DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2023 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 7, 9 – 11 and 13 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over More et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0296511 A1) in view of Kim (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0305670 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, More teaches a recharging method for a cleaning robot (robot device, 14), comprising: determining a direction of a charging base (via homing signal; Paragraph [0017]; controlling the cleaning robot (14) to move in a first direction toward the direction (Paragraph [0017]) of the charging base (charging station, 26) to approach the charging base (41); controlling the cleaning robot (14) to rotate for a predetermined angle when the cleaning robot arrives at the target location (Paragraph [0045]); controlling the cleaning (14) robot to move backwardly to approach the charging base (26; Paragraph [0045]), and to touch the charging base (26; Paragraph [0045]); controlling the cleaning robot (14) to move forwardly for a first predetermined distance (Paragraph [0045]); and controlling the cleaning robot (14) to move backwardly to approach the charging base (26), and dock with the charging base to perform battery charging (Paragraph [0045]).
More does not explicitly teach detecting, in real time, a distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base; determining whether the cleaning robot has arrived at a target location based on the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base, the targe location being at a second predetermined distance in front of the charging base.
Kim, however, teaches detecting, in real time, a distance between the cleaning robot (100-1) and the charging base (200-1; Fig. 8); determining whether the cleaning robot (100-1) has arrived at a target location based on the distance between the cleaning robot (100-1) and the charging base (200-1; Fig. 8), the targe location being at a second predetermined distance in front of the charging base (200-1;Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More to further include detecting, in real time, a distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base; determining whether the cleaning robot has arrived at a target location based on the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base, the targe location being at a second predetermined distance in front of the charging base, as taught by Kim, to enable the robot to precisely align and successfully dock with the charging station for recharging without human intervention, which is crucial for autonomous operation.
Regarding Claim 2, More, as modified, teaches the recharging method for a cleaning robot (robot device, 14) of claim 1 as discussed above.
More does not explicitly teach wherein detecting, in real time, the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base, and determining whether the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location based on the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base, comprises: shutting down, by the cleaning robot, a transmitter of a proximity sensor of the cleaning robot, and maintaining, by the cleaning robot, an open state of a receiver of the proximity sensor; and receiving, by the receiver of the proximity sensor of the cleaning robot, a first proximity signal, and determining, by the cleaning robot, whether the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location based on the first proximity signal, wherein the first proximity signal is transmitted by a transmitter on the charging base, and is receivable by the receiver of the proximity sensor on the cleaning robot, and wherein the first proximity signal is transmitted by the charging base during a transmission gap between transmissions of a recharging guidance signal.
Kim, however, teaches detecting, in real time, the distance between the cleaning robot (100-1) and the charging base (200-1; Fig. 8), and determining whether the cleaning robot (100-1) has arrived at the target location based on the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base (200-1; Fig. 8), comprises: shutting down, by the cleaning robot (100-1), a transmitter of a proximity sensor (detector, 120) of the cleaning robot, and maintaining, by the cleaning robot, an open state of a receiver of the proximity sensor (Paragraph [0130]); and receiving, by the receiver of the proximity sensor of the cleaning robot, a first proximity signal (Paragraph [0135]), and determining, by the cleaning robot (100-1), whether the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location based on the first proximity signal (Paragraph [0137]), wherein the first proximity signal is transmitted by a transmitter on the charging base (200-1), and is receivable by the receiver of the proximity sensor on the cleaning robot (100-1; Paragraph [0135]), and wherein the first proximity signal is transmitted by the charging base (200-1) during a transmission gap between transmissions of a recharging guidance signal (Paragraphs [0136] – [0144]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More to further include detecting, in real time, the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base, and determining whether the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location based on the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base, comprises: shutting down, by the cleaning robot, a transmitter of a proximity sensor of the cleaning robot, and maintaining, by the cleaning robot, an open state of a receiver of the proximity sensor; and receiving, by the receiver of the proximity sensor of the cleaning robot, a first proximity signal, and determining, by the cleaning robot, whether the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location based on the first proximity signal, wherein the first proximity signal is transmitted by a transmitter on the charging base, and is receivable by the receiver of the proximity sensor on the cleaning robot, and wherein the first proximity signal is transmitted by the charging base during a transmission gap between transmissions of a recharging guidance signal, as taught by Kim, to enable the robot to precisely align and successfully dock with the charging station for recharging without human intervention, which is crucial for autonomous operation.
