In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Status of Claims
- Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending in the application.
Priority
The application has claimed priority based on U.S. Provisional Application Serial No. 63/385825 filed on December 2, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 27, 2023, May 21, 2024 and August 15, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Threlkel, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20090126596.
Consider claim 1, Threlkel teaches an attraction system, comprising: a ride vehicle configured to travel along a path (see Threlkel figure 2, element 14 and paragraphs 0037, 0040-0041 where amusement rides, (i.e. roller coasters) of the present invention comprise at least three major elements. First, a track system 14. Second, the vehicle assembly 16 in which the user or rider rides. Third, an assembly 18 for linking or attaching the vehicle assembly 16 to the track system 14, such as a roller coaster bogey), wherein the ride vehicle comprises:
a bogie configured to engage with the path (see Threlkel figure 2, element 18 and paragraphs 0038, 0040-0041, 0046, 0049 where In operation, each of the bogeys 18 and vehicle assemblies 16 are propelled along the track system 14);
a base coupled to the bogie (see Threlkel figure 11, element 88 and paragraph 0051 where first arm 88 extending from the bogey 18 is merely a quarter-circle and is connected to an actuator 90 which would rotate the arm 88 about a first axis or figure 12, element 98 and paragraph 0052 linkage arm or boom 98 can be a relatively straight shaft, as illustrated in FIG. 15 and connected to the bogey 18 by a rotatable connection, such as an actuator 100);
an appendage coupled to the base, wherein the appendage is configured to actuate relative to the base about or along a first axis (see Threlkel figure 11, element 92, 94 and paragraph 0051 where second arm 92 extends from an end portion of arm 88 and is coupled to a second actuator which would rotate the arm 92 about a second axis, or figure 15, element 102 and paragraph 0052 where inter connection of the support arm 102 and straight arm 98 would comprise an actuator such that the support arm 102 would be rotated about a second axis);
a support coupled to the appendage, wherein the support is configured to actuate relative to the appendage about or along a second axis (see Threlkel figure 12, element 96, and paragraph 0051 where each seat assembly 54, or even each seat 56, is connected to a third actuator 96 which provides rotation about a third axis or figure 15, element 104 and paragraph 0052 where another actuator 104 would be connected to the individual seat or seat assemblies 54. This actuator 104 would then provide rotation in a third axis); and
a seat coupled to the support, wherein the seat is configured to secure a guest therein (see Threlkel figure 12, element 54 and paragraphs 0045-0051, 0057 where seat assembly 54 contains the necessary components for the comfort and safety of the rider. For example, head supports, seat cushions, leg supports, arm rests, etc. are provided as necessary. Any means of supporting the rider are contemplated by the present invention. Additionally, the present invention contains any suitable and necessary restraining systems known in the art. Such restraining systems may comprise bars or harnesses, such as a five-point harness or figure 15, element 54).
Consider claim 4, Threlkel teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the appendage (see Threlkel figure 15, element 102 ) comprises a first portion extending along the base (see Threlkel figure 15, element 98 where a portion of 102 extends along 98) and a second portion extending away from the base (see Threlkel figure 15 element 102, 98 where arm portions of 102 extend away from 98), the first portion of the appendage is coupled to the base (see Threlkel paragraph 0052 where inter connection of the support arm 102 and straight arm 98 would comprise an actuator such that the support arm 102 would be rotated about a second axis), and the support is coupled to the second portion of the appendage (see Threlkel figure 15, element 104 and paragraph 0052 where another actuator 104 would be connected to the individual seat or seat assemblies 54. This actuator 104 would then provide rotation in a third axis).
Consider claim 5, Threlkel teaches all the limitations of claim 4 and further teaches wherein the first portion of the appendage is configured to rotate about the first axis (see Threlkel paragraph 0052 where inter connection of the support arm 102 and straight arm 98 would comprise an actuator such that the support arm 102 would be rotated about a second axis), and the support is configured to rotate about the second axis (see Threlkel figure 15, element 104 and paragraph 0052 where another actuator 104 would be connected to the individual seat or seat assemblies 54. This actuator 104 would then provide rotation in a third axis).
