DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to amendments filed on 08/06/2025 in which claims 1 and 6 are presented for examination; Claims 1 and 6 have been amended. Claims 2-5 and 7-10 have been cancelled.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a communication module configured to …” , “a synchronization module configured to….”, “a creation module configured to..”, “a patient examination information collection module configured to….”, “a de-identification module configured to…” “an authentication module configured to…”, “an examination information transmission module configured to….”, “an authentication code creation module”, “an encryption module configured to”, Claim 1
“an authentication code creation module configured to…”, “an encryption module configured to…”, “a synchronization information collection module configured to…”, “an examination information output module configured to…”, claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1:
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?” Yes, it’s a machine(system).
Step 2a Prong 1 (judicial exception)
Step 2A (1): “Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? Yes , the claim comes under mental processes.
Claim 1 recites:
“A patient data transmission system, comprising: a medical apparatus configured to create patient examination information including a patient's reception, medical examination, prescription, treatment, hospitalization and discharge, and an examination result, and create synchronization information allowing the patient examination information to be checked; a smart terminal configured to receive the patient examination information created by the medical apparatus; and a synchronization server configured to receive, from the medical apparatus, the synchronization information allowing the patient examination information to be checked on the smart terminal, and transmit the synchronization information to the smart terminal when authentication of the smart terminal is completed, wherein the smart terminal is configured to receive, after authentication with the synchronization server is completed, a synchronization value for checking the patient examination information from the synchronization server and receive patient information directly from the medical apparatus to output the patient information. wherein the synchronization server comprises: a communication module configured to receive the patient examination information obtained by performing de-identification from the medical apparatus, and transmit the synchronization information of the received patient examination information to the smart terminal; a synchronization module configured to determine whether the patient examination information stored in the medical apparatus and the patient examination information stored in the smart terminal are the same; and a creation module configured to create the synchronization value for checking the patient examination information and transmit the synchronization value to the smart terminal when the synchronization module determines that the patient examination information stored in the medical apparatus and the patient examination information stored in the smart terminal are the same, wherein the medical apparatus comprises: a patient examination information collection module configured to store the patient examination information including the reception, the medical examination, the prescription, the treatment, hospitalization and discharge results, and an X-ray, CT, or MRI imaging result of the patient; a de-identification module configured to de-identify the collected patient examination information; an authentication module configured to detect the smart terminal that is capable of short- range communication and device-to-device communication with the medical apparatus, and authenticate the detected smart terminal; and an examination information transmission module configured to transmit the patient examination information to the authenticated smart terminal, wherein the smart terminal comprises: an authentication code creation module configured to create a user authentication code including a QR code or a barcode for receiving patient examination result information and the synchronization information; an encryption module configured to encrypt the created user authentication code using a unique identifier of the smart terminal; a synchronization information collection module configured to receive the synchronization information including the synchronization value from the synchronization server when the synchronization server completes authentication of the smart terminal successfully with the created user authentication code; and an examination information output module configured to receive the patient examination information directly from the medical apparatus and output the patient examination information when it is determined that the smart terminal is positioned within a particular distance of the medical apparatus, wherein the examination information output module is configured to output the patient examination information through video streaming using short-range wireless communication.
All the limitations above are abstract idea related to the mental process (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)) with the exception of bold and underlined limitations. Claim language pertains to confirming data is correct (i.e. synchronizing across 2 devices) . Here devices are merely used as a tool to implement the abstract idea. Also, the patient’s data i.e. “examination information” can easily be collected on paper. one could de-identify and encrypt the data and communicate the data, such as using a hashing algorithm via pen and paper.
Step 2A(2): Prong Two: evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. NO
The claim does recite additional elements; however they don’t integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception.
