DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata et al. (US 10,456,966 B2) in view of Reese (DE 10 2008 046 602 A1).
Iwata discloses a method of producing a hollow molded body 10, equated with the claimed structure, in a mold 16 comprising a cavity A using a floating core 18, equated with the claimed projectile element (title/abstract; FIG. 1-15) comprising the steps of:
(a) providing the mold 16 with the cavity A;
(c) providing the projectile element 18 at the cavity A;
(d) providing resin 14 into the cavity A;
(e) providing water into the cavity A to push the projectile element 18 through and into resin 14 in the cavity A (5:64-6:8);
(f) pushing the projectile element 18 through resin 14 across the cavity A;
(g) exiting the projectile element 18 from the cavity A, into a floating core accommodating portion D (FIG. 1-4; 5:21-10:39).
Iwata does not appear to expressly disclose an insert for a component for a vehicle interior (b) providing the insert in the cavity, and pushing the projectile through the insert and resin.
However, Reese discloses a similar method of molding by forcing a projectile though a cavity filled with resin (title/abstract; FIG. 1-3) including a fiber-reinforced hose (6) insert, equated with the claimed tubular structure; and forming a front end or cross member for an automobile body, equated with the claimed component for a vehicle interior (FIG. 4-5; p. 5), wherein the component comprises resin formed into and around the insert, which is configured to provide a formed resin component comprising the tubular structure to provide a structure for the component (pp. 4+).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Iwata to include the insert of Reese, in order to reinforce the molded component with a known means.
Regarding claim 2, Reese suggests the insert comprises metal (pp. 3-5).
Regarding claim 3, Reese suggests the braided metal insert is equated with a pipe (pp. 3-5).
Regarding claim 4, Reese suggests the insert comprises an axial opening and a radial set of holes, e.g. the interstitials of the fibers through which the matrix resin can flow into and around the insert in a set of radial rings (FIG. 3, 6, pp. 5-6).
Regarding claim 5, Iwata discloses an embodiment wherein the component comprises a multi-section component comprising a first section and a second section (FIG. 14; 14:55+). Further, Reese suggests a first section 4 or resin surrounding and penetrating the insert and a second section 18 of resin (FIG. 6; pp. 5-6)
Regarding claim 6, Iwata discloses an embodiment wherein the first section of the component has an inner diameter larger than an inner diameter of the second section of the component (FIG. 14; 14:55+).
Regarding claim 7, Iwata discloses a method of producing a hollow molded body 10, equated with the claimed structure, in a multi-section mold 16 comprising a cavity A using a core 18, 30, 32, equated with the with the claimed multi-stage projectile element, having an increase diameter core 32, equated with the base stage, floating core 18, equated with the front stage, (title/abstract; FIG. 1-4, 12-15) comprising the steps of:
(a) providing the mold 16 with multi-section cavity A;
(c) providing the multi-stage projectile element 18, 30, 32 (FIG. 13);
(d) providing resin 14 into the cavity A;
(e) providing water into the cavity to push the multi-stage projectile element through and into resin 14 in the cavity A (5:64-6:8);
(f) pushing the multi-stage projectile element through resin 14 across the first section 13 of the cavity A;
(g) separating the base stage 32 of the multi-stage projectile element from the front stage 18, of the multi-stage projectile element between the first section 13 of the cavity A and the second section 12 of the cavity A (FIG. 14);
(h) pushing the front stage 18, 30 of the multi-stage projectile element through resin across the second section 12 of the cavity A (FIG. 14);
(i) exiting the front stage of the multi-stage projectile element from the cavity into a floating core accommodating portion D (FIG. 1-4, 12-15; 5:21+, 13:61-16:62).
Iwata does not appear to expressly disclose an insert for a component for a vehicle interior (b) providing the insert in the cavity, and pushing the projectile through the insert and resin.