Consider claim 6, Threlkel teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches comprising an actuator (see Threlkel figure 11, element 94, figure 12, element 96, figure 15, element 100, 104) and a controller communicatively coupled to the actuator, wherein the controller is configured to: instruct the actuator to rotate the appendage about the first axis; instruct the actuator to rotate the support about the second axis; or both (see Threlkel paragraphs 0014, 0036, 0048, 0056 where seats be fully rotatable in at least two, and preferably all three, planes or axes. Although such rotation may be free and dependent upon the change of acceleration placed upon the seat assembly, typically the actuators are mechanically driven or powered to selectively rotate the seat assembly. When powered, the rotation of the seat assembly may be altered by pre-defined programs or even rider control.).
Consider claim 7, Threlkel teaches all the limitations of claim 6 and further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: receive one or more user inputs; and instruct the actuator to rotate the appendage about the first axis, instruct the actuator to rotate the support about the second axis, or both based on the one or more user inputs (see Threlkel paragraphs 0014, 0036, 0048, 0056 where seats be fully rotatable in at least two, and preferably all three, planes or axes. Although such rotation may be free and dependent upon the change of acceleration placed upon the seat assembly, typically the actuators are mechanically driven or powered to selectively rotate the seat assembly. When powered, the rotation of the seat assembly may be altered by pre-defined programs or even rider control.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Threlkel, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20090126596 in view of Elliott et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 5595121.
Consider claim 2, Threlkel teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Threlkel is silent regarding wherein the seat is configured to transition between one or more first configurations and one or more second configurations.
In a related field of endeavor, Elliott teaches seats made selectively positionable during travel so that each individual passenger can adjust orientation or tilt of his or her seat relative to a frame so as to control tilt of a seat enabling each passenger to increase or decrease relative G-force experienced when the vehicle is traversing horizontal, vertical, or complex curves (see Elliott column 6, lines 56-67).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Threlkel with the teachings of Elliott to have seats configured to transition between one or more first configurations and one or more second configurations so as to control tilt of a seat enabling each passenger to increase or decrease relative G-force experienced when the vehicle is traversing horizontal, vertical, or complex curves using known techniques with predictable results.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Threlkel, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20090126596 and Elliott et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 5595121 in view of Crawford et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130025492.
Consider claim 3, Threlkel as modified by Elliott teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Threlkel/Elliott is silent regarding wherein the seat comprises a seat pan, and the seat pan is configured to adjust toward an upright orientation during transition of the seat from the one or more second configurations to the one or more first configurations.
In a related field of endeavor, Crawford teaches a seat comprises a seat pan (see Crawford figure 6, element 622), and the seat pan is configured to adjust toward an upright orientation during transition of the seat from the one or more second configurations to the one or more first configurations (see Crawford paragraph 0047 where seat 620 is shown to include a seat pan 622 along with a seat back 626 that is articulable to different positions) so as to facilitate positioning the seat in different positions.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Threlkel/Elliott to have a seat pan, and the seat pan is configured to adjust toward an upright orientation during transition of the seat from the one or more second configurations to the one or more first configurations as disclosed by Crawford so as to facilitate positioning a seat in different positions using known techniques with predictable results.
Claim(s) 8-14, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Threlkel, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20090126596 in view of Elliott et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 5595121 and Blonk et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20100236444.
Consider claim 8, Threlkel teaches a ride vehicle for an attraction system, the ride vehicle (see Threlkel figure 2, element 14 and paragraphs 0037, 0040-0041 where amusement rides, (i.e. roller coasters) of the present invention comprise at least three major elements. First, a track system 14. Second, the vehicle assembly 16 in which the user or rider rides. Third, an assembly 18 for linking or attaching the vehicle assembly 16 to the track system 14, such as a roller coaster bogey) comprising:
a bogie configured to travel along a path of the attraction system (see Threlkel figure 2, element 18 and paragraphs 0038, 0040-0041, 0046, 0049 where In operation, each of the bogeys 18 and vehicle assemblies 16 are propelled along the track system 14);
a base coupled to the bogie (see Threlkel figure 11, element 88 and paragraph 0051 where first arm 88 extending from the bogey 18 is merely a quarter-circle and is connected to an actuator 90 which would rotate the arm 88 about a first axis or figure 12, element 98 and paragraph 0052 linkage arm or boom 98 can be a relatively straight shaft, as illustrated in FIG. 15 and connected to the bogey 18 by a rotatable connection, such as an actuator 100);
a seat configured to secure a guest therein (see Threlkel figure 12, element 54 and paragraphs 0045-0051, 0057 where seat assembly 54 contains the necessary components for the comfort and safety of the rider. For example, head supports, seat cushions, leg supports, arm rests, etc. are provided as necessary. Any means of supporting the rider are contemplated by the present invention. Additionally, the present invention contains any suitable and necessary restraining systems known in the art. Such restraining systems may comprise bars or harnesses, such as a five-point harness or figure 15, element 54),
an appendage coupled to the base, wherein the appendage is configured to rotate about one or more axes to rotate the seat about the one or more axes (see Threlkel figure 11, element 92, 94 and paragraph 0051 where second arm 92 extends from an end portion of arm 88 and is coupled to a second actuator which would rotate the arm 92 about a second axis, or figure 15, element 102 and paragraph 0052 where inter connection of the support arm 102 and straight arm 98 would comprise an actuator such that the support arm 102 would be rotated about a second axis and figure 12, element 96, and paragraph 0051 where each seat assembly 54, or even each seat 56, is connected to a third actuator 96 which provides rotation about a third axis or figure 15, element 104 and paragraph 0052 where another actuator 104 would be connected to the individual seat or seat assemblies 54. This actuator 104 would then provide rotation in a third axis).
