DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s Response dated 10/15/2025. Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 were amended. Claims 2 and 12 were canceled. Claims 1, 3-11 and 13-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
First argument - The applicant argues that “””(i) The "EB can be transmitted via high rate or low rate" mentioned in paragraph [0060] of Grandhi is a different concept from the beacon period, and the data transmission rate cannot reflect the length/time of the beacon period.”””
Second argument – The applicant argues that “””Grandhi expressly teach the AP can transmit the EB immediately following the legacy beacon, and there can be one or more EBs within one legacy beacon period (i.e., within one superframe), which implies that the EB period will be equal to or less than the legacy beacon period. Additionally, Grandhi mentions that the EB operates as an only beacon in the system in the absence of legacy operation, but Grandhi fails to explicitly teach that the EB period can be longer than the legacy beacon period.”””
The first and second argument of the applicant are persuasive. Another reference teaching different beacon periods of the first and second beacon settings and the period of the second beacon setting to be longer than the first is now used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ameixiera ( U.S. PGPUB 2017/0085415), Ameixiera hereinafter. Ameixiera teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning.
Regarding claims 1 and 11 Ameixiera teaches a control method of an electronic device, comprising: using a first beacon setting to transmit beacons corresponding to IEEE 802.11 specification; /a processing circuit and a wireless communication module circuit, configured to perform the steps of: (fig. 12 and paragraph 0035 - The OBU may, for example, comprise a robust vehicular networking module (e.g., a connection manager) which builds on long-range communication protocol capability (e.g., 802.11p, etc.). For example, in addition to comprising 802.11p (or other long-range protocol) capability to communicate with Fixed APs, vehicles, and other nodes in the network, the OBU may comprise a network interface (e.g., 802.11a/b/g/n, 802.11ac, 802.11af, any combination thereof, etc.) to provide wireless local area network (WLAN) connectivity to end user devices, sensors, fixed Wi-Fi access points, etc. )
in response to a determination result indicating that a wireless communication state of the electronic device satisfies a condition, using a second beacon setting to transmit beacons; (paragraph 0280 - Further for example, block 1175 may comprise determining whether and/or how to adapt the beaconing strategy based, at least in part, on channel load (e.g., on number of nodes using the channel, number of users or clients using the channel, amount of data traffic on the channel, etc.). For example, in an example scenario in which a channel is lightly loaded, block 1175 may comprise determining to send the beacon periodically with a relatively short period (e.g., at a relatively high frequency) ...)
wherein the first beacon setting and the second beacon setting have different beacon periods and the beacon period is a time between two adjacent beacons (paragraph 0280 - Further for example, block 1175 may comprise determining whether and/or how to adapt the beaconing strategy based, at least in part, on channel load (e.g., on number of nodes using the channel, number of users or clients using the channel, amount of data traffic on the channel, etc.). For example, in an example scenario in which a channel is lightly loaded, block 1175 may comprise determining to send the beacon periodically with a relatively short period (e.g., at a relatively high frequency). Also for example, in an example scenario in which the data traffic on the channel is nearing maximum capacity, block 1175 may comprise determining to send the beacon periodically with a relatively long period (e.g., at a relatively low frequency), …).
wherein the first beacon setting and the second beacon setting have different beacon periods, and a beacon period corresponding to the second beacon setting is longer than a beacon period corresponding to the first beacon setting (paragraph 0280 - Further for example, block 1175 may comprise determining whether and/or how to adapt the beaconing strategy based, at least in part, on channel load (e.g., on number of nodes using the channel, number of users or clients using the channel, amount of data traffic on the channel, etc.). For example, in an example scenario in which a channel is lightly loaded, block 1175 may comprise determining to send the beacon periodically with a relatively short period (e.g., at a relatively high frequency). Also for example, in an example scenario in which the data traffic on the channel is nearing maximum capacity, block 1175 may comprise determining to send the beacon periodically with a relatively long period (e.g., at a relatively low frequency), …).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 3-5 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ameixiera, in view of Grandhi et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2014/0204827), Grandhi hereinafter.