transmission system (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
medical apparatus (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
smart terminal (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
synchronization server(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
transmit the synchronization information to the smart terminal (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g) )
communication module (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
transmit the synchronization information(Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g) )
received patient examination information to the smart terminal(Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g) )
synchronization module(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
stored in the smart terminal(Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g) )
creation module(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
patient examination information collection module(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
de-identification module(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
authentication module(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
short- range communication(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
device-to-device communication(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
examination information transmission module(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
authentication code creation module(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
QR code or a barcode(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
encryption module(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Step 2B: evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception? NO
As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Regarding the claim limitation,:
“ transmit the synchronization information to the smart terminal” the courts have recognized the computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (“i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information”); See, MPEP 2106.05 (d)(II)
transmit the synchronization information the courts have recognized the computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (“i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information”); See, MPEP 2106.05 (d)(II)
received patient examination information to the smart terminal(the courts have recognized the computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (“i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information”); See, MPEP 2106.05 (d)(II)
stored in the smart terminal(the courts have recognized the computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; See, MPEP 2106.05 (d)(II)
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Regarding claim 6 , it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA et al. ( US 20240079104 A1) in view of LANGER et al. (US 20200365258 A1), in view of
BANDURSKI et al(US 20190318815 A1), in view of Ruminski et al(“Interaction with medical data using QR-codes”, 21 July 2014 ) and further in view of Yuds et al(US 20230395245 A1)
Regarding claim 1, MAEDA teaches a patient data transmission system, comprising:
a medical apparatus configured to create patient examination information including a [patient's reception], medical examination, prescription, treatment, [hospitalization and discharge], and an examination result(para, “[0046] The information processing terminal 3 is a terminal device that creates medical data including patient's attributes, patient's answers to medical questions, and doctor's medical examination data for the patient and is used for electronic signature for medical data
para, “[0135] As shown in the diagram, the doctor terminal 3 receives, through the medical examination data reception field 12f, an input of diagnostic data including severity classification, treatment data including prescription information (ingredient names of drug, dosage form, dosage, and the like)…”
Also, para, “[0217]…..The researcher terminal 5 extracts multiple times of blood pressure (hypertension and hypotension) test results from the medical data in chronological order of diagnosis date and time, and generates a graph showing blood pressure values based on the extracted multiple times of blood pressure test results)”
and create synchronization information allowing the patient examination information to be checked (para, “[0050] When a request for transmission of medical data including the attributes and answers of the patient and the input medical examination data is received from the doctor terminal 3, the server 1 calculates a hash value of the medical data. The server 1 outputs the calculated hash value of the medical data to the blockchain 2. When a request for disclosure of the medical data recorded in the blockchain 2 is received through the researcher terminal 5, the server 1 transmits the received disclosure request to the patient terminal 4 of the patient who provided the medical data. The server 1 transmits the medical data to the researcher terminal 5 when the patient's approval for the disclosure request is obtained.”
Also, para , “[0190] The control unit 11 of the server 1 receives the hash value of the medical data transmitted from the blockchain 2 through the communication unit 13 (step S138). The control unit 11 acquires the hash value of the medical data from the medical data DB 174 of the mass storage unit 17 based on the medical data ID (step S139). The control unit 11 compares the acquired hash value of the medical data with the hash value of the medical data transmitted from the node 21 to determine whether or not the hash values match each other (step S140)...” Note:” Also, see para 0109, 0192 , 0188);
a smart terminal configured to receive the patient examination information created by the medical apparatus(para, “[0134] The doctor terminal 3 receives an input operation in the medical examination data reception field 12f. The medical examination data includes diagnostic data, treatment data, and test data. The diagnostic data is data related to diagnosis, such as medical condition information and disease information (for example, a disease name determined by a doctor). The treatment data is data related to treatment, such as a treatment policy, a treatment method, surgery information, and drug information for the patient's disease. The test data is data related to various tests (for example, blood test) that the patient has undergone in order to check the presence or absence of a disease or the degree of the disease”. Note: Also, see para 0046, 0047);
and a synchronization server configured to receive, from the medical apparatus, the synchronization information allowing the patient examination information to be checked on the smart terminal, and transmit the synchronization information to the smart terminal when authentication of the smart terminal is completed(para “[0050] When a request for transmission of medical data including the attributes and answers of the patient and the input medical examination data is received from the doctor terminal 3, the server 1 calculates a hash value of the medical data. The server 1 outputs the calculated hash value of the medical data to the blockchain 2. When a request for disclosure of the medical data recorded in the blockchain 2 is received through the researcher terminal 5, the server 1 transmits the received disclosure request to the patient terminal 4 of the patient who provided the medical data. The server 1 transmits the medical data to the researcher terminal 5 when the patient's approval for the disclosure request is obtained.” Note: also, see para 0190, 0192, 0188),
wherein the smart terminal is configured to receive, after authentication with the synchronization server is completed, a synchronization value for checking the patient examination information from the synchronization server and receive patient information directly from the medical apparatus to output the patient information (para, “0192] When it is determined that the hash values match each other (YES in step S140), the control unit 11 acquires medical data corresponding to the hash value of the medical data from the medical data DB 174 of the mass storage unit 17 (step S142). The control unit 11 transmits the acquired medical data to the researcher terminal 5 through the communication unit 13 (step S143). The control unit 51 of the researcher terminal 5 receives the medical data transmitted from the server 1 through the communication unit 53 (step S537), displays the received medical data on the display unit 55 (step S538), and ends the process.” Note: Also, see para, 0190,0188.
