable instructions may then be executed by a hardware-based computer processor (e.g., a central processing unit or “CPU”) of the computing device”; Note: the processor is configured to execute the process) render the output image (Col. 17 lines 13-18 and 35-39 – “The image augmentation can include morphing the depicted human body into the correct pose by moving the determined 3D representation into alignment with the correct pose…the rendering engine 226 can morph the depiction of the human body into the correct pose while maintaining the other semantic content of the image…the image augmentation system 205 outputs the augmented image for display to the user”; Note: a 3D representation is rendered and outputted), the location of the deformed feature being defined by the deformed arrangement parameters and the appearance of the pixels being defined by the appearance parameters (Col. 17 lines 19-28 – “the rendering engine 226 of the image augmentation system 205 applies image augmentation based on the outputs of machine learning models and on image augmentation rules…an underlying skeletal structure of the body model in a rest pose can be aligned into the new pose. Blend skinning can be applied to move the ‘skin vertices’—the vertices of the model of the exterior surfaces of the body—according to the movement of the underlying skeletal structure to which it was attached in the rest pose. The rendering engine 226 can then apply the texture map and/or displacement map generated at block 320 to the morphed body model in order to recreate the particular appearance of the depicted human in the new pose”; Note: the rendering engine produces an output image that corresponds to a new pose, which is the deformed feature, and corresponds to the same appearance as the input. Having a new pose means that the location of part of the body is modified. The appearance of the pixels is defined by the texture map, which can be considered the appearance parameters). Black does not teach rendering the output image by casting rays from pixels of the output image. However, Gafni teaches rendering the output image by casting rays from pixels of the output image (Paragraph 4 in 1st Col. of Page 4, Paragraph 1 in 2nd Col. of Page 4 – “To render images of this implicit geometry and appearance representation, we use volumetric rendering. We cast rays through each individual pixel of a frame, and accumulate the sampled density and RGB values along the rays to compute the final output color. Using the tracking information P of the morphable model, we transform the ray sample points to the canonical space of the head model and evaluate the dynamic neural radiance field at these locations”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Black to incorporate the teachings of Gafni to render the output image by casting rays from the pixels of the image because ray-tracing is a common rendering technique in the art, and it would assist in providing realistic images, especially in terms of lighting. Using ray-tracing may create a better visual experience for the user.
Regarding claim 3, Black in view of Martin and Gafni teaches the image deformation apparatus of claim 1. Black further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to (Col. 15 lines 55-64 – “When the process 300 is initiated, a set of executable program instructions stored on one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (e.g., hard drive, flash memory, removable media, etc.) may be loaded into memory (e.g., random access memory or “RAM”) of a server or other computing device of the computing environment 200. The executable instructions may then be executed by a hardware-based computer processor (e.g., a central processing unit or “CPU”) of the computing device”; Note: the processor is configured to execute the process) generate further deformed arrangement parameters by further modifying the location of at least one point of the feature (Col. 18 lines 16-20 – “FIG. 4E depicts representations of the human depicted in the data illustrated in FIGS. 4A-4D morphed into multiple different poses. This illustrates the textured model 440 reposed and with the texturing of the texture map 415 applied”; Note: further deformation occurs, and as shown in the screenshot of Fig. 4E below, the location of the different parts of the body were modified); and render a further output image comprising a further deformed feature corresponding to the feature in dependence on the further deformed arrangement parameters and the appearance parameters (Col. 17 lines 4-16 and 38-39, Col. 18 lines 16-20 – “the rendering engine 226 of the image augmentation system 205 applies image augmentation based on the outputs of machine learning models and on image augmentation rules. For example, the image augmentation rules can specify a model pose representing a model of correct body form/posture for the identified pose. The rules can also specify how the identified pose should be compared to the model pose, and further how the image representation of the human body is to be morphed based on comparison of the identified pose with the model pose. The image augmentation can include morphing the depicted human body into the correct pose by moving the determined 3D representation into alignment with the correct pose… the image augmentation system 205 outputs the augmented image for display to the user…FIG. 4E depicts representations of the human depicted in the data illustrated in FIGS. 4A-4D morphed into multiple different poses. This illustrates the textured model 440 reposed and with the texturing of the texture map 415 applied”; Note: a further output image is generated, as shown in Fig. 4E, where the appearance is maintained by the texture map, and the arrangement parameters are deformed to create different poses).
