DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “octahedral shape” (Octahedral by definition is 8 sided. The figure doesn’t show a container with 8 sides.) and “rounded corners” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: heating element in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “an octahedral shape”. Octahedron means 8 sides by definition. However claimed limitation and figure shows only six sides (front, back, top, bottom and two sidewalls). Therefore it’s not clear as to if the limitation actually try to claim a shape having six sides or 8 sides. Examiner recommend applicant to amend this limitation to (and for examining purpose, examiner interprets this limitation is) “a housing”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiguchi (US 20150158620).
Regarding claim 1, Sekiguchi teaches a molded polymeric container for holding fluids, the container comprising: a housing (See 112b rejection for claim interpretation. Housing of bottle 20, fig 2-3) including front and back facings (two walls 25 shown in fig 3), a top (upper surface that includes shoulder portion 21 and mouth portion 11) including a neck opening (11) with a radius (mouth portion inherently has a radius), a bottom (bottom wall 23, fig 1-2), and two opposing sidewalls (26, fig 1-2) wherein each sidewall has symmetrical and angled panels (the panels are the portions of sidewalls 26 that are above and below curved portion 27, shown I fig 1) that connect at a pinched waist (27, fig 1-2); wherein the housing includes eight discrete but substantially similar rounded corners (the corners are 8 corners formed by top, bottom, front and back facings and two sidewalls) defined by a radius of curvature (see fig 2, the corners are rounded and inherently has a radius of curvature); wherein the pinched waist includes a radius of curvature (R, fig 2) that is substantially similar to a radius of curvature of the rounded corners (Noted, the limitation states “similar”. Therefore the two radii of curvature are considered to be similar); and wherein the pinched waist defines a transverse length (annotated figure 1); a transverse length across the front facing at separate positions (annotated figure 1) above and below the pinched waist.
[AltContent: textbox (transverse length of portion below pinched waist)][AltContent: textbox (transverse length of pinched waist)][AltContent: textbox (transverse length of portion above pinched waist)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Annotated figure 1)]
Sekiguchi fails to teach the transverse length of pinched waist is between 60% to 80% of the transverse length of portions above and below the pinched waist. However Sekiguchi teaches that the size of pinched waist is a result effective variable of the force applied to the container during manufacturing and the material type of the container ([0059] “the curvature radius R of the pressing recess portion 27 is set to an arbitrary magnitude depending on the pushing out performance required to the container body 20, the moldability of the container body 20 and the like”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select proper type of material depending on consumer needs as well as applying an appropriate force on the container during molding process since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 2, Sekiguchi teaches the housing is symmetrical about both a centerline axial plane (vertical central plane extending into the paper in fig 1) and a transverse plane (vertical central plane extending into the paper in fig 2).
Regarding claim 3, Sekiguchi teaches the front and back facings are substantially similar (see fig 3 or 4B for cross sectional view).
Regarding claim 4, Sekiguchi teaches the front and back facings each have a radius of curvature (see fig 3, the front and back facings are curved). However Sekiguchi does not show that the radius of curvature of the front and back facings is at least five times larger than the radius of the neck opening. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the apparatus of Sekiguchi to have radius of curvature of the front and back facings being at least five times larger than the radius of the neck opening since the present application does not show that the particular ratio of radii of curvature solves a particular problem or is for any specific purpose and because it appears that the apparatus would function equally well in either configuration.
Regarding claim 5, Sekiguchi teaches all the limitations of claim 4, but does not show that the radius of curvature of the front and back facings is between nine and ten times larger than the radius of the neck opening. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the apparatus of Sekiguchi to have radius of curvature of the front and back facings being between nine and ten times larger than the radius of the neck opening since the present application does not show that the particular ratio of radii of curvature solves a particular problem or is for any specific purpose and because it appears that the apparatus would function equally well in either configuration.
Regarding claim 6, Sekiguchi teaches all the limitations of claim 4, but does not show that the radius of curvature of the pinched waist is between nine to ten times larger than the radius of the neck opening. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the apparatus of Sekiguchi to have radius of curvature of the pinched waist being between nine to ten times larger than the radius of the neck opening since the present application does not show that the particular ratio of radii of curvature solves a particular problem or is for any specific purpose and because it appears that the apparatus would function equally well in either configuration.
Regarding claim 7, Sekiguchi teaches all the limitations of claim 4, but does not show that the radius of curvature of the pinched waist is between one quarter to one half of the radius of the neck opening. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the apparatus of Sekiguchi to have radius of curvature of the pinched waist being between nine to ten times larger than the radius of the neck opening since the present application does not show that the particular ratio of radii of curvature solves a particular problem or is for any specific purpose and because it appears that the apparatus would function equally well in either configuration.
Regarding claim 8, Sekiguchi teaches curved transitional sections (the pie-shaped sections that intercept lines B2, B6, B8, B12 shown in fig 4B) are interposed between the interfaces of at least one: the front facing and the sidewalls, the back facing and the sidewalls (Those pie-shaped sections are interposed between front facing and sidewalls as well as back facing and sidewalls), the front facing and the top, the back facing and the top, the sidewalls and the top, the front facing and the bottom, the back facing and the bottom, and the sidewalls and the bottom.
Regarding claim 12, Sekiguchi teaches the housing is symmetrical about a centerline axial plane (vertical central plane extending into the paper in fig 1) and a centerline transverse plane (vertical central plane extending into the paper in fig 2) of the container.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miwa (US 20100229848) in view of Sekiguchi (US 20150158620).
Regarding claim 9, Miwa teaches a portable system for heating fluids comprising:
a container (A, fig 2); at least one heating element (12, fig 2) provided as a pouch ([0036] “the heating body storing portion may be one in the shape of a bag as shown in FIGS. 3(a), (b) denoted with an reference number 12”) or cuboid having a transverse length (transverse length of the pouch when in use) that matches the transverse length of the container; and an attachment mechanism (10, fig 1) configured to hold the heating element along the container ([0029] “the opening of the lid member 9 can be closed by a string member 10.”).
Miwa fails to teach the container is the container of claim 1.
Sekiguchi teaches container as recited in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Miwa as taught by Sekiguchi by substituting the container with the container of Sekiguchi since both containers in Miwa and Sekiguchi are equivalents known for the same purpose (they are both containers), and choosing one from equivalents requires only routine skill in the art.
As modified, Miwa in view of Sekiguchi teaches that the attachment mechanism is capable of being seated on the pinched waist so as to hold the heating element along the front and/or back facings of the container.
Regarding claim 10, Miwa teaches a portable system for heating fluids comprising:
a container (A, fig 2); at least one heating element (12, fig 2) provided as a pouch ([0036] “the heating body storing portion may be one in the shape of a bag as shown in FIGS. 3(a), (b) denoted with an reference number 12”) or cuboid having a transverse length (transverse length of the pouch when in use) that matches the transverse length of the container; and an attachment mechanism (10, fig 1) configured to hold the heating element along the container ([0029] “the opening of the lid member 9 can be closed by a string member 10.”).
Miwa fails to teach the container is the container of claim 6.
Sekiguchi teaches container as recited in claim 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Miwa as taught by Sekiguchi by substituting the container with the container of Sekiguchi since both containers in Miwa and Sekiguchi are equivalents known for the same purpose (they are both containers), and choosing one from equivalents requires only routine skill in the art.
As modified, Miwa in view of Sekiguchi teaches that the attachment mechanism is capable of being seated on the pinched waist so as to hold the heating element along the front and/or back facings of the container.
Regarding claim 11, Miwa in view of Sekiguchi teaches the attachment mechanism is a string.
Conclusion
/KO-WEI LIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762