CTNF 18/520,210 CTNF 101402 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Acknowledgment is made that the instant application was effectively filed on 27 November 2023, but claims priority to Korean Patent Application No. KR10-2023-0006133, filed on 16 January 2023. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 27 November 2023, 26 July 2024, 08 October 2024, and 13 January 2025, were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Zhao (CN 212461949, Machine Translation attached) . Regarding claim 1 , Zhao teaches a battery pack ( 100, Fig. 3 ) comprising: a battery cell ( 2, Fig. 3 ) comprising a negative electrode ( negative electrode of battery 2 ,Page4:L9) and a positive electrode ( positive electrode of battery 2 ,Page4:L9); a case accommodating the battery cell ( 1, Fig. 3 ); and a pair of cap assemblies ( 3 and 4, Fig. 1 , Page4:L3-5) at both ends of the case ( left and right ends of 100, Fig. 1 ), each of the cap assemblies ( 3 and 4 ) comprising a first cap plate ( 51, Figs. 1 and 2 ) and a second cap plate ( 52, Figs. 1 and 2 ), the first cap plate ( 51 ) being electrically connected to the battery cell and having one of a negative polarity or a positive polarity ( corresponding/connected to positive electrode of battery 2 , Page2:L5-6 Page4:L8-9), and the second cap plate ( 52 ) being electrically connected to the battery cell and having the other one of a negative polarity and a positive polarity ( corresponding/connected to negative electrode of battery 2 , Page2:L5-6 Page4:L8-9). Regarding claim 2 , Zhao teaches wherein the battery cell comprises a plurality of battery cells ( 2, Fig. 3) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2015/0280179) . Regarding claim 1 , Liu teaches a battery pack ( battery of Fig. 1 , [0025]) comprising: a battery cell ( 12, Fig. 1 ) comprising a negative electrode ( negative pole of 12, Fig. 2 [0026]) and a positive electrode ( positive pole of 12, Fig. 2 ); a case accommodating the battery cell ( 1, Fig. 1 ); and a pair of cap assemblies ( 2 and 3, Fig. 1 ) at both ends of the case ( top and bottom of 1, Fig. 1 ), each of the cap assemblies ( 2 and 3 ) comprising a first cap plate ( 41/42, Fig. 1 ) and a second cap plate ( 51/52, Fig. 1 ), the first cap plate ( 41/42 ) being electrically connected to the battery cell ( 12, Fig. 2 ) and having one of a negative polarity or a positive polarity ( positive/+ , see Fig. 2 , [0029]), and the second cap plate ( 51/52 ) having the other one of a negative polarity and a positive polarity ( negative/- , see Fig. 2 , [0029]), but does not teach the second cap plate being electrically connected to the battery cell. However, in an alternate embodiment, Liu teaches the second cap plate ( 51/52, Fig. 5 ) being electrically connected ( indirectly through 6 and 7, respectively, Fig. 5 ) to the battery cell ( 12, Fig. 5 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the second cap plate of Liu, such that it is electrically connected to the battery cell, so that power may be provided to an electrical device such as a flashlight ([0032]). Regarding claim 2 , Liu teaches wherein the battery cell comprises a plurality of battery cells ( 12, 13, and 14, Fig. 1 , see 35 U.S.C. § 112b rejection, above for interpretation). Regarding claim 3 , Liu teaches wherein the negative electrode ( negative pole of 12, Fig. 2 ) is at one end of the battery ( right end of 12, Fig. 2 ) and the positive electrode ( positive pole of 12, Fig. 2 ) is at another end of the battery cell ( left end of 12, Fig. 2 ). Regarding claim 5 , Liu teaches further comprising: the negative electrode ( negative pole of 12, Fig. 2 [0026]) of the battery cell ( 12, Figs. 1 and 2 ) and the second cap plate ( 51/52, Fig. 2 ); and a positive electrode lead wire ( 15, Fig. 1 , [0026 and 0029]) connecting the positive electrode ( positive pole of 12, Fig. 2 ) of the battery cell ( 12 ) and the other one of the first cap plate ( 41, Figs. 1 and 2 ) or the second cap plate, but does not teach a negative electrode lead wire connecting the negative electrode of the battery cell with one of the first cap plate or the second cap plate. However, Liu teaches a negative electrode lead wire ( 17, Fig. 1 , [0026 and 0028]) connecting a negative electrode ( negative pole of 12, Fig. 2 [0026]) of the battery cell ( 12, Figs. 1 and 2 ) with one of a first cap plate ( 32, Figs. 1 and 2 , see explanation below) or a second cap plate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the negative electrode of Liu, such that it comprises a negative electrode lead wire connected to the first cap plate, as taught by Liu, so that additional poles may be connected to the electrode, providing convenience for connection with different devices (Abstract). It is the position of the Examiner that Liu teaches 