Screenshot of Fig. 4E (taken from Black)
Regarding claim 4, Black in view of Martin and Gafni teaches the image deformation apparatus of claim 1. Black further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to (Col. 15 lines 45-47 and 55-64 – “the rendering engine 226 outputs the augmented image 228…When the process 300 is initiated, a set of executable program instructions stored on one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (e.g., hard drive, flash memory, removable media, etc.) may be loaded into memory (e.g., random access memory or “RAM”) of a server or other computing device of the computing environment 200. The executable instructions may then be executed by a hardware-based computer processor (e.g., a central processing unit or “CPU”) of the computing device”; Note: the processor is configured to execute the process) render the further output image (Col. 17 lines 13-18 and 35-39, Col. 18 lines 16-20 – “The image augmentation can include morphing the depicted human body into the correct pose by moving the determined 3D representation into alignment with the correct pose…the rendering engine 226 can morph the depiction of the human body into the correct pose while maintaining the other semantic content of the image…the image augmentation system 205 outputs the augmented image for display to the user…FIG. 4E depicts representations of the human depicted in the data illustrated in FIGS. 4A-4D morphed into multiple different poses. This illustrates the textured model 440 reposed and with the texturing of the texture map 415 applied”; Note: a 3D representation is rendered and outputted. Additionally, see screenshot of Fig. 4E above, which shows further output images), the location of the further deformed feature being defined by the further deformed arrangement parameters (Col. 18 lines 16-20 – “FIG. 4E depicts representations of the human depicted in the data illustrated in FIGS. 4A-4D morphed into multiple different poses. This illustrates the textured model 440 reposed and with the texturing of the texture map 415 applied”; Note: further deformation occurs, and as shown in Fig. 4E above, the location of the different parts of the body were modified) and the appearance of the pixels being defined by the appearance parameters (Col. 17 lines 19-28 – “the rendering engine 226 of the image augmentation system 205 applies image augmentation based on the outputs of machine learning models and on image augmentation rules…an underlying skeletal structure of the body model in a rest pose can be aligned into the new pose. Blend skinning can be applied to move the ‘skin vertices’—the vertices of the model of the exterior surfaces of the body—according to the movement of the underlying skeletal structure to which it was attached in the rest pose. The rendering engine 226 can then apply the texture map and/or displacement map generated at block 320 to the morphed body model in order to recreate the particular appearance of the depicted human in the new pose”; Note: the rendering engine produces an output image that corresponds to a new pose, which is the deformed feature, and corresponds to the same appearance as the input. Having a new pose means that the location of part of the body is modified. The appearance of the pixels is defined by the texture map, which can be considered the appearance parameters). Black does not teach rendering the further output image by casting rays from pixels of the further output image. However, Gafni teaches rendering the output image by casting rays from pixels of the output image (Paragraph 4 in 1st Col. of Page 4, Paragraph 1 in 2nd Col. of Page 4 – “To render images of this implicit geometry and appearance representation, we use volumetric rendering. We cast rays through each individual pixel of a frame, and accumulate the sampled density and RGB values along the rays to compute the final output color. Using the tracking information P of the morphable model, we transform the ray sample points to the canonical space of the head model and evaluate the dynamic neural radiance field at these locations”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Black to incorporate the teachings of Gafni to render the output image by casting rays from the pixels of the image because ray-tracing is a common rendering technique in the art, and it would assist in providing realistic images, especially in terms of lighting. Using ray-tracing may create a better visual experience for the user.
Regarding claim 5, Black in view of Martin and Gafni teaches the image deformation apparatus of claim 1. Black further teaches wherein the feature comprises a human or animal body (Col. 16 lines 1-2 and 5-10 – “the image augmentation system 205 receives an input image depicting a human in a certain pose… the image augmentation system 205 inputs the image data into a first machine learning model, for instance pose identification model 225A, that is trained to identify pixels corresponding to the human body and a pose depicted by those pixels”; Note: the feature is a human body).
