DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-23 are pending.
Claim 3 is cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al (“Johnson”) (US 2015/0159428) in view of Fukuro et al (“Fukuro”) (US 2003/0177699) and Seely (US 4,310,991).
Re claim 1, Johnson discloses a contain and drain sill system (Fig. 8) for a fenestration unit (10), the contain and drain system (Fig. 8) comprising:
a window or door frame (Fig. 2) comprising a first side jamb (30) and a second side jamb (40) connected to each other (Fig. 2) by a head jamb (50) and a sill (20), wherein the sill (20) and the frame (Fig. 2) comprise an interior side (interior side thereof) and an exterior side (exterior side thereof);
an inner panel (12) retained in the window or door frame (Fig. 1), the inner panel (12) positioned above the sill (20) and between the first side jamb (30) and the second side jamb (40);
an outer panel (15) retained in the window or door frame (Fig. 1), the outer panel (15) positioned above the sill (20) and between the first side jamb (30) and the second side jamb (40);
an inner rail (24) extending along a length (Fig. 8) of the sill (20) between the first side jamb (30) and the second side jamb (40), wherein the inner panel (12) is supported by ([0044]) an upper support surface (top surface of 24; see examiner comments) of the inner rail (24);
an outer rail (23) extending along a length (Fig. 8) of the sill (20) between the first side jamb (30) and the second side jamb (40), wherein the outer panel (15) is supported by ([0044]) an upper support surface (top surface of 23; see examiner comments) of the outer rail (23), wherein the outer rail (23) is located between the inner rail (24) and the exterior side (left side of 20, see [0044]) of the sill (20);
an inner trough (see examiner comments) located in the sill (20), the inner trough (see examiner comments) located between the interior side (right side of 20) of the sill (20) and the inner rail (24), the inner trough (see examiner comment) comprising a bottom (bottom of that shown in examiner comments) located below (Fig. 8) the upper support surface (top surface of 24) of the inner rail (24);
an outer trough (25) located in the sill (20), the outer trough (25) located between the inner rail (24) and the outer rail (23);
a containment tank (90) located in the sill (20), wherein the containment tank (90) is located below (Fig. 8) the inner rail (24), the outer trough (25) and at least a portion of the inner trough (see examiner comments);
a plurality of trough drains (61) located in the outer trough (25) between the outer panel (15) and the inner trough (see examiner comments), wherein each trough drain (61) of the plurality of trough drains (61) is configured to drain water (Fig. 8) in the outer trough (25) into the containment tank (90), wherein each trough drain (61) comprises a conduit (Fig. 9, 69) comprising an upper opening (finten67) and a lower opening (68), wherein water draining from the outer trough (25) into the containment tank (90) enters ([0063]) the conduit (69) through the upper opening (67) and leaves ([0063]) the conduit (69) to enter the containment tank (90) through the lower opening (68); and
a plurality of vents (66, Fig. 3 showing two vents 66) in the sill (22), wherein each vent (66) of the plurality of vents (66) comprises a vent opening (at 66, being an opening) extending above (Fig. 8) the bottom (bottom of the trough shown in the examiner comments) of the inner trough (see examiner comments), above (Fig. 8) the one or more inner trough drains (per the below, as 66 is shown on an uppermost surface), above (Fig. 8) the plurality of trough drains (61), above (Fig. 8) a bottom (bottom of 25) of the outer trough (25), and above (Fig. 8) a bottom (bottom of 90) of the containment tank (90), wherein each vent (66) of the plurality of vents (66) is in fluid communication with (Fig. 8) the containment tank (90),
but fails to disclose the plurality of vents disposed on an exterior wall of the inner rail, and one or more inner trough drains located in the inner trough below the upper support surface of the inner rail, the one or more inner trough drains configured to drain water from the inner trough in to the containment tank, and the plurality of vents below the upper support surface of the inner rail.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contain and drain sill system of Johnson with the plurality of vents disposed on an exterior wall of the inner rail (instead of just the outer rail) in order to vent both of the inner rail and the outer rail instead of just the outer rail. It has been held that rearrangement of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019. In addition, it has been held that the duplication of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent production of a new or unexpected result. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669.
In addition, Fukuro discloses one or more inner trough drains (17b) located in the inner trough (12b) below the upper support surface (top of 10) of the inner rail (10), the one or more inner trough drains (17b) configured to drain water (Fig. 6) from the inner trough (12b) in to the containment tank (13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contain and drain sill system of Johnson with one or more inner trough drains located in the inner trough below the upper support surface of the inner rail, the one or more inner trough drains configured to drain water from the inner trough in to the containment tank as disclosed by Fukuro in order to further and better carry water away from the windows through additional draining.
