DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments filed 8/13/2025 have been entered.
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,857,510 (‘510). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘510 teaches the use of Crofelemer to treat diarrhea associated with MVID (see claim 1). ‘510 teaches the dosage of Crofelemer employed (see claim 7). ‘590 teaches the age of the patients (see claims 5-6). ‘590 does not expressly teach other patient characteristics such as bowel resection or bowel transplant. ‘590 does not expressly teach the dosage form of enteric coating or not.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ Crofelemer, regardless of being enteric coated or not, to treat MVID in the herein claimed patient populations.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to employ Crofelemer, regardless of being enteric coated or not, to treat MVID in the herein claimed patient populations. Crofelemer is well known to be effective in treating MVID, regardless of the patient characteristics, Crofelemer would be reasonably expected to be useful absent evidence to the contrary. As for the enteric coating, Crofelemer adsorption is not known to be affected by the GI pH. Therefore, employing Crofelemer, with or without enteric coating, would have been reasonably expected to be effective in treating diarrhea associated with MVID.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/ 0338932 (‘932).
‘932 teaches a method of treating congenital diarrhea associated with microvillous inclusion disease (MVID) and congenital chloride diarrhea using a three-component composition (see the abstract, claims 1 and 17). ‘932 teaches one of three components is polyphenol, including Crofelemer (see claim 9 for example). ‘932 teaches “Crofelemer works by voltage- independently blocking two structurally unrelated chloride channels in the gut, namely the cystic fibrosis transmembrane conductance regulator ( CFTR ) with an in vitro maximum inhibition of about 60%, and the calcium - activated chloride channel anoctamin 1 , with a maximum inhibition of over 90%. The substance is hardly, if at all , absorbed from the gut into the bloodstream , and is consequently excreted with the stool (see [0067]). ‘932 teaches the age of the patients as suitable for all ages with various dosage being given (see [0089] – [0096]). ‘932 teaches the amount of the crofelemer as “ranging from 0.05 milligrams to 10 grams. This range includes all values and subranges therebetween, including 0.05, 0.06, 0.07, 0.08, 0.09, 0.1, 0.2, 0.3, 0.4, 0.5, 0.6, 0.7, 0.8, 0.9, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, 90, 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, 1000, 2000, 3000, 4000, 5000, 6000, 7000, 8000, 9000, 10,000 milligrams, or any combination thereof” (see [0040]).
‘932 does not expressly teach the patient characteristics such as bowel resection or bowel transplant. ‘932 does not expressly teach the dosage form of enteric coating or not. ‘932 does not expressly teach the exact dosage of Crofelemer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ Crofelemer, in the herein claimed dosage, with or without enteric coating, to treat congenital diarrhea, in the patients with herein claimed characteristics.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ Crofelemer, in the herein claimed dosage, with or without enteric coating, to treat congenital diarrhea, in the patients with herein claimed characteristics. Crofelemer is well known to be effective in treating MVID or congenital chloride diarrhea, regardless of the patient characteristics, Crofelemer would be reasonably expected to be useful absent evidence to the contrary. As for the enteric coating, Crofelemer adsorption is not known to be affected by the GI pH as it is staying in the GI and not get absorbed. Therefore, employing Crofelemer, with or without enteric coating, would have been reasonably expected to be effective in treating diarrhea associated with MVID and/or congenital chloride diarrhea. In addition, the optimization of result effect parameters (e.g., dosage range, dosing regimens) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). As the dosage range taught in the cited prior art encompasses that of the instant claims, prima facie obviousness exists.
In addition, the improvement of diarrhea would be reasonably expected to reduce the fluid loss in the patients. Therefore, the parenteral nutrition requirements replacement can be reduced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/13/2025 averring the cited prior art’s failure to teach the herein claimed limitations, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner believes the limitations have been addressed in the rejection above.
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAN MING R HUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627