DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 21 – 27 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/12/2024.
Newly submitted claims 34 – 41 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: These claims include different method steps including new subject matter.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 34 – 41 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 28 – 32 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Domansky et al. (US 2005/0260745 A1), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Pralong et al. (WO 2012/107436 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28 – 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Domansky et al. (US 2005/0260745 A1; hereinafter “Domansky”)in view of Pralong et al. (WO 2012/107436 A1; hereinafter “Pralong”).
Regarding claim 28, Domansky teaches a method (Abstract; paragraphs 36 – 42; figures 1 – 3) comprising:
a) providing a perfusion manifold assembly (e.g., fluidic manifold 24 and control manifold 22) comprising:
i) one or more fluid reservoirs comprising fluid (e.g., reservoir well 6 can contain a fluid such as cell culture medium; paragraph 39),
ii) a fluidic backplane (e.g., membrane 23) under, and in fluidic communication with, said fluid reservoir(s), and
iii) a microfluidic culture chamber (e.g., bioreactor well 4) attached directly to the assembly; and
b) applying gas pressure to the fluid in said one or more fluid reservoirs so as to generate pressure driven flow of fluid to said microfluidic culture device (e.g., paragraphs 37 and 38) comprising a culture area (bioreactor well 4). Domansky teaches that the valves and pumps of all bioreactors are actuated via common hydraulic or pneumatic control channels (e.g., paragraphs 25 and 39). Thus, Domansky clearly indicates that gas pressure is applied either directly or indirectly to the fluids within the apparatus to enable fluid transport within the apparatus.
Pralong teaches the use of gas flow controllers for facilitating gas pressure application for enabling flow in cell membrane apparatus (see Description). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the same mechanism to facilitate fluid flow within the Domansky apparatus.
Regarding claim 29, Domansky teaches the method of claim 28, wherein said fluid contacts living cells in said culture area (e.g., paragraphs 25, 26, 36 – 39, 54 and 60).
Regarding claim 30, Domansky teaches the method of claim 29, wherein said fluid comprises culture media (e.g., paragraphs 25, 26, 36 – 39, 54 and 60).
Regarding claim 31, Domansky teaches the method of claim 28, wherein said pressure is positive pressure (e.g., the pumping cycle can be activated in a forward or reverse direction; paragraphs 37 and 38).
Regarding claim 32, Domansky teaches the method of claim 28, wherein said pressure is negative pressure (e.g., the pumping cycle can be activated in a forward or reverse direction; paragraphs 37 and 38).
Regarding claim 33, Domansky teaches the use of living cells with the disclosed apparatus (paragraphs 3 – 9, 33 and 35 – 41).
Conclusion
BRIAN J. SINES
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1796
/BRIAN J. SINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796