DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 11-13, 15, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Westrum et al. (USPN 8956244).
Regarding claim 1, Westrum et al. discloses a club head having striking face 30, crown 26, sole 28, heel, toe, hosel 32, and skirt. The club head is also divided into a first portion 100 and a second portion 120 (See Figure 14). The first portion incudes at least a striking face. The second portion includes at least a rear portion of the sole. The first portion is made of a first material and the second portion is made of a second material that is the same as the first material or different (See Column 2, lines 57 through 64). The first and second portions are also joined together via welding (See Column 3, lines 19 through 38).
Regarding claim 2, Westrum et al. discloses the first and second portions collectively defining a recess 110 and 130 in the sole. A first mass portion 42 is received within the recess wherein a first portion includes a forward portion of the crown, sole, toe, heel, and skirt. A second portion includes a rear portion of crown, toe, heel, and skirt (See Figures 14).
Regarding claim 3, Westrum et al. discloses a first mass proximate the sole.
Regarding claim 4, Westrum et al. discloses the first mass integrally formed with the second portion of the club head.
Regarding claim 11, Westrum et al. discloses the first portion accounting for 20% of the club head size (See Paragraph bridging columns 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 12, see the above regarding claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, see the above regarding claim 11.
Regarding claim 15, Westrum et al. discloses the striking face made of titanium (See Column 2, lines 57 through 64).
Regarding claim 17, see the above regarding claim 1. In addition, Westrum notes that the first and second portions can be combined using mechanical fasteners or adhesive (See Column 7, lines 18 through 49).
Regarding claim 18, see the above regarding claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westrum et al. (USPN 8956244).
Regarding claim 19, Westrum et al. discloses the first and second portion may have different sizes (See Paragraph bridging columns 7 and 8) noting that first may be larger than the second or vice versa. The size of the portions would determine the position of the recess and weighting. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the first portion smaller than the second portion, as taught by Westrum et al., in order to move the center of gravity closer to the striking face of the club head.
Regarding claim 20, see the above regarding claim 19.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-3, 5, 7, 8, 10-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11839797. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application does not claim a recess in the sole and a first mass portion in the recess. Though not in claim 1, the remaining limitations are encompassed by claim 1 of US Patent 11839797. In light of the above, claim 1 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 1 of US Patent 11839797.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9, 14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711