Regarding Claim 3, More, as modified, teaches the recharging method for a cleaning robot (robot device, 14) of claim 2 as discussed above.
More does not explicitly teach determining whether the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location based on the first proximity signal comprises: detecting, by the cleaning robot, whether the first proximity signal is received, and determining that the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location when the first proximity signal is detected; and/or detecting, by the cleaning robot, a signal strength of the first proximity signal, and determining that the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location when the signal strength is greater than or equal to a predetermined signal strength threshold value.
Kim, however, teaches determining whether the cleaning robot (100-1) has arrived at the target location based on the first proximity signal comprises: detecting, by the cleaning robot (100-1), whether the first proximity signal is received (Paragraph [0135] – [0144]), and determining that the cleaning robot (100-1) has arrived at the target location when the first proximity signal is detected (Paragraph [0135] – [0144]); and/or detecting, by the cleaning robot, a signal strength of the first proximity signal, and determining that the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location when the signal strength is greater than or equal to a predetermined signal strength threshold value.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More to further include determining whether the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location based on the first proximity signal comprises: detecting, by the cleaning robot, whether the first proximity signal is received, and determining that the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location when the first proximity signal is detected, as taught by Kim, to enable the robot to precisely align and successfully dock with the charging station for recharging without human intervention, which is crucial for autonomous operation.
Regarding Claim 4, More, as modified, teaches the recharging method for a cleaning robot (robot device, 14) of claim 3 as discussed above.
More does not explicitly teach the recharging method for a cleaning robot further comprising: while the cleaning robot moves toward the charging base, adjusting a motion pose based on the recharging guidance signal transmitted by the charging base, such that a moving direction of the cleaning robot aims at a center docking zone located right in front of the charging base.
Kim, however, teaches a cleaning robot (100-1) further comprising: while the cleaning robot (100-1) moves toward the charging base (200-1), adjusting a motion pose based on the recharging guidance signal transmitted by the charging base (Paragraphs [0087], [0133] and [0135]) such that a moving direction of the cleaning robot aims at a center docking zone located right in front of the charging base
(Paragraph [0135]; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More to further include while the cleaning robot moves toward the charging base, adjusting a motion pose based on the recharging guidance signal transmitted by the charging base, such that a moving direction of the cleaning robot aims at a center docking zone located right in front of the charging base, as taught by Kim, to enable the robot to precisely align and successfully dock with the charging station for recharging without human intervention, which is crucial for autonomous operation.
Regarding Claim 5, More, as modified, teaches the recharging method for a cleaning robot (robot device, 14) of claim 4 as discussed above.
More does not explicitly teach the recharging guidance signal includes a directional guidance signal.
Kim, however, teaches the recharging guidance signal includes a directional guidance signal (Paragraphs [0135] and [0136]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More to further include the recharging guidance signal includes a directional guidance signal, as taught by Kim, to enable the robot to precisely align and successfully dock with the charging station for recharging without human intervention, which is crucial for autonomous operation.
Regarding Claim 6, More, as modified, teaches the recharging method for a cleaning robot (robot device, 14) of claim 1 as discussed above.
More, as modified by Kim, does not explicitly teach the first predetermined distance is in a range of 40 centimeters to 60 centimeters; and/or, wherein the second predetermined distance is in a range of 20 centimeters to 60 centimeters.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More as combined with Kim to further the first predetermined distance is in a range of 40 centimeters to 60 centimeters; and/or, wherein the second predetermined distance is in a range of 20 centimeters to 60 centimeters, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the distance of a component. A change in distance is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 7, More, as modified, teaches the recharging method for a cleaning robot (robot device, 14) of claim 2 as discussed above.
More does not explicitly teach wherein detecting, in real time, the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base comprises: detecting, by the cleaning robot, whether the receiver of the proximity sensor receives the first proximity signal, and determining, by the cleaning robot, whether the cleaning robot has arrived at a location that is at a second predetermined distance from the charging base when detecting the first proximity signal; and/or detecting, by the cleaning robot, a signal strength of the received first proximity signal, and determining, by the cleaning robot, that the cleaning robot has arrived at the location that is at the second predetermined distance from the charging base when the signal strength is greater than or equal to a predetermined signal strength threshold value.
