DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAM 20160118613.
Regarding claim 1, fig. 1 of Nam discloses a display panel, comprising:
a substrate 10;
a first electrode layer 20 disposed on a side of the substrate;
a first light-emitting layer 130 disposed on a side of the first electrode layer away from the substrate;
a first buffer layer 150 disposed on a side of the first light-emitting layer away from the substrate;
a first charge-generating layer 210/230 disposed on a side of the first buffer layer away from the substrate, wherein the first charge-generating layer comprises a first n-type charge-generating layer 210 disposed on a side of the first buffer layer away from the substrate and a first p-type charge-generating layer 230 disposed on a side of the first n-type charge-generating layer away from the substrate;
a second buffer layer 220 disposed between the first n-type charge-generating layer and the first p-type charge-generating layer;
a second light-emitting layer 330 disposed on a side of the first charge-generating layer away from the substrate; and
a second electrode layer 30 disposed on a side of the second light-emitting layer away from the substrate;
wherein an electron mobility of the first buffer layer 140 is less than an electron mobility of the first n-type charge-generating layer 210, and an electron mobility of the second buffer layer 220 is less than the electron mobility of the first n-type charge-generating layer (this is necessary the case as the n-type charge generation layer 210 may have a structure in which an n-type dopant is doped into an electron transport material and par [0046] Also, the first electron injection layer 150 may be formed of a material in which an electron transport material (which is that of 140) and an organo metal salt are mixed and [0052] The interlayer organic layer 220 does not include a dopant. The interlayer organic layer 220 may include the host material of the first electron transport layer 140 or the host material of the first hole transport layer 120. The interlayer organic layer 220 may include an organic material having an insulation property and therefore 210 which is n-type dopant is doped into an electron transport material has higher mobility that non-doped 140 and 220 does not include a dopant. The interlayer organic layer 220 may include the host material of the first electron transport layer 140 and include an organic material having an insulation property);
Nam does not disclose that a difference between a highest occupied molecular orbital energy level of the first buffer layer and a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital energy level of the first n-type charge-generating layer is greater than 2 eV and less than 4 eV; and a difference between a highest occupied molecular orbital energy level of the second buffer layer and the lowest unoccupied molecular orbital energy level of the first n-type charge-generating layer is greater than 2 eV and less than 4 eV.
However, although Nam is silent about the claimed range difference of greater than 2 eV and less than 4 eV, it should be noted that a range difference inherently exist in the Nam structure.
Therefore, the prior art of Nam provides foundation for experimental optimization in order to make it easy for electrons to transfer between layers.
Therefore, while the structure of Nam do not quantitatively state a range difference of greater than 2 eV and less than 4 eV, the courts have held that when the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is a size/proportion, then a prima facie case of obviousness exists [See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a device of Nam wherein a difference between a highest occupied molecular orbital energy level of the first buffer layer and a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital energy level of the first n-type charge-generating layer is greater than 2 eV and less than 4 eV; and a difference between a highest occupied molecular orbital energy level of the second buffer layer and the lowest unoccupied molecular orbital energy level of the first n-type charge-generating layer is greater than 2 eV and less than 4 eV in order to make it easy for electrons to transfer between layers.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 1 of Nam discloses wherein the display panel further comprises a first electron transport layer 140 disposed between the first light-emitting layer and the first buffer layer, wherein a side of the first buffer layer close to the first n-type charge-generating layer is in contact with the first n-type charge-generating layer, and a side of the first buffer layer away from the first n-type charge-generating layer is in contact with the first electron transport layer; and wherein a side of the second buffer layer close to the first n-type charge-generating layer is in contact with the first n-type charge-generating layer, and a side of the second buffer layer away from the first n-type charge-generating layer is in contact with the first p-type charge-generating layer.
Regarding clam 3, Nam does not disclose wherein a difference between the highest occupied molecular orbital energy level of the first buffer layer and a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital energy level of the first electron transport layer is greater than 2 eV and less than 4 eV.
However, although Nam is silent about the claimed range difference of greater than 2 eV and less than 4 eV, it should be noted that a range difference inherently exist in the Nam structure.
Therefore, the prior art of Nam provides foundation for experimental optimization in order to make it easy for electrons to transfer between layers.