However, Reese discloses a similar method of molding by forcing a projectile though a cavity filled with resin (title/abstract; FIG. 1-3) including a fiber-reinforced hose (6) insert, equated with the claimed tubular structure (pp. 4+) and forming a front end or cross member for an automobile body, equated with the claimed component for a vehicle interior (FIG. 4-5; p. 5) wherein the component comprises resin formed into and around the insert, which is configured to provide a formed resin component comprising the tubular structure to provide a structure for the component (pp. 4+).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Iwata to include the insert of Reese, in order to reinforce the molded component with a known means.
Regarding claim 8, Iwata suggests the front stage of the multi-stage projectile element is separated from the base stage of the multi-stage projectile element at a feature between the first section of the cavity and the second section of the cavity (FIG. 12-15; 13:61+).
Regarding claim 9, Iwata suggests the component comprises a section formed with the base stage of the multi-stage projectile element (FIG. 12-15; 13:61+).
Regarding claim 10, Iwata suggests the component comprises a multi-section component comprising a first section and a second section (FIG. 15; 13:61+). Reese discloses resin formed into and around the insert in a set of radial rings (FIG. 3, 6, pp. 5-6).
Regarding claim 11, Reese suggests a first section 4 or resin surrounding and penetrating the insert and a second section 18 of resin (FIG. 6; pp. 5-6)
Regarding claim 12, Iwata suggests the step of removing a resin component formed with the insert and the base stage of the multi-stage projectile element from the mold (FIG. 15; 16:4+).
Regarding claim 13, Iwata suggests the step of separating the base stage of the multi-stage projectile element from the front stage of the multi-stage projectile element comprises engagement of the base stage of the multi-stage projectile element with a mold feature (FIG. 12-15; 13:61+).
Regarding claim 14, Iwata suggests the mold feature is between the first section of the cavity and the second section of the cavity (FIG. 12-15; 13:61+).
Regarding claim 15, Reese suggests the insert comprises an axial opening and a radial set of holes, e.g. the interstitials of the fibers through which the matrix resin can flow (FIG. 3, 6, pp. 5-6).
Regarding claim 16, Iwata suggests the step of separating the base stage of the multi-stage projectile element from the front stage of the multi-stage projectile element between the first section of the cavity and the second section of the cavity comprises engagement of the base stage of the projectile element with a mold feature; wherein the mold feature comprises a reduction in size of an effective inner diameter between the first section of the cavity and the second section of the cavity (FIG. 12-15; 13:61+).
Regarding claim 17, Iwata suggests forming a structure comprising a first section and a second section; wherein the structure is formed from a resin material; wherein the structure comprises a central opening formed by the projectile element; wherein a cross-section area of the first section is larger than a cross-section area of the second section (FIG. 12-15; 13:61+).
Regarding claim 18, Iwata suggests the structure is formed by injecting water to push the projectile element through a cavity in the mold containing the resin material; wherein the projectile element comprises a perimeter surface; wherein water and resin material are in contact adjacent the perimeter surface; wherein the resin material is provided as the perimeter surface of the structure (5:64+).
Regarding claim 19, Iwata suggests n the projectile element comprises a multi-stage element; wherein the multi-stage element comprises a front stage and a base stage; wherein the base stage is detachable from the front stage; wherein the structure comprises the base stage of the multi-stage projectile element (FIG. 12-15; 13:61+).
Regarding claim 20, Iwata suggests the first section of the structure comprises a first diameter; wherein the second section of the structure comprises a second diameter; wherein the first diameter is greater than the second diameter (FIG. 12-15; 13:61+)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, it is noted that during the 05 March 2026 interview the rigidity of the insert was discussed and would advance prosecution. However, the instant arguments/amendments do not recite or address the rigidity of the insert only that the resulting formed resin component “provide a structure” which is not the same as an express recitation that the insert is rigid.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the cited prior art fails to teach the newly claimed “formed resin component is configured to provide a structure to the component” it is the position of the Examiner that such a feature is taught by the combination of Iwata and Reese. Specifically, that Reese suggests a braided metal insert in which resin is formed into, e.g. within the interstitials of the metal fibers, and around; resulting in a formed resin component that provides the claimed structure.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN A SCHIFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742