DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-11, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102019114147 in view of Heurteux (US 4,296,586).
Re claim 1, DE102019114147 discloses a floor system (14) for a cabin (12) of a vehicle (10), comprising:
a floor panel (16),
a seat rail (20) comprising:
a base rail component (28) having a base surface (top of 28) spaced upwardly by (Fig. 5) a vertically extending web (26) from a flange (24);
an installation rail component (42) having an installation surface (bottom of 42), the base surface (top of 28) of the base rail component (28) positioned underneath (Fig. 4) the installation surface (bottom of 42) at a distance thereto (Fig. 4);
a recess (the space between 42 and 28) between the installation surface (bottom of 42) and the base surface (top of 28) and extending along (Fig. 4) the seat rail (20); and
a plurality of connection components (90),
wherein the base rail (28) and the installation rail component (42) are separate components (Fig. 5-7) joined by the plurality of connection components (90),
wherein the floor panel (16) has a top surface (top of 16), a bottom surface (bottom of 16) and a connection edge (72) extending between (Fig. 4) the top surface (top of 16) and the bottom surface (bottom of 16),
wherein the floor panel (16) is supported by (Fig. 4) the base surface (top of 28) of the base rail component (28) within the recess (the space between 28 and 42),
wherein the connection edge (72) has a continuously undulating or serrated edge surface (via 92), and
wherein the recess (between 42 and 28) comprises an outward-facing lateral receiving surface (40) that is at least partially complementary to (Fig. 7) the edge surface (of 72) of the connection edge (72) to provide a form-fit engagement (Fig. 7) with the floor panel (16),
but fails to disclose wherein the seat rail is configured to vertically clamp the floor panel inside the recess between the base surface of the base rail component and the installation rail component by fastening the installation rail component to the base rail component, the installation rail component providing a clamping force to the floor panel such that the floor panel is pressed on the base surface.
However, Heurteux discloses wherein the seat rail (Fig. 4, 3A/3B) is configured to vertically clamp (Fig. 1) the floor panel (P) inside the recess (between 3 and 4) between the base surface (top of 4) of the base rail component (4) and the installation rail component (3) by fastening (via 5) the installation rail component (3) to the base rail component (4), the installation rail component (4) providing a clamping force (via 5) to the floor panel (P) such that the floor panel (P) is pressed on (via 5) the base surface (top of 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the floor system of DE102019114147 wherein the seat rail is configured to vertically clamp the floor panel inside the recess between the base surface of the base rail component and the installation rail component by fastening the installation rail component to the base rail component, the installation rail component providing a clamping force to the floor panel such that the floor panel is pressed on the base surface as disclosed by Heurteux in order to provide a rigid, immovable, yet releasable connection of the floor panel to the base rail component and to the installation rail component.
Re claim 2, DE102019114147 as modified discloses the floor system of claim 1, wherein the floor panel (16) comprises a honeycomb structure (690) enclosed between a top cover (64) and a bottom cover (62), and wherein the connection edge (72) comprises a core filling material (58) reaching into open cells ([0051], [0055] of English Translation) of the honeycomb structure (60) to increase a stability of the connection edge (72).
Re claim 5, DE102019114147 as modified discloses the floor system of claim 1, further comprising a sealing component (46) arranged on at least one of the top surface or the bottom surface (bottom of 16) of the floor panel (16) adjacent to (Fig. 4) the connection edge (72).
Re claim 6, DE102019114147 as modified discloses the floor system of claim 1, wherein the connection edge (72) comprises a series of cylindrical cutouts or partially spherical cutouts (92) distributed on the connection edge (72) at a distance to each other (Fig. 7) and at least reaching through (via 92) the top surface (top of 16) of the floor panel (16).
Re claim 7, DE102019114147 as modified discloses the floor system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of connection components (92) are connected to (Fig. 7) the base rail component (28) and the installation rail component (42) to arrange the base rail component (28) and the installation rail component (42) in a parallel alignment to each other (Fig. 4) and to clamp (Fig. 4) the floor panel (16) in between (Fig. 4).
Re claim 8, DE102019114147 as modified discloses the floor system of claim 7 wherein the installation rail component (42) is substantially flat (Fig. 4).
