DETAILED ACTION
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s amendments to claims 1-8 filed on August 18, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 7, the phrase “the closed orientation covering the rear door opening” should be changed to “in which the rear door covers the rear door opening,” and in line 8, the phrase “the open orientation exposing the rear door opening” should be changed to “in which the rear door exposes the rear door opening.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1, the phrase “the closed orientation covering the rear door opening” suggests that the orientation itself is the structure that covers the rear door opening, when it is understood from the specification that the rear door covers the rear door opening when in the closed orientation and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 1, the phrase “the open orientation exposing the rear door opening” suggests that the orientation itself is the structure that exposes the rear door opening, when it is understood from the specification that the rear door exposes the rear door opening when in the open orientation and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claims 2-8, these claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barreau (DE 102008022072 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Barreau discloses a vehicle, comprising: a vehicle body structure (Figure 1) including a roof structure 3 and a rear structure 11 defining a rear door opening (opening covered by rear door 9, Figure 8); a four-bar assembly 33a, 29a, 31a, 21a (two sets of the bar assembly shown in Figure 8 and discussed in Paragraph 25 of the Computer Generated Translation) having a first support bracket 21a fixed to the vehicle body structure at an area adjacent to an upper end of the rear door opening (Figure 8); a rear door 9 supported by a second support bracket 33a of the four-bar assembly for movement between a closed orientation (Figure 8), the rear door covers the rear door opening in the closed orientation, and an open orientation (Figures 4 and 9), the rear door exposes the rear door opening in the open orientation, a first arm 31a of the four-bar assembly having a lock engagement structure 99a extending from a portion thereof; a locking member 97a movable between a locked orientation (Figure 8) and an unlocked orientation (Figure 9), such that in the locked orientation, the locking member engages the lock engagement structure of the first arm of the four-bar assembly, thereby preventing movement of the rear door from the closed orientation (Figure 8), and in the unlocked orientation, the locking member is moved away from the lock engagement structure, thereby releasing the rear door (Figure 9), at least a portion of the rear door being located above the roof structure in the open orientation (at least a portion of the rear door at reference character 41 in Figure 4 is located in an area or a plane that is higher than an area or plane in which the roof structure is located, and therefore, at least a portion of the rear door is located above the roof structure).
In regards to claim 2, Barreau discloses that the lock engagement structure includes a cylindrically shaped rod (apparent from Figures 8 and 9 that the lock engagement structure is a cylindrically shaped rod since it extends from the first arm and since it matches the cylindrically shaped recessed portion of the locking member) extending from one side of the first arm of the four-bar assembly and the locking member includes a recessed portion dimensioned to hook onto the cylindrically shaped rod (Figure 8).
In regards to claim 3, Barreau discloses that the locking member pivots about a pivot axis that extends through a portion of the first support bracket (see Figure 9 below, with it being inherent that at least a portion of the pivot on which the locking member is located extends through a portion of the first support bracket since the pivot rotatably connects the locking member to the first support bracket, Paragraph 53 of the Computer Generated Translation).
In regards to claim 4, Barreau discloses that the recessed portion of the locking member has a hook shape (Figures 8 and 9).
In regards to claim 5, Barreau discloses that the locking member includes a cam surface (see Figure 9 above) that extends upwardly away from the recessed portion.
In regards to claim 6, Barreau discloses that the cam surface and the recessed portion of the locking member are dimensioned and shaped such that, with the locking member in the locked orientation, when the rear door is moved from the open orientation to the closed orientation, the lock engagement structure contacts the cam surface of the locking member and urges the locking member toward the unlocked orientation, and when the rear door has moved to the closed orientation, the locking member is biased to move to the locked orientation engaging the lock engagement structure (biased by spring 105a, Paragraph 55 of the Computer Generated Translation and Figure 9).
In regards to claim 7, Barreau discloses that the locking member is connected to an actuator 41 via a cable 47a such that when the actuator is operated the locking member is moved from the locked orientation to the unlocked orientation.
In regards to claim 8, Barreau discloses that the locking member is connected to a spring 105a that biases the locking member toward the locked orientation (Figure 9).
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Queveau et al. (US Pub. No. 2006/0131920).