Threlkel is silent regarding wherein the seat is adjustable between one or more first configurations and one or more second configurations, wherein the seat is configured to support a guest standing within the seat in the one or more first configurations, and wherein the seat is configured to support a guest sitting within the seat in the one or more second configurations.
In a related field of endeavor, Elliott teaches seats made selectively positionable during travel so that each individual passenger can adjust orientation or tilt of his or her seat relative to a frame so as to control tilt of a seat enabling each passenger to increase or decrease relative G-force experienced when the vehicle is traversing horizontal, vertical, or complex curves (see Elliott column 6, lines 56-67).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Threlkel with the teachings of Elliott to have seats configured to transition between one or more first configurations and one or more second configurations so as to control tilt of a seat enabling each passenger to increase or decrease relative G-force experienced when the vehicle is traversing horizontal, vertical, or complex curves using known techniques with predictable results.
Threlkel/Elliott is silent regarding wherein the seat is configured to support a guest standing within the seat in the one or more first configurations, and wherein the seat is configured to support a guest sitting within the seat in the one or more second configurations.
In a related field of endeavor, Blonk teaches wherein the seat is configured to support a guest standing within the seat in the one or more first configurations, and wherein the seat is configured to support a guest sitting within the seat in the one or more second configurations (see Blonk figures 3A-3C and paragraphs 0010-0014, 0061-0063 where passenger embarks the amusement ride device in a sitting position, and can stand up and squat during the ride) so as to provide a thrilling sensation in which occupants can assume several body positions (see Blonk paragraph 0015).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have further modified Threlkel/Elliott with the teachings of Blonk to have the seat is configured to support a guest standing within the seat in the one or more first configurations, and wherein the seat is configured to support a guest sitting within the seat in the one or more second configurations so as to provide a thrilling sensation in which occupants can assume several body positions using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 9, Threlkel as modified by Elliott and Blonk teaches all the limitations of claim 8 and further teaches comprising a support coupled to the appendage, wherein the seat is coupled to the support, and rotation of the appendage about the one or more axes drives rotation of the support and the seat about the one or more axes (see Threlkel figure 12, element 96, and paragraph 0051 where each seat assembly 54, or even each seat 56, is connected to a third actuator 96 which provides rotation about a third axis or figure 15, element 104 and paragraph 0052 where another actuator 104 would be connected to the individual seat or seat assemblies 54. This actuator 104 would then provide rotation in a third axis).
Consider claim 10, Threlkel as modified by Elliott and Blonk teaches all the limitations of claim 9 and further teaches wherein the seat comprises a seatback (see Threlkel figure 12, element 54 seatback, Blonk figure 3A, element 48 backrest) and a linkage (see Blonk figure 5, element 62 back rest, 61 connecting means and paragraph 0066 where A schematic view of a back rest 62 of a passenger torso restraint is visible, and part of connecting means 61 to connect the passenger torso restraint 62 to a transport part (not shown). The connecting means might further comprise a column (not shown) at the right-hand side of the drawing that can be placed on a platform (not shown). The shown part of connecting means 61 are designed as a so-called double wishbone construction, in the shown embodiment comprising rods 61a, plates 61b, diagonal dampers 61c and a horizontal damper 61d, all pivotable about pivot axes 61e. The horizontal damper 61d can be used to adjust the connecting means 61 to the height of the passenger. The two diagonal dampers 61c allow for a vertical movement of the passenger. The double wishbone geometry realizes a forward rotation of the back rest 62 of about 15-20.degree.) configured to couple the seatback to the support (see Blonk paragraph 0066 where a schematic view of a back rest 62 of a passenger torso restraint is visible, and part of connecting means 61 to connect the passenger torso restraint 62 to a transport part (not shown).), the linkage is configured to extend to position the seatback away from the support in the one or more first configurations of the seat, and the linkage is configured to retract to position the seatback adjacent to the seat in the one or more second configurations of the seat (see Blonk figures 3A-3C where in figure 3A the seatback is straight, in figure 3B, the seatback is leaned forward).