Therefore, while the structure of Nam do not quantitatively state a range difference of greater than 2 eV and less than 4 eV, the courts have held that when the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is a size/proportion, then a prima facie case of obviousness exists [See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a device of Nam wherein a difference between the highest occupied molecular orbital energy level of the first buffer layer and a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital energy level of the first electron transport layer is greater than 2 eV and less than 4 in order to make it easy for electrons to transfer between layers.
Regarding claim 4, Nam does not disclose wherein the electron mobility of the first n-type charge-generating layer is greater than or equal to 10.sup.−4 cm.sup.2/Vs, the electron mobility of the first buffer layer is less than 10.sup.−4 cm.sup.2/Vs, and the electron mobility of the second buffer layer is less than 10.sup.−4 cm.sup.2/Vs.
However, it would have obvious to form a device of Nam comprising wherein the electron mobility of the first n-type charge-generating layer is greater than or equal to 10.sup.−4 cm.sup.2/Vs, the electron mobility of the first buffer layer is less than 10.sup.−4 cm.sup.2/Vs, and the electron mobility of the second buffer layer is less than 10.sup.−4 cm.sup.2/V in order to be able generate electron faster than being able to transport in order to have property device function.
Regarding claim 5, Nam does not disclose wherein an electron mobility of the first electron transport layer is greater than 10.sup.−5 cm.sup.2/Vs and less than 10.sup.−4 cm.sup.2/Vs, the electron mobility of the first buffer layer is greater than 10.sup.−5 cm.sup.2/Vs, and the electron mobility of the second buffer layer is greater than 10.sup.−5 cm.sup.2/Vs.
However, it would have obvious to form a device of Nam comprising wherein an electron mobility of the first electron transport layer is greater than 10.sup.−5 cm.sup.2/Vs and less than 10.sup.−4 cm.sup.2/Vs, the electron mobility of the first buffer layer is greater than 10.sup.−5 cm.sup.2/Vs, and the electron mobility of the second buffer layer is greater than 10.sup.−5 cm.sup.2/Vs in order to be able injection electron faster than being able to transport in order to have property device function and for the electron to be block by the second buffer layer to prevent leakage.
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to form a device of Nam comprising wherein an electron work function of the first buffer layer is between an electron work function of the first n-type charge-generating layer and an electron work function of the first p-type charge-generating layer, and an electron work function of the second buffer layer is between the electron work function of the first n-type charge-generating layer and the electron work function of the first p-type charge-generating layer in order to make it easy for electrons to transfer between layers.
Regarding claim 7, it would have been obvious to form a device comprising wherein the electron work function of the first buffer layer is greater than 5.5 eV and less than 7.5 eV; and wherein the electron work function of the second buffer layer is greater than 5.5 eV and less than 7.5 eV in order to make it easy for electrons to transfer between layers base material desired and applicant’s specification.
Regarding claim 8, Nam discloses (see examiner explanation in rejection of claim 1) wherein the first n-type charge-generating layer comprises a first electron transport material and a first charge doped material, the first buffer layer is composed of the first electron transport material, and the second buffer layer is composed of the first electron transport material.
Regarding claim 9, Nam does not disclose wherein a difference between a thickness of the first buffer layer and a thickness of the second buffer layer is greater than or equal to 0 angstrom and less than or equal to 50 angstroms.
However, although Nam is silent about the claimed range, it should be noted that a range difference inherently exist in the Nam structure.
Therefore, the prior art of Nam provides foundation for experimental optimization in order to make it easy for electrons to transfer between layers.
Therefore, while the structure of Nam do not quantitatively state the claimed range, the courts have held that when the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is a size/proportion, then a prima facie case of obviousness exists [See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a device of Nam wherein a difference between a thickness of the first buffer layer and a thickness of the second buffer layer is greater than or equal to 0 angstrom and less than or equal to 50 angstroms in order to make it easy for electrons to transfer between layers.
Regarding claim 10, Nam does not discloses wherein a mass ratio of the first electron transport material to the first charge doped material in the first n-type charge-generating layer ranges from 99:1 to 80:20.
However, although Nam is silent about the claimed range, it should be noted that a range difference inherently exist in the Nam structure.