Also, para “[0099] The server 1 transmits the patient DID and the acquired patient's attributes and answers to questions to the doctor terminal 3 corresponding to the received doctor DID. The doctor terminal 3 receives the patient DID, the patient's attributes, and the answers to questions transmitted from the server 1. The doctor terminal 3 receives the doctor's input of medical examination data for the patient. For example, the medical examination data includes severity classification of diseases such as Parkinson's disease, prescription information (ingredient names of drug, dosage form, dosage, and the like), blood pressure, and pulse rate.” Note: Also, see para 0100)
wherein the synchronization server comprises:
a communication module configured to receive the patient examination information [obtained by performing de-identification] from the medical apparatus, and transmit the synchronization information of the received patient examination information to the smart terminal(para, “[0050] When a request for transmission of medical data including the attributes and answers of the patient and the input medical examination data is received from the doctor terminal 3, the server 1 calculates a hash value of the medical data. The server 1 outputs the calculated hash value of the medical data to the blockchain 2. When a request for disclosure of the medical data recorded in the blockchain 2 is received through the researcher terminal 5, the server 1 transmits the received disclosure request to the patient terminal 4 of the patient who provided the medical data. The server 1 transmits the medical data to the researcher terminal 5 when the patient's approval for the disclosure request is obtained.”)
a synchronization module configured to determine whether the patient examination information stored in the medical apparatus and the patient examination information stored in the smart terminal are the same(para, “[0190] The control unit 11 of the server 1 receives the hash value of the medical data transmitted from the blockchain 2 through the communication unit 13 (step S138). The control unit 11 acquires the hash value of the medical data from the medical data DB 174 of the mass storage unit 17 based on the medical data ID (step S139). The control unit 11 compares the acquired hash value of the medical data with the hash value of the medical data transmitted from the node 21 to determine whether or not the hash values match each other (step S140).” Note: Also, see para, 0188,0192 );
and a creation module configured to create the synchronization value for checking the patient examination information and transmit the synchronization value to the smart terminal when the synchronization module determines that the patient examination information stored in the medical apparatus and the patient examination information stored in the smart terminal are the same(para, “[0190] The control unit 11 of the server 1 receives the hash value of the medical data transmitted from the blockchain 2 through the communication unit 13 (step S138). The control unit 11 acquires the hash value of the medical data from the medical data DB 174 of the mass storage unit 17 based on the medical data ID (step S139). The control unit 11 compares the acquired hash value of the medical data with the hash value of the medical data transmitted from the node 21 to determine whether or not the hash values match each other (step S140).”
Also , para “[0192] When it is determined that the hash values match each other (YES in step S140), the control unit 11 acquires medical data corresponding to the hash value of the medical data from the medical data DB 174 of the mass storage unit 17 (step S142). The control unit 11 transmits the acquired medical data to the researcher terminal 5 through the communication unit 13 (step S143). The control unit 51 of the researcher terminal 5 receives the medical data transmitted from the server 1 through the communication unit 53 (step S537), displays the received medical data on the display unit 55 (step S538), and ends the process.” Note: Also, see para, 0188, 0192. )
wherein the medical apparatus comprises:
a patient examination information collection module configured to store the patient examination information including [the reception,] the medical examination, the prescription, the treatment, [hospitalization and discharge results,] and an X-ray, CT, or MRI imaging result of the patient(para, “[0058] The patient DB 171 stores the attributes of patients. The doctor DB 172 stores the attributes of doctors. The question DB 173 stores patient answers to medical questions. The medical data DB 174 stores patient's medical data. The researcher DB 175 stores the attributes of researchers. The transaction history DB 176 stores the transaction history of medical data. The management DB 177 stores management information of medical data.”
Also, para “[0067] The medical data column stores patient's medical data in association with the medical data ID. In the medical data column, medical data including patient's attributes, patient's answers to medical questions, and doctor's medical examination data for patients are stored. Examples of the medical data include a JSON (JavaScript (registered trademark) Object Notation) format file and an XML (Extensible Markup Language) format file. The hash value column stores hash values of medical data.” Note: see medical examination data includes treatment in para 0134, see para 0217 for prescription extraction . see para, 0135 for MRI.);
an authentication module configured to detect the smart terminal that is capable of short-range communication and device-to-device communication with the medical apparatus, and authenticate the detected smart terminal(para, “[0046] The information processing terminal 3 is a terminal device that creates medical data including patient's attributes, patient's answers to medical questions, and doctor's medical examination data for the patient and is used for electronic signature for medical data. The information processing terminal 3 is, for example, an information processing apparatus, such as a smart phone, a mobile phone, a tablet, a personal computer terminal and the like.”
