Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on November 12, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the steps.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the internal strain.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao (CN 112932707; paragraph numbers to corresponding English language translation).
Claim 1: Zhao discloses a method of producing a dental restoration (¶ 1). The method includes determining a first spatial region of the dental restoration that is subject to a higher load than a second spatial region of the dental restoration (¶ 23; Zhao constructs a 3D model of a crown, dividing it into spatial regions (layers), and performing stress analysis to identify areas of high internal stress (high load regions); and producing the dental restoration in the first spatial region with a different production material than in the second spatial region (¶¶ 18, 23; Zhao optimizes the elastic modulus distribution of the crown so that high-stress regions are reinforced with a different material (higher modulus/strength) relative to low-stress regions – e.g., the optimized crown uses a high-strength ceramic in the outer occlusal regions which endure higher bite forces and a lower-stiffness material in other regions).
Claim 2: Zhao discloses the first spatial region is determined by an internal strain in the first spatial region being above a predetermined value (¶ 23).
Claim 3: Zhao discloses the load being calculated using FEA (¶ 23).
Claim 4: Zhao discloses predetermined forces are applied to the dental restoration for the FEA (¶ 33).
Claim 5: Zhao discloses the production material for the first and/or second spatial region is selected based on a calculated load (stress; ¶¶ 18, 23).
Claim 6: Zhao discloses the production material being doped differently in the first spatial region than in the second spatial region (¶¶ 17, 39; ceramic content vs resin content – i.e., doping).
Claim 7: Zhao discloses the first spatial region including a production material having a higher strength than in the second spatial region (¶¶ 18, 23; Zhao optimizes the elastic modulus distribution of the crown so that high-stress regions are reinforced with a different material (higher modulus/strength) relative to low-stress regions – e.g., the optimized crown uses a high-strength ceramic in the outer occlusal regions which endure higher bite forces and a lower-stiffness material in other regions).
Claim 8: Zhao discloses the production being performed by 3D printing (¶ 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 112932707), as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Hansen (US 2018/0098828).
Zhao is silent as to the 3D printing being free-jet material deposition. However, Hansen discloses a method of producing a dental restoration, including 3D printing using free-jet (inkjet) material deposition (¶ 36). As taught by Hansen, free-jet printing effectively forms dental restorations (¶ 36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have utilized the free-jet printing of Hansen in the method of Zhao to effectively produce a dental restoration. Moreover, Zhao discloses that stereolithography manufacturing is used; and Hansen discloses that either stereolithography or free-jet printing may be used to form the dental restoration (¶ 36), teaching that these were art-recognized equivalent processes known prior to the effective filing date of the application.
Conclusion
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754