Therefore, the prior art of Nam provides foundation for experimental optimization in order to make it easy for electrons to transfer between layers.
Therefore, while the structure of Nam do not quantitatively state the claimed range, the courts have held that when the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is a size/proportion, then a prima facie case of obviousness exists [See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a device of Nam wherein a mass ratio of the first electron transport material to the first charge doped material in the first n-type charge-generating layer ranges from 99:1 to 80:20 in order to make it easy for electrons to transfer between layers.
Regarding claim 11, fig. 1 of Nam disclose wherein the display panel comprises a third buffer layer 320 and a fourth buffer layer 310, wherein the third buffer layer is disposed between the first p-type charge-generating layer and the second light-emitting layer, and the fourth buffer layer 310 is disposed between the first p-type charge-generating layer and the second buffer layer; and wherein a hole mobility of the third buffer layer 320 is less than a hole mobility of the first p-type charge-generating layer 320, and a hole mobility of the fourth buffer layer 310 is less than the hole mobility of the first p-type charge-generating layer (this is necessary the case as the first p-type charge-generating layer is doped).
Regarding claim 12, Nam does not disclose of wherein a difference between a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital energy level of the third buffer layer and a highest occupied molecular orbital energy level of the first p-type charge-generating layer is greater than 2 eV and less than 4 eV; and wherein a difference between a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital energy level of the fourth buffer layer and the highest occupied molecular orbital energy level of the first p-type charge-generating layer is greater than 2 eV and less than 4 eV.
However, although Nam is silent about the claimed range difference of greater than 2 eV and less than 4 eV, it should be noted that a range difference inherently exist in the Nam structure.
Therefore, the prior art of Nam provides foundation for experimental optimization in order to make it easy for electrons to transfer between layers.
Therefore, while the structure of Nam do not quantitatively state a range difference of greater than 2 eV and less than 4 eV, the courts have held that when the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is a size/proportion, then a prima facie case of obviousness exists [See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a device of Nam wherein a difference between a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital energy level of the third buffer layer and a highest occupied molecular orbital energy level of the first p-type charge-generating layer is greater than 2 eV and less than 4 eV; and wherein a difference between a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital energy level of the fourth buffer layer and the highest occupied molecular orbital energy level of the first p-type charge-generating layer is greater than 2 eV and less than 4 eV in order to make it easy for holes to transfer between layers.
Regarding claims 17-18, Nam does not disclose of wherein an electron work function of the third buffer layer is between an electron work function of the first n-type charge-generating layer and an electron work function of the first p-type charge-generating layer, and an electron work function of the fourth buffer layer is between the electron work function of the first n-type charge-generating layer and the electron work function of the first p-type charge-generating layer; wherein the electron work function of the third buffer layer is greater than 5.5 eV and less than 7.5 eV; and wherein the electron work function of the fourth buffer layer is greater than 5.5 eV and less than 7.5 eV.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a device of Nam wherein an electron work function of the third buffer layer is between an electron work function of the first n-type charge-generating layer and an electron work function of the first p-type charge-generating layer, and an electron work function of the fourth buffer layer is between the electron work function of the first n-type charge-generating layer and the electron work function of the first p-type charge-generating layer; wherein the electron work function of the third buffer layer is greater than 5.5 eV and less than 7.5 eV; and wherein the electron work function of the fourth buffer layer is greater than 5.5 eV and less than 7.5 eV in order to make it easy for holes to transfer between layers.
Regarding claim 19, Nam discloses wherein the first p-type charge-generating layer comprises a first hole transport material and a second charge doped material, the third buffer layer is composed of the first hole transport material, and the fourth buffer layer is composed of the first hole transport material (see par [0050] and [0054]).
Regarding claim 20, Nam does not disclose of wherein a difference between a thickness of the third buffer layer and a thickness of the fourth buffer layer is greater than or equal to 0 angstrom and less than or equal to 50 angstroms.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a device of Nam wherein a difference between a thickness of the third buffer layer and a thickness of the fourth buffer layer is greater than or equal to 0 angstrom and less than or equal to 50 angstroms in order to make it easy for holes to transfer between layers.
Claims 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893