In regards to claim 1, Queveau et al. discloses a vehicle, comprising: a vehicle body structure (Figure 1) including a roof structure 2 and a rear structure 10 defining a rear door opening (opening covered by rear door 4, Figure 1); a four-bar assembly 40, 41, 43, 9 , 11 (two pivot sets 5 that each include 40 and 41, Paragraph 25) having a first support bracket 9 fixed to the vehicle body structure at an area adjacent to an upper end of the rear door opening (Figure 2b); a rear door 4 supported by a second support bracket 11 (Paragraph 29) of the four-bar assembly for movement between a closed orientation (Figure 2b), the rear door covers the rear door opening in the closed orientation, and an open orientation 4b, the rear door exposes the rear door opening in the open orientation (exposes the rear door opening to allow the roof to move into trunk 3, Paragraph 28), a first arm 41 of the four-bar assembly having a lock engagement structure 21 extending from a portion thereof; a locking member 16 movable between a locked orientation (Figure 2b) and an unlocked orientation (when the locking member 16 releases from engagement with the lock engagement structure, Paragraph 37), such that in the locked orientation, the locking member engages the lock engagement structure of the first arm of the four-bar assembly, thereby preventing movement of the rear door from the closed orientation (Figure 2b), and in the unlocked orientation, the locking member is moved away from the lock engagement structure, thereby releasing the rear door (position in which element 16a of the locking member is moved all the wat to the right in Figure 3, such that element 16a is no longer in engagement with the lock engagement structure), at least a portion of the rear door being located above the roof structure in the open orientation (at least a portion of the rear door is located above the roof structure in the open orientation as the roof moves into trunk space 3 and/or at least a portion of the rear door is located above the roof structure in the open orientation as the roof moves out of the trunk space, Figure 1).
In regards to claim 2, Queveau et al. discloses that the lock engagement structure includes a cylindrically shaped rod (apparent from Figures 2b and 4) extending from one side of the first arm of the four-bar assembly (Figures 2b and 3) and the locking member includes a recessed portion dimensioned to hook onto the cylindrically shaped rod (portion of space created by surface 16c of the locking member and the portion of the locking member having pivot axis 16b into which the cylindrically shaped rod engages, Figure 3).
In regards to claim 3, Queveau et al. discloses that the locking member pivots about a pivot axis 16b that extends through a portion of the first support bracket (Figure 3).
In regards to claim 4, Queveau et al. discloses that the recessed portion of the locking member has a hook shape (Figure 3).
In regards to claim 5, Queveau et al. discloses that the locking member includes a cam surface 16e that extends upwardly away from the recessed portion (Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Queveau et al. (US Pub. No. 2006/0131920) in view of Barreau (DE 102008022072 A1). Queveau et al. discloses that the locking member is connected to an electrical actuator such that when the electrical actuator is operated the locking member is moved from the locked orientation to the unlocked orientation (Paragraph 44). Queveau et al. fails to specify that the locking member is connected to the electrical actuator via a cable. Barreau teaches that a cable 47a provides a connected between an electrical actuator and a lock member (Paragraph 36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to specify that the locking member is connected to the electrical actuator via a cable, with reasonable expectation of success, since cables are known mechanical connections and would allow the actuator to be located remote from the locking member.
Response to Arguments
In regards to applicant’s remarks filed August 18, 2026 concerning the amendments to claim 1 and the Barreau reference, applicant is referred to the interpretation of the Barreau reference applied to claim 1 in the current Office Action. Since Barreau discloses that at least a portion of the rear door at reference character 41 in Figure 4 is located in an area or a plane that is higher than an area or plane in which the roof structure is located, the limitation that at least a portion of the rear door is located above the roof structure is met.
In light of applicant’s amendments to the claims, new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 with Queveau et al. (US Pub. No. 2006/0131920) are set forth in the current Office Action.
In light of applicant’s amendments and remarks concerning the drawing objections and the specification objections, the drawing objections and specification objections set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
In light of applicant’s amendments to the claims, the claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn, however, new claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are set forth in the current Office Action based on applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALYSON M MERLINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675 October 28, 2026