DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. Information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted July 19, 2024; April 28, 2025; July 9, 2025; and, April 23, 2026, have been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 2, 10, 12, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al. (US 2017/0250392 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Guo et al. disclose in Figures 1-3, an electrode plate, called a cathode electrode (3), comprising: a cathode current collector (31) and an active material layer, called a cathode diaphragm (32), wherein the current collector (31) comprises a first segment, and a first coating area, a second coating area in which a cathode active material coating layer (33) is present, and a slot area, called a first groove (G31), are distributed on at least one side of the first segment; the second coating area comprises an inherent transition area, and along a width direction of the current collector (31), the transition area is located between the slot area (G31) and an edge of the current collector (31); the active material layer (32) is attached to a surface of the current collector (31) in the first coating area and the second coating area (as cathode active material coating layer (33)); and a thickness of the active material layer (32) in the second coating area is less than a thickness of the active material layer in the first coating area (See Figure 3) (paragraph 0075).
With regard to Claim 2, Guo et al. disclose in Figure 2, wherein the first coating area is disposed to extend to an edge of the first segment in a length direction of the first segment and a width direction of the first segment (see Figures), and the slot area (G31) and the second coating area (including cathode active material coating layer (33)) are both located in a middle of the first coating area along a length direction of the first coating area (paragraphs 0074-0079; See Figure 2).
With regard to Claim 10, Guo et al. disclose in Figures 9-13, wherein the first coating area, the second coating area (including cathode active material coating layer (33)) and the slot area (G31) are distributed on both surfaces of the first segment, and distribution positions of the first coating area, the second coating area and the slot area (G31) on a side of the first segment respectively correspond to distribution positions of the first coating area, the second coating area and the slot area (R31) on another side of the first segment (paragraphs 0096-0097).
With regard to Claim 12, Guo et al. disclose in Figure 3, wherein a surface shape of the active material layer in the second coating area is planar, wavy or inclined, also called a continuous and integrated surface (paragraph 0077).
With regard to Claim 14, Guo et al. further disclose in Figures 1-3, a tab (4), wherein the tab (4) comprises a connecting segment, called an embedded portion, and an extending segment, called an exposed portion, which are connected to each other, the connecting segment, or embedded portion, is fixedly connected, through welding, to one of slot areas (G31) on both sides of the current collector (31), and along the width direction of the current collector (31), the extending segment, or exposed portion, is disposed to extend to an outside of the first coating area (paragraphs 0074-0075).
With regard to Claim 15, Guo et al. disclose in Figures 1-3, wherein a thickness, formed after a thickness of the extending segment, or exposed portion, is superimposed with a thickness of the active material layer (33) coated in the transition area, is equal to the thickness of the active material layer (32) in the first coating area (paragraphs 0073, 0077).
With regard to Claim 16, Guo et al. further disclose in Figures 1-3, a tab (4), wherein along a length direction of the current collector (31), a length of the slot area (G31) is inherently greater than a width of the tab (4) so that the tab (4) can fit in to the slot area (G31) (paragraphs 0073-0077).
With regard to Claim 20, Guo et al. disclose in Figure 1, a battery, called a soft package lithium ion battery, comprising a housing (soft package) and an battery cell accommodated in the housing, wherein the battery cell comprises a positive electrode plate (3), a negative electrode plate (1) and a separator (5) between the positive electrode plate (3) and the negative electrode plate (1), the positive electrode plate (3), the negative electrode plate (1) and the separator (5) are wound together after being stacked (paragraph 0072), and at least one of the positive electrode plate (3) and the negative electrode plate (1) is an electrode plate, comprising: a cathode current collector (31) and an active material layer, called a cathode diaphragm (32), wherein the current collector (31) comprises a first segment, and a first coating area, a second coating area in which a cathode active material coating layer (33) is present, and a slot area, called a first groove (G31), are distributed on at least one side of the first segment; the second coating area comprises a transition area, and along a width direction of the current collector (31), the transition area is located between the slot area (G31) and an edge of the current collector (31); the active material layer (32) is attached to a surface of the current collector (31) in the first coating area and the second coating area (as cathode active material coating layer (33)); and a thickness of the active material layer (32) in the second coating area is less than a thickness of the active material layer in the first coating area (See Figure 3) (paragraph 0075).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 3-5, 11, 13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2017/0250392 A1), as applied to Claims 1, 2, 10, 12, 14-16 and 20 above.
