DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed March 16, 2026, claims 1, 5, 8 and 3 have been amended, claims 1 - 13 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Objections to the Abstract applicant’s arguments, see page 9 paragraph 4, filed March 16, 2026, with respect to the Abstract have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objections to the Abstract have been withdrawn.
Regarding Objections to the Specification applicant’s arguments, see page 9 paragraph 5, filed March 16, 2026, with respect to the Specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objections to the Specification have been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112 applicant’s arguments, see page 10 paragraph 3, filed March 16, 2026, with respect to claims 1-13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 112 rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 10 paragraphs 6 - page 11, filed March 16, 2026, with respect to claims 1-2 and 10-13 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further made in view of Odaka (US Pub. No.:2011/0196955).
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites, “as preceding/succeeding history information”, in lines 3 and 5. For clarity it is suggested to use word “or” “and” instead of a symbol slash “/”, for example “at least one A or B”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US Pub. No.: 2012/0287841), and further in view of Okada et al. (US Pub. No.: 2011/0242992).
As per claim 1, Takahashi disclose a communication monitoring system (see Fig.1A, showing a process flow of a synchronous delivery / monitoring system between base stations) comprising:
a master base station connected to a master station in a wired manner (see Fig.1A, para. 0040, the CONTENT SERVER 105 represents the master base station(s) and the BSN represents the master station that are connected by a wired connection);
a slave base station connected to a slave station in the wired manner (see Fig.1A, para. 0040, Fig.1A: the AT 101 represents a radio terminal that is inevitably composed of an RF component that is noted to be the slave base station and a memory/processor that represents the slave station), the slave base station configured to communicate a communication frame communicated from the slave station to the master station via the master base station in a wireless manner (Fig .1 A: the communication between the AT and AN is wireless, see para. 0040, An AT 101 as a group of mobile devices receive simultaneously the data transmitted {communicate a communication frame} at an identical time from the AN 102 and AN 103 to synthesize signals); and
a history management server connected to the master base station and configured to record (Fig. 1A and 2, memory 203 of the BSN 194 represents the history management server), as preceding and succeeding history information, communication history information of a communication frame communicated by each of the master base station and the slave base station before and after a missing communication frame (see 0047, the BSN 104 provides with a network 1/F 201 for performing a communication with the AN, the content server and other devices, the data delivered from the content server 105 is written into a memory 203 via the network 1/F 201 and a communication bus 206 / preceding/succeeding history information, the received data information which is written is read out by a CPU 202 and added with a sequence number created on the basis of time information provided by a clock 204 / before and after a missing communication frame, and the data information is made into a packet),
wherein the master station and the slave station each communicate an individually set, fixed number of communication frames in a cyclic period, wherein the communication frame contains, as communication information, a sequence number and a period number, the sequence number indicating an order in the cyclic period, the period number incrementing each time the cyclic period passes (Fig. 7; see 0069: a packet 801 having a 100-byte length/ fixed number of communication frames, transmitted from the content server 105 is received by the BSN 104 as a packet 802, and a packet 803 and packet 804 set to a period number (P)0, a cyclic period and sequence number (S)0 are transmitted to the AN 102 and AN 103, respectively. The BSN 104 receives a packet 805 having a 50-byte length transmitted from the content server 105 (packet 806) to compare with the number of transmittable bytes received by the step 402 and a step 1203 within 1 period to determine a period number (P), where the period number incrementing each time the cyclic period passes), and
wherein at least one of the master base station and the slave base station determines, upon communication of each communication frame in the wireless manner, if there is a missing communication frame on a basis of the communication information of a this-time communication frame and the communication information of a last-time communication frame, the this-time communication frame being communicated after the last-time communication frame (see para. 0012, the timing information is constituted by the period number indicating that data for which of a period number is transmitted and a sequence number indicating that a transmission for which of data among byte numbers in the period is transmitted, so that the re-synchronization enables {this-time communication frame} even if once the synchronization {a last-time communication frame} is deviated and data only directed to a base station from the aggregation device is lost on the transmission / a missing communication frame, where the two or more base stations perform re-synchronization on a basis of the period number and the sequence number included in the data received from the BCMCS Serving Node), and
when there is a missing synchronization communication frame, transmit communication history information of the last-time communication frame and of the this-time communication frame to the history management server, as the preceding and succeeding history information (see para. 0012, the timing information is constituted by the period number and a sequence number indicating that a transmission for which of data among byte numbers in the period should be transmitted, so that the re-synchronization {the this-time communication frame to the history management server} enables even if once the synchronization {last-time communication frame} is deviated / a missing communication frame and data only directed to a base station from the aggregation device is lost on the transmission, the two or more base stations perform re-synchronization on a basis of the period number and the sequence number included in the data received from the BCMCS Serving Node / the history management server, see also para. 0070, at this time point, each of the AN 102 and AN 103 has an identical content in the buffers / preceding/succeeding history information are the same).
