DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2 and 4-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,825,930. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent "anticipate" the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claim. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2, 4-8, 12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over August (US 2010/0206323) in view of McBride (US 6,502,245) and Hopper et al. (US 2008/0156340).
Regarding claim 2 August discloses a headband comprising an elongated piece of elastic material having a uniform elasticity (101), wherein a top surface of the elongated piece of elastic material defines an outside surface of the headband, an elongated piece of stretch velvet material (104) having a uniform elasticity, wherein a top surface of the elongated piece of stretch velvet material directly contacts a bottom surface of the elongated piece of elastic material (i.e. along the edges), wherein the elongated piece of elastic material and the elongated piece of stretch velvet material are attached along the length of the elongated piece of stretch velvet material such that the headband is a 360-degree elastic headband (see Figure 2; paragraph 20). August does not disclose the entire top surface of the elongated piece of stretch velvet material directly contacts a bottom surface of the elongated piece of elastic material and that the first end of the elongated piece of elastic material is stitched to a second end of the elongated piece of elastic material. McBride teaches a headband made from two materials wherein the entire top surface of the elongated piece of material directly contacts an entire bottom surface of the elongated piece of material (see Figures 1 and 2; col. 2, lines 25-30). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the top and bottom materials of August be attached along an entire top surface and an entire bottom surface as taught by McBride to help absorb sweat and create and uniformly stretchable band. Hopper et al. teaches a headband wherein the first end of the elongated piece of elastic material is stitched to a second end of the elongated piece of elastic material (158) (see Figure 7; paragraph 31) to create a continuous loop headband. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the headband of August be stitched at the first and second end of the elongate fabric as taught by Hopper et al. to create a continuous loop headband.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, McBride further discloses the elongated top material can be made by multiple pieces (see Figure 2); wherein the multiple pieces span less than the entire headband. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the headband of August be made with multiple pieces as taught by McBride to reduce waste of materials.
Regarding claim 6, the entire top surface of the elongated piece of stretch velvet material directly contacts the entire bottom surface of the elongated piece of elastic material (as modified by McBride).
Regarding claim 7, the elongated piece of elastic material comprises an elastic ribbon (paragraph 19).
Regarding claim 8, the elongated piece of stretch velvet material comprises a stretch velvet ribbon (paragraph 13 and 19).
Regarding claim 12, the elongated piece of elastic material and the elongated piece of stretch velvet material have the same width (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, the elongated piece of elastic material is attached to elongated piece of stretch velvet material by stitching. (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, the elongated piece of elastic material is attached to the elongated piece of stretch velvet material by an adhesive or bonding material (paragraph 20.
Claims 9-11, and 13 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over August in view of McBride and Hopper et al. as applied to claims 2-8,12, 14, and 16 above, and further in view of Larkin et al (US Pub.# 2006/0085891).
August, McBride, and Hopper et al. disclose the essential claimed invention as discussed above except for the elastic outside having a width that is greater than a width of the inside lining, wherein the elastic outside including material that is folded for a desired width. Larkin et al discloses a headband (fig. 4) comprising an outside layer (18’) and an inside gripping layer (34), wherein the outside layer having a width that is greater than a width of the inside lining (see fig. 4), wherein the outside layer including material that is folded (at 36, fig. 5) for a desired width. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the outside and inside lining of August with the width dimension as taught by Larkin et al in order to securely hold the gripping layer in place.
Claim 15 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over August in view of McBride and Hopper et al. as applied to claims 2-8, 12, 14, and 16 above, and further in view Cox (US 2004/0168696).
August, McBride, and Hopper et al. disclose the claimed invention except for stretch and stitch stitching. Cox teaches and elastic wig that is sewn with zig-zag stitching to allow for stretching of the wig around the user’s head (paragraph 20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the stitching of August be a stretch and stitch such as zig-zag as taught by Cox to allow for stretching of the device over the user’s head.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the entire top surface of August third layer directly contact an entire bottom surface of Augst’s first layer since August describes a middle layer of support material is not persuasive. The removal of August's middle layer to achieve direct contact, as taught by McBride, is a simple and predictable design variation. This is not a complex or unpredictable modification that a person having ordinary skill in the art would avoid. The applicant's argument regarding absorption is unpersuasive because it fixates on a single function of the middle layer. While August's middle layer is disclosed for absorption, it is just one component in the overall design. A person having ordinary skill in the art would, considering the entire body of knowledge (including McBride's teaching), would not be "taught away" from removing the layer. A different design, such as McBride's two-layer structure, could achieve moisture-wicking or absorption through other means, or simply prioritize a different function entirely, like softness or reduced bulk. McBride explicitly discloses a simpler, two-layer headband design where layers are directly attached to one another. This reference provides a clear teaching and motivation to remove the non-essential middle layer of August and directly contact the remaining elastic and stretch velvet layers. Therefore, the rejection is proper because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the claimed combination for predictable reasons related to common design choices in the art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL R STEITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
9/8/2025