DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and/or arguments submitted on 09/24/2026 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-6, 9-19, 23-25 are pending:
Claims 7-8, 20-22 are canceled
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to specification objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The specification objections of record has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to drawing objections have been fully considered.
Objections based on reference characters 28/41 are withdrawn due to amendment of Fig3/4.
Not shown claimed subject matter objection:
Claim 8 (Subject matter amended into instant Claim 1)
Applicant asserts, page 9-10, that Fig3 clearly shows a width between left/right rims 35a/b and an apex height between 5-20% of the width of heating element 40.
The office respectfully disagrees with applicant’s conclusions and understanding of the scope of their claim language. The office further notes that the issue of record is a drawing objection for not shown subject matter.
Applicant’s assertions that the claim “is sufficiently clear as presently drafted … readily understood … clearly defined and capable of being understood and implemented by the skilled person” are assertions that are implicitly directed towards a rejection under 35 USC 112a/b for an issue of indefinite limitation and/or a lack of written description. The office agrees that the claim language as presented is definite and quite understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The issue is that applicant’s presented claim language does not correspond to their drawings.
Applicant Fig3, see annotated Fig3 below, shows a curvature of heating element 40 that has a physical curve that extends in both the depth (D.dir) direction and the width (W.dir) direction. The curvature has a width dimension corresponding to 100% of the width of the heating element 40 as shown between width locations A and B. Applicant’s claim language of “said curvature of said heating element corresponds to between 5 % and 20 % of said width of said heating element” claims that between 5-20% of the width of the heating element has a curvature. This is not shown. The curvature extends along the full width of the heating element, ie all the way between width locations A-B. Applicant’s claim language would correspond to a possible heating element where the majority of the heating element would be “flat” in the width direction of Fig3 and 5-20% of the heating element would have a curvature in the width direction.
The office believes that applicant believes that their claim language is limited to where the depth/height of the curvature (depth/height between depth locations D1-D2) has a value that is between 5-20% of the value of the width of the heating element (width A-B). This understanding is based on what is shown in Fig3 and applicant’s assertions on page 9-10. The presented claim language is not as narrow as the above assumed believed claim scope, as the instant claim language merely requires that “said curvature … corresponds to … said width” (office added emphasis). The phrase “corresponds to” is quite broad and does not limit, or even imply to limit, the corresponding to a particular value of the depth/height parameter of the curvature of the heating element.
The office strongly encourages applicant to reword their claim language to correspond to their desired claim scope. The office reminds applicant that the office is available for an interview, if applicant feels that such would advance prosecution.
Claim 20
Withdrawn due to cancelation.
Claim 21
Withdrawn due to cancelation.
Claim 22
Withdrawn due to cancelation.
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of record has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to 35 USC 112a rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112a rejections of record has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to 35 USC 112b have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112b rejections of record has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to 35 USC 102 art rejections by Wagner (DE 10 2014 210 669) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 102 art rejections of record has been withdrawn.
In particular, the amendment of the subject matter of old claims 7/8, which was rejected of record under 35 USC 103 by Wagner (DE 10 2014 210 669) in view of Block (US 7,941,884), into the independent claim 1 was persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to 35 USC 103 art rejections by Wagner (DE 10 2014 210 669) in view of Block (US 7,941,884) have been fully considered.
The office notes that applicant did not provide arguments directed towards rejection of record that involved teaching references: Albert (US 2021/0059460), Okamato (JP 2009-024970), or Huijsing (US 2022/0205645).
Applicant asserts, page 10-11, that the modification of Wagner to have a curved heating element as taught by Block is based on impermissible hindsight, as Block teaches a curved heating element based on the motivation of providing a water flow path over the heating element as opposed to the standing water arrangement of Wagner.
The office respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The rejection of record relies upon the teaching of Block that a curved heating element is a known in the art shape for a heating element. Block further teaches (C2L10-24) that while the heating element could be any required design that it “is advantageously rounded”. Block does not teach that one of ordinary skill in the art would only use a rounded heating element when a moving water flow path is desired, as asserted by applicant. Block teaches that a curved heating element is known in the art, and also that it is preferable to use a curved heating element.