In addition, Seely discloses the plurality of vents (56) below (Fig. 2) the upper support surface (top surface of 14) of the inner rail (1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contain and drain sill system of Johnson with the plurality of vents below the upper support surface of the inner rail as disclosed by Seely (such as by moving 66 of Johnson to the side location of Seely such that 66 of Johnson would be on the right upper wall of 23, or by providing an additional vent 66 in that same location) in order to equalize pressure within the trough in addition instead of just above the rail.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 11-13, 17-21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al (“Johnson”) (US 2015/0159428) in view of Soplata (US 2,581,727), Fukuro et al (“Fukuro”) (US 2003/0177699) and Seely (US 4,310,991).
Re claim 1, Johnson discloses a contain and drain sill system (Fig. 8) for a fenestration unit (10), the contain and drain system (Fig. 8) comprising:
a window or door frame (Fig. 2) comprising a first side jamb (30) and a second side jamb (40) connected to each other (Fig. 2) by a head jamb (50) and a sill (20), wherein the sill (20) and the frame (Fig. 2) comprise an interior side (interior side thereof) and an exterior side (exterior side thereof);
an inner panel (12) retained in the window or door frame (Fig. 1), the inner panel (12) positioned above the sill (20) and between the first side jamb (30) and the second side jamb (40);
an outer panel (15) retained in the window or door frame (Fig. 1), the outer panel (15) positioned above the sill (20) and between the first side jamb (30) and the second side jamb (40);
an inner rail (24) extending along a length (Fig. 8) of the sill (20) between the first side jamb (30) and the second side jamb (40), wherein the inner panel (12) is supported by ([0044]) an upper support surface (top surface of 24; see examiner comments) of the inner rail (24);
an outer rail (23) extending along a length (Fig. 8) of the sill (20) between the first side jamb (30) and the second side jamb (40), wherein the outer panel (15) is supported by ([0044]) ]) an upper support surface (top surface of 24; see examiner comments) the outer rail (23), wherein the outer rail (23) is located between the inner rail (24) and the exterior side (left side of 20, see [0044]) of the sill (20);
an inner trough (see examiner comments) located in the sill (20), the inner trough (see examiner comments) located between the interior side (right side of 20) of the sill (20) and the inner rail (24), the inner trough (see examiner comments) comprising a bottom (bottom of that shown in the examiner comments) below (Fig. 8) the upper support surface (top surface of 24) of the inner rail (24);
an outer trough (25) located in the sill (20), the outer trough (25) located between the inner rail (24) and the outer rail (23);
a containment tank (90) located in the sill (20), wherein the containment tank (90) is located below (Fig. 8) the inner rail (24), the outer trough (25) and at least a portion of the inner trough (see examiner comments);
a plurality of trough drains (61) located in the outer trough (25) between the outer panel (15) and the inner trough (see examiner comments), wherein each trough drain (61) of the plurality of trough drains (61) is configured to drain water (Fig. 8) in the outer trough (25) into the containment tank (90), wherein each trough drain (61) comprises a conduit (Fig. 9, 69) comprising an upper opening (67) and a lower opening (68), wherein water draining from the outer trough (25) into the containment tank (90) enters ([0063]) the conduit (69) through the upper opening (67) and leaves ([0063]) the conduit (69) to enter the containment tank (90) through the lower opening (68); and
a plurality of vents (66, Fig. 3 showing two vents 66) in the sill (22), wherein each vent (66) of the plurality of vents (66) comprises a vent opening (at 66, being an opening) extending through an exterior wall (top wall of 23) above (Fig. 8) the bottom (bottom of the trough shown in the examiner comments) of the inner trough (see examiner comments), above (Fig. 8) the one or more inner trough drains (per the below, as 66 is shown on an uppermost surface), above (Fig. 8) the plurality of trough drains (61), above (Fig. 8) a bottom (bottom of 25) of the outer trough (25), and above (Fig. 8) a bottom (bottom of 90) of the containment tank (90), wherein each vent (66) of the plurality of vents (66) is in fluid communication with (Fig. 8) the containment tank (90) and is in fluid communication with (Fig. 8) the containment tank (90),
but fails to disclose the plurality of vents disposed on an exterior wall of the inner rail, and one or more inner trough drains located in the inner trough, the one or more inner trough drains configured to drain water from the inner trough in to the containment tank, and the plurality of vents below the upper support surface of the inner rail.
