Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/31/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-8 are pending
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues “It is respectfully submitted that the cited references, even in combination, fail to achieve or render obvious all of the features recited in amended claim 1. In particular, it is respectfully submitted that Jing et al, Madhow et al, and Tanaka et al fail to disclose or suggest the "first synthesis method" recited in amended claim 1, which is an imaging method which inputs a plurality of images including pixel values represented by complex numbers and outputs a result based on the synthesis of the pixel values.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Jing states that it combines SAR images into a final image. SAR images have amplitude and phase information which include complex numbers. The Examiner interprets the combination of two images as a ‘synthesis method’ and the creation of a final radar image as the combination method processing the complex number in some particular way. Additionally, Tanaka also discloses a SAR image combination method that further includes the spatial correlation of the phase in the SAR image in the creation of the final product. The Examiner also interprets this as meeting the limitations of claim 1.
The Applicant argues "It is respectfully submitted, moreover, that Jing et al, Madhow et al, and Tanaka et al also fail to disclose or suggest the feature recited in amended claim 1 whereby the processor generates the third radar image by applying the first and/or second synthesis method to the generated first and second radar images. More specifically, it is respectfully submitted that the cited references do not teach or suggest the feature of amended claim 1 whereby both the first and second synthesis methods are available for selection to generate the third radar image. Accordingly, it is respectfully submitted that even if Jing et al, Madhow et al, and Tanaka et al were combined, this combination would still not achieve or render obvious all of the features recited in amended independent claim 1, and would also not achieve or render obvious the corresponding features recited in amended independent claim 8. In view of the foregoing, it is respectfully submitted that amended independent claims 1 and 8, and claims 2-7 depending from amended claim 1, clearly patentably distinguish over the cited references even in combination, under 35 USC 103.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 as written states to “generate a third radar image by applying, to the generated first and second radar images at least one of (i) a first synthesis method….or (ii) a second synthesis method…” The claim as written does not require both of the synthesis methods, it only requires one of the options. Additionally, the methods of Jing and Tanaka could be interpreted as two different methods. As such claim 1 and claim 8, which has a similar amendment, is not considered allowable at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing (WO 2022002004 A1)[cited from pdf] in view of Madhow (US20210124011A1) further in view of Tanaka (US 20210132214 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Jing discloses
A processing device comprising: a processor configured to (Paragraph 0034, "an embodiment of the present application provides an electronic device, comprising: a processor; a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; and the processor for executing a target object control method as described in any one of the first aspects"): acquire first radar echoes from a first antenna that transmit first radar signals and receive the first radar echoes based on reflected waves of the first radar signals (Paragraph 0073, "In another possible implementation method, the first microwave radar 1 and the second microwave radar 2 can be set on different devices, such as different sensing base stations on the roadside, and the distributed microwave radar imaging device 3 can be a terminal device. The imaging device can communicate with the device where the first microwave radar 1 and the second microwave radar 2 are set to obtain radar echo data"; Paragraph 077, "The first microwave radar 1 includes a first transmitter, which can be an antenna."); generate a first radar image (Paragraph 0093, "Step 102a: Determine a first radar imaging result image of the detected target based on the first echo signal."); acquire second radar echoes from a second antenna that transmit second radar signals and receive the second radar echoes based on reflected waves of the second radar signals (Paragraph 0073, "In another possible implementation method, the first microwave radar 1 and the second microwave radar 2 can be set on different devices, such as different sensing base stations on the roadside, and the distributed microwave radar imaging device 3 can be a terminal device. The imaging device can communicate with the device where the first microwave radar 1 and the second microwave radar 2 are set to obtain radar echo data"; Paragraph 0078, "The second microwave radar 2 includes a second transmitter, which can be an antenna"); generate a second radar image (Paragraph 0094, "Step 102b: Determine a second radar imaging result image of the detected target based on the second echo signal."); and generate a third radar image by applying, to the generated first and second radar images at least one of (i) a first synthesis method by synthesis of pixel values represented by complex numbers (Paragraph 0097, "Step 103: Fusing the first radar imaging result image and the second radar imaging result image to obtain a target fused image" where combining SAR images combines pixels with complex numbers) or a second synthesis method by image synthesis, wherein: the first synthesis method is an imaging method which inputs a plurality images including pixel values represented by complex numbers and outputs a result based on a synthesis of the pixel values (Paragraph 0097, "Step 103: Fusing the first radar imaging result image and the second radar imaging result image to obtain a target fused image" where combining SAR images combines pixels with complex numbers and this art is being applied to the first synthesis method of the or statement in the claim), and the second synthesis method is an imaging method which inputs a plurality of images including pixel values represented by complex numbers and outputs a result based on a synthesis of absolute values of the pixel values. Jing does not disclose that the first radar device and second radar device have a plurality of first and second antennas nor does Jing disclose that a first radar image is generated by calculating a spatial correlation between the first radar echoes represented by complex numbers nor does it disclose that a second radar image is generated by calculating a spatial correlation between the second radar echoes represented by complex numbers.
