DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 05/07/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-17 and 24-27 are pending for examination and claims 18-23 and 28-30 are withdrawn. NOTE: The Applicant has labeled claims 18-23 and 28-30 in the amendment filed 05/07/2026 as “original”. This appears to be a typo as the Applicant maintains in the Remarks filed on 05/07/2026 that claims 18-23 and 28-30 are indeed still withdrawn. The Applicant is requested to ensure in the subsequent filing that this labeling is corrected. For purposes of examination, the Examiner has examined elected claims 1-17 and 24-27.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection from the previously filed Office Action are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection has been removed.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections from the previously field Office Action are found to be unpersuasive. The Applicant argues on page 12 on the Remarks filed on 05/07/2026:
“Gao does not teach, suggest, or disclose the features to (1) "obtain measurements of one or more paths of one or more first sensing reference signals associated with a second sensing node over a first wireless channel; and (2) "transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to a sensing entity, a first measurement report including a first channel target indicator (CTI) associated with the first wireless channel, wherein the first CTI indicates that the first wireless channel is estimated to include reflections from a target or that the first wireless channel is estimated to include clutter reflections absent target reflections", as recited in independent claim 1 above.”.
Furthermore, the Applicant argues on page 14 of the Remarks:
“There is no indication, teaching, or disclosure of the feature of "a first channel target indicator (CTI)" or of "a first channel target indicator (CTI) associated with the first wireless channel, wherein the first CTI indicates that the first wireless channel is estimated to include reflections from a target or that the first wireless channel is estimated to include clutter reflections absent target reflections" as required by independent claim 1. In other words, the cited reference, Gao, does not teach or suggest the claimed "channel target indicator (CTI)" that indicates whether a wireless channel is estimated to contain reflections from a target or solely clutter reflections absent target reflections.”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in Fig. 2, signals are transmitted from node 210 to 220 via a line of sight signal path 204 and a non-line of sight signal path (i.e. path 216 following by path 218). The measurements of the signals at node 2 are indicated to a third device (i.e. sensing server 230) as noted in paragraph 0007, “The second device comprises at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program codes; the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the third device at least to: receive, from a second device, measurements of a first signal and a second set of signals, the first signal being transmitted by a first device through a first beam towards a line of sight, LOS, path between the first device and the second device, and the second set of signals being simultaneously transmitted by the first device through a plurality of second beams towards a target area, the first device, the second device, and a target object being located within the target area, the second set of signals being transmitted to the second device through reflection by the target object; and determine a location or a motion of the target object in the target are based on the measurements and locations of the first and second devices in the target area.”.
Therefore the signals received at node 220 are processed and their measurements are indeed determined for these measurements to be transmitted and received by the third device (i.e. sensing server 230). Furthermore, these measurements are “reported” to entity 230 (i.e. third device) and therefore such a feature is indeed a “a measurement report”, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a measurement report.”. See paragraph 0008 for support which recites, “…and causing the second device to report measurements of the first signal and the second set of signals to a third device for determining a location or a motion of the target object in the target area.”. Furthermore, the Applicant appears to be interpreting a channel target indicator (CTI) more narrowly than it’s broadest reasonable interpretation. The Examiner asserts that the measurement data as reported to the third device indeed includes “channel target indicators” (i.e. arrival times, etc. ) which provide target motion determination. Therefore, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, all of the features of claim 1 are indeed disclosed by Gao.
Therefore, the prior art rejections from the previously filed Non-Final Office action have been maintained. Please see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,5-7,10,12-13,15-17 and 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GAO et al. (WO 2023133828 A1), hereinafter GAO.