However, Soplata discloses the plurality of vents (9, 11) disposed on an exterior wall (21/22, 14) of the inner rail (1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contain and drain sill system of Johnson with the plurality of vents disposed on an exterior wall of the inner rail (instead of just the outer rail) in order to vent both of the inner rail and the outer rail instead of just the outer rail. It has been held that rearrangement of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019. In addition, it has been held that the duplication of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent production of a new or unexpected result. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669.
In addition, Fukuro discloses one or more inner trough drains (17b) located in the inner trough (12b) below (Fig. 6) the upper support surface (top of 10) of the inner rail (10), the one or more inner trough drains (17b) configured to drain water (Fig. 6) from the inner trough (12b) in to the containment tank (13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contain and drain sill system of Johnson with one or more inner trough drains located in the inner trough below the upper support surface of the inner rail, the one or more inner trough drains configured to drain water from the inner trough in to the containment tank as disclosed by Fukuro in order to further and better carry water away from the windows through additional draining.
In addition, Seely discloses the plurality of vents (56) below (Fig. 2) the upper support surface (top surface of 14) of the inner rail (14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contain and drain sill system of Johnson with the plurality of vents below the upper support surface of the inner rail as disclosed by Seely (such as by moving 66 of Johnson to the side location of Seely such that 66 of Johnson would be on the right upper wall of 23, or by providing an additional vent 66 in that same location) in order to equalize pressure within the trough in addition instead of just above the rail.
Re claim 2, Johnson as modified discloses a contain and drain sill system according to claim 1, wherein the containment tank (90) extends along the length (Fig. 8) of the sill (20) from the first side jamb (30) to the second side jamb (40).
Re claim 4, Johnson as modified discloses a contain and drain sill system according to claim 1, wherein at least one vent opening (at 66) is aligned with (as the language does not recite how they are aligned, and a line may be drawn between the two, thus being “aligned”) each trough drain (61) of the plurality of trough drains (61) when moving along a horizontal axis (Fig. 8) extending through the at least one vent (66) between the interior side (right side of 20) and the exterior side (left side of 20) of the sill (20).
Re claim 5, Johnson as modified discloses a contain and drain sill system according to claim 4, wherein the at least one vent opening (at 66) aligned with each trough drain (61) is located above (Fig. 8) the trough drain (61), and wherein the at least one vent opening (66) is separate and discrete from (Fig. 8) the trough drain (61) with which the at least one vent opening (at 66) is aligned (per the above).
Re claim 6, Johnson as modified discloses a contain and drain sill system according to claim 1, wherein two or more vent openings (at 66) of the plurality of vents (66) are aligned with (as the language does not recite how they are aligned, and a line may be drawn between the two, thus being “aligned”) each trough drain (61) of the plurality of trough drains (61) when moving along a horizontal axis (Fig. 8) extending through the two or more vents (66) between the interior side (right side of 20) and the exterior side (left side of 20) of the sill (20).
Re claim 7, Johnson as modified discloses a contain and drain sill system according to claim 6, wherein the two or more vent openings (at 66) of the plurality of vents (66) aligned with each trough drain (61) are located above (Fig. 8) the trough drain (61), and wherein the two or more vent openings (at 66) are separate and discrete from (Fig. 8) the trough drain (61) with which the two or more vent openings (at 66) (at 66) are aligned (per the above).
Re claim 11, Johnson as modified discloses a contain and drain sill system according to claim 1, wherein the sill (22) comprises a plurality of weep drains (62) in fluid communication with (Fig. 8) the containment tank (90) such that water in the containment tank (90) drains out of the containment tank (62) through the plurality of weep drains (62) under the force of gravity (Fig. 8), wherein the plurality of weep drains (62) are located on the exterior side (left side of 20) of the sill (20), and wherein, for each trough drain (61) of the plurality of trough drains (61), the lower opening (68) of the conduit (69) is located above (at least partially per Fig. 8) each weep drain (62) of the plurality of weep drains (62).
Re claim 12, Johnson as modified discloses a contain and drain sill system according to claim 11, wherein at least one trough drain (61) of the plurality of trough drains (61) is aligned with (as the language does not recite how they are aligned, and a line may be drawn between the two, thus being “aligned”) each weep drain (62) of the plurality of weep drains (62) when moving along a horizontal axis (Fig. 8) extending through the at least one trough drain (61) between the interior side (right side of 20) and the exterior side (left side of 20) of the sill (20).