The instant motivation does not come from “knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure”, and therefore such a modification is not hindsight.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1, “said curvature of said heating element corresponds to between 5 % and 20 % of said width of said heating element, and wherein said curvature has uniform rounding and said heating element is a casing section of 5 % to 20 % of an entire tube” the closest support comes from: Fig3 which shows the curvature over the full width; and Fig2 and Para34, however that indicates that the heating element “extends not only over almost the entire width but also over the entire height of the steam generator 21”.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“electrical connection device” in claim 1
Corresponding structure
Plug 18, cable 19, housing 51, connection lugs 53, and/or contact arm 54, as informed by Fig1/3/5
Or equivalents
“holding part” in claim 19
Corresponding structure
Surrounding structure that hold/defines the body around plug lug/sockets, as inform by Para45 and Fig5
Or equivalents
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“by means of a snap connection or a clip connection” in claim 16.
“by means of contact arm” in claim 18
“by means of steam” in claim 23
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Objections
Claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1
L15-16, delete duplicate “said heating chamber” introduced via amendment
L18, amend “[[said]]a heating chamber depth” to use the proper antecedent basis indication for the first instance of the claim element
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9-16, 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner (DE 10 2014 210 669) in view of Block (US 7,941,884).
Claim 1
Wagner discloses:
“A steam generation device (best seen Fig1/3, evaporator 1), having:
a device housing (housing of evaporator 1 including lid 13 and bottom 2);
a heating chamber (water receiving space R with in lid 13) for water (best seen Fig3, volume of water V to height L1), said heating chamber having a water inlet (inlet 5/11) for connection to a water supply (Fig2, water connection 20 via pump 21) and a steam outlet (steam outlet 18),
a heating element (surface heater 9) on said heating chamber for heating up and evaporating water therein (heater 9 liquid-facing front 9a; SpecQuote1, heated zone B1), wherein said heating element has a heating element carrier (carrier plate 28) and heating conductors (thick film conductors 29) arranged on said heating element carrier (best seen Fig3, conductors 29 on non-liquid side of carrier 28 of heater 9),
wherein:
said heating chamber (space R) and said heating element (heater 9) are arranged in said device housing (Fig1/3, space R and heater 9 are arranged within evaporator 1 lib 13),
said heating element (heater 9) forms a wall of said heating chamber (heater 9 forms the bottom wall of space R) and is connected in a sealed manner (seal 12/12a/12b) to other walls of said heating chamber (best seen Fig4, heater 9 sealed against lid 13 and bottom 2 via seals 12),
said heating element is metallic (SpecQuote2, carrier 28 is steel),
said heating chamber said heating chamber (space R) has a heating chamber length and a heating chamber width (annotated Fig1, space R length, width, depth, where coordinate directions are based a vertical direction thereto due to the standing volume of water V in Fig3), wherein said heating chamber length is larger than said heating chamber width and said heating chamber depth (see annotated Fig1 below. The Longer axis is longer than the Wide and Deep axes/directions),
…
an electrical connection device (electrical connection 10) for said steam generation device is provided laterally on said device housing on an elongated side of said heating chamber (best seen Fig1/3, electrical connection 10 is provided on the short “left” side of Fig1 extending through opening 6 of bottom 2).”
SpecQuote:
1) “The surface heating 9 optionally has at least one heated or heated portion or at least one heated zone B1 and at least one unheated portion or at least one unheated zone B2. While, for example, at least one heating conductor (eg meander-shaped) is laid on the heated zone B1, it is missing at the unheated zone B2. A temperature of the heated zone B1 is in the on state above a predetermined temperature T, while a temperature of the unheated zone B2 in the on state is below the predetermined temperature T. In particular, the water may thereby be agitated strongly at the heated zone B1, possibly even boiling, while the water or its free surface at the unheated zone B2 remains comparatively calm. The unheated zone B2 takes here at least one corner of the surface heating 9 one.”
2) “The carrier plate 28 For example, may be a sheet steel part whose front 9a exemplified bare or scaled.”
Wagner is silent to the heater 9 being curved away from the heating target zone and that the heating element curvature corresponds to the width within the claimed range.