Regarding claim 1, GAO discloses
A first sensing node (see Fig. 2, sensing node 220), comprising:
one or more memories (see Fig. 9, memory 920 implemented in each device, further see paragraph 0134, “The device 900 may be provided to implement the communication device, for example the initiator device 210, the responder device 220 and the sensing server as shown in FIG. 2. As shown, the device 800 includes one or more processors 910, one or more memories 920 coupled to the processor 910, and one or more transmitters and/or receivers (TX/RX) 940 coupled to the processor 910.”, further see paragraph 0006, “The second device comprises at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program codes;”);
one or more transceivers (see Fig. 9, communication module 940, further see paragraph 0134 “The device 900 may be provided to implement the communication device, for example the initiator device 210, the responder device 220 and the sensing server as shown in FIG. 2. As shown, the device 800 includes one or more processors 910, one or more memories 920 coupled to the processor 910, and one or more transmitters and/or receivers (TX/RX) 940 coupled to the processor 910.”); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination (see Fig. 9, processor 910 coupled to 920 and 940), configured to:
obtain measurements of one or more paths of one or more first sensing reference signals associated with a second sensing node over a first wireless channel (see Fig. 2 where reference signals are transmitted from a second sensing node 210 over a first wireless channel 204 to node 220 which obtains these transmitted signals and transmits to node 230, further see paragraph 0069, “The initiator device 210 transmits 320 a first signal through a first beam towards the LOS path 204. Simultaneously, the initiator device 210 also transmits 325 a second set of signals through a plurality of second beams towards the sensing area. The first signal and the second set of signals may be any suitable reference signals.”, further see for support paragraphs 0007-0008); and
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to a sensing entity, a first measurement report including a first channel target indicator (CTI) associated with the first wireless channel (see Fig. 2, node 110 transmits to sensing entity 230 via a wireless channel a report of arrival times of the signals, see paragraph 0056, “Accordingly, the assistant sensing devices perform measurements of the signals. For example, the assistant sensing devices may measure the arrival time of the signals, and report the measurement result to the sensing server 230. The sensing server 230 may be deployed in RAN.”, further see for support paragraphs 0007-0008), wherein the first CTI indicates that the first wireless channel is estimated to include reflections from a target or that the first wireless channel is estimated to include clutter reflections absent target reflections (see paragraphs 0070-0072, “As the first signal is transmitted along the LOS path, it is received by the responder device 220 without reflection. On the other hand, the second set of signals propagating in the sensing area may be first transmitted on the paths 206 and 216, and reflected by the target object 212 and the clutter 214. The second set of signals may be then transmitted on the paths 208 and 218, and arrived at the responder device 220…The responder device 220 then reports 335 the measurements of the first signal and the second set of signals to the sensing server 230. As the first signal and the second set of signals are transmitted at the same, the measurements can be used for the time offset calibration. The sensing server 230 determines 340 estimation parameters based on the measurements.”).
Regarding claim 2, GAO further discloses
The first sensing node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
obtain initial measurements of the one or more paths of the one or more first sensing reference signals during a first time period to obtain a reference state of the first wireless channel (see paragraph 0070, “As the first signal is transmitted along the LOS path, it is received by the responder device 220 without reflection. On the other hand, the second set of signals propagating in the sensing area may be first transmitted on the paths 206 and 216, and reflected by the target object 212 and the clutter 214. The second set of signals may be then transmitted on the paths 208 and 218, and arrived at the responder device 220.”, further see Fig. 3 which data transmission over different wireless paths: Note: “a first time period” and a “second time period” depends on whether the data is received via a LOS path or NLOS path); and
determine that the first wireless channel is estimated to include reflections from the target based at least in part on a comparison of a measured state and the reference state (see paragraph 0059, “In particular, the signals that are transmitted within the target area can be calibrated with the signal transmitted along the LOS path in a real-time manner based on the Tx and Rx's locations known in advance. Then, a relative delay associated with the reflection path between the initiator device 210 and responder device 220 can be derived to achieve a total distance from the Tx through reflections to the Rx. …”, further see paragraph 0072, “The responder device 220 then reports 335 the measurements of the first signal and the second set of signals to the sensing server 230. As the first signal and the second set of signals are transmitted at the same, the measurements can be used for the time offset calibration.”), wherein:
the first CTI indicates that the first wireless channel is estimated to include reflections from the target based at least in part on the determining (see paragraph 0059, further see paragraphs 0070-0072, “As the first signal is transmitted along the LOS path, it is received by the responder device 220 without reflection. On the other hand, the second set of signals propagating in the sensing area may be first transmitted on the paths 206 and 216, and reflected by the target object 212 and the clutter 214. The second set of signals may be then transmitted on the paths 208 and 218, and arrived at the responder device 220…The responder device 220 then reports 335 the measurements of the first signal and the second set of signals to the sensing server 230. As the first signal and the second set of signals are transmitted at the same, the measurements can be used for the time offset calibration. The sensing server 230 determines 340 estimation parameters based on the measurements.”), and
the measured state is based at least in part on the obtaining measurements of one or more paths of one or more first sensing reference signals associated with the second sensing node over the first wireless channel during a second time period different from the first time period (see paragraphs 0069-0073, “The initiator device 210 transmits 320 a first signal through a first beam towards the LOS path 204. Simultaneously, the initiator device 210 also transmits 325 a second set of signals through a plurality of second beams towards the sensing area. The first signal and the second set of signals may be any suitable reference signals. As the first signal is transmitted along the LOS path, it is received by the responder device 220 without reflection. On the other hand, the second set of signals propagating in the sensing area may be first transmitted on the paths 206 and 216, and reflected by the target object 212 and the clutter 214. The second set of signals may be then transmitted on the paths 208 and 218, and arrived at the responder device 220. Upon receipt of the first signal and the second set of signals, the responder device 220 may perform 330 measurements on the received signals…”; Note: where the signals received via the LOS path and NLOS path are both receives at different times as they are transmitted simultaneously).