Regarding claims 3 and 13 Ameixiera teaches claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Ameixiera does not expressly teach wherein the step of using the second beacon setting to transmit beacons comprises: if one or more stations or specific stations are connected to the electronic device, using the second beacon setting to transmit beacons
However, in the analogous art, Grandhi explicitly discloses wherein the step of using the second beacon setting to transmit beacons comprises: if one or more stations or specific stations are connected to the electronic device, using the second beacon setting to transmit beacons (paragraph 0243- Each node is connected to the AP. …)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ameixiera’s Systems and methods for managing a network of moving things to include Grandhi’s legacy and extended beacons setting for better adaptation to radio condition thereby maximizing throughput.
Regarding claims 4 and 14 Ameixiera teaches claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Ameixiera does not expressly teach wherein the first beacon setting and the second beacon setting have different payload sizes, and a payload size of a beacon corresponding to the second beacon setting is smaller than a payload size of a beacon corresponding to the first beacon setting
However, in the analogous art, Grandhi explicitly discloses wherein the first beacon setting and the second beacon setting have different payload sizes, and a payload size of a beacon corresponding to the second beacon setting is smaller than a payload size of a beacon corresponding to the first beacon setting (paragraph 0060 - The EB can be transmitted at a low rate or high rate. At the low rate, the EB has applications in extending range. At high rates, the EB has applications in decreasing beacon overhead. The EB is applicable to several scenarios including IEEE 802.11n and non-IEEE 802.11n, 10/20/40 MHz and dual 20 MHz operation (IEEE 802.11n).). The operation of the EB at low or high rate will give it a smaller or bigger payload size.
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 3 and 13 is also applied to claim 4 and 14.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Ameixiera in view of Grandhi teaches claims 4 and 14.
Grandhi further teaches wherein the beacon corresponding to the first beacon setting comprises power-efficient and/or high-throughput information, and the beacon corresponding to the second beacon setting does not comprise the power-efficient and/or high-throughput information (paragraph 0060 - The EB can be transmitted at a low rate or high rate. At the low rate, the EB has applications in extending range. At high rates, the EB has applications in decreasing beacon overhead. The EB is applicable to several scenarios including IEEE 802.11n and non-IEEE 802.11n, 10/20/40 MHz and dual 20 MHz operation (IEEE 802.11n).). The operation of the EB at low or high rate will give it a higher or lower throughput. Also (paragraph 0058 - RT operation is typified by predictable data rates. The resources are indicated to each user by an extended beacon (EB) transmitted once or several times per superframe. As a result, the polling overhead is reduced, but more importantly STAs are required to listen only a small fraction of the time which reduces the STA power consumption requirements.)
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 3 and 13 is also applied to claim 5 and 15.
Claims 6 - 10 and 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ameixiera, in view of Grandhi et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2014/0204827), Grandhi hereinafter, and further in view of Ronse (U.S. PGPub 2016/0295362), Ronse hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Ameixiera teaches a control method of an electronic device, comprising / a processing circuit and a wireless communication module circuit: using a first beacon setting to transmit beacons corresponding to IEEE 802.11 specification; (fig. 12 and paragraph 0035 - The OBU may, for example, comprise a robust vehicular networking module (e.g., a connection manager) which builds on long-range communication protocol capability (e.g., 802.11p, etc.). For example, in addition to comprising 802.11p (or other long-range protocol) capability to communicate with Fixed APs, vehicles, and other nodes in the network, the OBU may comprise a network interface (e.g., 802.11a/b/g/n, 802.11ac, 802.11af, any combination thereof, etc.) to provide wireless local area network (WLAN) connectivity to end user devices, sensors, fixed Wi-Fi access points, etc. )
in response to a determination result indicating that a wireless communication state of the electronic device satisfies a condition, using a second beacon setting to transmit beacons; (paragraph 0280 - Further for example, block 1175 may comprise determining whether and/or how to adapt the beaconing strategy based, at least in part, on channel load (e.g., on number of nodes using the channel, number of users or clients using the channel, amount of data traffic on the channel, etc.). For example, in an example scenario in which a channel is lightly loaded, block 1175 may comprise determining to send the beacon periodically with a relatively short period (e.g., at a relatively high frequency). Also for example, in an example scenario in which the data traffic on the channel is nearing maximum capacity, block 1175 may comprise determining to send the beacon periodically with a relatively long period (e.g., at a relatively low frequency), or to not send the beacon (e.g., ever, for at least a period of time, until the channel clears up, etc.). Note that block 1175 may also, for example, comprise including a field in the beacon that provides information of the channel load, number of users or clients using the channel, amount of data traffic on the channel, etc.)