Although Takahashi disclose when there is a missing synchronization communication frame, transmit communication history information of the last-time communication frame and of the this-time communication frame to the history management server, as the preceding and succeeding history information;
Takahashi however does not explicitly disclose in response to the determination by the at least one of the master base station and the slave base station that there is a missing communication frame, the at least one of the master base station and the slave base station transmits communication history information of the last-time communication frame and of the this-time communication frame to the history management server, as the preceding and succeeding history information.
Okada however disclose in response to determination by at least one of a master base station and a slave base station that there is a missing communication frame, the at least one of the master base station and the slave base station transmits communication history information of a last-time communication frame and of a this-time communication frame to a history management server, as a preceding and succeeding history information (see para. 0120, the sensor network management server 100, when data transmitted from the sensor node 150 is received, stores this data as the latest data, and stores the same data as history data. When the latest data is requested by a user, the sensor network management server 100 provides the latest data, and when history data is requested by a user, it provides the history data. The user is a manager who operates the management client 160, or a user who operates the operating client 165), also per para. 0018, Fig.9, 0266-0274, 0279-0280, a history data storage manager 303a/ a history management server, missing data manager which manages loss of the history data indicating missing observation data transmitted from the terminal and not received by the server, wherein the missing data manager sends a retransmission request to the terminal to retransmit the missing observation data that was not received by the server based on a predetermined rule, and receives the missing observation data retransmitted by the terminal receiving the retransmission request, and wherein, in case that a request for observation data is received from user terminal, at least one of the set of latest observation data managed by the latest data storage manager and the history data managed by the history data storage manager is output to the user terminal according to a type of the request for observation data received from the user terminal, see also Abstract, claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of in response to determination by at least one of a master base station and a slave base station that there is a missing communication frame, the at least one of the master base station and the slave base station transmits communication history information of a last-time communication frame and of a this-time communication frame to a history management server, as a preceding and succeeding history information, as taught by Okada, in the system of Takahashi, so as to identify a point at which a failure occurs in a communication system, a monitoring device is installed to monitor the quality of network communications, a monitoring device calculates, a disappearance rate of packets flowing in a packet communication network and a delay of packets, thereby measuring the communication quality and then identifies a point at which a failure occurs during a monitoring process, see Okada, paragraphs 4-6.
As per claim 2, the combination of Takahashi and Okada disclose the communication monitoring system according to claim 1.
Takahashi further disclose wherein the period number starts with a minimum number, ends with a maximum number, and after reaching the maximum number, returns to the minimum number, and wherein the sequence number starts with a top number, ends with a final number corresponding to the fixed number, and each time the cyclic period passes, returns to the top number (see Fig.7, para. 0069, a packet 801 having a 100-byte length transmitted from the content server 105 is received by the BSN
104 as a packet 802, and a packet 803 and packet 804 set to a period number (P)0 and sequence
number (S)0 are transmitted to the AN 102 and AN 103, respectively and the BSN 104 receives a packet
805 having a 50-byte length transmitted from the content server 105 (packet 806) to compare with
the number of transmittable bytes received by the step 402 and a step 1203 within 1 period to
determine a period number (P), wherein the sequence number starts with a top number, ends with a final number corresponding to the fixed number, and each time the cyclic period passes, returns to the top number).