Kim, however, teaches wherein detecting, in real time, the distance between the cleaning robot (100-1) and the charging base (200-1) comprises: detecting, by the cleaning robot, whether the receiver of the proximity sensor receives the first proximity signal, and determining, by the cleaning robot, whether the cleaning robot has arrived at a location that is at a second predetermined distance from the charging base when detecting the first proximity signal (Paragraph [0135] – [0144]); and/or detecting, by the cleaning robot, a signal strength of the received first proximity signal, and determining, by the cleaning robot, that the cleaning robot has arrived at the location that is at the second predetermined distance from the charging base when the signal strength is greater than or equal to a predetermined signal strength threshold value.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More to further include detecting, in real time, the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base comprises: detecting, by the cleaning robot, whether the receiver of the proximity sensor receives the first proximity signal, and determining, by the cleaning robot, whether the cleaning robot has arrived at a location that is at a second predetermined distance from the charging base when detecting the first proximity signal; and/or detecting, by the cleaning robot, a signal strength of the received first proximity signal, and determining, by the cleaning robot, that the cleaning robot has arrived at the location that is at the second predetermined distance from the charging base when the signal strength is greater than or equal to a predetermined signal strength threshold value, as taught by Kim, to enable the robot to precisely align and successfully dock with the charging station for recharging without human intervention, which is crucial for autonomous operation.
Regarding Independent Claim 9, More teaches a cleaning robot system, comprising: a charging base (26) and a cleaning robot (14), wherein the cleaning robot comprises: comprising: a determination device configured to determine a direction of the charging base (via homing signal; Paragraph [0017]; a motion device configured to move the cleaning robot (Paragraph [0017]); and a controller (control devices, 13A and 13B) configured to: control the cleaning robot to move in a first direction toward the direction of the charging base to approach the charging base (Paragraph [0018]); control the cleaning robot to rotate for a predetermined angle when the cleaning robot arrives at the target location (Paragraph [0045]); control the cleaning (14) robot to move backwardly to approach the charging base (26; Paragraph [0045]); control the cleaning robot (14) to move forwardly for a first predetermined distance (Paragraph [0045]); and control the cleaning robot (14) to move backwardly to approach the charging base (26), and dock with the charging base to perform battery charging (Paragraph [0045]).
More does not explicitly teach a detection device configured to detect, in real time, a distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base’ determine whether the cleaning robot has arrived at a target location based on the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base, the target location being at a second predetermined distance in front of the charging base.
Kim, however, teaches a detection device (detector, 120) configured to detect, in real time, a distance between the cleaning robot (100-1) and the charging base (200-1; Fig. 8); determine whether the cleaning robot (100-1) has arrived at a target location based on the distance between the cleaning robot (100-1) and the charging base (200-1; Fig. 8); the target location being at a second predetermined distance in front of the charging base (200-1; Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More to further include a detection device configured to detect, in real time, a distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base; determine whether the cleaning robot has arrived at a target location based on the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base, the target location being at a second predetermined distance in front of the charging base, as taught by Kim, to enable the robot to precisely align and successfully dock with the charging station for recharging without human intervention, which is crucial for autonomous operation.
Regarding Claim 10, More, as modified, teaches the recharging method for a cleaning robot (robot device, 14) of claim 9 as discussed above.
More does not explicitly teach the charging base includes a transmitter configured to transmit a recharging guidance signal and a first proximity signal, the first proximity signal being transmitted during a transmission gap between transmissions of the recharging guidance signal.
Kim, however, teaches the charging base (200-1) includes a transmitter (signal transmitter, 281) configured to transmit a recharging guidance signal and a first proximity signal (Paragraph [0163]), the first proximity signal being transmitted during a transmission gap between transmissions of the recharging guidance signal (Paragraphs [0130] and [0163]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More to further include a transmitter configured to transmit a recharging guidance signal and a first proximity signal, the first proximity signal being transmitted during a transmission gap between transmissions of the recharging guidance signal, as taught by Kim, to enable the robot to precisely align and successfully dock with the charging station for recharging without human intervention, which is crucial for autonomous operation.
Regarding Claim 11, More, as modified, teaches the recharging method for a cleaning robot (robot device, 14) of claim 9 as discussed above.