wherein the first beacon setting and the second beacon setting have different beacon periods or different payload sizes, and the beacon period is a time between two adjacent beacons; (paragraph 0280 - Further for example, block 1175 may comprise determining whether and/or how to adapt the beaconing strategy based, at least in part, on channel load (e.g., on number of nodes using the channel, number of users or clients using the channel, amount of data traffic on the channel, etc.). For example, in an example scenario in which a channel is lightly loaded, block 1175 may comprise determining to send the beacon periodically with a relatively short period (e.g., at a relatively high frequency). Also for example, in an example scenario in which the data traffic on the channel is nearing maximum capacity, block 1175 may comprise determining to send the beacon periodically with a relatively long period (e.g., at a relatively low frequency), or to not send the beacon (e.g., ever, for at least a period of time, until the channel clears up, etc.). Note that block 1175 may also, for example, comprise including a field in the beacon that provides information of the channel load, number of users or clients using the channel, amount of data traffic on the channel, etc.)
wherein a beacon period of the second-type beacons corresponding to the second beacon setting is longer than a beacon period of the second-type beacons corresponding to the first beacon setting (paragraph 0280 - Further for example, block 1175 may comprise determining whether and/or how to adapt the beaconing strategy based, at least in part, on channel load (e.g., on number of nodes using the channel, number of users or clients using the channel, amount of data traffic on the channel, etc.). For example, in an example scenario in which a channel is lightly loaded, block 1175 may comprise determining to send the beacon periodically with a relatively short period (e.g., at a relatively high frequency). Also for example, in an example scenario in which the data traffic on the channel is nearing maximum capacity, block 1175 may comprise determining to send the beacon periodically with a relatively long period (e.g., at a relatively low frequency), or to not send the beacon (e.g., ever, for at least a period of time, until the channel clears up, etc.). Note that block 1175 may also, for example, comprise including a field in the beacon that provides information of the channel load, number of users or clients using the channel, amount of data traffic on the channel, etc.)
Yet, Ameixiera does not expressly teach the step of using the second beacon setting to transmit the beacons comprises: using the second beacon setting to transmit first-type beacons and second-type beacons;
However, in the analogous art, Grandhi explicitly discloses the step of using the second beacon setting to transmit the beacons comprises: using the second beacon setting to transmit first-type beacons and second-type beacons; (paragraph 0070 - In the absence of legacy operation, legacy beacon need not be present, and the EB operates as an only beacon in the system.). The EB which is the second beacon can function alone replacing both first and second beacons.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ameixiera’s Systems and methods for managing a network of moving things to include Grandhi’s legacy and extended beacons setting for better adaptation to radio condition thereby maximizing throughput.
Yet, Ameixiera in view of Grandhi does not expressly teach wherein the step of using the first beacon setting to transmit the beacons comprises: using the first beacon setting to transmit first-type beacons and second-type beacons alternately; and
However, in the analogous art, Ronse explicitly discloses wherein the step of using the first beacon setting to transmit the beacons comprises: using the first beacon setting to transmit first-type beacons and second-type beacons alternately; and (paragraph 0095 - It is clear that sending the beacon signals intermittently is more power efficient than sending it continuously, It is further clear to alternative embodiments the first beacon signal and the second beacon signal could also be sent simultaneously or during at least partly overlapping time periods. According to still further alternative embodiments, the first and second beacon signals are transmitted for example at the same intermittent rate, but alternatingly instead of simultaneously. Still further alternative embodiments are possible in which the cyclic nature of the transmission of the beacon signals differs from such an alternating scheme. The transmission cycle for the first beacon signal could for example be different from that of the second beacon signal, so that for example the first beacon signal is transmitted intermittently at another repetition frequency of that of the second beacon signal. Or according to still further embodiments during an a transmission cycle the first beacon signal could be sent two times after which the second beacon signal is sent only once, or any other suitable cyclic transmission scheme with a predetermined sequence of transmissions of the first and second beacon signal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ameixiera’s Systems and methods for managing a network of moving things to include Ronse's alternating between first beacon and second beacon signal to adapt better to radio condition to achieve higher throughput.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Ameixiera in view of Grandhi and further in view of Ronse teaches claims 6 and 16.