Regarding claim 6, Black in view of Martin and Gafni teaches the image deformation apparatus of claim 1. Black further teaches wherein the arrangement parameters are indicative of a pose of the feature (Col. 16 lines 5-13 – “the image augmentation system 205 inputs the image data into a first machine learning model, for instance pose identification model 225A, that is trained to identify pixels corresponding to the human body and a pose depicted by those pixels. For example, the pose identification model 225A can be trained to identify a set of yoga poses, body poses during a batting swing or golf swing, physical therapy poses, or other sets of poses”; Note: the arrangement parameters indicate a pose of the human body).
Regarding claim 7, Black in view of Martin and Gafni teaches the image deformation apparatus of claim 1. Black does not directly teach wherein the arrangement parameters are indicative of a shape of the feature. However, Black separately teaches arrangement parameters (Col. 16 lines 5-10 and 33-37 – “the image augmentation system 205 inputs the image data into a first machine learning model, for instance pose identification model 225A, that is trained to identify pixels corresponding to the human body and a pose depicted by those pixels… the pose can be defined using a 2D array of joint vertices identified in the image data, and the pose-to-model-pose comparison can involve comparison of these joint locations and/or of segments connecting these joints”; Note: the pose identification model extracts the location of the joints of the human, which is equivalent to the arrangement parameters) and a shape of the feature (Col. 19 lines 21-26 – “The body model is defined as a function M(β, θ, γ), parameterized by shape β, pose θ, and translation γ. The output of the function is a triangulated surface, M, with 6890 vertices in this example. Shape parameters are coefficients of a low-dimensional shape space, learned from a training set of thousands of registered scans”; Note: there are parameters indicative of the shape of the body). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Black to have the shape be an arrangement parameter because it would allow for the shape of the subject to be modified for instances like changing facial expressions or changing height. This would be beneficial for use in different fields like character customization, where a user may prefer to have their character appear like themselves.
Regarding claim 8, Black in view of Martin and Gafni teaches the image deformation apparatus of claim 1. Black does not teach wherein the appearance parameters comprise a colour of pixels of the feature. However, Gafni teaches wherein the appearance parameters comprise a colour of pixels of the feature (Paragraph 1 and 4 in 1st Col. of Page 4, Paragraph 1 in 2nd Col. of Page 4 – “As the dynamic radiance field is a function of position p, view v and dynamics in terms of facial expressions δ, we provide these inputs to the MLP which outputs color as well as density values for volumetric rendering…We cast rays through each individual pixel of a frame, and accumulate the sampled density and RGB values along the rays to compute the final output color… Using the tracking information P of the morphable model, we transform the ray sample points to the canonical space of the head model and evaluate the dynamic neural radiance field at these locations”; Note: the color values correspond to the pixels for the sample points of the feature. The feature in this case is the face and facial expression). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Black to incorporate the teachings of Gafni to have the pixel color be an appearance parameter because the color of the pixels is an important part of the appearance of an image. Therefore, maintaining the pixel color would help ensure that the appearance of the subject of an image remains similar or the same to the original.