Re claim 9, DE102019114147 as modified discloses the floor system of claim 7, wherein the connection edge (72) comprises a series of cylindrical cutouts or partially spherical cutouts (92) distributed on the connection edge (72) at a distance to each other (Fig. 7) and at least reaching through (Fig. 7) the top surface (top of 16) of the floor panel (16), wherein the installation rail component (42) comprises a series of partially spherical indentations (see Fig. 7), and wherein the partially spherical cutouts (92) and the partially spherical indentations (Fig. 7) are correspondingly shaped (Fig. 7).
Re claim 10, DE102019114147 as modified discloses the floor system of claim 7, wherein the connection edge (72) comprises a series of cylindrical cutouts or partially spherical cutouts (92) distributed on the connection edge (72) at a distance to each other (Fig. 7) and at least reaching through (Fig. 7) the top surface (top of 16) of the floor panel (16),
Heurteux discloses wherein the installation rail component (3A, 3B) comprises a series of through-holes (which receives 5), wherein the connection components (2) have a hollow-cylindrical shape (Fig. 1-4), and wherein the cutouts (DE102019114147; 92) of the connection edge (DE102019114147: 72), the spacing of the through-holes (which receives 5) and the hollow-cylindrical shape (of 2) of the plurality of connection components (2) correspond to each other (Fig. 1), when the plurality of connection components (2) are vertically arranged underneath (Fig. 1) the through-holes (which receives 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the floor system of DE102019114147 wherein the installation rail component comprises a series of through-holes, wherein the connection components have a hollow-cylindrical shape, and wherein the cutouts of the connection edge, the spacing of the through-holes and the hollow-cylindrical shape of the plurality of connection components correspond to each other, when the plurality of connection components are vertically arranged underneath the through-holes as disclosed by Heurteux in order to provide a rigid, immovable, yet releasable connection of the floor panel to the base rail component and to the installation rail component.
Re claim 11, DE102019114147 as modified discloses the floor system of claim 1, wherein the connection edge (72) and the lateral receiving surface (40) comprise a non-corrosive material ([0051] disclosing foam, [0008] disclosing a polymer).
Re claim 13, DE102019114147 as modified discloses a cabin (12) of an aircraft (10), having a floor (via 16) comprising a floor system (Fig. 4) of claim 1 (see above), wherein at least one object (38) is arranged on the floor (via 16) and attached to the seat rail (20).
Re claim 14, DE102019114147 as modified discloses an aircraft (10), comprising an aircraft structure (Fig. 1) and a cabin (12) of claim 13 (see above) arranged therein (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102019114147 in view of Heurteux (US 4,296,586) and Juergens (US 2011/0183104).
Re claim 3, DE102019114147 as modified discloses the floor system of claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein the core filling material comprises a plastic material.
However, Juergens discloses wherein the core filling material comprises a plastic material ([0018]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the floor system of DE102019114147 wherein the core filling material comprises a plastic material as disclosed by Juergens in order to increase panel strength ([0018]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102019114147 in view of Heurteux (US 4,296,586) and Galliot (US 2020/0094970).
Re claim 4, DE102019114147 as modified discloses the floor system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the floor panel comprises an edge cap laterally bonded to the floor panel, and wherein the edge cap comprises the connection edge.
However, Galliot discloses wherein the floor panel (14a) comprises an edge cap (36) laterally bonded to ([0034]) the floor panel (14a), and wherein the edge cap (36) comprises the connection edge (edge thereof).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the floor system of DE102019114147 wherein the floor panel comprises an edge cap laterally bonded to the floor panel, and wherein the edge cap comprises the connection edge as disclosed by Galliot in order to protect the edge of the floor panel.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102019114147 in view of Heurteux (US 4,296,586) and Gobeil (US 6,086,018).
Re claim 12, DE102019114147 as modified discloses the floor system of claim 7, but fails to disclose wherein the installation rail component is made from titanium.
However, Gobeil discloses wherein the installation rail component (14) is made from titanium (Col 6 lines 44-46).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the floor system of DE102019114147 w wherein the installation rail component is made from titanium as disclosed by Gobeil in order to utilize a strong, durable, corrosion resistant material. In addition, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections 35 USC 103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the cited and relied upon prior art fails to disclose the am ended language, particularly providing a clamping force to the floor panel. Applicant’s contends that Dannig applies a force to a component other than the floor panel. Danning is no longer relied upon in the above, due to Applicant’s amended language. This amended language necessitated the new grounds of rejection above in view of Heurteux.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KYLE WALRAED-SULLIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635