DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Considering Claim 6: Claim 6 recites a step of mixing the first mixture, the second mixture and a graphene-based material. However, the first mixture is consumed in the preparing of the second mixture, and thus is incapable of being mixed with the second mixture in a subsequent step. For the purpose of further examination, the claim will be interpreted as requiring mixing the second mixture and graphene based material to prepare a third mixture.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon et al. (Materials Science and Engineering B, 178, 2013, 1097-1103).
Considering Claim 1: Moon et al. teaches polyvinyl alcohol composite comprising polyvinyl alcohol, polyacrylic acid, and graphene oxide (Section 2.3, Table 1).
Considering Claim 2: Moon et al. teaches the polyacrylic acid as being 20 parts per 100 parts of polyvinyl alcohol (Table 1).
Considering Claim 3: Moon et al. teaches the graphene oxide as being 0.3 parts of per 100 parts of polyvinyl alcohol (Table 1).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Al-shammari et al. (Journal of Physics: Conference Series, 1973, 2021, 012165).
Considering Claim 1: Al-shammari et al. teaches a polyvinyl alcohol composite comprising polyvinyl alcohol, polyacrylic acid, and graphene oxide (Section 2.2.2).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Al-shammari et al. (Journal of Physics: Conference Series, 1973, 2021, 012165).
Considering Claim 6: Al-shammari et al. teaches forming a polyvinyl alcohol composite by a process comprising mixing polyvinyl alcohol with water/a first solvent; mixing the polyvinyl alcohol mixture with polyacrylic acid and water/a second solvent; and mixing the mixture of both polymers with graphene oxide to form a third mixture (Section 2.2.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (Materials Science and Engineering B, 178, 2013, 1097-1103) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jia et al. (International Journal of Biological Macromolecules 161 (2020) 223–230).
Considering Claims 4 and 5: Moon et al. teaches the composite of claim 1 as shown above.
Moon et al. does not teach the presence of cellulose nanofibers in the composite. However, Jia et al. teaches replacing graphene oxide with a blend of cellulose nanofibers and graphene oxide in a ratio of 2:1 to 16:1 (Abstract). When replacing the 0.3 parts of graphene oxide in Moon et al. with the blend of Jia et al., the amount of cellulose nanofibers would be 0.2 to 0.3 parts of cellulose nanofibers. Moon et al. and Jia et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polyvinyl alcohol composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the graphene oxide of Moon et al. with the blend of Jia et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Jia et al. suggests, to avoid agglomeration and to improve the mechanical properties of the composite (Abstract).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-shammari et al. (Journal of Physics: Conference Series, 1973, 2021, 012165) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Moon et al. (Materials Science and Engineering B, 178, 2013, 1097-1103).
Considering Claim 7: Al-shammari et al. teaches the process of claim 6 as shown above.
Al-shammari et al. does not teach heating the polyvinyl alcohol and first solvent followed by cooling. However, Moon et al. teaches preparing a polyvinyl alcohol solution by heating the polyvinyl alcohol and water to 90 ºC, followed by cooling to room temperature (Section 2.3). Al-shammari et al. and Moon et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polyvinyl alcohol composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have heating and cooled the polyvinyl alcohol mixture of Al-shammari et al., as in Moon et al., and the motivation to do so would have been to ensure complete dissolution of the polyvinyl alcohol in water.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al. (CN 116285519) teaches a composite comprising polyvinyl alcohol, a polyacrylic acid crosslinking agent, and a graphene material.
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767