Regarding claim 5, GAO further discloses
The first sensing node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the sensing entity, a sensing configuration that includes first information and second information (see paragraph 0086, “The transmission of the first signal and the second set of signals may be triggered by a third device that may be, for example, the sensing server 230. In some example embodiments, the first device may receive, from the third device, a sensing command for triggering the transmissions of the first signal and the second set of signals.”), wherein:
the first information indicates that a first reference signal set including the one or more first sensing reference signals is associated with the second sensing node (see paragraphs 0086-0089, “The transmission of the first signal and the second set of signals may be triggered by a third device that may be, for example, the sensing server 230. In some example embodiments, the first device may receive, from the third device, a sensing command for triggering the transmissions of the first signal and the second set of signals…”, where the first and second set of signals are the reference signals transmitted by the nodes), and
the second information indicates that a second reference signal set including one or more second sensing reference signals is associated with a third sensing node different from the second sensing node (see Fig. 2, where a third sensing node 210 is a third sensing node, further see paragraphs 0086-0089, “The transmission of the first signal and the second set of signals may be triggered by a third device that may be, for example, the sensing server 230. In some example embodiments, the first device may receive, from the third device, a sensing command for triggering the transmissions of the first signal and the second set of signals…”, where the first and second set of signals are the reference signals transmitted by the nodes).
Regarding claim 6, GAO further discloses
The first sensing node of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
obtain measurements of one or more paths of the one or more second sensing reference signals associated with the third sensing node over a second wireless channel different from the first wireless channel (see Fig. 2, where a third sensing node 210 is a third sensing node, further see paragraphs 0086-0089, further see paragraph 0099-00100, “The method 700 can be implemented at a third device, for example, the third device may be the serving server 230 as shown in FIG. 2, or any other network devices or functions… At 710, the third device receives, from a second device, measurements of a first signal and a second set of signals.”), wherein the first measurement report includes a second CTI associated with the second wireless channel (see Fig. 2, where a third sensing node 210 is a third sensing node, further see paragraphs 0086-0089, “The transmission of the first signal and the second set of signals may be triggered by a third device that may be, for example, the sensing server 230. In some example embodiments, the first device may receive, from the third device, a sensing command for triggering the transmissions of the first signal and the second set of signals…”, where the first and second set of signals are the reference signals transmitted by the nodes).
Regarding claim 7, GAO further discloses
The first sensing node of claim 6, wherein the second CTI indicates that the second wireless channel is estimated to include reflections from the target or another target different from the target, or that the second wireless channel is estimated to include clutter reflections absent target reflections (see paragraphs 0099-00101, specifically, “At 710, the third device receives, from a second device, measurements of a first signal and a second set of signals. The first signal may be transmitted by a first device through a first beam towards a LOS path between the first device and the second device. In addition, the second set of signals may be simultaneously transmitted by the first device through a plurality of second beams towards a target area. The first device, the second device, and a target object are located within the target area. The second set of signals is transmitted to the second device through reflection by the target object.”).