Regarding claim 12, Black teaches a method for deforming an image (Col. 15 lines 48-51, Col. 17 lines 35-37 – “FIG. 3 is a flow diagram of an illustrative machine learning process 300 for generating augmented images using the computing environment 200 of FIG. 2A or another suitable computing system…the rendering engine 226 can morph the depiction of the human body into the correct pose while maintaining the other semantic content of the image”; Note: Fig. 3 shows a method, which involves morphing an image of a person, which is equivalent to deforming the image), the method comprising:
receiving an input image (Col. 16 lines 1-4 – “the image augmentation system 205 receives an input image depicting a human in a certain pose. The input image may also depict various foreground and background objects”);
extracting arrangement parameters of a feature from the input image, each arrangement parameter defining a location of a point of the feature (Col. 16 lines 5-10 and 33-37 – “the image augmentation system 205 inputs the image data into a first machine learning model, for instance pose identification model 225A, that is trained to identify pixels corresponding to the human body and a pose depicted by those pixels… the pose can be defined using a 2D array of joint vertices identified in the image data, and the pose-to-model-pose comparison can involve comparison of these joint locations and/or of segments connecting these joints”; Note: the pose identification model extracts the location of the joints of the human, which is equivalent to the arrangement parameters. The body of the human is equivalent to the feature);
extracting appearance parameters of the feature from the input image, each appearance parameter defining appearance information of a point of the feature (Col. 16 lines 46-49 and 54-57 – “the image augmentation system 205 inputs the image data into a second machine learning model, for example, shape identification model 225B, trained to identify the shape of the human body…The shape detection model 225B can also generate a texture map representing the skin, hair, and clothing of the human and/or a displacement map representing the actual contours of the human body surfaces”; Note: the shape detection model extracts the texture map of the human, which is equivalent to the appearance parameter);
generating deformed arrangement parameters by modifying the location of at least one point of the feature (Col. 17 lines 7-16 – “the image augmentation rules can specify a model pose representing a model of correct body form/posture for the identified pose. The rules can also specify how the identified pose should be compared to the model pose, and further how the image representation of the human body is to be morphed based on comparison of the identified pose with the model pose. The image augmentation can include morphing the depicted human body into the correct pose by moving the determined 3D representation into alignment with the correct pose”; Note: the location of the human is modified based on the model pose, which results in deformed arrangement parameters);
and rendering an output image comprising a deformed feature corresponding to the feature in dependence on the deformed arrangement parameters and the appearance parameters (Col. 17 lines 19-28 and 38-39 – “the rendering engine 226 of the image augmentation system 205 applies image augmentation based on the outputs of machine learning models and on image augmentation rules…an underlying skeletal structure of the body model in a rest pose can be aligned into the new pose. Blend skinning can be applied to move the ‘skin vertices’—the vertices of the model of the exterior surfaces of the body—according to the movement of the underlying skeletal structure to which it was attached in the rest pose. The rendering engine 226 can then apply the texture map and/or displacement map generated at block 320 to the morphed body model in order to recreate the particular appearance of the depicted human in the new pose…the image augmentation system 205 outputs the augmented image for display to the user”; Note: the rendering engine produces an output image that corresponds to a new pose, which is the deformed feature, and corresponds to the same appearance as the input),
repeat the steps for at least one subsequent input image to render a corresponding subsequent output image (Col. 15 lines 37-46 and 52-56, Col. 17 lines 38-43 – “The rendering engine 226 takes the pose identification 227A, body shape 227B, and scene elements 227C as inputs together with rules 237 from the image augmentation rules data repository 236. In one example, the rules 237 can specify a model pose representing a model of correct body form/posture for the identified pose, and can specify how the image representation of the human body is to be morphed based on comparison of the pose of the pose identification 227A with the model pose. Based on these inputs, the rendering engine 226 outputs the augmented image 228…The process 300 may begin in response to an event, such as on a predetermined or dynamically determined schedule, on demand when initiated by a user, or in response to some other event…the image augmentation system 205 outputs the augmented image for display to the user. This can serve to provide visual form correction feedback to the user, which can beneficially assist the user in athletic training, physical therapy, or other endeavors that involve precision with body posture”; Note: the process can be repeated multiple times depending on the schedule or as long as the user continues to initiate it. Additionally, a subsequent input image would result in a subsequent output image); and render a 3D output image (Col. 17 lines 13-18 and 35-39 – “The image augmentation can include morphing the depicted human body into the correct pose by moving the determined 3D representation into alignment with the correct pose…the rendering engine 226 can morph the depiction of the human body into the correct pose while maintaining the other semantic content of the image…the image augmentation system 205 outputs the augmented image for display to the user”; Note: a 3D representation is rendered and outputted).
