Note: In this Office Action, all the referred paragraph number(s) [xxxx] in the written specification (herein ‘spec’) of the present application is/are in the present application’s publication US 20240178726.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because of the following:
reference characters "402" (main rotor), as in para [0034], and "120" (RT rotor), as in para [0024]), have both been used to show the same subject matter, i.e., an radial inside core, as in Fig. 4.
reference characters "122" (RT stator), as in para [0024], and "404" (not in the spec), have both been used to show the same subject matter, i.e., an radial outside core, as in Fig. 4.
reference characters "120" (RT rotor), as in para [0024], and "502" (not in the spec), have both been used to show the same subject matter, i.e., an radial outside core, as in Fig. 5.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following formalities:
The spec, para [0024], with RT rotor 120 and a RT stator 122;
But, in para [0033], [0035] with the RT rotor 122 (“122” previously assigned to the RT stator);
But, in para [0033] with the RT stator 120 (“120” previously assigned to the RT rotor)
The spec, para [0025], with main rotor 110 and main stator 112;
But, in para [0028], [0032] with the main rotor 120 (“120” previously assigned to the RT rotor);
But, in para [0034], with the main stator 122 (“122” previously assigned to the RT stator);
The above are few examples of assigned pictorial ref numbers, each respectively is used for different subject matters. The applicant is required to provide all the appropriate corrections for the assigned ref number discrepancy issues in the spec, not just the above mentioned paragraphs thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 5-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-3, 5-6 and 8 are considered indefinite because these dependent claims respectively fail to further limit the distinctly claimed physical/structural subject matters as set forth in the independent claim 1 claiming a synchronous machine, i.e., a physical/structural device, instead of pointing out operational and/or controllable characteristics of the preceding claimed subject matters in claim 1.
For examples:
In claim 2, the RT rotor (120) is configured to have a low magnetizing susceptance and a low frequency to speed factor (k.sub.f).
The recited “a low magnetizing susceptance and a low frequency” are controllable characteristics, while “speed factor (k.sub.f)” is operational characteristic.
In claim 3, the RT stator (122) is configured to operate at a fixed frequency independent of a rotating speed of the RT rotor (120). Clearly claim 3 sets forth operational characteristics of the RT stator base on the RT rotor’s speed that is the RT rotor’s operational characteristic.
In claim 5, the RT stator (122) is configured to control magnetizing current in a voltage range. The limitations are controllably operational characteristics.
By the same token, claims 6 and 8 respectively set forth operational and/or controllable characteristics.
Thus, claims 2-3, 5-6 and 8 fail to further limit the distinctly claimed subject matters as set forth in the independent claim 1.
On the contrary, claim 4 furthers limit claim 1 by setting forth “the three-phase rectifier (124) is a poly-phase bridge diode rectifier”. Also, claim 9 furthers limit claim 1 by setting forth “the RT (108) is controlled via a three-phase full bridge inverter”. Clearly, claims 4 and 9 respectively properly furthers limit the distinctly claimed subject matters as set forth in the independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 9914847 A1 (Pub. Date: 1999-03-25, hereinafter ‘WO’847) in view of US 7259492 (hereinafter ‘US’492).
WO’847 discloses a synchronous machine excited using a rotating transformer (36-37 in fig. 3, 46-47 in fig. 4, 500 in figs. 7-9).
WO’847 machine comprising:
a main motor (figs. 1A-4) comprising:
a main rotor (10 in fig. 1B, 20 in fig. 2, 48 figs. 3-4) co-axially mounted and positioned between the first end and the second end of the shaft (30), and having Direct Current (DC) field windings (13 fig. 1B, 32 figs. 3-4);
a main stator (1 fig. 1A, 49 figs. 3-4) co-axially assembled over the main rotor, said main stator having electrically coupled Alternating Current (AC) poly-phase distributed windings (figs. 1A and 3-4) and a first predefined number of poles;
a rotating transformer (RT) (figs. 3-4 and 7-9) co-axially mounted and positioned between the first end and the second end of the shaft (30), said RT having an RT rotor (37 in fig. 3, 47 in fig. 4) configured to be rotatably coupled on the second end of the shaft, said RT rotor including AC poly-phase distributed windings and having a second predefined number of poles; an RT stator co-axially assembled over the RT rotor, wherein the RT stator has AC poly-phase distributed windings and the second predefined number of poles; and
a three-phase rectifier, in form of a power processor (71), converts an AC current from the RT rotor to a DC current, and wherein the DC current from the three-phase rectifier is transmitted to the DC field windings of the main rotor in order to excite the synchronous machine.