More does not explicitly teach wherein the detection device is a proximity sensor, and the proximity sensor includes a receiver configured to receive the first proximity signal transmitted by the transmitter of the charging base.
Kim, however, teaches wherein the detection device (120) is a proximity sensor, and the proximity sensor includes a receiver (configured to receive the first proximity signal transmitted by the transmitter of the charging base (Paragraphs [0130] – [0144]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More to further include the detection device is a proximity sensor, and the proximity sensor includes a receiver configured to receive the first proximity signal transmitted by the transmitter of the charging base, as taught by Kim, to enable the robot to precisely align and successfully dock with the charging station for recharging without human intervention, which is crucial for autonomous operation.
Regarding Independent Claim 13, More teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions (via control devices, 13A and B; Fig. 1), which when executed by a processor of a cleaning robot (14), cause the cleaning robot to perform a method comprising: determining a direction of a charging base (26; via homing signal; Paragraph [0017]; controlling the cleaning robot (14) to move in a first direction toward the direction (Paragraph [0017]) of the charging base (charging station, 26) to approach the charging base (41); controlling the cleaning robot (14) to rotate for a predetermined angle when the cleaning robot arrives at the target location (Paragraph [0045]); controlling the cleaning (14) robot to move backwardly to approach the charging base (26; Paragraph [0045]), and to touch the charging base (26; Paragraph [0045]); controlling the cleaning robot (14) to move forwardly for a first predetermined distance (Paragraph [0045]); and controlling the cleaning robot (14) to move backwardly to approach the charging base (26), and dock with the charging base to perform battery charging (Paragraph [0045]).
More does not explicitly teach detecting, in real time, a distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base; determining whether the cleaning robot has arrived at a target location based on the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base, the targe location being at a second predetermined distance in front of the charging base.
Kim, however, teaches detecting, in real time, a distance between the cleaning robot (100-1) and the charging base (200-1; Fig. 8); determining whether the cleaning robot (100-1) has arrived at a target location based on the distance between the cleaning robot (100-1) and the charging base (200-1; Fig. 8), the targe location being at a second predetermined distance in front of the charging base (200-1;Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More to further include detecting, in real time, a distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base; determining whether the cleaning robot has arrived at a target location based on the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base, the targe location being at a second predetermined distance in front of the charging base, as taught by Kim, to enable the robot to precisely align and successfully dock with the charging station for recharging without human intervention, which is crucial for autonomous operation.
Regarding Claim 14, More teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, as discussed above.
More does not explicitly teach wherein detecting, in real time, the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base, and determining whether the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location based on the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base, comprises: shutting down, by the cleaning robot, a transmitter of a proximity sensor of the cleaning robot, and maintaining, by the cleaning robot, an open state of a receiver of the proximity sensor; and receiving, by the receiver of the proximity sensor of the cleaning robot, a first proximity signal, and determining, by the cleaning robot, whether the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location based on the first proximity signal, wherein the first proximity signal is transmitted by a transmitter on the charging base, and is receivable by the receiver of the proximity sensor on the cleaning robot, and wherein the first proximity signal is transmitted by the charging base during a transmission gap between transmissions of a recharging guidance signal.
Kim, however, teaches detecting, in real time, the distance between the cleaning robot (100-1) and the charging base (200-1; Fig. 8), and determining whether the cleaning robot (100-1) has arrived at the target location based on the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base (200-1; Fig. 8), comprises: shutting down, by the cleaning robot (100-1), a transmitter of a proximity sensor (detector, 120) of the cleaning robot, and maintaining, by the cleaning robot, an open state of a receiver of the proximity sensor (Paragraph [0130]); and receiving, by the receiver of the proximity sensor of the cleaning robot, a first proximity signal (Paragraph [0135]), and determining, by the cleaning robot (100-1), whether the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location based on the first proximity signal (Paragraph [0137]), wherein the first proximity signal is transmitted by a transmitter on the charging base (200-1), and is receivable by the receiver of the proximity sensor on the cleaning robot (100-1; Paragraph [0135]), and wherein the first proximity signal is transmitted by the charging base (200-1) during a transmission gap between transmissions of a recharging guidance signal (Paragraphs [0136] – [0144]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More to further include detecting, in real time, the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base, and determining whether the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location based on the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base, comprises: shutting down, by the cleaning robot, a transmitter of a proximity sensor of the cleaning robot, and maintaining, by the cleaning robot, an open state of a receiver of the proximity sensor; and receiving, by the receiver of the proximity sensor of the cleaning robot, a first proximity signal, and determining, by the cleaning robot, whether the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location based on the first proximity signal, wherein the first proximity signal is transmitted by a transmitter on the charging base, and is receivable by the receiver of the proximity sensor on the cleaning robot, and wherein the first proximity signal is transmitted by the charging base during a transmission gap between transmissions of a recharging guidance signal, as taught by Kim, to enable the robot to precisely align and successfully dock with the charging station for recharging without human intervention, which is crucial for autonomous operation.