As per claim 10, the combination of Takahashi and Okada disclose the communication monitoring system according to claim 1.
Okada further disclose wherein a history management server determines a failure cause on a basis of relevant history information being the preceding/succeeding history information of communication frames received before and after a failure detection time point, and on a basis of whether there is corresponding history information being the preceding/succeeding history information corresponding to the relevant history information (see Fig.9, para. 0083-0085, communication program 120A at a history server, the number-of-losses-per-unit-time calculating unit 12f calculates the number of losses occurring in the RTP section for a unit time and the number of losses occurring in the non-RTP section for a unit time. More particularly, the number-of-losses-per-unit-time calculating unit 12f has a counter that counts the number of losses occurring in the RTP section for a predetermined time and another counter that counts the number of losses occurring in the non-RTP section for the time. The number-of-losses-per-unit-time calculating unit 12f adds the number of losses occurring in the RTP section that is calculated by the failure-section determining unit 12e to the current counter that counts the number of losses occurring in the RTP section. Moreover, the number-of-losses-per-unit-time calculating unit 12f adds the number of losses occurring in the non-RTP section that is calculated by the failure-section determining unit 12e to the current counter that counts the number of losses occurring in the non-RTP section / a failure detection time point).
As per claim 11, the combination of Takahashi and Okada disclose the communication monitoring system according to claim 1.
Takahashi further disclose A base station used as the master base station or the slave base station in the communication monitoring system according to claim 1 (see para. 0040, a content server 105 is a server for delivering BCMCS data and performs a management etc. of delivery data and delivery schedule. The content server 105 transmits the delivery data or BCMCS data to a BSN (BCMCS Serving Node) 104 as an aggregation device. The BSN 104 transmits the received data from the content server 105 to an AN (Access Network) 102 and an AN 103 with the data copied and an AT 101 as a group of mobile devices receive simultaneously the data transmitted at an identical time from the AN 102 and AN 103).
As per claim 12, the combination of Takahashi and Okada disclose the communication monitoring system according to claim 1.
Takahashi further disclose the history management server used in the communication monitoring system according to claim 1 (Fig. 1A and 2, the memory 203 of the BSN represents the history management server, [0047]: "The BSN 104 provides with a network 1/F 201 for performing a communication with the AN, the content server, etc., and other devices).
As per claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sugitani (US Pub. No.:2014/334375) – para 0054-0064, “FIG. 2 is a block diagram showing the structure of the master device 1. The master device 1 is provided with an interface unit 1a for exchanging signals with the door phone slave device 2 via wire and a control unit 1b connected to the interface unit 1a to control the overall operation of the master device 1. If desired, the communication between the master device 1 and the door phone slave device 2 may also be performed via a wireless link. In this system, the master device 1 is configured to transmit image data to the monitor slave devices 4. For this purpose, the master device 1 is provided with the function to transmit image data to each monitor slave device 4 and the function (resend control unit) to resend image data to the monitor slave device 4 upon receiving a request from the monitor slave device 4 via a wireless link”.
Odaka (US Pub. No.:2011/196955) – Fig.2A-2B, para. 0085-0096, “The sensor node 150 of this embodiment comprises a wireless communicator 201, sensor controller 202, latest data assembler 203, history data responder 204, timer 205, and data storage unit 206. The wireless communicator 201 corresponds to the ZigBee communicator 151 of FIG. 1. The sensor controller 202 corresponds to the sensor controller 153 of FIG. 1. The latest data assembler 203, history data responder 204, and data storage unit 206 are equivalent to the task manager 152 of FIG. 1. History data is stored in the data storage unit 206. The history data stored in the data storage unit 206 will be described later in detail referring to FIG. 2B”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469