DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al (US 2022/0360394, hereinafter Ly, claiming priority date of provisional application 63/182,502), in view of Li et al (US 2022/0095310, hereinafter Li) and in view of Yao et al (US 2025/0240146, hereinafter Yao).
Regarding claim 1, Ly discloses a wireless communication method comprising: receiving, by a wireless communication device from a base station, a time-domain window, wherein the time-domain window is defined by at least one of a period of the time-domain window, an offset for the time-domain window, a length of the time-domain window, a duration of the time-domain window, a starting of the time-domain window, or a time domain pattern of the time-domain window (network entity can configure UE with a time domain window duration, network entity can configure time domain windows at UE via higher layer signaling, Para [0124], network entity configures UE with time domain window with number of TTIs, Para [0126]); communicating, by the base station with the wireless communication device, using the time-domain window (UE can transmit uplink transmission during time domain window, Para [0124], UE has multiple transmission during time domain window, Para [0129]. Also see Para [0118,120] from the provisional application); but does not further disclose receiving, by the wireless communication device from the base station, an indication of whether to modify attributes of time-domain resources of a configured frame structure within the time-domain window with respect to each of a plurality of frequency resources wherein the time-domain window defines a time interval in which the attributes of the time-domain resources are to be modified, or receiving, by the wireless communication device from the base station an indication of a modified frame structure used within the time-domain resources with respect to each of a plurality of frequency resources, wherein the time-domain window defines a time interval in which the modified frame structure is to be used. Li discloses providing an initial configuration, Para [0015], performing configuration adjustment on UL and DL structures of first-time domain resource and notifying UE via DCI of changing frame structure for slots, Para [0070], uplink slot can be changed into a downlink slot, Para [0151]/Fig. 4b, changing the structure of UL and DL structure of frequency domain resources, Para [0223]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Li in the system of Ly in order to improve flexibility for meeting traffic loads; and does not disclose wherein the time-domain window is defined for a cell or defined for a frequency resource. Yao discloses the BS sends configuration of time domain window to the UE, where the time domain window length is cell specific, Para [0171]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Yao in the system of Ly in view of Li in order to improve wireless communication characteristics such as maintaining power consistency over a period of time.
Regarding claim 11, Ly discloses the wireless communication method of claim 9, but not wherein the at least one first time-domain resource comprises first ones of resources comprising a semi-static downlink resource, a semi-static uplink resource, a semi-static flexible resource, a dynamic downlink resource, a dynamic uplink resource, and a dynamic flexible resource. Li discloses uplink slot can be changed into a downlink slot, Para [0151]/Fig. 4b, therefore a dynamic resource.
Regarding claim 15, Ly discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, further comprising: configuring a first frequency resource within a second frequency resource; indicating, by the base station to the wireless communication device, a frame structure used within the time-domain window for the first frequency resource (each frame has a number of slots, Para [0086], time domain window made up of slots, resource elements in a resource block, which are frequency resources, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Ly discloses the wireless communication method of claim 15, further comprising: indicating, by the base station to the wireless communication device, whether to modify attributes of time-domain resources of a configured frame structure within the time-domain window for the first frequency resource; or indicating, by the base station to the wireless communication device, a modified frame structure used within the time-domain window for the first frequency resource (obvious variation to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify frame structure, Li discloses changing frame structure, Para [0015]).
Regarding claim 17, Ly discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, but not further comprising: sending, by the base station to the wireless communication device, first signaling indicating converting a frame structure within the time-domain window; and sending, by the base station to the wireless communication device, second signaling indicating modifying a conversion rule by which the frame structure is converted. Li discloses providing an initial configuration, Para [0015] and informing slots for changing a frame structure with DCI, Para [0070], modifying a conversion rule is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 18, Ly discloses a wireless communication method, comprising: receiving, by a wireless communication device from a base station, a time-domain window, wherein the time-domain window is defined by at least one of a period of the time-domain window, an offset for the time-domain window, a length of the time-domain window, a duration of the time-domain window, a starting of the time-domain window, or a time domain pattern of the time-domain window (network entity can configure UE with a time domain window duration, network entity can configure time domain windows at UE via higher layer signaling, Para [0124], network entity configures UE with time domain window with number of TTIs, Para [0126]); communicating, by the wireless communication device with the base station, using the time-domain window (UE can transmit uplink transmission during time domain window, Para [0124], UE has multiple transmission during time domain window, Para [0129]. Also see Para [0118,120] from the provisional application); but does not further disclose receiving, by the wireless communication device from the base station, an indication of whether to modify attributes of time-domain resources of a configured frame structure within the time-domain window with respect to each of a plurality of frequency resources, or receiving, by the wireless communication device from the base station an indication of a modified frame structure used within the time-domain resources with respect to each of a plurality of frequency resources. Li discloses providing an initial configuration, Para [0015], performing configuration adjustment on UL and DL structures of first-time domain resource and notifying UE via DCI of changing frame structure for slots, Para [0070], uplink slot can be changed into a downlink slot, Para [0151]/Fig. 4b, changing the structure of UL and DL structure of frequency domain resources, Para [0223]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Li in the system of Ly in order to improve flexibility for meeting traffic loads; and does not disclose wherein the time-domain window is defined for a cell or defined for a frequency resource. Yao discloses the BS sends configuration of time domain window to the UE, where the time domain window length is cell specific, Para [0171]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Yao in the system of Ly in view of Li in order to improve wireless communication characteristics such as maintaining power consistency over a period of time.