Consider claim 11, Threlkel as modified by Elliott and Blonk teaches all the limitations of claim 9 and further teaches wherein the support is configured to rotate about an additional one or more axes (see Threlkel figure 12, element 96, and paragraph 0051 where each seat assembly 54, or even each seat 56, is connected to a third actuator 96 which provides rotation about a third axis or figure 15, element 104 and paragraph 0052 where another actuator 104 would be connected to the individual seat or seat assemblies 54. This actuator 104 would then provide rotation in a third axis).
Consider claim 12, Threlkel as modified by Elliott and Blonk teaches all the limitations of claim 9 and further teaches wherein the appendage (see Threlkel figure 15, element 102 ) comprises a first portion coupled to and extending along the base (see Threlkel figure 15, element 98 where a portion of 102 extends along 98) and a second portion extending from the first portion (see Threlkel figure 15 element 102, 98 where arm portions of 102 extend away from 98), and the support is coupled to the second portion of the appendage (see Threlkel figure 15, element 104 and paragraph 0052 where another actuator 104 would be connected to the individual seat or seat assemblies 54. This actuator 104 would then provide rotation in a third axis).
Consider claim 13, Threlkel as modified by Elliott and Blonk teaches all the limitations of claim 8 and further teaches wherein the base (see Threlkel figure 11, element 88 and paragraph 0051 where first arm 88 extending from the bogey 18 is merely a quarter-circle and is connected to an actuator 90 which would rotate the arm 88 about a first axis or figure 12, element 98 and paragraph 0052 linkage arm or boom 98 can be a relatively straight shaft, as illustrated in FIG. 15 and connected to the bogey 18 by a rotatable connection, such as an actuator 100) extends from the bogie (see Threlkel figure 11, element 18 or figure 15, element 18) and away from the path (see Threlkel figure 2, element 18 and paragraphs 0038, 0040-0041, 0046, 0049 where In operation, each of the bogeys 18 and vehicle assemblies 16 are propelled along the track system 14).
Consider claim 14, Threlkel teaches a ride vehicle (see Threlkel figure 2, element 14 and paragraphs 0037, 0040-0041 where amusement rides, (i.e. roller coasters) of the present invention comprise at least three major elements. First, a track system 14. Second, the vehicle assembly 16 in which the user or rider rides. Third, an assembly 18 for linking or attaching the vehicle assembly 16 to the track system 14, such as a roller coaster bogey), comprising:
a support (see Threlkel figure 12, element 96, and paragraph 0051 where each seat assembly 54, or even each seat 56, is connected to a third actuator 96 which provides rotation about a third axis or figure 15, element 104 and paragraph 0052 where another actuator 104 would be connected to the individual seat or seat assemblies 54. This actuator 104 would then provide rotation in a third axis); and a seat configured to support a guest in the ride vehicle, the seat comprising: a seatback;
Threlkel is silent regarding a seat pan configured to transition the seat between one or more first configurations and one or more second configurations; and a linkage configured to couple the seatback to the support, wherein the linkage is configured to adjust the seatback away from the support and to rotate and/or translate the seat pan along or about a first direction, and wherein the linkage is configured to adjust the seatback toward the support and to rotate and/or translate the seat pan in a second direction.
In a related field of endeavor, Elliott teaches seats made selectively positionable during travel so that each individual passenger can adjust orientation or tilt of his or her seat relative to a frame so as to control tilt of a seat enabling each passenger to increase or decrease relative G-force experienced when the vehicle is traversing horizontal, vertical, or complex curves (see Elliott column 6, lines 56-67).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Threlkel with the teachings of Elliott to have seats configured to transition between one or more first configurations and one or more second configurations so as to control tilt of a seat enabling each passenger to increase or decrease relative G-force experienced when the vehicle is traversing horizontal, vertical, or complex curves using known techniques with predictable results.
