DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second retention mechanism is a different type of retention mechanism than the first retention mechanism” as set forth in Claim 22; and the “removable top cover” as set forth in Claim 13, line 4, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 10-11, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olesen (U.S. Patent No. 2,225,180) in view of Bevan et al (U.S. Patent No. 3,113,742), hereinafter “Bevan”, McConnell (U.S. Patent No. 3,926,383), Davis (U.S. Patent No. 4,161,298), and Briggs, IV et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0259941), hereinafter “Briggs”.
With respect to Claim 1, Olesen, Figures 1-2, teaches a spooler, comprising:
an engine (See Column 1, lines 30-39);
an arm 10 extending from and rotated via the engine (See Column 1, lines 30-39);
a barrel 14 supported by the arm such that the barrel rotates with the arm 10, the barrel 14 having a first end and a second end facing the housing, wherein the barrel and the arm are configured for rotating a first direction for winding and a second direction for unwinding; and
a first retention mechanism 17 disposed along a perimeter of the barrel 14.
Olesen teaches all the elements of spooler but it is unclear whether the engine is within a housing.
However, Bevan, Figures 1-6, teaches an engine 34 within a housing 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Olesen with an engine within a housing, as taught by Bevan, for the purpose of protecting the engine from foreign substances.
Olesen in view of Bevan are advanced above.
Olesen in view of Bevan teach all the elements of the spooler except for
wherein the first retention mechanism removably secures a first end of a woundable material to a perimeter of a first end of the barrel as the barrel is rotated.
However, McConnell, Figures 1-3, teaches
wherein a first retention mechanism 24 removably secures a first end of a woundable material to a perimeter of a first end of the barrel 20,26 as the barrel is rotated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the first retention mechanism of Olesen with the first retention mechanism taught by McConnell because such would allow the material to be slipped onto or off of the holder and a position in which is held firmly in place.
Olesen in view of Bevan, and McConnell teach all the elements of the spooler except for
a removable guiding element extending from the second end of the barrel for maintaining the woundable material relative to the barrel and distributing the woundable material along the barrel as the woundable material is wound around the barrel during rotation.
However, Davis teaches
a removable guiding element 32 (extending from the second end of a barrel 20 for maintaining the woundable material relative to the barrel and distributing the woundable material along the barrel 20 as the woundable material is wound around the barrel during rotation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Olesen in view of Bevan, and McConnell with a removable guiding element, as taught by Davis, for the purpose of facilitating replacement of the guide strip when the strip has worn out.
Olesen in view of Bevan, McConnell, and Davis teach all the elements of the spooler except for wherein the woundable material is coaxial cable.
However, Briggs, Figures 1-8 and Paragraph [0018], lines 4-7, teaches a woundable material is coaxial cable 120.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Olesen in view of Bevan with the ability to wind/unwind a coaxial cable, as taught by Briggs, because one of ordinary skill would have been expected to have routinely determine the best material for a particular use.
With respect to Claim 6, Olesen further teaches a second retention mechanism 17 (See Figure 2) disposed along the perimeter of the barrel.
With respect to Claim 7, Olesen further teaches wherein the second retention mechanism secures a second end of the woundable material 31 to the barrel 14.
With respect to Claim 10, Olesen further teaches a mounting mechanism 5 for mounting the spooler to a vehicle.
With respect to Claim 11, Bevan further teaches a speed regulation mechanism 18 for adjusting a rate of the rotation.
With respect to Claim 22, Olesen further teaches wherein the second retention 17 mechanism is a different type of retention mechanism than the first retention mechanism 24.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olesen in view of Bevan and McConnell as applied to Claims 1-2, 6-7, 10-11, and 22 above, and further in view of Harrington et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0231723), hereinafter “Harrington”.
With respect to Claim 12, Olesen in view of Bevan are advanced above.
Olesen in view of Bevan teach all the elements of the spooler except for wherein the engine is battery operated.
However, Harrington, Figures 1-8, teaches wherein an engine 114 is battery operated (See Paragraph [0073], lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Olesen in view of Bevan with a battery operated engine, as taught by Harrington, for the purpose of eliminating the need for a gas engine or an electric engine that may need to be plugged to an electric wall outlet.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olesen in view of Bevan, McConnell, Davis, and Briggs as applied to Claims 1-2, 6-7, 10-11, and 22 above, and further in view of Robertson et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0023520), hereinafter “Robertson”.
With respect to Claim 23, Olesen in view of Bevan, McConnell, Davis, and Briggs are advanced above.
Olesen in view of Bevan, McConnell, Davis, and Briggs teach all the elements of the spooler except for a mechanism for measuring the length of the woundable material comprising at least one of an optic device, a gyroscope, and a counter.
However, Robertson, Paragraph [0065], lines 9-12, teaches a mechanism comprising a counter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Olesen in view of Bevan, McConnell, Davis, and Briggs with mechanism for measuring, as taught by Robertson, for the purpose of measuring the amount of cable being spooled.
Claim(s) 13 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olesen (U.S. Patent No. 2,225,180) in view of Bevan et al (U.S. Patent No. 3,113,742), hereinafter “Bevan”, and McConnell (U.S. Patent No. 3,926,383) and Harrington et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0231723), hereinafter “Harrington”, and Dilks (U.S. Patent No. 5,522,582).