Also, para “[0047] The information processing terminal 4 is a terminal device that acquires patient's attributes and answers to questions, acquires medical data with an electronic signature, and accepts an input of approval information for a medical data disclosure request. The information processing terminal 4 is, for example, an information processing apparatus, such as a smart phone, a mobile phone, a wearable device such as Apple Watch (registered trademark), a tablet, a personal computer terminal and the like….” Note: smartphones and Apple watch is capable of short-range communication and device-to-device communication. Also, see Yuds(US 20230395245 A1) reference used in claims 4-5 for more detailed description for short-range wireless communication. );
and an examination information transmission module configured to transmit the patient examination information to the authenticated smart terminal(para, “[0049] The server 1 according to the present embodiment acquires a patient ID for identifying a patient, patient's attributes, and patient's answers to medical questions. The server 1 acquires a doctor ID by causing the patient terminal 4 to read the doctor ID for identifying a doctor. The server 1 transmits the patient ID, attributes, and answers of the patient to the doctor terminal 3 corresponding to the acquired doctor ID. The server 1 receives the doctor's input of medical examination data for the patient through the doctor terminal 3..)
wherein the smart terminal comprises:
an authentication code creation module configured to create a user authentication code including a QR code or a barcode [for receiving patient examination result information] and the synchronization information(para, [0127] The QR code generation button 12a is a button for generating a QR code describing a doctor DID. The patient data acquisition button 12b is a button for acquiring patient's attributes and answers to questions from the patient. The QR code display field 12c is a display field for displaying a QR code. The patient attribute display field 12d is a display field for displaying the patient's attributes.”
Also, para, “[0130] When a click (touch) operation on the QR code generation button 12a is received, the doctor terminal 3 generates a QR code describing the doctor DID by using a library for generating a two-dimensional code. The doctor terminal 3 displays the generated QR code in the QR code display field 12c. The patient terminal 4 acquires the doctor DID by reading the QR code displayed on the doctor terminal 3.”);
an encryption module configured to encrypt the created user authentication code using a unique identifier of the smart terminal(para, “[0100] When an instruction to electronically sign the medical data including the patient's attributes, the answers to questions, and the medical examination data is received, the doctor terminal 3 performs electronic signature processing (encryption) on the medical data. The electronic signature processing is a function of applying an electronic signature to given data using a private key. Normally, a hash value obtained by converting the given data with a cryptographic hash function is encrypted. The cryptographic hash function is a one-way cryptographic method for detecting the tampering of a digital document, and the output value is always fixed to 64 digits as hexadecimal notation. Any hash function can be used. For example, SHA (Secure Hash Algorithm)-1 or SHA-256 can be used. In addition, when the size of data to be electronically signed is small, the encrypted data itself may be used as the electronic signature instead of the hash value.”);
a synchronization information collection module configured to receive the synchronization information including the synchronization value from the synchronization server when the synchronization server completes authentication of the smart terminal successfully with the created user authentication code( para, “[0050] When a request for transmission of medical data including the attributes and answers of the patient and the input medical examination data is received from the doctor terminal 3, the server 1 calculates a hash value of the medical data. The server 1 outputs the calculated hash value of the medical data to the blockchain 2. When a request for disclosure of the medical data recorded in the blockchain 2 is received through the researcher terminal 5, the server 1 transmits the received disclosure request to the patient terminal 4 of the patient who provided the medical data. The server 1 transmits the medical data to the researcher terminal 5 when the patient's approval for the disclosure request is obtained. Note: Also, see para 0061, 0127.)
and an examination information output module configured to receive the patient examination information directly from the medical apparatus and output the patient examination information [when it is determined that the smart terminal is positioned within a particular distance of the medical apparatus]( para, “[0160] FIG. 20 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of a detailed medical data screen on the patient terminal 4 side. In addition, the same contents as in FIGS. 15 to 17 are denoted by the same reference numerals, and the description thereof will be omitted. The screen includes a medical data display field 16a. The medical data display field 16a is a display field for displaying detailed information of medical data.” Note: also, see Fig. 20
)
wherein the examination information output module is configured to output the patient examination information through video streaming using [short-range wireless communication(para, “[0204] A third embodiment relates to a form in which information regarding the results of research conducted by using medical data is output to the patient terminal 4. In addition, the description of the same contents as in the first and second embodiments will be omitted. Research results include, for example, academic papers, reports, and research plans based on medical data of a large number of patients, videos of diseases, symptoms, and treatment methods related to treatment, and the like.”)