Threlkel/Elliott is silent regarding a seat pan configured to transition the seat between one or more first configurations and one or more second configurations; and a linkage configured to couple the seatback to the support, wherein the linkage is configured to adjust the seatback away from the support and to rotate and/or translate the seat pan along or about a first direction, and wherein the linkage is configured to adjust the seatback toward the support and to rotate and/or translate the seat pan in a second direction.
In a related field of endeavor, Blonk teaches a seat pan (see Blonk paragraph 0062 where seat or saddle (not shown), e.g. a semi-seat, possibly nothing more than a ladies' bicycle saddle or small ridge, to sit on in the position shown in FIG. 3a) configured to transition the seat between one or more first configurations and one or more second configurations (see Blonk figures 3A-3C); and a linkage configured to couple the seatback to the support (see Blonk figure 5, element 62 seat back, 61 connecting means and paragraph 0066), wherein the linkage is configured to adjust the seatback away from the support and to rotate and/or translate the seat pan along or about a first direction, and wherein the linkage is configured to adjust the seatback toward the support and to rotate and/or translate the seat pan in a second direction configurations (see Blonk figures 3A-3C where in figure 3A the seatback is straight, in figure 3B, the seatback is leaned forward) so as to provide a thrilling sensation in which occupants can assume several body positions (see Blonk paragraph 0015).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have further modified Threlkel/Elliott with the teachings of Blonk to have a seat pan configured to transition the seat between one or more first configurations and one or more second configurations; and a linkage configured to couple the seatback to the support, wherein the linkage is configured to adjust the seatback away from the support and to rotate and/or translate the seat pan along or about a first direction, and wherein the linkage is configured to adjust the seatback toward the support and to rotate and/or translate the seat pan in a second direction so as to provide a thrilling sensation in which occupants can assume several body positions using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 18, Threlkel as modified by Elliott and Blonk teaches all the limitations of claim 14 and further teaches wherein the linkage is configured to extend and retract via a telescoping mechanism (see Blonk figure 5 and figures 3A-3C where elements 61a-61e provide telescoping extension/retraction mechanism).
Consider claim 20, Threlkel as modified by Elliott and Blonk teaches all the limitations of claim 14 and further teaches wherein the linkage travels along an arcuate path to extend and to retract (see Blonk figure 5 and figures 3A-3C where elements 61a-61e provide extension/retraction via arcuate path).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claimed invention recites
Claim 15 “ The ride vehicle of claim 14, comprising a plate and a foundation, the foundation is coupled to the support, the plate is coupled to the foundation and to the seat pan such that the foundation, the plate, and the seat pan adjust towards and/or to the seatback. ”
Claim 19 “ The ride vehicle of claim 14, comprising a pommel, wherein the linkage is configured to extend to rotate the seat pan in the first direction and to drive the pommel through the seat pan. ”
The following prior arts are representative of the state of the prior art:
Threlkel, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20090126596 (figures 1-15)
Elliott et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 5595121 (figure 1)
Blonk et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20100236444 (figures 1A-7)
Crawford et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130025492 (figures 1-9)
The prior arts cited fails to fairly teach or suggest the combined features of the invention including the features of dependent claims 15 and 19. Dependent claims 16-17 are allowable by virtue of being dependent upon a claim reciting allowable subject matter.
These features find support at least at figures 4-6 and paragraphs 0036-0048 of Applicant’s original specification.
As such, modification of the prior art of record can only be motivated by hindsight reasoning, or by changing the intended use and function of the prior art themselves. Therefore, it is not clear that one of ordinary skill in the art would have made the necessary modifications to the prior art of record to encompass the limitations set forth in the present application. Moreover, none of the prior arts of record, taken either alone or in combination, anticipate nor render obvious the claimed inventions. Hence, claims 15-17, 19 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bennett et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 6024647 (amusement ride vehicle with motion controlled seating), Clerx et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 6405655 (amusement device), Baker et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20100326313 (amusement park ride), Gil et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110062755 (seat assembly), Fram, U.S. Patent No. 9486135 (amusement park ride), Pagliuca, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20240226760 (providing dynamic and personalized attributes in a ride vehicle).
/Dorothy Harris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625