With respect to Claim 13, Olesen, Figures 1-2, teaches a spooler system, comprising:
a woundable material 31 having a first end and a second end; and
a spooler, the spooler comprising:
an engine (See Column 1, lines 30-39);
an arm 10 extending from and rotated via the engine (See Column 1, lines 30-39);
a barrel 14 supported by the arm 10 such that the barrel 14 rotates with the arm 10, wherein the barrel 14 and the arm are configured for rotating a first direction for winding and a second direction for unwinding;
a first retention mechanism 17 that removably secures the first end of a woundable material to the barrel 14; and
a mounting mechanism 5 for removably mounting the spooler to a vehicle.
Olesen teaches all the elements of spooler except for an enclosed housing having a removable top cover, an engine is within housing and accessible via the removable top cover.
However, Bevan, Figures 1-6, teaches an enclosed housing 66 having a removable top cover 10, an engine 34 is within housing 66 and accessible via the removable top cover 10; and a speed regulation mechanism 18 for adjusting a rate of the rotation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Olesen with an engine within a housing, as taught by Bevan, for the purpose of protecting the engine from foreign substances.
Olesen in view of Bevan are advanced above.
Olesen in view of Bevan teach all the elements of the spooler except for
a first guiding element actuatable between a first configuration and a second configuration, wherein the first guiding element retains the woundable material on the barrel in the first configuration, wherein the woundable material is removable from the barrel when the first guiding element is in the second configuration.
However, McConnell, Figures 1-3, teaches
a first guiding element 24 for maintaining the woundable material relative to the barrel and distributing the woundable material along the barrel as the woundable material is wound around the barrel during rotation and being actuatable between a first configuration and a second configuration (See pivoting movement of element 24 in Figure 2), wherein the first guiding element 24 retains the woundable material on the barrel 20,26 in the first configuration, wherein the woundable material is removable from the barrel 20,26 when the first guiding element is in the second configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the first retention mechanism of Olesen with the first retention mechanism taught by McConnell because such would allow the material to be slipped onto or off of the holder and a position in which is held firmly in place.
Olesen in view of Bevan and McConnell teach all the elements of the spooler except for wherein the engine is battery operated.
However, Harrington, Figures 1-8, teaches wherein an engine 114 is battery operated (See Paragraph [0073], lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Olesen in view of Bevan with a battery operated engine, as taught by Harrington, for the purpose of eliminating the need for a gas engine or an electric engine that may need to be plugged to an electric wall outlet.
Olesen in view of Bevan, McConnell and Harrington teach all the elements of the spooler except for the spooler being mounted to a vehicle.
However, Dilks, Figures 1-2, teaches a spooler 10 mounted to a vehicle 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Olesen in view of Bevan and Harrington with the ability to mount the spooler to a vehicle, as taught by Dilks, for the purpose of allowing a user to use the spooler in remote locations.
With respect to Claim 21, McConnell further teaches wherein the first retention mechanism 24 removably secures a first end of a woundable material to a perimeter of a first end of the barrel as the barrel is rotated.
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olesen in view of Bevan, McConnell, Harrington, and Dilks as applied to Claims 13 and 21 above, and further in view of Briggs, IV et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0259941), hereinafter “Briggs”.
With respect to Claim 16, Olesen in view of Bevan, McConnell, Harrington, and Dilks are advanced above.
Olesen in view of Bevan, McConnell, Harrington, and Dilks teach all the elements of the spooler except for wherein the woundable material is coaxial cable.
However, Briggs, Figures 1-8 and Paragraph [0018], lines 4-7, teaches a woundable material is coaxial cable 120.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Olesen in view of Bevan, Harrington, and Dilks with the ability to wind/unwind a coaxial cable, as taught by Briggs, because one of ordinary skill would have been expected to have routinely determine the best material for a particular use.
With respect to Claim 17, Olesen in view of Bevan, McConnell, Harrington, and Dilks are advanced above.
Olesen in view of Bevan, Harrington, and Dilks teach all the elements of the spooler except for a guiding element for maintaining the woundable material around the barrel.
However, Briggs, Figures 1-8, teaches a guiding element 354.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Olesen in view of Bevan with a guiding element, as taught by Briggs, for the purpose of winding/unwinding the material in an orderly manner.
With respect to Claim 18, Briggs further teaches wherein the guiding element 354 is removable from the barrel.
With respect to Claim 19, Bevan further teaches wherein the arm and the barrel are rotated a first direction for winding and a second direction for unwinding. (See Column 2, lines 24-27 which states the engine is reversible).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olesen in view of Bevan, McConnell, Harrington, and Dilks as applied to Claim 13 above, and further in view of Haley et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0130144), hereinafter “Haley”.
With respect to Claim 15, Olesen in view of Bevan, Harrington, and Dilks are advanced above.
Olesen in view of Bevan, McConnell, Harrington, and Dilks teach all the elements of the spooler except for an emergency stop mechanism.
However, Haley, Paragraph [0116], line 6, and Paragraph [0117], lines 7-9, teaches the use of an emergency stop mechanism in a spooler 100.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Olesen in view of Bevan, Harrington, and Dilks with an emergency stop mechanism, as taught by Haley, for the purpose of quickly shutting down machinery or equipment in emergency situations when standard shutdown procedures are not feasible.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 10-13, 15-19, and 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654