With regard to Claim 3, Guo et al. disclose the electrode plate in paragraph 7 above, but do not specifically disclose wherein along a length direction of the current collector, a ratio of a length of the slot area to a length of the transition area is S, wherein 5≥S≥1. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to manufacture, along a length direction of the current collector, a ratio of a length of the slot area to a length of the transition area is S, is 5≥S≥1, since such a modification would only involve a mere change in the size and/or shape of a component. A change in size and/or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV).
With regard to Claim 4, Guo et al. disclose the electrode plate in paragraph 7 above, including wherein the finished battery product has a thickness of 4.9mm, a width of 40mm, and a length or 90mm (paragraph 0080), but do not specifically disclose wherein along the width direction of the current collector, a width of the transition area ranges from 2 mm to 5 mm. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to manufacture, along the width direction of the current collector, a width of the transition area ranging from 2 mm to 5 mm, since such a modification would only involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV).
With regard to Claim 5, Guo et al. disclose the electrode plate in paragraph 7 above, including wherein the finished battery product has a thickness of 4.9mm, a width of 40mm, and a length or 90mm (paragraph 0080), but do not specifically disclose wherein along the width direction of the current collector, a width of the slot area ranges from 9 mm to 30 mm. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to manufacture, along the width direction of the current collector, a width of the slot area ranging from 9 mm to 30 mm, since such a modification would only involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV).
With regard to Claim 11, Guo et al. disclose the electrode plate in paragraph 7 above, but do not specifically disclose wherein surface shapes of the active material layer in the second coating area on both sides of the current collector are different. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to manufacture the surface shapes of the active material layer in the second coating area on both sides of the current collector to be different, since such a modification would only involve a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV).
With regard to Claim 13, Guo et al. disclose the electrode plate in paragraph 7 above, but do not specifically disclose wherein along a width direction of the first coating area, the thickness of the active material layer in the second coating area is in gradient distribution that gradually increases first and then gradually decreases. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to manufacture a width direction of the first coating area, the thickness of the active material layer in the second coating area to be in gradient distribution that gradually increases first and then gradually decreases, since such a modification would only involve a mere change in the size and/or shape of a component. A change in size and/or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV).
With regard to Claim 17, Guo et al. disclose the electrode plate in paragraph 7 above, including wherein the finished battery product has a thickness of 4.9mm, a width of 40mm, and a length or 90mm (paragraph 0080), but do not specifically disclose wherein a thickness of the active material layer attached to the first coating area ranges from 20 µm to 200 µm. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to manufacture the thickness of the active material layer attached to the first coating area to range from 20 µm to 200 µm, since such a modification would only involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV).
With regard to Claim 18, Guo et al. disclose the electrode plate in paragraph 7 above, including wherein the finished battery product has a thickness of 4.9mm, a width of 40mm, and a length or 90mm (paragraph 0080, but do not specifically disclose wherein a thickness of the active material layer attached to the second coating area ranges from 0 µm to 200 µm. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to manufacture the thickness of the active material layer attached to the second coating area to range from 0 µm to 200 µm, since such a modification would only involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV).
With regard to Claim 19, Guo et al. disclose the electrode plate in paragraph 7 above, including wherein the thickness of the tab is 0.06mm (paragraph 0074), but do not specifically disclose wherein a thickness of the tab ranges from 100 µm to 500 µm. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to manufacture the thickness of the tab to range from 100 µm to 500 µm, since such a modification would only involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV).
12. Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2017/0250392 A1), as applied to Claims 1, 2, 10, 12, 14-16 and 20 above, and in further view of Moriyama et al. (US 2020/0185689 A1).
With regard to Claim 6, Guo et al. disclose the electrode plate in paragraph 7 above, but do not specifically disclose wherein the second coating area further comprises a remaining area, along the width direction of the current collector, a position of the remaining area is opposite to a position of the transition area, and a width of the remaining area ranges from 0 mm to 5 mm.