Block teaches (Fig1/2) that it is known in the art to form the heating unit 11 such that it is in an elongated and curved manner such that (Fig3/4) the open/inside of the curve faces a target 29. The resulting arrangement/location of the heater 11 is curved such that the curvature extends along an extension direction away from the target. Block further teaches (C2L10-24) that while the heater could be any required design, it “is advantageously rounded”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flat heater of Wagner to have a curvature along the length of the heater cresting away from the heating target / space R of Wagner, as Block teaches that a rounded heater is advantageous relative to other possible heater shapes, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the arrangement of Wagner with a known and working curved heater shape cresting away from space R as taught by Block, and the resulting modified curved heating element of Wagner by the teachings of Block have the curvature over full width and full length which includes the 5-20% ranges claimed – to at least the same degree as applicant has support for the instant limitations.
Claim 2
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses: “The device according to claim 1, wherein said heating element (Wagner: heater 9) is designed as a thick-film heating element with thick-film heating conductors (Wagner: thick film conductors 29).”
Claim 3
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses: “The device according to claim 1, wherein said connection device is designed as a plug connection device with plug connection lugs or plug connection sockets (Wagner: best seen Fig1/3, electrical connection 10) connected to said heating element electrically or structurally or mechanically (Wagner: SpecQuote, Fig1/3, electrical connection is electrically, structurally, and mechanically connected to heater 9).”
SpecQuote: “The surface heating 9 has an electrical connection on its rear side 10 on, which through the passage opening 6 protrudes.”
Claim 6
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses: “The device according to claim 1, wherein said heating chamber and said device housing are flat (Wagner: Fig1/3, housing of lid 13 and bottom 2 of space R are shown flat) and said electrical connection device protrudes from a narrow side of said device housing (Wagner: best seen Fig1/3, electrical connection 10 is provided on the short “left” side of Fig1 extending through opening 6 of bottom 2).”
Claim 10
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses: “The device according to claim 6, wherein said heating chamber is flat (Wagner: space R is arranged flat) and said heating chamber has long sides and has short sides (Wagner: best seen Fig1, space R has long and short sides), wherein said water inlet (Wagner: inlet 11) and said steam outlet (Wagner: steam outlet 18) discharge into said heating chamber at said short sides (Wagner: best seen Fig1, inlet 11 and outlet 18 are arranged at corners of the short flat sides).
Claim 9
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses: “The device according to claim 1, wherein said device housing has an elongated trough for said heating chamber (Wagner: housing of evaporator 1 with lid 13 is elongated trough to form space R), wherein said water inlet and said steam outlet discharge into said elongated trough Wagner: (inlet 11 and outlet 18 fluidly pass through space R), wherein said trough has lateral trough walls (Wagner: best seen Fig1, lateral sidewalls 17 of lid 13 and lateral rim 4 of bottom 2), wherein on said lateral trough walls an all-round trough rim is provided (Wagner: best seen Fig4, rim of sidewalls 17 of lid 13 near lug 14 with rim 4 of bottom), wherein said heating element (Wagner: heater 9) is in sealing contact (Wagner: seals 12/12a/12b) with said trough rim such that said trough and said heating element form said heating chamber (Wagner: lid 13 and heater 9 form space R) and completely enclose said heating chamber (Wagner: best seen Fig4, heater 9 sealed against lid 13 and bottom 2 via seals 12).”
Claim 11
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses: “The device according to claim 9, wherein a groove with a seal inserted therein extends around said trough rim (Wagner: best seen Fig4, groove of lid 13 in which seals 12 are inserted), wherein said heating element is in all-round contact with said seal (Wagner: best seen Fig1/4, seals 12 contact full perimeter of heater 9).”
Claim 12
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses: “The device according to claim 11, wherein said device housing has a housing upper part (Wagner: lid 13) being fastened (Wagner: snap tabs 7 with lugs 14) to said trough (Wagner: lid 13 is a part of the trough), said trough forming a housing lower part (Wagner: bottom 2), such that said housing upper part presses said heating element against said trough or against said seal (Wagner: best seen Fig1/3/4, lid 13, seals 12, heater 9, and bottom 2 all mutually press to form seals and trough).”