Black does not teach implementing an image deformation model; nor that the output image and the subsequent output image are 2D images and comprise the same deformed feature from different viewpoints. However, Martin teaches implementing an image deformation model (Paragraph 0004 – “generating a deformation model based on the image data, the deformation model describing movements made by the non-rigidly deforming object while the image data was generated”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Black to incorporate the teachings of Martin to implement an image deformation model because using an AI model to perform the process would make it more efficient. Additionally, Martin teaches that the output image and the subsequent output image are 2D images and comprise the same deformed feature from different viewpoints (Fig. 4A and 4B, Paragraph 0016 and 0069 – “To render this five-dimensional function, or NeRF, one can: 1) march camera rays through the scene to generate a sampled set of 3D points, 2) use those points and their corresponding 2D viewing directions as input to the neural network to produce an output set of colors and densities, and 3) use classical volume rendering techniques to accumulate those colors and densities into a 2D image…The effect of the deformation field on a subject is illustrated in FIGS. 4A, 4B, and 4C. FIG. 4A is a diagram that illustrates an example pose 400 of a human subject in an observation frame. FIG. 4B is a diagram that illustrates an example pose 450 of a human subject in a canonical frame. In both FIGS. 4A and 4B, the subjects are shown with insets showing orthographic views in the forward and left directions. In FIG. 4A (the observation frame), note the right-to-left and front-to-back displacements between the observation and canonical model, which are modeled by the deformation field for this observation”; Note: Fig. 4A and 4B shows 2D output images of the same deformed feature, a person, from different viewpoints. The subsequent output image was previously taught by Black). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Black to incorporate the teachings of Martin to have the output images be 2D and comprise the same deformed feature from different viewpoints for the benefit of enhancing the user experience by allowing the user to see the feature from multiple angles. For instance, in the invention of Black, the output is used to show correct yoga poses. Being able to see the poses from different angles would help the user understand and copy the form better.
Black modified by Martin still does not teach wherein the appearance parameters comprise a color of pixels for each of a plurality of points of the feature and a density of the pixels for each of the plurality of points of the feature, wherein a first point of the feature has a different pixel density than a second point of the feature; wherein color and light absorption characteristics of the feature are maintained in the deformed feature; nor rendering a 3D output image from the at least two output images. However, Gafni teaches wherein the appearance parameters comprise a color of pixels for each of a plurality of points of the feature and a density of the pixels for each of the plurality of points of the feature (Paragraph 1 and 4 in 1st Col. of Page 4, Paragraph 1 in 2nd Col. of Page 4 – “As the dynamic radiance field is a function of position p, view v and dynamics in terms of facial expressions δ, we provide these inputs to the MLP which outputs color as well as density values for volumetric rendering…We cast rays through each individual pixel of a frame, and accumulate the sampled density and RGB values along the rays to compute the final output color… Using the tracking information P of the morphable model, we transform the ray sample points to the canonical space of the head model and evaluate the dynamic neural radiance field at these locations”; Note: the color and density values correspond to the pixels for the sample points of the feature. The feature in this case is the face and facial expression), wherein a first point of the feature has a different pixel density than a second point of the feature (Paragraph 4 in 1st Col. of Page 4, Paragraph 2 in 2nd Col. of Page 4 – “We cast rays through each individual pixel of a frame, and accumulate the sampled density and RGB values along the rays to compute the final output color…The densities predicted by the coarse network are used for importance sampling of the query points for the fine network, such that areas of high density are sampled more”; Note: it is implied that a first point has a different density than a second point because there are areas of low density and areas of high density); wherein color and light absorption characteristics of the feature are maintained in the deformed feature (Fig. 6, Paragraph 1 in 1st Col. of Page 4, Paragraph 1 in 1st Col. of Page 7 – “As the dynamic radiance field is a function of position p, view v and dynamics in terms of facial expressions δ, we provide these inputs to the MLP which outputs color as well as density values for volumetric rendering…our method is able to reproduce the photo-realistic appearance of the subjects”; Note: the color and density of the face is maintained after deformation of the pose or expression, as shown in screenshot of Fig. 6 above. The density is equivalent to the light absorption characteristic); and rendering a 3D output image from the at least two output images (Fig. 2 Caption on Page 3, Paragraph 4 in 1st Col. of Page 4 – “Given a portrait video and an image without the person (background image) as input, we apply facial expression tracking using a 3D morphable model. Based on the estimated pose and expression, we use volumetric rendering to synthesize the image of the face… The moving and talking human in the training portrait video is represented with a dynamic neural radiance field as introduced in the previous section. To render images of this implicit geometry and appearance representation, we use volumetric rendering”; Note: the volumetric rendering is equivalent to the 3D output image. The rendering is from multiple images; see screenshot of Fig. 2 above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Black to incorporate the teachings of Gafni to have the appearance parameters comprise a color and density of pixels and to maintain them in the deformed feature because color and density are important parts of how a subject may appear to a viewer and being able to maintain those characteristics allow for producing realistic novel views that look the same or similar to the original image. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Black to incorporate the teachings of Gafni to have the points of the features have different pixel densities because logically, it is not likely for a feature in an image to have the same pixel density throughout. Lighting or material type usually makes it so that parts of an image may be more opaque or transparent than other parts, which means that there will commonly be at least one point with a different pixel density from another point. Finally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Black to incorporate the teachings of Gafni to render a 3D image from multiple other images for the benefit of synthesizing the images and creating new poses. Image synthesis is commonly known for being able to produce new, customizable content, such as videos and animations, without little to no manual effort.