Moriyama et al. disclose in Figure 3, a positive electrode (11) having a positive electrode mixture layer (35A, 35B) formed on each surface of a positive electrode current collector (30) (paragraph 0031). Moriyama et al. disclose a positive electrode lead (19) bonded to exposed portions (33A, 33B) (a remaining area) on a surface of the positive electrode current collector (30) and the portions of positive electrode mixture layers (35A, 35B) adjacent to the exposed portions (33A, 33B), respectively, in the width direction of the positive electrode current collector (30) are referred to as second regions (37A, 37B) (transition area) (paragraphs 0040-0041). Moriyama et al. disclose that the width of the exposed portions (33A, 33B) (remaining area) is preferably close to the width of the positive electrode led (19) which is 4 mm (paragraphs 0043, 0057), and meets the claimed limitation of 0 mm to 5 mm. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode plate of Guo et al. to include a remaining area, along the width direction of the current collector, wherein a position of the remaining area is opposite to a position of the transition area, and a width of the remaining area ranges from 0 mm to 5 mm, because Moriyama et al. teach that this configuration helps to reduce the winding misalignment of the electrode assembly (paragraph 0043).
With regard to Claim 7, Guo et al. disclose the electrode plate in paragraph 7 above, but do not specifically disclose wherein along a length direction of the first coating area, the remaining area and the transition area are both located in a middle of the first coating area.
Moriyama et al. disclose in Figure 3, a positive electrode (11) having a positive electrode mixture layer (35A, 35B) formed on each surface of a positive electrode current collector (30) (paragraph 0031). Moriyama et al. disclose a positive electrode lead (19) bonded to exposed portions (33A, 33B) (a remaining area) on a surface of the positive electrode current collector (30) and the portions of positive electrode mixture layers (35A, 35B) adjacent to the exposed portions (33A, 33B), respectively, in the width direction of the positive electrode current collector (30) are referred to as second regions (37A, 37B) (transition area), and, along a length direction of the positive electrode mixture layer (35A, 35B), or first coating area, the remaining area (33A, 33B) and the transition area (37A, 37B) are both located in a middle of the first coating area (35A, 35B) (paragraphs 0040-0041; See Figure 3). Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode plate of Guo et al. to include, along a length direction of the first coating area, the remaining area and the transition area are both located in a middle of the first coating area, because Moriyama et al. teach that this configuration helps to reduce the winding misalignment of the electrode assembly (paragraph 0043).
With regard to Claim 8, Guo et al. disclose the electrode plate in paragraph 7 above, but do not specifically disclose wherein along a length direction of the first coating area, positions of the remaining area and the transition area in the first coating area are the same.
Moriyama et al. disclose in Figure 3, a positive electrode (11) having a positive electrode mixture layer (35A, 35B) formed on each surface of a positive electrode current collector (30) (paragraph 0031). Moriyama et al. disclose a positive electrode lead (19) bonded to exposed portions (33A, 33B) (a remaining area) on a surface of the positive electrode current collector (30) and the portions of positive electrode mixture layers (35A, 35B) adjacent to the exposed portions (33A, 33B), respectively, in the width direction of the positive electrode current collector (30) are referred to as second regions (37A, 37B) (transition area), and, along a length direction of the positive electrode mixture layer (35A, 35B), or first coating area, positions of the remaining area (33A, 33B) and the transition area (37A, 37B) in the first coating area (35A, 35B) are the same (paragraphs 0040-0041; See Figure 3). Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode plate of Guo et al. to include, along a length direction of the first coating area, positions of the remaining area and the transition area in the first coating area are the same, because Moriyama et al. teach that this configuration helps to reduce the winding misalignment of the electrode assembly (paragraph 0043).
With regard to Claim 9, Guo et al. disclose the electrode plate in paragraph 7 above, but do not specifically disclose wherein along a length direction of the current collector, a length of the remaining area is equal to a length of the transition area.
Moriyama et al. disclose in Figure 3, a positive electrode (11) having a positive electrode mixture layer (35A, 35B) formed on each surface of a positive electrode current collector (30) (paragraph 0031). Moriyama et al. disclose a positive electrode lead (19) bonded to exposed portions (33A, 33B) (a remaining area) on a surface of the positive electrode current collector (30) and the portions of positive electrode mixture layers (35A, 35B) adjacent to the exposed portions (33A, 33B), respectively, in the width direction of the positive electrode current collector (30) are referred to as second regions (37A, 37B) (transition area) (paragraphs 0040-0041; See Figure 3). Moriyama et al. do not specifically disclose wherein along a length direction of the current collector, a length of the remaining area is equal to a length of the transition area. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to manufacture, along a length direction of the current collector, a length of the remaining area is equal to a length of the transition area, since such a modification would only involve a mere change in the shape and/or size of a component. A change in shape and/or size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV).
Conclusion
/KARIE O'NEILL APICELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725