Regarding Claim 15, More teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, as discussed above.
More does not explicitly teach wherein determining whether the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location based on the first proximity signal comprises: detecting, by the cleaning robot, whether the first proximity signal is received, and determining that the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location when the first proximity signal is detected; and/or detecting, by the cleaning robot, a signal strength of the first proximity signal, and determining that the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location when the signal strength is greater than or equal to a predetermined signal strength threshold value.
Kim, however, teaches determining whether the cleaning robot (100-1) has arrived at the target location based on the first proximity signal comprises: detecting, by the cleaning robot (100-1), whether the first proximity signal is received (Paragraph [0135] – [0144]), and determining that the cleaning robot (100-1) has arrived at the target location when the first proximity signal is detected (Paragraph [0135] – [0144]); and/or detecting, by the cleaning robot, a signal strength of the first proximity signal, and determining that the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location when the signal strength is greater than or equal to a predetermined signal strength threshold value.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More to further include determining whether the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location based on the first proximity signal comprises: detecting, by the cleaning robot, whether the first proximity signal is received, and determining that the cleaning robot has arrived at the target location when the first proximity signal is detected, as taught by Kim, to enable the robot to precisely align and successfully dock with the charging station for recharging without human intervention, which is crucial for autonomous operation.
Regarding Claim 16, More teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, as discussed above.
More does not explicitly teach the method further comprises: while the cleaning robot moves toward the charging base, adjusting a motion pose based on the recharging guidance signal transmitted by the charging base, such that a moving direction of the cleaning robot aims at a center docking zone located right in front of the charging base.
Kim, however, teaches a cleaning robot (100-1) further comprising: while the cleaning robot (100-1) moves toward the charging base (200-1), adjusting a motion pose based on the recharging guidance signal transmitted by the charging base (Paragraphs [0087], [0133] and [0135]) such that a moving direction of the cleaning robot aims at a center docking zone located right in front of the charging base
(Paragraph [0135]; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More to further include while the cleaning robot moves toward the charging base, adjusting a motion pose based on the recharging guidance signal transmitted by the charging base, such that a moving direction of the cleaning robot aims at a center docking zone located right in front of the charging base, as taught by Kim, to enable the robot to precisely align and successfully dock with the charging station for recharging without human intervention, which is crucial for autonomous operation.
Regarding Claim 17, More teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, as discussed above.
More does not explicitly teach wherein the recharging guidance signal includes a directional guidance signal.
Kim, however, teaches the recharging guidance signal includes a directional guidance signal (Paragraphs [0135] and [0136]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More to further include the recharging guidance signal includes a directional guidance signal, as taught by Kim, to enable the robot to precisely align and successfully dock with the charging station for recharging without human intervention, which is crucial for autonomous operation.
Regarding Claim 18, More, as modified, teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13 as discussed above.
More, as modified by Kim, does not explicitly teach the first predetermined distance is in a range of 40 centimeters to 60 centimeters; and/or, wherein the second predetermined distance is in a range of 20 centimeters to 60 centimeters.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More as combined with Kim to further the first predetermined distance is in a range of 40 centimeters to 60 centimeters; and/or, wherein the second predetermined distance is in a range of 20 centimeters to 60 centimeters, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the distance of a component. A change in distance is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 19, More, as modified, teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 14 as discussed above.
More does not explicitly teach wherein detecting, in real time, the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base comprises: detecting, by the cleaning robot, whether the receiver of the proximity sensor receives the first proximity signal, and determining, by the cleaning robot, whether the cleaning robot has arrived at a location that is at a second predetermined distance from the charging base when detecting the first proximity signal; and/or detecting, by the cleaning robot, a signal strength of the received first proximity signal, and determining, by the cleaning robot, that the cleaning robot has arrived at the location that is at the second predetermined distance from the charging base when the signal strength is greater than or equal to a predetermined signal strength threshold value.