Regarding claim 18, Black in view of Martin and Gafni teaches the method of claim 12. Black further teaches wherein the feature comprises a human or animal body (Col. 16 lines 1-2 and 5-10 – “the image augmentation system 205 receives an input image depicting a human in a certain pose… the image augmentation system 205 inputs the image data into a first machine learning model, for instance pose identification model 225A, that is trained to identify pixels corresponding to the human body and a pose depicted by those pixels”; Note: the feature is a human body).
Regarding claim 19, Black in view of Martin and Gafni teaches the method of claim 12. Black further teaches wherein the arrangement parameters are indicative of a pose of the feature (Col. 16 lines 5-13 – “the image augmentation system 205 inputs the image data into a first machine learning model, for instance pose identification model 225A, that is trained to identify pixels corresponding to the human body and a pose depicted by those pixels. For example, the pose identification model 225A can be trained to identify a set of yoga poses, body poses during a batting swing or golf swing, physical therapy poses, or other sets of poses”; Note: the arrangement parameters indicate a pose of the human body).
Regarding claim 20, Black in view of Martin and Gafni teaches the method of claim 12. Black does not directly teach wherein the arrangement parameters are indicative of a shape of the feature. However, Black separately teaches arrangement parameters (Col. 16 lines 5-10 and 33-37 – “the image augmentation system 205 inputs the image data into a first machine learning model, for instance pose identification model 225A, that is trained to identify pixels corresponding to the human body and a pose depicted by those pixels… the pose can be defined using a 2D array of joint vertices identified in the image data, and the pose-to-model-pose comparison can involve comparison of these joint locations and/or of segments connecting these joints”; Note: the pose identification model extracts the location of the joints of the human, which is equivalent to the arrangement parameters) and a shape of the feature (Col. 19 lines 21-26 – “The body model is defined as a function M(β, θ, γ), parameterized by shape β, pose θ, and translation γ. The output of the function is a triangulated surface, M, with 6890 vertices in this example. Shape parameters are coefficients of a low-dimensional shape space, learned from a training set of thousands of registered scans”; Note: there are parameters indicative of the shape of the body). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Black to have the shape be an arrangement parameter because it would allow for the shape of the subject to be modified for instances like changing facial expressions or changing height. This would be beneficial for use in different fields like character customization, where a user may prefer to have their character appear like themselves.
Regarding claim 21, Black in view of Martin and Gafni teaches the method of claim 12. Black does not teach wherein the appearance parameters comprise a colour of pixels of the feature. However, Gafni teaches wherein the appearance parameters comprise a colour of pixels of the feature (Paragraph 1 and 4 in 1st Col. of Page 4, Paragraph 1 in 2nd Col. of Page 4 – “As the dynamic radiance field is a function of position p, view v and dynamics in terms of facial expressions δ, we provide these inputs to the MLP which outputs color as well as density values for volumetric rendering…We cast rays through each individual pixel of a frame, and accumulate the sampled density and RGB values along the rays to compute the final output color… Using the tracking information P of the morphable model, we transform the ray sample points to the canonical space of the head model and evaluate the dynamic neural radiance field at these locations”; Note: the color values correspond to the pixels for the sample points of the feature. The feature in this case is the face and facial expression). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Black to incorporate the teachings of Gafni to have the pixel color be an appearance parameter because the color of the pixels is an important part of the appearance of an image. Therefore, maintaining the pixel color would help ensure that the appearance of the subject of an image remains similar or the same to the original.
