DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter of:
claim 5, line 2, “first opening”,
Claim 13, line 3, “a connector” and
Claim 11, line 3, “a second opening” are not shown in any of the drawings, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 5 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 9, recites, “grounding part is against the conductive member”, is grammatically awkward and appears to be missing punctuation and/or text.
Claim 2, line 3, recites, “second grounding part is against the flexible body”, is grammatically awkward and appears to be missing punctuation and/or text.
Claim 3, lines 2-3, recites, “second grounding part is against a side”, is grammatically awkward and appears to be missing punctuation and/or text.
Claim 3, lines 4-5, recites, “a size between the first end and the grounding region is greater than a size between the second end and the grounding region”, is grammatically awkward and appears to be missing punctuation and/or text.
Claim 5, lines 2-3, recites, “second grounding part is against the flexible body”, is grammatically awkward and appears to be missing punctuation and/or text.
Claim 15, line 1, “a movable component” should be changed to -the movable component (as it is defined in claim 1, line 4).
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim, 1, line 8-9 recites, “a second grounding part is against the conductive member”, as discussed above it is not clear how and what the second grounding part is against the conductive member, i.e. what is going on (process) between the second grounding part and the conductive member? Hence it is vague and indefinite.
Claim 3, lines 4-5, recites, “a size between the first end and the grounding region is greater than a size between the second end and the grounding region”, is grammatically awkward and appears to be missing punctuation and/or text. And it is not clear that the size what between the first end and the grounding region is greater than a size of what between the second end and the grounding region? And it is not clear. And size in what either width length or thickness? And hence it is vague and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12, 13 and 15, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 11,533,814) hereafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim, discloses a3 grounding device 200 300, comprising: a support member 105 having a grounding region (at which, female connector 200 (201, 202, 203) is connected to the circuit board 105 (201,202,203); a conductive member 120 (121, and the area of 301 touching is attached), comprising a movable part 110, 111, 101a, wherein the movable part 110 is configured to be connected with a movable component 111 of an electronic equipment 100 to enable at least a portion of the conductive member 120 comprising the movable part 110 to move back and forth relative to the supporting member 105 under driving of the movable component 111; and a grounding member 300, comprising a first grounding part 200 (at circuit board 105) and a second grounding part (other end of 300, which is connected electronic component 121 of 120, see fig. 2), wherein the first grounding part (female connector) 200 is connected to the grounding region (of the circuit board), and the second grounding part (at an opposite side of 200 of flexible circuit board 300) is against the conductive member to achieve an electrical connection between the grounding region and the conductive member through the grounding member 300.
Regarding claim 2, Kim, discloses the conductive member farther comprises a fixed part fixedly connected to the support member and a flexible body located between the movable part and the fixed part; the second grounding part is against the flexible body, and the flexible body is capable of undergoing repeated deformation under driving of the back and forth motion of the movable part (300 being flexible circuit board).
Regarding claim 3, Kim, discloses the flexible body 300 has a curved bending section, the movable part is connected to a first end of the curved bending section, the fixed part is connected to a second end of the curved bending section, and in a direction perpendicular to a back and forth motion direction of the movable part, a size between the first end and the grounding region is greater than a size between the second end and the grounding region; the flexible body is capable of providing pressure to the grounding member under bending deformation of the curved bending section, so that the second grounding part is against a side of the flexible body close to the grounding region.
Regarding claim 4, Kim, discloses during a process of repeated deformation of the flexible body, a contact area between the second grounding part and the flexible body remains unchanged; or, during a process of repeated deformation of the flexible body, a contact area between the second grounding part and the flexible body changes within a predetermined range.
Regarding claim 5, Kim, discloses the flexible body of 300 is coated with an insulation layer, and a first opening at which female connector 200 is connected) is provided on the insulation layer, and the second grounding part is against the flexible body exposed by the first opening.
Regarding claim 6, Kim, discloses the grounding member 300 is an elastic grounding member that is capable of undergoing deformation and generating elastic force under an external force, and the grounding part relies on the elastic force to be against the conductive member.
Regarding claim 7, Kim, discloses the grounding member 300 comprises an elastic body and a conductive layer arranged on a surface of the elastic body (being flexible circuit board), and the first grounding part and the second grounding part are two surfaces of the conductive layer that are arranged opposite (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Kim, discloses the grounding member 300 is a rigid (the term “rigid” variable term, and cable 300 has some degree of rigidness) grounding member capable of resisting deformation.
Regarding claim 9, Kim, discloses the first grounding part 200 is fixedly connected to the grounding region (of circuit board 105).
Regarding claim 10, Kim, discloses a conductive adhesive layer is arranged between the first grounding part and the grounding region (see figs. 4, 5A, 5B).
Regarding claim 12, Kim, discloses the conductive member 120 (being and electronic component such as integrated circuit) comprises a flexible circuit board.
Regarding claim 13, Kim, discloses a circuit board 105 electrically connected to the flexible circuit board 300, wherein the flexible circuit board 300 is fixedly connected to the circuit board through a connector 200, and the circuit board 105 is fixedly connected to the support member 105 (being same part).
Regarding claim 15, Kim, discloses an electronic equipment 100, comprising: a movable component 110, 111 and the grounding device according to claim 1 (as discussed above); wherein the movable component 110 is connected to the movable part (other end of 300, opposite to the connector 200) of the conductive member 300 in the grounding device, and the movable component 110 is capable of moving back and forth relative to the support member 105 of the grounding device to drive at least a portion of the conductive member comprising the movable part to move back and forth relative to the support member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 14, as best understood are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim,
Regarding claim 11, Kim, discloses all the claimed limitations except for the support member comprises a support body formed of a metal material and an oxide layer coated on a surface of the support body, the oxide layer has a second opening, and the grounding region is a surface region of the support body exposed by the second opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a support body formed of a metal material and an oxide layer coated on a surface of the support body, since it has been held to be within the general ordinary skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Thus, Kim discloses all the claimed limitation except for the oxide layer has a second opening, and the grounding region is a surface region of the support body exposed by the second opening.
The examiner takes Official Notice that having an opening on the oxidation layer or insulating layer of the circuit board (for instance it is support body) is well-known. Further, for making electrical connection there in between. Moreover, it has been held to be within the general ordinary skill of a worker in the art to select a known material (such as oxidation layer) on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416, in order to prevent the rust on the support body.
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses all the claimed limitations except for the grounding member comprises a conductive foam.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the grounding member comprises a conductive foam, since it has been held to be within the general ordinary skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO 892 .
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831