Regarding claim 19, Ly discloses a base station (network entity, Para [0021]), comprising: at least one processor (processor, Para [0021]) configured to: configure, for a wireless communication device, a time-domain window, wherein the time-domain window is defined by at least one of a period of the time-domain window, an offset for the time-domain window, a length of the time-domain window, a duration of the time-domain window, a starting of the time-domain window, or a time domain pattern of the time-domain window (network entity can configure UE with a time domain window duration, network entity can configure time domain windows at UE via higher layer signaling, Para [0124], network entity configures UE with time domain window with number of TTIs, Para [0126]); communicate, via a transceiver with the wireless communication device, using the time-domain window (UE can transmit uplink transmission during time domain window, Para [0124], UE has multiple transmission during time domain window, Para [0129]. Also see Para [0118,120] from the provisional application); but does not further disclose receiving, by the wireless communication device from the base station, an indication of whether to modify attributes of time-domain resources of a configured frame structure within the time-domain window with respect to each of a plurality of frequency resources, or receiving, by the wireless communication device from the base station an indication of a modified frame structure used within the time-domain resources with respect to each of a plurality of frequency resources. Li discloses providing an initial configuration, Para [0015], performing configuration adjustment on UL and DL structures of first-time domain resource and notifying UE via DCI of changing frame structure for slots, Para [0070], uplink slot can be changed into a downlink slot, Para [0151]/Fig. 4b, changing the structure of UL and DL structure of frequency domain resources, Para [0223]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Li in the system of Ly in order to improve flexibility for meeting traffic loads; and does not disclose wherein the time-domain window is defined for a cell or defined for a frequency resource. Yao discloses the BS sends configuration of time domain window to the UE, where the time domain window length is cell specific, Para [0171]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Yao in the system of Ly in view of Li in order to improve wireless communication characteristics such as maintaining power consistency over a period of time.
Regarding claim 20, Ly discloses a wireless communication device (UE, Para [0008]), comprising: at least one processor (processor, Para [0008]) configured to: receive, via a transceiver from a base station, a time-domain window, wherein the time-domain window is defined by at least one of a period of the time-domain window, an offset for the time-domain window, a length of the time-domain window, a duration of the time-domain window, a starting of the time-domain window, or a time domain pattern of the time-domain window (network entity can configure UE with a time domain window duration, network entity can configure time domain windows at UE via higher layer signaling, Para [0124], network entity configures UE with time domain window with number of TTIs, Para [0126]); communicate, via the transceiver with the base station, using the time-domain window (UE can transmit uplink transmission during time domain window, Para [0124], UE has multiple transmission during time domain window, Para [0129]. Also see Para [0118,120] from the provisional application); but does not further disclose receiving, by the wireless communication device from the base station, an indication of whether to modify attributes of time-domain resources of a configured frame structure within the time-domain window with respect to each of a plurality of frequency resources, or receiving, by the wireless communication device from the base station an indication of a modified frame structure used within the time-domain resources with respect to each of a plurality of frequency resources. Li discloses providing an initial configuration, Para [0015], performing configuration adjustment on UL and DL structures of first-time domain resource and notifying UE via DCI of changing frame structure for slots, Para [0070], uplink slot can be changed into a downlink slot, Para [0151]/Fig. 4b, changing the structure of UL and DL structure of frequency domain resources, Para [0223]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Li in the system of Ly in order to improve flexibility for meeting traffic loads; and does not disclose wherein the time-domain window is defined for a cell or defined for a frequency resource. Yao discloses the BS sends configuration of time domain window to the UE, where the time domain window length is cell specific, Para [0171]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Yao in the system of Ly in view of Li in order to improve wireless communication characteristics such as maintaining power consistency over a period of time.