Regarding claim 23, Black in view of Martin and Gafni teaches the method of claim 12. Black further teaches rendering the output image (Col. 17 lines 13-18 and 35-39 – “The image augmentation can include morphing the depicted human body into the correct pose by moving the determined 3D representation into alignment with the correct pose…the rendering engine 226 can morph the depiction of the human body into the correct pose while maintaining the other semantic content of the image…the image augmentation system 205 outputs the augmented image for display to the user”; Note: a 3D representation is rendered and outputted), the location of the deformed feature being defined by the deformed arrangement parameters and the appearance of the pixels being defined by the appearance parameters (Col. 17 lines 19-28 – “the rendering engine 226 of the image augmentation system 205 applies image augmentation based on the outputs of machine learning models and on image augmentation rules…an underlying skeletal structure of the body model in a rest pose can be aligned into the new pose. Blend skinning can be applied to move the ‘skin vertices’—the vertices of the model of the exterior surfaces of the body—according to the movement of the underlying skeletal structure to which it was attached in the rest pose. The rendering engine 226 can then apply the texture map and/or displacement map generated at block 320 to the morphed body model in order to recreate the particular appearance of the depicted human in the new pose”; Note: the rendering engine produces an output image that corresponds to a new pose, which is the deformed feature, and corresponds to the same appearance as the input. Having a new pose means that the location of part of the body is modified. The appearance of the pixels is defined by the texture map, which can be considered the appearance parameters). Black does not teach rendering the output image by casting rays from pixels of the output image. However, Gafni teaches rendering the output image by casting rays from pixels of the output image (Paragraph 4 in 1st Col. of Page 4, Paragraph 1 in 2nd Col. of Page 4 – “To render images of this implicit geometry and appearance representation, we use volumetric rendering. We cast rays through each individual pixel of a frame, and accumulate the sampled density and RGB values along the rays to compute the final output color. Using the tracking information P of the morphable model, we transform the ray sample points to the canonical space of the head model and evaluate the dynamic neural radiance field at these locations”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Black to incorporate the teachings of Gafni to render the output image by casting rays from the pixels of the image because ray-tracing is a common rendering technique in the art, and it would assist in providing realistic images, especially in terms of lighting. Using ray-tracing may create a better visual experience for the user.
Regarding claim 24, Black in view of Martin and Gafni teaches the method of claim 12. Black further teaches generating further deformed arrangement parameters by further modifying the location of at least one point of the feature (Col. 18 lines 16-20 – “FIG. 4E depicts representations of the human depicted in the data illustrated in FIGS. 4A-4D morphed into multiple different poses. This illustrates the textured model 440 reposed and with the texturing of the texture map 415 applied”; Note: further deformation occurs, and as shown in the screenshot of Fig. 4E below, the location of the different parts of the body were modified); and rendering a further output image comprising a further deformed feature corresponding to the feature in dependence on the further deformed arrangement parameters and the appearance parameters (Col. 17 lines 4-16 and 38-39, Col. 18 lines 16-20 – “the rendering engine 226 of the image augmentation system 205 applies image augmentation based on the outputs of machine learning models and on image augmentation rules. For example, the image augmentation rules can specify a model pose representing a model of correct body form/posture for the identified pose. The rules can also specify how the identified pose should be compared to the model pose, and further how the image representation of the human body is to be morphed based on comparison of the identified pose with the model pose. The image augmentation can include morphing the depicted human body into the correct pose by moving the determined 3D representation into alignment with the correct pose… the image augmentation system 205 outputs the augmented image for display to the user…FIG. 4E depicts representations of the human depicted in the data illustrated in FIGS. 4A-4D morphed into multiple different poses. This illustrates the textured model 440 reposed and with the texturing of the texture map 415 applied”; Note: a further output image is generated, as shown in Fig. 4E, where the appearance is maintained by the texture map, and the arrangement parameters are deformed to create different poses).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Peng et al. (Animatable Neural Radiance Fields for Human Body Modeling) teaches a method of reconstructing a deformable human model from a multi-view video using neural radiance field and deformation fields.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE HAU MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2617 /KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617