Madhow discloses
The first radar device and second radar device have a plurality of first and second antennas (Paragraph 0036, "The perception system 100 includes multiple radar sensor units 102 each including a radar element that includes an antenna array 116 that includes one or more radar antennas 106 and a local oscillator 108").
Jing and Madhow are considered analogous art as they both concern a radar device with a processor. Jing discloses a radar device with an antenna but does not explicitly disclose that there are multiple antennas in the device. Adding more antennas to the radar device would be advantageous as the increase in antennas can expand the swatch coverage of the radar. So, the radar system can have both high resolution and wide coverage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jing with Madhow by adding more antennas so the radar system has both high resolution and wider coverage.
Tanaka discloses
A first radar image is generated by calculating a spatial correlation between the first radar echoes represented by complex numbers (Paragraph 0080, "The phase may be recorded in the SAR pixel information in the form of an angle. In addition, a complex number whose phase angle is a polar angle and whose absolute value is 1 may be recorded in the SAR pixel information"; Paragraph 0163, "When a representative value is obtained by a statistical process such as averaging, the integration unit 170 may weight a highly reliable extraction result by using an S/N ratio (Signal to Noise Ratio), stability of luminance, stability of phase, and coherence as an index representing temporal correlation or spatial correlation of phase in the SAR image, for example"); a second radar image is generated by calculating a spatial correlation between the second radar echoes represented by complex numbers (Paragraph 0080, "The phase may be recorded in the SAR pixel information in the form of an angle. In addition, a complex number whose phase angle is a polar angle and whose absolute value is 1 may be recorded in the SAR pixel information"; Paragraph 0163, "When a representative value is obtained by a statistical process such as averaging, the integration unit 170 may weight a highly reliable extraction result by using an S/N ratio (Signal to Noise Ratio), stability of luminance, stability of phase, and coherence as an index representing temporal correlation or spatial correlation of phase in the SAR image, for example" where if it processes one image like this it can process a second image in the same way).
Jing and Tanaka are both analogous art as they both concern a radar device with a processor. Jing discloses creating radar images but does not specify how. Using complex numbers to represent radar signals is advantageous as it is a way to represent magnitude and phase of the signal; so, the magnitude can represent the brightness of a pixel and the phase can be used for distance measurements. The radar using spatial correlation with the complex data is useful as it is necessary to form the image as the data needs to be organized by location, especially if the receiving antenna is moving and/or the object is moving. Additionally, as Jing does not describe in detail how to form the image, a method for forming the image would help the reader recreate the invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jing with Tanaka to use complex numbers and spatial correlation so that the radar data can be represented by complex numbers, controlling what is displayed by the pixels, and so that the pixel values can be arranged in the appropriate locations.
Regarding claim 2 the combination of Jing, Madhow, and Tanaka discloses
The process device according to claim 1. Jing further discloses wherein the at least one of the first or second synthesis method applied to the first and second radar images is selected according to a distance between an object reflecting the first and second radar signals and the first and second antennas, or according to a shape of the object (Paragraph 0014, "In one possible design, the first geometric deformation correction includes: determining a first variation relationship between a first imaging width and the height of the detection target based on the height of the first microwave radar and the shortest distance between the first microwave radar and the detection target"; Paragraph 0014, "and the second geometric deformation correction includes: determining a second variation relationship between the imaging width and the height of the detection target based on the height of the second microwave radar and the shortest distance between the second microwave radar and the detection target"; Paragraph 0013, "The imaging resolution of the detected target is improved through geometric deformation correction" where the geometric correction is a part of the combination process to improve/maintain good imaging resolution and the geometric correction is made in accordance with distance and the height/shape of the target).