Claims 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly, in view of Li, in view of Yao and in view of Xu et al (US 2024/0224180, hereinafter Xu).
Regarding claim 6, Ly discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, but not fully wherein the period of the time-domain window is a first number of first time intervals; the offset of the time-domain window is a second number of the first time intervals; the starting of the time-domain window within a first time interval is defined by a second time interval index or a bitmap; the length of the time-domain window is a third number of second time intervals; and each of the first time intervals contains a plurality of the second time intervals; the duration of the time-domain window indicates a fourth number of the first time intervals, which contains the time-domain window. Ly discloses time domain window starts at slot 0, therefore 0 offset, spanning 4 slots, Para [0126], obvious variation of configuration parameters. Xu discloses resource units within a time domain window can be indicated based a bit stream or a bitmap, Para [0105]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Xu in the system of Ly in view of Li and Yao in order to improve resource utilization rate.
Regarding claim 4, Ly discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the period of the time-domain window is a first number of time intervals; the offset of the time-domain window is a second number of the time intervals from a start of the period of the time-domain window; and the length of the time-domain window is a third number of the time intervals (first time window can being in slot 4, meaning 4 slot offset, the time domain window can span 4 slots, Para [0128], period, offset and length are obvious configuration parameters to one of ordinary skill).
Regarding claim 5, Ly discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the period of the time-domain window is a first number of time intervals; the offset of the time-domain window is 0; and the length of the time-domain window equals to the period of the time-domain window (time domain window starts at slot 0, therefore 0 offset, spanning 4 slots, Para [0126], obvious variation of configuration parameters).
Regarding claim 7, Ly discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the period of the time-domain window is a first number of time intervals; the starting of the time-domain window defined by a time interval index or a bitmap that maps a number of bits equal to the first number of the time intervals; and the length of the time-domain window is a second number of time intervals. Ly discloses time domain window starts at slot 0, therefore 0 offset, spanning 4 slots, Para [0126], obvious variation of configuration parameters. Xu discloses resource units within a time domain window can be indicated based a bit stream or a bitmap, Para [0105].
Regarding claim 8, Ly discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein determining the time-domain window comprises excluding from the time-domain window one or more of: at least one symbol for transmitting Synchronization Signal Block (SSB); at least one symbol for a Control Resource Set (CORESET); at least one symbol for Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission; at least one symbol for Reference Signal (RS) transmission; at least one symbol for control channel transmission; at least one semi-static uplink resource according to frame structure configuration; at least one semi-static downlink resource according to frame structure configuration; at least one dynamic uplink resource; at least one dynamic downlink resource; or at least one dynamic flexible resource (time domain spans 4 uplink slots, therefore the CORESET wouldn’t be included, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Ly discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the time-domain window is determined as a time domain resource by including at least one first time-domain resource or excluding at least one second time-domain resource (first time domain includes 0-3 slot resources but not sots 4-7, Para [0126]/Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Ly discloses the wireless communication method of claim 9, wherein the at least one second time-domain resource carries a type of signal or channel (second time domain resource is optional but obvious a UL transmission can be transmitted in slots 4-7, Para [0126]/Fig. 3).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly, in view of Li, in view of Yao and in view of Seok et al (US 2023/0179348, hereinafter Seok).
Regarding claim 12, Ly discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, but not wherein the time domain pattern comprises an ON phase and an OFF phase; a configured frame structure is used during the ON phase; and the time-domain window is defined by the OFF phase. Seok discloses a time domain pattern with “on and “off” phase, cell#0, time domain window is 2 slots with 3 off slots, Fig. 69. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Seok in the system of Ly in view of Li and Yao in order to improve PUSCH transmission reliability between BS and terminal and improve coverage for repeated PUSCHs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant amends the limitations in the claim and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant argues the purpose of the time window in Ly is different from in the claims and fails to disclose the time domain window is used to modify attributes of time domain resources. Further arguing Ly does not disclose the time-domain window is defined for a cell or frequency resource. In response, Applicant argues against the Ly reference alone and not the combination of references. Ly is not used to disclose modifying attributes of a frame structure or indication of a modified frame structure but the Li reference is used to disclose that limitation, where Applicant has no argument against Li. Further the new limitation where the time-domain window is defined for a cell is moot in view of a new reference being used in the current office action.
Conclusion
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461