DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/28/2023 was filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 5/20/2026 is acknowledged. The anti-theft label of claims 13-15 and 18-20 are distinct and different from the elected film and therefore is a separate invention. Claims 10-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 5-8, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The term preferably renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (CN 1198172 A) to Nonnemacher (hereinafter Nonnemacher).
Nonnemacher is directed toward recycled polystyrene films. Nonnemacher discloses in the Abstract that “the film of the invention may contain up to 100 % of post-consumer recycled polystyrene”. Nonnemacher discloses that the “control film containing 95 (weight) % of universal polystyrene (STYRON 665) and 5 % (weight) high impact polystyrene (STYRON 404)”, which is a styrene that is modified with a butadiene block copolymer, which reads on the modification material. Nonnemacher discloses that the “thickness of the film of the invention typically is at least about 0.25 mils (6.35 microns), preferably at least about 0.75 mils (19.05 microns). the thickness of the film of the invention is generally not more than about 7 mils (177.8 micrometers), preferably no more than about 4 mils (101.6 microns), more preferably no more than about 2.5 mils (63.5 microns).” Nonnemacher discloses each and every element of claims 1-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CN 1198172 A) to Nonnemacher (hereinafter Nonnemacher).
Nonnemacher is directed toward recycled polystyrene films. Nonnemacher discloses in the Abstract that “the film of the invention may contain up to 100 % of post-consumer recycled polystyrene”. Nonnemacher discloses that the “control film containing 95 (weight) % of universal polystyrene (STYRON 665) and 5 % (weight) high impact polystyrene (STYRON 404)”, which is a styrene that is modified with a butadiene block copolymer, which reads on the modification material. Nonnemacher discloses that the “thickness of the film of the invention typically is at least about 0.25 mils (6.35 microns), preferably at least about 0.75 mils (19.05 microns). the thickness of the film of the invention is generally not more than about 7 mils (177.8 micrometers), preferably no more than about 4 mils (101.6 microns), more preferably no more than about 2.5 mils (63.5 microns).”
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Nonnemacher to select each and every element of claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-5.
13. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CN 1198172 A) to Nonnemacher (hereinafter Nonnemacher) in view of the teachings of (US 2021/0130609 A1) to Kuriyama et al. (hereinafter Kuriyama).
Nonnemacher is directed toward recycled polystyrene films. Nonnemacher discloses in the Abstract that “the film of the invention may contain up to 100 % of post-consumer recycled polystyrene”. Nonnemacher discloses that the “control film containing 95 (weight) % of universal polystyrene (STYRON 665) and 5 % (weight) high impact polystyrene (STYRON 404)”, which is a styrene that is modified with a butadiene block copolymer, which reads on the modification material. Nonnemacher discloses that the “thickness of the film of the invention typically is at least about 0.25 mils (6.35 microns), preferably at least about 0.75 mils (19.05 microns). the thickness of the film of the invention is generally not more than about 7 mils (177.8 micrometers), preferably no more than about 4 mils (101.6 microns), more preferably no more than about 2.5 mils (63.5 microns).” Nonnemacher teaches the film, but is silent regarding the use of a montmorillonite filler.
Kuriyama is directed toward PS films. Nonnemacher and Kuriyama are both directed toward PS films and therefore are analogous art. Kuriyama teaches at paragraph [0114] that the film has an SBS modifier for impact strength. Kuriyama teaches at paragraph [0120] that the film has a montmorillonite filler to save money.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Nonnemacher in view of the teachings of Kuriyama to select each and every element of claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-9.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766