MAEDA does not explicitly teach:
[a medical apparatus configured to create patient examination information including] a patient's reception, [medical examination, prescription, treatment], hospitalization and discharge, [and an examination result]
[a patient examination information collection module configured to store the patient examination information including the reception, the medical examination, the prescription, the treatment,] hospitalization and discharge results, [and an X-ray, CT, or MRI imaging result of the patient];
[a communication module configured to receive the patient examination information obtained by] performing de-identification [from the medical apparatus, and transmit the synchronization information of the received patient examination information to the smart terminal]
a de-identification module configured to de-identify the collected patient examination information;
[an authentication code creation module configured to create a user authentication code including a] QR code or a barcode for receiving patient examination result information [and the synchronization information]
[and an examination information output module configured to receive the patient examination information directly from the medical apparatus and output the patient examination information] when it is determined that the smart terminal is positioned within a particular distance of the medical apparatus
[wherein the examination information output module is configured to output the patient examination information through video streaming using] short-range wireless communication.
LANGER teaches :
[a medical apparatus configured to create patient examination information including] a patient's reception, [medical examination, prescription, treatment], hospitalization and discharge, [and an examination result](para,“[0070]…. Generally, in accordance with the invention, the inventive method may be initiated at step 12 (FIG. 2) by patients being received at the health facility, such as a hospital, where a reception subsystem 14 (FIG. 1) receives patient information at step 16 (FIG. 2). This collection of information is of the type normally collected by a healthcare provider.”
Also, para “[0071] For example, if the patient is new to the practice or the facility, detailed information may be collected including such things as allergies, existing conditions, symptoms, medications, and so forth……”
Para, “[0142] More critically, FIG. 16 presents icons linking to various items of information. Icons may optionally include the date or dates of a hospital visit(s) icon 392 (which also provides the visit number, name of the doctor and department), discharge instructions icon 394, hospitalization information icon 396, daily updates icon 398, medications icon 400, activities and restrictions icon 402, symptom manager icon 404, wound care instructions icon 406, nutrition instructions icon 408 and care team 410, as illustrated in FIG. 16.”)
[a patient examination information collection module configured to store the patient examination information including the reception, the medical examination, the prescription, the treatment,] hospitalization and discharge results, [and an X-ray, CT, or MRI imaging result of the patient](para, “[0073] At the same time, the clinician, whether a doctor or a nurse or other professional may conduct an initial physical examination of the patient at step 20. Initial information, both that collected orally and during the physical examination of step 20, may be stored at step 22 for the purpose of being assembled into an initial report by being input into a computer, such as a personal computer 24 (FIG. 1), which is in communication with a central server 26. Server 26, in turn, receives information for the initial report and saves it in an appropriate database, for example text database 28, numerical database 30 or image database 32. Note: Also, see para 0070.