Claim 13
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses: “The device according to claim 11, wherein said housing upper part has an all-round pressure rib (Wagner: best seen Fig1/4, vertical flange of sidewalls 17 of lid 13), said pressure rib being opposite said trough rim (Wagner: best seen Fig4, vertical flange of lid 13 is opposite rim 4 of bottom 2) or extending outside said trough rim (Wagner: best seen Fig4, vertical flange of lid 13 extends outward to the left of rim 4 of bottom 2) over said seal (Wagner: Fig4, lid 13 flange and bottom 2 rim 4 extend over seals 12).”
Claim 14
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses: “The device according to claim 13, wherein said pressure rib extends all the way around (Wagner: the cross-section shown in Fig4 extends fully around the perimeter as shown in exploded view Fig1) and presses said heating element all the way around against said trough rim extending all the way around or against said seal (Wagner: best seen Fig1/3/4, lid 13, seals 12, heater 9, and bottom 2 all mutually press to form seals and trough along full perimeter).”
Claim 15
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses: “The device according to claim 9, wherein said trough or a housing upper part (Wagner: overall housing, lid 13) has at one side, outside said all-round trough rim, supporting projections (Wagner: Fig1/3/4, lugs 14 are projections outside rim), wherein said heating element (Wagner: heater 9) is with said supporting projections in contact with a lateral rim for fixing a position of said heating element in said device and on said trough (Wagner: best seen Fig1/3/4, lid 13, seals 12, heater 9, and bottom 2 all mutually press to form seals and trough along full perimeter due to clamping force between lugs 14 and snap tabs 7).”
Claim 16
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses: “The device according to claim 9, wherein a housing upper part is detachably fastened to said trough by means of a snap connection or a clip connection (Wagner: Fig1/3/4, lugs 14 and snap tabs 7), wherein a fastening is provided running all round said heating chamber (Wagner: best seen Fig1, lugs 14 and snap tabs 7 located along full perimeter).”
Claim 23
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses:
“A water-bearing domestic appliance (Wagner: best seen Fig1/3, evaporator 1), having
an appliance housing (Wagner: Fig2, housing of cooker H shown schematically) and
a treatment chamber (Wagner: Fig2, food treatment room S) for preparing cooked food by means of steam (Wagner: SpecQuote),
wherein a device for steam generation according to claim 1 (see claim 1) is arranged outside said treatment chamber (Wagner: Fig1/2, rearward strap 8 mounts evaporator 1 to cooker H outside room S, see dashed flow arrow of steam to room S), inside said appliance housing (Wagner: Fig2, evaporator is schematically shown within housing of cooker H).”
SpecQuote: “The exemplified neck-like steam outlet 18 like For example, be connected to a hose for guiding the steam generated by the evaporator in the food treatment room S of the household Dampfgargeräts H.”
Claim 24
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses: “The water-bearing domestic appliance according to claim 23, wherein said device for steam generation (Wagner: evaporator 1) has a longitudinal extension direction (Wagner: best seen Fig1, evaporator 1 extension in the vertical direction may be defined as longitudinal direction, the vertical direction is the overall direction of water flow from the inlet 18 to outlet 11/5) and is arranged upright in said longitudinal extension direction (Wanger: best seen Fig1/3, evaporator 1 is arranged in the vertical direction is use, as informed by water fill level L1 to contact pins 16 of Fig3).”
Claim 25
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses: “The water-bearing domestic appliance according to claim 24, wherein said device for steam generation is flat (Wagner: best seen Fig1, evaporator 1 has a flat/boxy arrangement) and arranged with a flat side facing said treatment chamber (Wagner: Fig2, evaporator 1 and treatment room S are both shown schematically within cooker H, as evaporator 1 is boxy in shape – any orientation of evaporator 1 relative to room S would result in a flat side facing room S).”
Claim(s) 4, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner (DE 10 2014 210 669) in view of Block (US 7,941,884), and in further view of Albert (US 2021/0059460).
Claim 4
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses the arrangement of claim 3.
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block as applied to claim 3 is silent to electrical connection protruding laterally from the housing.
Albert teaches (Fig2-4; Para36) that it is known in the art to arrange the electrical connection 31 with a connector plug arrangement to protrude laterally from the housing cover part 45 of an evaporator 20 of a steam cooker 11, and that such a location/arrangement is advantageous.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to modify the electrical connection of the modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block to protrude laterally from the housing, as Albert teaches that such a location/arrangement of the electrical connection of an evaporator is a known in the art selection and that such a selection is advantageous, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block with a working, known and advantageous arrangement of the electrical connection protruding laterally from the evaporator housing as taught by Albert.