Ronse further teaches wherein a beacon period of the first-type beacons corresponding to the second beacon setting is the same as a beacon period of the first-type beacons corresponding to the first beacon setting ( paragraph 0095 - It is clear that sending the beacon signals intermittently is more power efficient than sending it continuously, It is further clear to alternative embodiments the first beacon signal and the second beacon signal could also be sent simultaneously or during at least partly overlapping time periods. According to still further alternative embodiments, the first and second beacon signals are transmitted for example at the same intermittent rate, but alternatingly instead of simultaneously. Still further alternative embodiments are possible in which the cyclic nature of the transmission of the beacon signals differs from such an alternating scheme. The transmission cycle for the first beacon signal could for example be different from that of the second beacon signal, so that for example the first beacon signal is transmitted intermittently at another repetition frequency of that of the second beacon signal. Or according to still further embodiments during an a transmission cycle the first beacon signal could be sent two times after which the second beacon signal is sent only once, or any other suitable cyclic transmission scheme with a predetermined sequence of transmissions of the first and second beacon signal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ameixiera’s Systems and methods for managing a network of moving things to include Ronse's alternating between first beacon and second beacon signal to adapt better to radio condition to achieve higher throughput.
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Ameixiera in view of Grandhi and further in view of Ronse teaches claims 6 and 16.
Grandhi further teaches wherein a payload size of each second-type beacon corresponding to the second beacon setting is smaller than a payload size of each second-type beacon corresponding to the first beacon setting
(paragraph 0060 - The EB can be transmitted at a low rate or high rate. At the low rate, the EB has applications in extending range. At high rates, the EB has applications in decreasing beacon overhead. The EB is applicable to several scenarios including IEEE 802.11n and non-IEEE 802.11n, 10/20/40 MHz and dual 20 MHz operation (IEEE 802.11n).). The operation of the EB at low or high rate will give it a smaller or bigger payload size.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ameixiera’s Systems and methods for managing a network of moving things to include Grandhi’s legacy and extended beacons setting for better adaptation to radio condition thereby maximizing throughput.
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Ameixiera in view of Grandhi and further in view of Ronse teaches claims 8 and 18.
Grandhi further teaches wherein the second-type beacon corresponding to the first beacon setting comprises power-efficient and/or high-throughput information, and the second-type beacon corresponding to the second beacon setting does not comprise the power-efficient and/or high-throughput information (paragraph 0060 - The EB can be transmitted at a low rate or high rate. At the low rate, the EB has applications in extending range. At high rates, the EB has applications in decreasing beacon overhead. The EB is applicable to several scenarios including IEEE 802.11n and non-IEEE 802.11n, 10/20/40 MHz and dual 20 MHz operation (IEEE 802.11n).). The operation of the EB at low or high rate will give it a higher or lower throughput. Also (paragraph 0058 - RT operation is typified by predictable data rates. The resources are indicated to each user by an extended beacon (EB) transmitted once or several times per superframe. As a result, the polling overhead is reduced, but more importantly STAs are required to listen only a small fraction of the time which reduces the STA power consumption requirements.)
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 8 and 18 is also applied to claim 9 and 19.
Regarding Claims 10 and 20, Ameixiera in view of Grandhi and further in view of Ronse teaches claims 6 and 16.
Grandhi further teaches wherein a data rate of the first-type beacons corresponding to the first beacon setting and the second beacon setting is lower than a data rate of the second-type beacons corresponding to the first beacon setting and the second beacon setting. (paragraph 0060 - The EB can be transmitted at a low rate or high rate. At the low rate, the EB has applications in extending range. At high rates, the EB has applications in decreasing beacon overhead. The EB is applicable to several scenarios including IEEE 802.11n and non-IEEE 802.11n, 10/20/40 MHz and dual 20 MHz operation (IEEE 802.11n).). The operation of the EB at low or high rate will give it a higher or lower throughput.
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 8 and 18 is also applied to claim 10 and 20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472