Regarding claim 10, GAO further discloses
The first sensing node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
obtain measurements of one or more paths of one or more second sensing reference signals associated with the second sensing node over the first wireless channel (see Fig. 2, where the reference signals associated with nod 210 are obtained by node 220), wherein the obtaining of the one or more paths of the one or more second sensing reference signals associated with the second sensing node is based at least in part on the first CTI indicating that the first wireless channel is estimated to include reflections from the target (see paragraphs 0054-0057, where the data indicates that wireless channel includes target reflection data); and
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the sensing entity, a second measurement report including a second CTI associated with one or more sensing signals and the first wireless channel (see Fig. 2, where node 220 transmits measurement data to sensing server 230), wherein the second CTI indicates that the first wireless channel is estimated to include reflections from the target or that the first wireless channel is estimated to include clutter reflections absent target reflections (see paragraph 0057, “The sensing server 230 analyzes the measurement result to determine the position or the motion of the target objects 212 in the target area. Compared to the traditional bi-static radar based JCAS in which the signal is only targeted to the target object, in the enhanced JCAS mechanism provided herein, the signals are not only targeted to the sensing area but also to the sensing responders. Therefore, the measurements as well as the corresponding estimation parameters are associated with the LOS path distance measurement and the reflection path distance measurement. In this case, the sensing server can determine estimation parameters for the LOS path and each reflection path based on the measurements. The estimation parameters may be, for example, ToA (time of arrival), TDoA (time difference of arrival), AoA (angle of arrival), AoD (angle of departure), etc.”).
Regarding claim 12, GAO further discloses
The first sensing node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
determine that at least one additional path is associated with the target based at least in part on the measurements of the one or more paths of the one or more first sensing reference signals, wherein the first measurement report includes information indicating the at least one additional path (see Fig. 2, additional paths 206/208 and 216/218, where the measurements are obtained at sensing node 220 and the report includes information about those additional NLOS paths).
Regarding claim 13, GAO further discloses
The first sensing node of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
determine a reflection order corresponding to the at least one additional path associated with the target based at least in part on propagation information associated with the measurements of the one or more paths of the one or more first sensing reference signals, wherein the first measurement report includes information indicating the reflection order corresponding to the at least one additional path associated with the target (see paragraph 0061, where the distance determination for each path is “a reflection order” as it corresponds to each propagation path, further see for support paragraph 0057, “Therefore, the measurements as well as the corresponding estimation parameters are associated with the LOS path distance measurement and the reflection path distance measurement. In this case, the sensing server 230 can determine estimation parameters for the LOS path and each reflection path based on the measurements. The estimation parameters may be, for example, ToA (time of arrival), TDoA (time difference of arrival), AoA (angle of arrival), AoD (angle of departure), etc.”, furthermore, determining the time offsets for the reflection data in each path is indeed “a reflection order”).
Regarding claim 15, GAO further discloses
The first sensing node of claim 1, wherein the first sensing node is a user equipment (UE) or a transmission-reception point (TRP) (see Fig. 2, node 220, further see paragraph 0098, “In some example embodiments, the first device may be a first network device (e.g., a base station or an access point) , the second device may be a second network device (e.g., another base station or another access point) or a terminal device (e.g., a UE) , and the third device may be a sensing server.”).
Regarding claim 16, GAO further discloses
The first sensing node of claim 1, wherein the first sensing node is a transmitting sensing node or a receiving sensing node (see Fig. 2, where the first sensing node 220 is a receiving sensing node).
Regarding claim 17, GAO further discloses
The first sensing node of claim 1, wherein the sensing entity is a sensing server or a next generation radio access network (NG-RAN) node (see paragraph 0056, “Accordingly, the assistant sensing devices perform measurements of the signals. For example, the assistant sensing devices may measure the arrival time of the signals, and report the measurement result to the sensing server 230. The sensing server 230 may be deployed in RAN”).
Regarding claim 24, the same cited section and rationale as claim 1 is applied.
Regarding claim 25, the same cited section and rationale as claim 2 is applied.
Regarding claim 26, the same cited section and rationale as claim 3 is applied.