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Jing, Madhow, and Tanaka discloses
The processing device according to claim 2. Jing discloses further comprising a sensor configured to measure the distance or the shape of the object (Paragraph 0002, "After signal processing, relevant information of the target object is obtained, such as target distance, direction, speed, posture, shape, structure, size and other parameters"; Paragraph 0010, "In this implementation, since distributed microwave radar imaging realizes the complementary characteristics of high and low viewing angles, it can not only measure the length information of the detection target, but also solve the problem of inconsistent resolution in the height dimension of the detection target, and realize high-resolution imaging of the detection target as a whole."). Jing does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one of the first or second synthesis method applied to the first and second radar images is selected according to a result of the measurement.
Madhow discloses
Wherein the at least one of the first or second synthesis method applied to the first and second radar images is selected according to a result of the measurement (Paragraph 0112, "Sensor units SU1 , SU2 include respective radar pipeline portions 1206 to select respective radar subsets 1708 , 1710 that include fewer chirps, but that do not reduce fast time or antenna element information. The radar data subset 1708 , 1710 are sent over the network 110 to the fusion block 112 for central processing to create a fused high resolution 2D radar image base upon the reduced-chirp radar data subsets 1708 , 1710 "; Paragraph 0071, "The remaining 10 ms can be used to cover an adaptable range of scenarios, including but not limited to focus on areas of interest (in spatial and/or Doppler domains), track objects in vicinity, driven by other events of interest, provide enhanced range resolution to objects that reside in closer proximity and/or in the collision path, provide high-resolution inputs requested by the motion-planning and actuation unit (e.g. provide high resolution image in the proximity of the vehicle for sharp turns or other decisions made by an actuation unit)" where an object measured to be in close proximity to the vehicle resulted in the demand for/generating of a high resolution image).
Jing and Madhow are both analogous art as they both concern a radar device with a processor. Jing discloses creating an image when a target detected but it does not specify that it uses a distance or shape/size measurement. Using a measurement such as size or range to generate a final high resolution image is advantageous in that it can save power usage of a device. A high resolution image may not be necessary when the shape of a target is small or a distance measurement is large, indicating that the object is far away, but when the object is close by, and potentially a hazard, a high resolution image would be useful as a means of avoiding a collision. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jing with Madhow to add in the condition of generating an image based on radar measurements for the radar device to save power.
Regarding claim 4 the combination of Jing, Madhow, and Tanaka discloses
The processing device according to claim 1. Jing does not disclose wherein the first antennas are included in a first radar module, and the second antennas are included in a second radar module disposed at a position spaced apart from the first radar module.
Madhow discloses
Wherein the first antennas are included in a first radar module, and the second antennas are included in a second radar module disposed while being spaced apart from the first radar module (Figure 3 elements 102; Paragraph 0036, "The perception system 100 includes multiple radar sensor units 102 each including a radar element that includes an antenna array 116 that includes one or more radar antennas 106 and a local oscillator 108 " where the radar units 102 are spaced apart from one another).
Jing and Madhow are analogous art as they both concern a radar device and its processor. Jing discloses multiple radar devices but does not disclose that they are separated. Separating the radar devices can be useful in that one can create a larger effective aperture which would lead to higher resolution images. Higher resolution images (or even topographical information if the radar units are arranged appropriately) are useful in that they provide more information that can be acted upon. For example, a blur in one image, that one would think to avoid, is simply a floating plastic bag in a higher resolution image, and can be ignored. Subsequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jing with Madhow to separate the radar units to increase the radar’s effective aperture and increase the image resolution.
Regarding claim 5 the combination of Jing, Madhow, and Tanaka discloses
The processing device according to claim 1. Jing discloses wherein: the first antennas are included in a first radar device, and the second antennas are included in a second radar device different from the first radar device (Paragraph 077, "The first microwave radar 1 includes a first transmitter, which can be an antenna"; Paragraph 0078, "The second microwave radar 2 includes a second transmitter, which can be an antenna"). Jing does not disclose multiple antennas in each radar device.
Madhow discloses
Multiple antennas in each radar device (Paragraph 0036, "The perception system 100 includes multiple radar sensor units 102 each including a radar element that includes an antenna array 116 that includes one or more radar antennas 106 and a local oscillator 108").