WO’847 discloses the RT and rectifier are electronic RT and electronic rectifier; nonetheless, fig. 3 of WO’847 shows conceptually the RT with the rectifier are co-axially mounted on the shaft (30). The claimed invention broadly sets forth “RT” having RT stator and RT rotor, each with distributed windings, but not specifically set forth the RT stator and RT rotor having respectively physical cores and conductive wires for respective RT stator and RT rotor windings. Hence, the claimed RT and rectifier are read as the RT and the rectifier in the WO’847.
WO’847 substantially discloses the claimed machine, except for the following:
a housing having a first opening and a second opening; a first endcap configured to be attached to the first opening of the housing, wherein the first endcap is provided with an aperture for the first end of the shaft to support an external radial load; and a second endcap configured to be attached to the second opening of the housing, wherein the second endcap is provided with a groove configured to support the second end of the shaft and enable rotational movement of the shaft.
the RT rotor and the RT stator each has poly-phase distributed windings.
RE the limitations listed in item (A) herein, US’492, however, teaches an electric machine comprising a housing (H100) (see included fig. 1 with annotations) having a first opening and a second opening; a first endcap configured to be attached to the first opening of the housing, wherein the first endcap is provided with an aperture for the first end of the shaft to support an external radial load; and a second endcap configured to be attached to the second opening of the housing, wherein the second endcap is provided with a groove configured to support the second end of the shaft and enable rotational movement of the shaft.
RE claim 7, US’492 teaches the electric machine comprising a first ball bearing (B100) coupled to the first end of the shaft and a second ball bearing (B100) coupled to the second end of the shaft, as shown in Fig. 1 the shaft has two axial ends, each with ball bearing B100 coupled thereto.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the present application, to modify the prior art machine by providing the housing and two end caps and bearings, as taught by US’492 and as in claims 1 and 7. Doing so would provide the machine means for mechanical protection, while supporting an external load and movement of the shaft.
RE the limitations listed in item (B) herein, WO’847 discloses the RT rotor and the RT stator, each having poly-phase windings (i.e., three-phase windings), but not distributed windings. Nonetheless, those skilled in the art would understand that configuring windings in a distribution manner or concentration manner is a matter of obvious engineering design choices because both distributed windings and concentrated windings are well-known in the art. Each type of distributed winding type and concentrated winding type has its own advantage and disadvantage. For non-limiting examples: distributed winding type can have larger number of teeth, and has a smoother, sinusoidal back-EMF as well as better heat dissipation, comparing to concentrated winding type, but require more space. On the other hand, concentrated winding type is a preferable choice for winding to produce a current of low voltage, and concentrated winding type use fewer, more compact coils, resulting in a simpler structure and more material efficiency, but produce a more trapezoidal back-EMF with higher harmonics and torque ripple.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the present application, to modify the prior art machine RT rotor’s and RT stator’s respective poly-phase windings to be AC poly-phase distributed windings. Doing so would be a matter of obvious engineering design choice based on particular industrial implementation of the machine.
RE claims 2-3, 5-6 and 8, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the present application, to controllably set forth operational characteristics, as in claims 2-3, 5-6 and 8, for the prior art machine because it would be a matter of obvious engineering design choices to set forth the claimed operational characteristics based on output requirements of a particular industrial implementations of the prior art machine.
RE claim 4, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the present application, to configure the prior art three-phase rectifier as a poly-phase bridge diode rectifier to operate at a frequency of the RT rotor because poly-phase bridge diode rectifier is well-known in the art.
RE claim 9, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the present application, to configure the prior art by providing a three-phase full bridge inverter using a pulse width modulation (PWM) technique because three-phase full bridge inverter using PWM is well known in the art for controlling RT rotor.
Inquiry
To schedule an interview, applicant is highly encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TRAN N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834