Regarding claim 27, the same cited section and rationale as claim 4 is applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,4,8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO et al. (WO 2023133828 A1) in view of DWIVEDI et al. (US 20220229143 A1), hereinafter DWIVEDI.
Regarding claim 3, GAO discloses [Note: what GAO fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The first sensing node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
DWIVEDI discloses,
estimate a Doppler profile for each of the one or more paths (see paragraph 0048, “The fourth LOS detection method is the stability of the Doppler spread of the multipaths. The Doppler spread in the LOS path may be lesser than the Doppler spread in the NLOS path. The Doppler frequency is also more stable in the LOS path than in the NLOS path. The network may estimate the Doppler spread of all the peaks and may detect the LOS path from the Doppler spread. Estimating the Doppler frequency/spread may require frequent measurements and reporting from the UE to sample the Doppler frequency with at least the Nyquist rate of it. Thus, the UE should capture measurements within the coherence time to suffice the Nyquist rate of the Doppler spread. The measurements that may be required for the fourth LOS detection method is that UE should report complex impulse response with measurement/reporting rate fulfilling the Nyquist rate of the Doppler spread within coherence time.”); and
determine that the first wireless channel is estimated to include reflections from the target based at least in part on the estimating the Doppler profile for each of the one or more paths, wherein the first CTI indicates that the first wireless channel is estimated to include reflections from the target based at least in part on the determining (see paragraph 0048, “The fourth LOS detection method is the stability of the Doppler spread of the multipaths. The Doppler spread in the LOS path may be lesser than the Doppler spread in the NLOS path. The Doppler frequency is also more stable in the LOS path than in the NLOS path. The network may estimate the Doppler spread of all the peaks and may detect the LOS path from the Doppler spread. Estimating the Doppler frequency/spread may require frequent measurements and reporting from the UE to sample the Doppler frequency with at least the Nyquist rate of it. Thus, the UE should capture measurements within the coherence time to suffice the Nyquist rate of the Doppler spread. The measurements that may be required for the fourth LOS detection method is that UE should report complex impulse response with measurement/reporting rate fulfilling the Nyquist rate of the Doppler spread within coherence time.”, where the doppler spread indicates which path is a NLOS path and which is LOS path).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by DWIVEDI into the invention of GAO. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose the use of a plurality of sensing nodes where line of sight and non-line of sight propagation paths are identified. The combination would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently track moving targets for calibration and configuration adjustments by the system.
Regarding claim 4, GAO discloses [Note: what GAO fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The first sensing node of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
DWIVEDI discloses,
determine that the target is estimated to be moving based at least in part on the estimating the Doppler profile for each of the one or more paths, wherein the first measurement report includes information indicating that the target is estimated to be moving (see paragraph 0048, “The fourth LOS detection method is the stability of the Doppler spread of the multipaths. The Doppler spread in the LOS path may be lesser than the Doppler spread in the NLOS path. The Doppler frequency is also more stable in the LOS path than in the NLOS path. The network may estimate the Doppler spread of all the peaks and may detect the LOS path from the Doppler spread. Estimating the Doppler frequency/spread may require frequent measurements and reporting from the UE to sample the Doppler frequency with at least the Nyquist rate of it. Thus, the UE should capture measurements within the coherence time to suffice the Nyquist rate of the Doppler spread. The measurements that may be required for the fourth LOS detection method is that UE should report complex impulse response with measurement/reporting rate fulfilling the Nyquist rate of the Doppler spread within coherence time.”, where determine the Doppler spread for the targets is indeed “determine that the target is estimated to be moving” as the doppler spread indicates motion data).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by DWIVEDI into the invention of GAO. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose the use of a plurality of sensing nodes where line of sight and non-line of sight propagation paths are identified. The combination would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently track moving targets for calibration and configuration adjustments by the system.