Re claim 13, Johnson as modified discloses a contain and drain sill system according to claim 11, wherein the at least one vent opening (at 66) aligned with each weep drain (62) is aligned with (as the language does not recite how they are aligned, and a line may be drawn between the two, thus being “aligned”) each weep drain (62) of the plurality of weep drains (62) when moving along a horizontal axis (Fig. 8) extending through the at least one vent opening (at 66) between the interior side (right side of 20) and the exterior side (left side of 20) of the sill (20).
Re claim 17, Johnson discloses a method of controlling water ([0077]; Claim 19) captured in a sill (20) of a fenestration unit (10), the method comprising:
draining water collected (Claim 19) in an outer trough (25) of the sill (20) to a containment tank (90) comprising a bottom (bottom of 90), wherein the outer trough (25) comprises a bottom (bottom of 25) and is located between (Fig. 8) an inner rail (24) and an outer rail (23), wherein the inner rail (24) and the outer rail (23) both extend along a length (Fig. 8) of the sill (20), wherein an upper support surface (top of 24; see examiner comments) of the inner rail (24) supports an inner panel (12) of the fenestration unit (10) and an upper support surface (upper surface of 23; see examiner comments) of the outer rail (23) supports an outer panel (15) of the fenestration unit (10), and wherein the draining occurs (Claim 19) through a plurality of trough drains (61) located in the outer trough (25) between the outer panel (15) of the fenestration unit (10) and the inner rail (24) below (Fig. 8) the upper support surface (upper surface of 24; see examiner comments) of the inner rail (24), and wherein the containment tank (90) is located below (Fig. 8) the inner rail (24) of the sill (20) and the outer trough (25);
the inner trough (of 24; see examiner comments) comprising a bottom (bottom of that which is shown in the examiner comments) located below (Fig. 8) the upper support surface (upper surface of 24; see examiner comments) of the inner rail (24), wherein the inner trough (of 24, see examiner comments) is located between an interior side (21) of the sill (20) and the inner rail (24) such that the inner trough (see examiner comments) and the outer trough (25) are located on opposite sides (Fig. 8) of the inner rail (24), and wherein the containment tank (within 20) is located below (Fig. 8) at least a portion of the inner trough (see examiner comments);
draining water (Claim 19) from the containment tank (90) to an exterior side (left side of 20) of the sill (20) through a plurality of weep drains (62) in the sill (20); and
venting air ([0072]) from the containment tank (90) through a plurality of vents (66), wherein each vent (66) of the plurality of vents (66) comprises a vent opening (at 66) extending through a wall (top of 23) above (Fig. 8) the bottom (bottom of the trough shown in the examiner comments) of the inner trough (see examiner comments), above (Fig. 8) the plurality of trough drains (61), above (Fig. 8) a bottom (bottom of 25) of the outer trough (25), and above (Fig. 8) a bottom (bottom of 90) of the containment tank (90), wherein each vent (66) of the plurality of vents (66) and is in fluid communication with (Fig. 8) the containment tank (90),
but fails to disclose the plurality of vents disposed on an exterior wall of the inner rail, draining water collected in an inner trough of the sill into the containment tank, and the plurality of vents below the upper surface of the inner rail.
However, Soplata discloses the plurality of vents (9, 11) disposed on an exterior wall (21/22, 14) of the inner rail (1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Johnson with the plurality of vents disposed on an exterior wall of the inner rail (instead of just the outer rail) in order to vent both of the inner rail and the outer rail instead of just the outer rail. It has been held that rearrangement of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019. In addition, it has been held that the duplication of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent production of a new or unexpected result. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669.
In addition, Fukuro discloses draining water (via 17b) collected in an inner trough (12b) of the sill (10) into the containment tank (13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Johnson with draining water collected in an inner trough of the sill into the containment tank as disclosed by Fukuro in order to further and better carry water away from the windows through additional draining.
In addition, Seely discloses the plurality of vents (56) below (Fig. 2) the upper support surface (top surface of 14) of the inner rail (14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Johnson with the plurality of vents below the upper support surface of the inner rail as disclosed by Seely (such as by moving 66 of Johnson to the side location of Seely such that 66 of Johnson would be on the right upper wall of 23, or by providing an additional vent 66 in that same location) in order to equalize pressure within the trough in addition instead of just above the rail.
Re claim 18, Johnson as modified discloses a method according to claim 17, wherein the containment tank (90) extends along the length (Fig. 8) of the sill (20) from the first side jamb (30) to the second side jamb (40).
