DETAILED ACTION
2. This action replaces the action mailed on 8/26/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/28/2023 was filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 5/20/2026 is acknowledged. The anti-theft label of claims 13-15 and 18-20 are distinct and different from the elected film and therefore is a separate invention. Claims 10-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Regarding claims 5-8, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP 2011255612 A) to Taiichi et al. (hereinafter Taiichi).
Taiichi is directed toward recycled PS film sheets. Taiichi discloses that the PS sheet may have a thickness of 0.2 to 3.0 mm, which overlaps and reads on Applicants range of 0.20 mm to 0.45 mm. at Example 4-1 a recycled polystyrene sheet having a 30% recycled and 70% virgin PS content, which reads on Applicants range of less than or equal to 100% recycled content. One skilled in the art would find it obvious to select the PS recycled film that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-2.
10. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP 2011255612 A) to Taiichi et al. (hereinafter Taiichi) in view of the teachings of (CN 1198172 A) to Nonnemacher (hereinafter Nonnemacher).
Taiichi is directed toward recycled PS film sheets. Taiichi discloses that the PS sheet may have a thickness of 0.2 to 3.0 mm, which overlaps and reads on Applicants range of 0.20 mm to 0.45 mm. at Example 4-1 a recycled polystyrene sheet having a 30% recycled and 70% virgin PS content, which reads on Applicants range of less than or equal to 100% recycled content.
Nonnemacher is directed toward recycled polystyrene films. Taiichi and Nonnemacher are both directed toward recycled PS film sheets and therefore are analogous art. Nonnemacher teaches such as adding to the film such as high impact polystyrene (HIPS) make it necessary with decorative haze or semi-transparency. preferably HIPS as increasing agent is STYRON 404, meaning it provides a decorative aspect and strength, which would motivate one to include HIPS. Nonnemacher teaches in the Abstract that “the film of the invention may contain up to 100 % of post-consumer recycled polystyrene”. Nonnemacher discloses that the “control film containing 95 (weight) % of universal polystyrene (STYRON 665) and 5 % (weight) high impact polystyrene (STYRON 404)”, which is a styrene that is modified with a butadiene block copolymer, which reads on the modification material.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Taiichi in view of the teachings of Nonnemacher to select each and every element of claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-4.
13. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP 2011255612 A) to Taiichi et al. (hereinafter Taiichi) in view of the teachings of (CN 1198172 A) to Nonnemacher (hereinafter Nonnemacher) in view of the teachings of (US 2021/0130609 A1) to Kuriyama et al. (hereinafter Kuriyama).
Taiichi is directed toward recycled PS film sheets. Taiichi discloses that the PS sheet may have a thickness of 0.2 to 3.0 mm, which overlaps and reads on Applicants range of 0.20 mm to 0.45 mm. at Example 4-1 a recycled polystyrene sheet having a 30% recycled and 70% virgin PS content, which reads on Applicants range of less than or equal to 100% recycled content. Nonnemacher teaches the film, but is silent regarding the use of a montmorillonite filler or HIPS.
Nonnemacher is directed toward recycled polystyrene films. Taiichi and Nonnemacher are both directed toward recycled PS film sheets and therefore are analogous art. Nonnemacher teaches such as adding to the film such as high impact polystyrene (HIPS) make it necessary with decorative haze or semi-transparency. preferably HIPS as increasing agent is STYRON 404, meaning it provides a decorative aspect and strength, which would motivate one to include HIPS. Nonnemacher teaches in the Abstract that “the film of the invention may contain up to 100 % of post-consumer recycled polystyrene”. Nonnemacher discloses that the “control film containing 95 (weight) % of universal polystyrene (STYRON 665) and 5 % (weight) high impact polystyrene (STYRON 404)”, which is a styrene that is modified with a butadiene block copolymer, which reads on the modification material.
Kuriyama is directed toward PS films. Taiichi and Kuriyama are both directed toward PS films and therefore are analogous art. Kuriyama teaches at paragraph [0114] that the film has an inorganic filler to increase rigidity, which would motivate one skilled in the art to add the filler. Kuriyama teaches at paragraph [0120] that the film has a montmorillonite filler as an inorganic filler. Kuriyama teaches at paragraph [0114] that the film has an SBS impact modifier and SBR added to increase impact strength, which would motivate one skilled in the art to add the SBS.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Taiichi in view of the teachings of Nonnemacher and Kuriyama to select each and every element of claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-9.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766