eDETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant’s amendment filed on March 8, 2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-163 have been canceled.
Claims 164-167 have been added.
Claims 164-167 are pending and currently under consideration.
5. Claim 166 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bosques et al. (US 2016/0229913).
Claims 166 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bosques et al. (US 2016/0229913).
The applied reference has a common assignee Momenta Pharmaceuticals Inc and at least one common inventor Calos J. Bosques with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Bosques et al. teach an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:45 that is identical to the instant SEQ ID NO:70 except EU position 370 wherein instant SEQ ID NO:70 is amino acid D and the prior art SEQ ID NO:45 is amino acid E, see sequence alignment below:
Instant SEQ ID NO:70 alignments:
RESULT 1
US-15-141-413-45
; Sequence 45, Application US/15141413
; Patent No. 10239944
; GENERAL INFORMATION
; APPLICANT: Momenta Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
; APPLICANT:Bosques, Carlos J.
; APPLICANT:Huston, James S.
; APPLICANT:Lansing, Jonathan C.
; APPLICANT:Ling, Leona E.
; APPLICANT:Meador, James III
; APPLICANT:Ortiz, Daniel
; APPLICANT:Rutitzky, Laura
; APPLICANT:Schultes, Brigit C.
; TITLE OF INVENTION: COMPOSITIONS AND METHODS RELATED TO ENGINEERED Fc CONSTRUCTS
; FILE REFERENCE: 50937-012003
; CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/15/141,413
; CURRENT FILING DATE: 2016-04-28
; PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/US15/28926
; PRIOR FILING DATE: 2015-05-01
; PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/081,923
; PRIOR FILING DATE: 2014-11-19
; PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 61/987,863
; PRIOR FILING DATE: 2014-05-02
; NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 46
; SOFTWARE: PatentIn version 3.5
; SEQ ID NO 45
; LENGTH: 227
; TYPE: PRT
; ORGANISM: Artificial Sequence
; FEATURE:
; OTHER INFORMATION: Synthetic Construct
US-15-141-413-45
Query Match 98.9%; Score 1216; DB 1; Length 227;
Best Local Similarity 99.1%;
Matches 224; Conservative 1; Mismatches 1; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 DKTHTCPPCPAPELLGGPSVFLFPPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVKFNWYVD 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 DKTHTCPPCPAPELLGGPSVFLFPPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVKFNWYVD 60
Qy 61 GVEVHNAKTKPPEEQYNSTYRVVSVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKALPAPIEKTISKAK 120
||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GVEVHNAKTKPREEQYNSTYRVVSVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKALPAPIEKTISKAK 120
Qy 121 GQPREPQVCTLPPSRDELTKNQVSLSCAVDGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDS 180
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 GQPREPQVCTLPPSRDELTKNQVSLSCAVEGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDS 180
Qy 181 DGSFFLVSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFSCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPG 226
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 DGSFFLVSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFSCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPG 226
Bosques et al. also teach nucleic acid molecule encoding the amino acid sequence (e.g. see [0078]).
Bosques et al. teach that the EU position K370 can also be substituted by amino acid residue D (K370D), e.g. see [0053]. Thus, the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 45 disclosed in Bosques et al. would be identical to the instant SEQ ID NO:70 when K370 is substituted with amino acid residue D.
Therefore, the reference teachings anticipate the instant invention.
7. Claims 164 and 165 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of US 11,220,531 (the ‘531 Patent).
The instant claims are drawn to an Fc construct comprising a first polypeptide, a second polypeptide, a third polypeptide, a fourth polypeptide wherein each of the first and second polypeptide comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NO:78 with op to 10 single amino acid substitutions, provided that position 72 of SEQ ID NO:78 is a proline and position 319 of SEQ ID NO:78 is a proline and each of the third and fourth polypeptides comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NO:73, with up to 10 single amino acid substitutions, provided that position 72 of SEQ ID NO:73 is a proline.
The claims in the ‘531 Patent are drawn to an Fc construct comprising a first polypeptide, a second polypeptide, a third polypeptide, and a fourth polypeptide, wherein each of the first and second polypeptide comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NO:76 with up to 10 single amino acid substitutions provided that position 72 of SEQ ID NO:76 is a proline and position 319 is also a proline, and each of the third and fourth polypeptide comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NO:70, provided position 72 is a proline.
The instant SEQ ID NO:78 and the SEQ ID NO:76 in the ‘531 Patent are identical to each other except position 33. The instant SEQ ID NO:73 is identical to the SEQ ID NO:70 in the ‘531 Patent.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because given the recitation of “up to 10 single amino acid substitutions” in the instant claims, the SEQ ID NO:76 and SEQ ID NO:70 in the ‘531 Patent are within the scope of the instant claims (see Office Action Attachments). Therefore, the claims in the ‘531 Patent would anticipate the instant invention.
8. Claims 164 and 165 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,827,682 (the ‘682 Patent).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the claims in the ‘682 Patent are drawn to the same or nearly the same Fc construct comprising identical first and second polypeptides (SEQ ID NO:78) and third and fourth polypeptide (SEQ ID NO:73). Therefore the claims in the ‘682 Patent would anticipate the instant invention.
9. Claims 166 and 167 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
claims 1-5 of US 11,220,531 (the ‘531 Patent, drawn to an Fc construct); and
claims 1-9 of US 11,827,682 (the ‘682 Patent, claims drawn to an Fc construct and the method of treating an inflammatory or autoimmune disease by administering the Fc construct),
both in view of Bosques et al. (WO 2015/168643).
The instant claims are drawn to a nucleic acid molecule comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NOs: 78, 73, 76, or 70, and a cell comprising nucleic acid encoding SEQ ID NOs: 78 and 73, or 76 and 70.
The claims in the ‘531 Patent and the ‘682 Patent are drawn to an Fc construct have the same or nearly the same amino acid sequence as the instantly claimed SEQ ID NOs: 78, 73, 76, and 70. They differ from the instant claims by not reciting a nucleic acid and a cell.
Bosques et al. teach an Fc construct that are similar to the instantly recited Fc construct (e.g. see Fig 13 or copy below):
Bosques et al. further teach polynucleotide encoding the Fc construct and a host cell comprising the polynucleotide (e.g. see page 15). Bosques et al. teach that the Fc construct protein can be produced by expressing the polynucleotide in the host cells, following by secretion and purification (e.g. see page 26).
It would thus be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to determine the nucleic acid molecule such as DNA encoding the Fc construct in the ‘531 Patent and the ‘682 Patent, and express the DNA in suitable host cells as disclosed by Bosques et al. in order to produce the Fc construct. As such, the claims in the ‘581 Patent and the ‘682 Patent would render the instant claims obvious.
10. No claim is allowed.
/CHUN W DAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641