32 is the first negative-pole terminal ([0028]). While it is not the first cap plate of claim 1, as mapped, 32 satisfies the claimed limitations of a first cap plate, because it is a plate of the cap assembly (3, Fig. 1) electrically connected to the battery cell 12 (indirectly through 13/14, Fig. 2) and has a negative polarity. Regarding claim 6 , Liu teaches wherein the negative electrode lead wire ( 17, Fig. 1 see rejection of claim 5 for modification) and the positive electrode lead wire ( 15, Fig. 1 ) do not overlap each other (see Fig. 1 , and explanation below). It is the position of the Examiner that, as modified in the rejection of claim 5, the negative electrode wire would be provided between 12 and 52, meaning the positive and negative electrode lead wires would be on opposite sides of the cell 12, not overlapping . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2015/0280179), in view of Yang (U.S. Pub. US 2015/0371786) . Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches wherein the negative electrode ( negative pole of 12, Fig. 2 ) is at one end of the battery ( right end of 12, Fig. 2 ) and another positive electrode ( positive pole of 12, Fig. 2 ) are at another end of the battery cell ( left end of 12, Fig. 2 ), but does not teach wherein the negative electrode and the positive electrode are at one end of the battery cell, and another negative electrode and another positive electrode are at another end of the battery cell. However, Yang teaches a negative electrode ( 1021, Fig. 9 ) and a positive electrode ( 1011, Fig. 9 ) are at one end of the battery cell ( cell of Fig. 9 , [0076 and 0082]), and another negative electrode ( 1022, Fig. 9 ) and another positive electrode ( 1012, Fig. 9 ) are at another end of the battery cell (see [0083]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery cell of Liu, such that it comprises negative and positive electrode plates at each end, to allow easier connection of cells in series or parallel ([0054 and 0055]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2015/0280179), in view of Qin et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2019/0372365) . Regarding claim 7 , Liu teaches the battery pack according claim 1 (see 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claim 1, above) and charging the battery pack ([0033]), but does not teach a battery pack charging station comprising: a main body having a plurality of receiving units for accommodating the battery pack according claim 1; and a charging circuit unit inside the main body and configured to be electrically connected to the battery pack to charge the battery pack. However, Qin teaches a battery pack charging station ( 100, Fig. 1 ) comprising: a main body ( 104, Fig. 1 ) having a plurality of receiving units ( 114, Fig. 3 , [0023]) for accommodating the battery pack ( 120, Fig. 3 , [0038]); and a charging circuit unit ( 130, Fig. 6 , [0026]) inside the main body ( 104 ) and configured to be electrically connected to the battery pack ( through 126, Fig. 6 , see [0039]) to charge the battery pack ( via power supply electronics 126 , [0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the battery pack of Liu such that it further includes a charger for accommodating and charging the battery pack with a charging circuit, as taught by Qin, to charge a plurality of battery packs with a single device ([0003]) capable of controlling charging of each individual batter pack ([0012]). Regarding claim 8 , Liu, in view of Qin, teaches the charging circuit ( 130, Fig. 6 of Qin, see rejection of claim 7 for modification) and the receiving units ( 114, Fig. 3 of Qin, see rejection of claim 7 for modification), but does not teach wherein the charging circuit unit comprises a charging terminal exposed at an inside of the receiving units. However, Qin teaches a charging terminal ( 118, Fig. 4 ) exposed at an inside of the receiving units ( 114, Fig. 4 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the charging circuit unit of Liu, in view of Qin, such that it comprises a charging terminal exposed at an inside of the receiving units, as taught by Qin, to mechanically and electrically mate the battery pack with the charger to transfer energy ([0038]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2015/0280179), in view of Qin et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2019/0372365), further in view of Uesugi (U.S. Pub. US 2016/0359345) . Regarding claim 9 , Liu, in view of Qin, teaches the charging terminal ( 118, Fig. 4 of Qin, see rejection of claim 7 for modification), but does not teach wherein the charging terminal comprises a negative electrode terminal and a positive electrode terminal. However, Uesugi teaches wherein the charging terminal ( terminal of 10, Fig. 3 , [0061]) comprises a