Regarding claim 8, GAO discloses [Note: what GAO fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The first sensing node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
DWIVEDI discloses,
receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the sensing entity, an indication of a neural network model for estimating the first CTI (see paragraph 0056, “The first step in building an artificial neural network may be collecting data for a large number of UE positions in scenarios representative of the scenarios in which the LOS discriminator will be used. The data collected may be: [0057] A number of LOS indicator measurements (all of the indicators described in the first through tenth LOS detection methods or a subset of them and possibly also additional complementing indicators) [0058] Propagation delay between the TP (i.e., transmission points (e.g., base stations)) and the UE (based on TOA estimate) [0059] LOS distances between the TPs and the UE (e.g. based on GPS based positioning)”);
obtain the neural network model based at least in part on the received identification (see paragraph 0056, further see paragraph 0060, “The second step may be to train the neural network with the measurements. The neural network cost function could be based on if the UE was in LOS or not”); and
receive, via the one or more transceivers, assistance data associated with the neural network model (see paragraph 0064, “The third step is to use the trained neural network by the UE or the network to discriminate between LOS and NLOS. In one embodiment, the LOS measurements may be used as input for positioning.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by DWIVEDI into the invention of GAO. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose the use of a plurality of sensing nodes where line of sight and non-line of sight propagation paths are identified. The combination would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to utilize a neural network system to efficiently identify sensing data for calibration and configuration adjustments by the system.
Regarding claim 9, GAO discloses [Note: what GAO fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The first sensing node of claim 8,
DWIVEDI discloses,
wherein the assistance data associated with the neural network model comprises information corresponding to a reference state of the first wireless channel (see paragraph 0056, “The first step in building an artificial neural network may be collecting data for a large number of UE positions in scenarios representative of the scenarios in which the LOS discriminator will be used. The data collected may be: [0057] A number of LOS indicator measurements (all of the indicators described in the first through tenth LOS detection methods or a subset of them and possibly also additional complementing indicators) [0058] Propagation delay between the TP (i.e., transmission points (e.g., base stations)) and the UE (based on TOA estimate) [0059] LOS distances between the TPs and the UE (e.g. based on GPS based positioning)” further see paragraph 0064, “The third step is to use the trained neural network by the UE or the network to discriminate between LOS and NLOS. In one embodiment, the LOS measurements may be used as input for positioning.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by DWIVEDI into the invention of GAO. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose the use of a plurality of sensing nodes where line of sight and non-line of sight propagation paths are identified. The combination would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to utilize a neural network system to efficiently identify sensing data for calibration and configuration adjustments by the system.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO et al. (WO 2023133828 A1) in view of Ling et al. (US 20220216907 A1), hereinafter Edge.
Regarding claim 11, GAO discloses [Note: what GAO fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The first sensing node of claim 10,
Ling discloses,
wherein the one or more second sensing reference signals are associated with a second frequency range different from a first frequency range of the one or more first sensing reference signals (see paragraphs 0072-0073, “For example, FIG. 1a is angular power spectra of different frequency bands in a line of sight (line of sight, LOS) scenario… FIG. 1b is angular power spectra of different frequency bands in a non-line of sight (non-line of sight, NLOS) scenario.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Ling into the invention of GAO. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose the use of a plurality of sensing nodes where line of sight and non-line of sight propagation paths are identified. The combination would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently identify sensing data using different frequency ranges for calibration and configuration adjustments by the system.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO et al. (WO 2023133828 A1) in view of KUDEKAR et al. (US 20160249316 A1), hereinafter KUDEKAR.
Regarding claim 14, GAO discloses [Note: what GAO fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The first sensing node of claim 1,
KUDEKAR discloses,
wherein the CTI is expressed as a hard value or a soft value (see paragraph 0022, “The RTT response can include an NLOS/LOS classification and may include a confidence value associated with the classification (for soft classifications). The receiving device can use the classification information in determining its position and/or combine the results from a classification made on the receiving device to increase classification accuracy.”, further see paragraph 0053, further see paragraph 0059, “In implementations where a response packet is received from the other wireless device, the response packet can include a classification of whether the signals received at the other wireless device were believed to be LOS or NLOS… The other wireless device can be configured to calculate the range estimate and hard or soft classification and to send the range estimate and the classification back to the mobile device 120.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by KUDEKAR into the invention of GAO. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose the use of a plurality of sensing nodes where line of sight and non-line of sight propagation paths are identified. The combination would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to utilize less bits by the system when transferring data and therefore conserve storage space by the system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAZRA NUR WAHEED/Examiner, Art Unit 3648