Jing and Madhow are considered analogous art as they both concern a radar device with a processor. Jing discloses a radar device with an antenna but does not explicitly disclose that there are multiple antennas in the device. Adding more antennas to the radar device would be advantageous as the increase in antennas can expand the swatch coverage of the radar. So, the radar system can have both high resolution and wide coverage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jing with Madhow by adding more antennas so the radar system has both high resolution and wider coverage.
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Jing, Madhow, and Tanaka discloses
The processing device according to claim 1. Jing further discloses wherein the processor is configured to cause the first antennas to be cooperatively operated as a first group and to cause the second antennas to be cooperatively operated as a second group according to an object reflecting the first and second radar signals (Paragraph 0034, "an embodiment of the present application provides an electronic device, comprising: a processor; a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; and the processor for executing a target object control method as described in any one of the first aspects"; Paragraph 077, "The first microwave radar 1 includes a first transmitter, which can be an antenna."; Paragraph 0078, "The second microwave radar 2 includes a second transmitter, which can be an antenna"; Paragraph 0097, "Step 103: Fusing the first radar imaging result image and the second radar imaging result image to obtain a target fused image").
Regarding claim 8 Jing discloses
A radar system comprising: a first antenna configured to transmit first radar signals and receive first radar echoes based on reflected waves of the first radar signals (Paragraph 0073, "In another possible implementation method, the first microwave radar 1 and the second microwave radar 2 can be set on different devices, such as different sensing base stations on the roadside, and the distributed microwave radar imaging device 3 can be a terminal device. The imaging device can communicate with the device where the first microwave radar 1 and the second microwave radar 2 are set to obtain radar echo data"; Paragraph 077, "The first microwave radar 1 includes a first transmitter, which can be an antenna."); a second antenna configured to transmit second radar signals and receive second radar echoes based on reflected waves of the second radar signals (Paragraph 0073, "In another possible implementation method, the first microwave radar 1 and the second microwave radar 2 can be set on different devices, such as different sensing base stations on the roadside, and the distributed microwave radar imaging device 3 can be a terminal device. The imaging device can communicate with the device where the first microwave radar 1 and the second microwave radar 2 are set to obtain radar echo data"; Paragraph 0078, "The second microwave radar 2 includes a second transmitter, which can be an antenna"); and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: acquire the first radar echoes from the first antennas (Paragraph 0034, "an embodiment of the present application provides an electronic device, comprising: a processor; a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; and the processor for executing a target object control method as described in any one of the first aspects"; Paragraph 0093, "Step 102a: Determine a first radar imaging result image of the detected target based on the first echo signal."; Paragraph 0094, "Step 102b: Determine a second radar imaging result image of the detected target based on the second echo signal."; Paragraph 0097, "Step 103: Fusing the first radar imaging result image and the second radar imaging result image to obtain a target fused image."); generate a first radar image (Paragraph 0093, "Step 102a: Determine a first radar imaging result image of the detected target based on the first echo signal."); acquire the second radar echoes from the second antennas (Paragraph 0094, "Step 102b: Determine a second radar imaging result image of the detected target based on the second echo signal."); generate a second radar image (Paragraph 0094, "Step 102b: Determine a second radar imaging result image of the detected target based on the second echo signal."); and generate a third radar image by applying, to the generated first and second radar images, at least one of a (i) first synthesis method by synthesis of pixel values represented by complex numbers (Paragraph 0097, "Step 103: Fusing the first radar imaging result image and the second radar imaging result image to obtain a target fused image" where combining SAR images combines pixels with complex numbers) or (ii) a second synthesis method by image synthesis, wherein: the first synthesis method is an imaging method which inputs a plurality images including pixel values represented by complex numbers and outputs a result based on a synthesis of the pixel values (Paragraph 0097, "Step 103: Fusing the first radar imaging result image and the second radar imaging result image to obtain a target fused image" where combining SAR images combines pixels with complex numbers and this art is being applied to the first synthesis method of the or statement in the claim), and the second synthesis metho is an imaging method which inputs a plurality of images including pixel values represented by complex numbers and outputs a result based on a synthesis of absolute values of the pixel values . Jing does not disclose that the first radar device and second radar device have a plurality of first and second antennas nor does Jing disclose that a first radar image is generated by calculating a spatial correlation between the first radar echoes represented by complex numbers nor does it disclose that a second radar image is generated by calculating a spatial correlation between the second radar echoes represented by complex numbers.