negative electrode terminal ( 42, Fig. 3 ) and a positive electrode terminal ( 41, Fig. 3 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the charging terminal of Liu, in view of Qin, such that it comprises positive and negative electrode terminals, as taught by Uesugi, to electrically couple to the respective positive and negative electrode terminals of a rechargeable battery pack ([0062]), thereby allowing attachable/detachable charging of a battery pack ([0005]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2015/0280179), in view of Zhang et al. (CN 111186573, Machine Translation attached) . Regarding claim 10 , Liu teaches the battery pack according to claim 1 (see 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claim 1, above), but does not teach a drone comprising: a main body having a mounting unit configured to receive the battery pack according to claim 1; and a circuit unit inside the main body and configured to be electrically connected to the battery pack. However, Zhang teaches a drone comprising: a main body ( 4, Fig. 1 ) having a mounting unit ( 21, Fig. 3 , Page4:L17) configured to receive a battery pack ( 22, Fig. 3 ); and a circuit unit ( circuit , Page4:L48) inside the main body and configured to be electrically connected ( via 12 and 19, Fig. 3 , Page5:L10-13) to the battery pack ( 22 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pack of Liu such that it further includes a drone configured to receive and electrically connect to the battery pack via terminals, as taught by Kim, to utilize the power supplied by the battery (Page6:L17-19) in order to provide a drone capable of flying for a long time, suitable for large open environments (Page2:L59-60). Regarding claim 11, Liu, in view of Zhang, teaches wherein the circuit unit ( circuit , Page4:L48 of Zhang, see rejection of claim 10 for modification) comprises a connection terminal ( 12 and 19, Fig. 3 of Zhang, see rejection of claim 10 for modification) exposed at an inside of the mounting unit ( 21, Fig. 3 of Zhang, see rejection of claim 10 for modification). Regarding claim 12 , Liu, in view of Zhang, teaches wherein the connection terminal comprises a negative electrode terminal ( 19, Fig. 3 of Zhang, see rejection of claim 10 for modification) and a positive electrode terminal ( 12, Fig. 3 of Zhang, see rejection of claim 10 for modification) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2015/0280179), in view of Zhang et al. (CN 111186573, Machine Translation attached), further in view of Thrun et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 10,493,863) . Regarding claim 13 , Liu, in view of Zhang, teaches the main body ( 4, Fig. 1 of Zhang, see rejection of claim 10 for modification) and the battery pack (see 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claim 1, above), but does not teach further comprising an internal battery mounted inside the main body and configured to be supplied with power from the battery pack. However, Thrun teaches an internal battery ( 104a, Fig. 1A ) mounted inside the main body (see C4:L5-8) and configured to be supplied with power from the battery pack ( 112a, Fig. 1 ; internal battery charged from removable battery , C11:42-48). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the main body of Liu, in view of Zhang, such that it further comprises an internal battery configured to be supplied with power from the battery pack, as taught by Thrun, to allow the drone to fly short distances under less weight constraints (C4:L10-18) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim (KR 20200018003, Machine Translation attached) teaches Kim teaches a drone comprising: a main body having a mounting unit configured to receive a dual-electrode battery pack; and configured to be electrically connected to the battery pack (see Fig. 8, [0090]) . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Aidan L Papandria whose telephone number is (571)272-1831. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-5 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tiffany Legette can be reached at (571) 270-7078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AIDAN LACHLAN PAPANDRIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/520,210 Page 2 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/520,210 Page 3 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/520,210 Page 4 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/520,210 Page 5 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/520,210 Page 6 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/520,210 Page 7 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/520,210 Page 8 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/520,210 Page 9 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/520,210 Page 10 Art Unit: 1723