Kim, however, teaches wherein detecting, in real time, the distance between the cleaning robot (100-1) and the charging base (200-1) comprises: detecting, by the cleaning robot, whether the receiver of the proximity sensor receives the first proximity signal, and determining, by the cleaning robot, whether the cleaning robot has arrived at a location that is at a second predetermined distance from the charging base when detecting the first proximity signal (Paragraph [0135] – [0144]); and/or detecting, by the cleaning robot, a signal strength of the received first proximity signal, and determining, by the cleaning robot, that the cleaning robot has arrived at the location that is at the second predetermined distance from the charging base when the signal strength is greater than or equal to a predetermined signal strength threshold value.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of More to further include detecting, in real time, the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base comprises: detecting, by the cleaning robot, whether the receiver of the proximity sensor receives the first proximity signal, and determining, by the cleaning robot, whether the cleaning robot has arrived at a location that is at a second predetermined distance from the charging base when detecting the first proximity signal; and/or detecting, by the cleaning robot, a signal strength of the received first proximity signal, and determining, by the cleaning robot, that the cleaning robot has arrived at the location that is at the second predetermined distance from the charging base when the signal strength is greater than or equal to a predetermined signal strength threshold value, as taught by Kim, to enable the robot to precisely align and successfully dock with the charging station for recharging without human intervention, which is crucial for autonomous operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 12 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Although More, in view of Kim teaches a recharging method, the references alone or in combination fail to teach, suggest or make obvious detecting, in real time, the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base comprises: when the cleaning robot receives the first proximity signal, starting the transmitter of the proximity sensor, transmitting, by the transmitter of the proximity sensor, a second proximity signal toward the charging base, and recording a transmitting time instance of the second proximity signal; reflecting, by a reflector of the charging base, the second proximity signal; receiving, by the cleaning robot, the second proximity signal reflected back by the reflector of the charging base; recording, by the cleaning robot, a receiving time instance of the received reflected second proximity signal; and determining, by the cleaning robot, the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base based on the transmitting time instance of the second proximity signal, the receiving time instance of the second proximity signal, and a transmitting speed of the second proximity signal; as required by claim 8.
Although More, in view of Kim teaches a cleaning robot, the references alone or in combination fail to teach, suggest or make obvious the proximity sensor incudes a transmitter configured to transmit a second proximity signal toward the charging base, the charging base includes a reflector configured to reflect the second proximity signal back to the cleaning robot, and the receiver of the proximity sensor of the cleaning robot is configured to receive the second proximity signal; as required by claim 12.
Although More, in view of Kim teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium , the references alone or in combination fail to teach, suggest or make obvious detecting, in real time, the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base comprises: when the cleaning robot receives the first proximity signal, starting the transmitter of the proximity sensor, transmitting, by the transmitter of the proximity sensor, a second proximity signal toward the charging base, and recording a transmitting time instance of the second proximity signal; receiving, by the cleaning robot, the second proximity signal reflected back by a reflector of the charging base; recording, by the cleaning robot, a receiving time instance of the received reflected second proximity signal; and determining, by the cleaning robot, the distance between the cleaning robot and the charging base based on the transmitting time instance of the second proximity signal, the receiving time instance of the second proximity signal, and a transmitting speed of the second proximity signal; as required by claim 20.
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: U. S. Patent No. 11,199,853 B1 to Afrouzi et al. teaches a tangible, non-transitory, machine readable medium storing instructions that when executed by a processor effectuates operations including: capturing, with at least one exteroceptive sensor, readings of an environment and capturing, with at least one proprioceptive sensor, readings indicative of displacement of a wheeled device; estimating, with the processor using an ensemble of simulated positions of possible new locations of the wheeled device, the readings of the environment, and the readings indicative of displacement, a corrected position of the wheeled device to replace a last known position of the wheeled device; determining, by the processor using the readings of the exteroceptive sensor, a most feasible position of the wheeled device as the corrected position; and, transmitting, by the processor, status information of tasks performed by the wheeled device to an external processor, wherein the status information initiates a second wheeled device to perform a second task.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723