Re claim 19, Johnson as modified discloses a method according to claim 17, wherein the outer rail (23) is located between (Fig. 8) the outer trough (25) and the exterior side (left side of 20) of the sill (20), but fails to disclose wherein each trough drain of the plurality of trough drains is located closer to the inner rail than an outer rail when moving along a horizontal axis extending between the interior side and the exterior side of the sill.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Johnson wherein each trough drain of the plurality of trough drains is located closer to the inner rail than an outer rail when moving along a horizontal axis extending between the interior side and the exterior side of the sill in order to drain more liquid from a location that is nearer the inner rail, and thus the interior of the fenestration unit. It has been held that rearrangement of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019.
Re claim 20, Johnson as modified discloses a method according to claim 17, wherein at least one vent opening (at 66) is aligned with (as the language does not recite how they are aligned, and a line may be drawn between the two, thus being “aligned”) each trough drain (61) of the plurality of trough drains (61) when moving along a horizontal axis (Fig. 8) extending through the at least one vent (66) between the interior side (right side of 20) and the exterior side (left side of 20) of the sill (20).
Re claim 21, Johnson as modified discloses a method according to claim 17, wherein two or more vent openings (at 66) of the plurality of vents (66) are aligned with (as the language does not recite how they are aligned, and a line may be drawn between the two, thus being “aligned”) each trough drain (61) of the plurality of trough drains (61) when moving along a horizontal axis (Fig. 8) extending through the two or more vents (66) between the interior side (right side of 20) and the exterior side (left side of 20) of the sill (20).
Re claim 23, Johnson as modified discloses a method according to claim 17, wherein each trough drain (61) comprises a conduit (Fig. 9, 69) comprising an upper opening (67) and a lower opening (68), wherein water draining from the outer trough (25) into the containment tank (90) enters ([0063]) the conduit (69) through the upper opening (67) and leaves ([0063]) the conduit (69) to enter the containment tank (90) through the lower opening (68), and, wherein, for each trough drain (61) of the plurality of trough drains (61), the lower opening (68) of the conduit (69) is located above (at least partially per Fig. 8) each weep drain (62) of the plurality of weep drains (62).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8-10, 14-16 and 22 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner Comments
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections 35 USC 103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
First, Applicant argues that none of the references disclose the amended features of claims 1 and 17. These features are addressed in the above.
Second, Applicant argues that vent 66 of Johnson is not on an exterior wall of an inner rail. Applicant argues that instead 66 is on the top surface of the rail and is thus not on an exterior wall. There is no reason why a top wall cannot be considered an exterior wall. The language does not define which exterior wall. Every single wall of a cube is an exterior wall because the respective wall is on the exterior of the cube. Similarly, the top wall on which 66 rests is on the outer surface of the rail, and thus, constitutes an exterior wall. In addition, it is further noted that although 66 is disposed on an exterior wall of the outer rail as cited, Johnson is not relied upon as disclosing the vent on the exterior wall of the inner rail. Instead, this feature is taught by a secondary reference as outlined above.
Third, Applicant argues that it would not be obvious to modify Johnson in the manner cited, such that a vent 66 is further disposed on the inner rail (instead of the outer rail). Applicant contends that doing so would render jamb vents 66 unsatisfactory for their intended purposes. Applicant states that the purpose of vents 66 is to vent air from a containment tank to an interior of a building. Applicant states that the proposed modification would result in those vents not venting air into the interior of the building. Addition of more vents would only serve to further the purposes of vents 66, namely venting air. Pressure equalization would be further through use of additional vents in additional locales. Moving, or adding, a vent 66 to rail 24 would serve to vent inner rail 24 in much the same way 66 is shown venting rail 23. The addition of vents 66 on the other rail would not inhibit functionality of 66 on the shown rail in any manner.
Fourth, Applicant argues that Soplata discloses a channel 14 that collects moisture, and that a channel is materially different from a rail. Soplata is relied upon as disclosing “the plurality of vents (9, 11) disposed on an exterior wall (21/22, 14) of the inner rail (14).” Citation to element 14 is a typographical error. Clearly, a cursory review of Soplata discloses 9 and 11 as vents, and the vents are disclosed in an exterior wall (21/22 and 14) of an inner rail 1. 14 was already cited as an exterior wall, and it is therefor clear that feature 1 is an inner rail.
Fifth, Applicant alleges that the Examiner has not provided any articulated reasoning to combinate Soplata with Johnson or Fukuro. The previous office action and the above provide motivation to combine.
Sixth, Applicant argues that Fukuro does not make up for the alleged deficiencies as discussed above. Fukuro is not relied upon disclosing any of these features, and is instead relied upon as disclosing the claimed one or more trough drains.
Applicant’s arguments concerning the remaining dependent claims are addressed by the above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
KYLE WALRAED-SULLIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635