Also, para “[0112] After the surgery, the patient is sent to discharge where the patient is seen by the discharge nurse at step 248. In accordance with the present invention, the discharge nurse gathers stock material at step 249 and begins to put together a video at step 251 using computer 255 (FIG. 1). At step 253 that video includes patient specific material and contributes to the generation of a video at step 274. That video is then used as a base during the discharge at step 248. However, in accordance with step 248 the video used is the pre-prepared video created by the nurse at step 251. However, it is augmented by stylus, audio, keyboard and other inputs at step 278. The completed video is sent by cyberspace to server 26 which stores the same in video database 70 for later access by the patient and team members.”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply storing patient’s reception , hospitalization and discharge teachings of LANGER into the teachings of MAEDA at the time the application was filed in order to access recorded information for later use. (para, “[0112] After the surgery, the patient is sent to discharge where the patient is seen by the discharge nurse at step 248. In accordance with the present invention, the discharge nurse gathers stock material at step 249 and begins to put together a video at step 251 using computer 255 (FIG. 1). At step 253 that video includes patient specific material and contributes to the generation of a video at step 274. That video is then used as a base during the discharge at step 248. However, in accordance with step 248 the video used is the pre-prepared video created by the nurse at step 251. However, it is augmented by stylus, audio, keyboard and other inputs at step 278. The completed video is sent by cyberspace to server 26 which stores the same in video database 70 for later access by the patient and team members”)
MAEDA as modified by LANGER does not explicitly teach:
[a communication module configured to receive the patient examination information obtained by] performing de-identification [from the medical apparatus, and transmit the synchronization information of the received patient examination information to the smart terminal]
a de-identification module configured to de-identify the collected patient examination information;
BANDURSKI teaches :
[a communication module configured to receive the patient examination information obtained by] performing de-identification [from the medical apparatus, and transmit the synchronization information of the received patient examination information to the smart terminal](para, “[0046] Further, to store the patient data 126 in a secure manner, the client logic device 110 is configured to de-identify protected health information (PHI), if any, associated with patient data 126, as indicated in block 142 of FIG. 3. For example, during a de-identification process, the client logic device 110 is configured to apply a de-identification function 150 to the patient data 126 to strip the patient data 126 of any of eighteen (18) identifiers provided by the HIPAA Privacy Rule. …”)
a de-identification module configured to de-identify the collected patient examination information(para, “[0046] Further, to store the patient data 126 in a secure manner, the client logic device 110 is configured to de-identify protected health information (PHI), if any, associated with patient data 126, as indicated in block 142 of FIG. 3. For example, during a de-identification process, the client logic device 110 is configured to apply a de-identification function 150 to the patient data 126 to strip the patient data 126 of any of eighteen (18) identifiers provided by the HIPAA Privacy Rule. …”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply performing de-identification teachings of BANDURSKI into the teachings of MAEDA as modified by LANGER at the time the application was filed in order to store the patient data in secure manner. Para, (“[0046] Further, to store the patient data 126 in a secure manner, the client logic device 110 is configured to de-identify protected health information (PHI), if any, associated with patient data 126, as indicated in block 142 of FIG. 3. For example, during a de-identification process, the client logic device 110 is configured to apply a de-identification function 150 to the patient data 126 to strip the patient data 126 of any of eighteen (18) identifiers provided by the HIPAA Privacy Rule…”.)
MAEDA as modified by LANGER and BANDURSKI does not explicitly teach:
[an authentication code creation module configured to create a user authentication code including a] QR code or a barcode for receiving patient examination result information [and the synchronization information]
Ruminski teaches:
[an authentication code creation module configured to create a user authentication code including a] QR code or a barcode for receiving patient examination result information [and the synchronization information]( pg. 182, “In this paper we propose a method of interaction with laboratory results using QR-codes. In particular we focus on data exchange formats and the system architecture. The Quick Response codes have been applied in many solutions in health care system so far. In [10-11] they support the doctor’s fast access to patient’s personal health information and results. In this paper we would like to propose a similar feature but we would like to focus on a patient. That would allow a user to import the laboratory results in a convenient manner just by scanning a QR code with the encapsulated, encrypted medical data. Additionally, we present the mobile application that implements the proposed solutions. The application supports the exchange of data between paper form and EHRs, keeping all data in the encrypted, secured form.”
Also, pg. 183 “With the labSeq system, the different forms of laboratory test results document could be proposed to a patient. He can choose if to get it as overt but presented as QR code or if to encipher it additionally. These versions also make it very comfortable in importing the data directly to a mobile phone’s database, when using labSeq client-end application. That would exempt patient from taking his medical papers folder always with him, because all the useful data would be preserved on his smartphone.”
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply receiving examination result using QR code teachings of Ruminski into the teachings of MAEDA as modified by LANGER at the time the application was filed in order to exempt patient from talking medical paper folders. (Pg. 183, “With the labSeq system, the different forms of laboratory test results document could be proposed to a patient. He can choose if to get it as overt but presented as QR code or if to encipher it additionally. These versions also make it very comfortable in importing the data directly to a mobile phone’s database, when using labSeq client-end application. That would exempt patient from taking his medical papers folder always with him, because all the useful data would be preserved on his smartphone.”)
MAEDA as modified by LANGER , BANDURSKI and Ruminski does not explicitly teach:
[and an examination information output module configured to receive the patient examination information directly from the medical apparatus and output the patient examination information] when it is determined that the smart terminal is positioned within a particular distance of the medical apparatus.
[wherein the examination information output module is configured to output the patient examination information through video streaming using] short-range wireless communication.
Yuds teaches:
[and an examination information output module configured to receive the patient examination information directly from the medical apparatus and output the patient examination information] when it is determined that the smart terminal is positioned within a particular distance of the medical apparatus(