Madhow discloses
The first radar device and second radar device have a plurality of first and second antennas (Paragraph 0036, "The perception system 100 includes multiple radar sensor units 102 each including a radar element that includes an antenna array 116 that includes one or more radar antennas 106 and a local oscillator 108").
Jing and Madhow are considered analogous art as they both concern a radar device with a processor. Jing discloses a radar device with an antenna but does not explicitly disclose that there are multiple antennas in the device. Adding more antennas to the radar device would be advantageous as the increase in antennas can expand the swatch coverage of the radar. So, the radar system can have both high resolution and wide coverage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jing with Madhow by adding more antennas so the radar system has both high resolution and wider coverage.
Tanaka discloses
A first radar image is generated by calculating a spatial correlation between the first radar echoes represented by complex numbers (Paragraph 0080, "The phase may be recorded in the SAR pixel information in the form of an angle. In addition, a complex number whose phase angle is a polar angle and whose absolute value is 1 may be recorded in the SAR pixel information"; Paragraph 0163, "When a representative value is obtained by a statistical process such as averaging, the integration unit 170 may weight a highly reliable extraction result by using an S/N ratio (Signal to Noise Ratio), stability of luminance, stability of phase, and coherence as an index representing temporal correlation or spatial correlation of phase in the SAR image, for example"); a second radar image is generated by calculating a spatial correlation between the second radar echoes represented by complex numbers (Paragraph 0080, "The phase may be recorded in the SAR pixel information in the form of an angle. In addition, a complex number whose phase angle is a polar angle and whose absolute value is 1 may be recorded in the SAR pixel information"; Paragraph 0163, "When a representative value is obtained by a statistical process such as averaging, the integration unit 170 may weight a highly reliable extraction result by using an S/N ratio (Signal to Noise Ratio), stability of luminance, stability of phase, and coherence as an index representing temporal correlation or spatial correlation of phase in the SAR image, for example" where if it processes one image like this it can process a second image in the same way).
Jing and Tanaka are both analogous art as they both concern a radar device with a processor. Jing discloses creating radar images but does not specify how. Using complex numbers to represent radar signals is advantageous as it is a way to represent magnitude and phase of the signal; so, the magnitude can represent the brightness of a pixel and the phase can be used for distance measurements. The radar using spatial correlation with the complex data is useful as it is necessary to form the image as the data needs to be organized by location, especially if the receiving antenna is moving and/or the object is moving. Additionally, as Jing does not describe in detail how to form the image, a method for forming the image would help the reader recreate the invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jing with Tanaka to use complex numbers and spatial correlation so that the radar data can be represented by complex numbers, controlling what is displayed by the pixels, and so that the pixel values can be arranged in the appropriate locations.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing (WO 2022002004 A1) in view of Madhow (US20210124011A1) further in view of Tanaka (US 20210132214 A1) further in view of Lee (EP3825718A1).
Regarding claim 6 the combination of Jing, Madhow, and Tanaka discloses
The processing device according to claim 1. The combination of Jing, Madhow and Tanaka does not disclose wherein: the first antennas are a part of a plurality of third antennas included in the radar device, and the second antennas are a part of the third antennas included in the radar device and are at least partially different from the first antennas.
Lee discloses
Wherein the first antennas are a part of a plurality of third antennas included in the radar device, and the second antennas are a part of the third antennas included in the radar device and are at least partially different from the first antennas (Figure 5 element TX; Paragraph 0044, "The six transmitter antennas can be grouped into three groups and configured in MIMO mode").
Jing and Lee are analogous art as they both concern a radar device and a processor. Jing discloses antenna but not three distinct groups of antennas on one device. Having three distinct groups gives the radar device greater functionality. For example, one group can transmit in a high frequency band and detect small details they help with tracking and avoiding, and another group can transmit in a low frequency and detect cars through foliage on a blind turn. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jing with Lee so that Jing can have multiple groups of antennas on one device so that the device can have greater variability and functionality, as in detecting different features/objects.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER DAVON DOZE/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648