Claim 17
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses the arrangement of claim 1.
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block as applied to claim 1 is silent to the electrical connection housing being a part of the upper housing.
Albert teaches: “wherein said electrical connection device (Fig2-4, electrical connection 31) is designed with a connection housing (Fig2-4, electrical housing of electrical connection 31) on a housing upper part (Fig2-4, outer side 28 of cover part 45 is upper housing part relative to base 33) of said device housing (Fig2-4, cover 45 of evaporator 20), wherein said connection housing is shaped onto said device housing in one piece (Fig2-4, Para36, housing of electrical connection 31 is fastened cover 45, thus is integral in the assembled state).” Albert further teaches (Para36) that such a location/arrangement of the electrical connection is advantageous.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to modify the electrical connection housing to extend from and be a part of the upper housing of the modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block, as Albert teaches that such a location/arrangement of the electrical connection of an evaporator is a known in the art selection and that such a selection is advantageous, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block with a working, known and advantageous arrangement of the electrical connection housing with the evaporator housing as taught by Albert.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner (DE 10 2014 210 669) in view of Block (US 7,941,884) and Albert (US 2021/0059460), and in further view of Okamato (JP 2009-024970).
Claim 18
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block and Albert as applied in Claim 17 discloses: “The device according to claim 17, wherein said connection housing (Wagner: electrical connection 10; Albert: electrical connection 31) is open towards at least one side (Albert: Fig2-4;Wagner: best seen Fig1/3), wherein plug units are insertable into said connection housing from said side and are detachably fastenable therein (functional limitation. Plugs are capable of being inserted and detached with electrical connection. Albert; Para36, connector plug 31. The office notes that actual plugs are not required by the BRI of the claim scope), …”
The above noted limitations are considered functional language, and as the structure disclosed in the reference anticipates the claimed structure, the structure disclosed is capable of performing the recited function, see MPEP 2114.I,II. However, the functional language is disclosed as noted above.
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block and Albert as applied in Claim 17 is silent to the particular internal electrical between the heater and the input electrical connection.
Okamoto teaches (SpecQuote) that it is known in the art of to form an electrical connection between a housing component and an internal movable during assembly component by using leaf springs to electrically contact metal contacts embedded on the internal component.
SpecQuote: “In this case, the three metal contacts are embedded through the side wall of the water supply tank 30 so that the metal contacts and the water in the water supply tank 30 can be electrically connected. Therefore, when the tip of the leaf spring urges the metal contact embedded in the side surface of the water supply tank 30, the contact is turned on, and the contact is in electrical communication with the water in the water supply tank 30. It becomes. By comprising in this way, it is embedded in the side wall of the water supply tank 30, and the said contact located below the water surface of the water supply tank 30 among the above-mentioned three contacts is in the water supply tank 30. Conduction with water. Therefore, the three contact points are urged by the three leaf springs, and the conduction state between the three contact points and the water in the water supply tank 30 is detected to detect the conduction state. The water level can be measured.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to the prior art to select known electrical connections for the internal connection between the heater and the housing of the modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block and Albert, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have to make such a selection in order to practice the disclosure of the modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block and Albert, and Okamoto teaches that it is known in the art to use leaf spring electrical connections between a housing and an internal component to form an electrical communication between the two components, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block and Albert with a working and known leaf spring electrical communication/connection between the heater and the input electrical connection in the housing, as Okamoto teaches that the application of leaf springs are a known and working electrical connection selection.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner (DE 10 2014 210 669) in view of Block (US 7,941,884).
in view of Albert (US 2021/0059460), Okamato (JP 2009-024970).
Claim 19
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block, Albert, and Okamoto as applied in Claim 18 discloses: “The device according to claim 18, wherein said plug units (not a required component – merely a continuation of the functional limitation of Claim 18; Albert; Para36, connector plug 31) have plug connection lugs or plug connection sockets being held in a holding part (functional limitation. Body of electrical connection would be the holding part; Albert; Para36, connector plug 31) consisting of …, wherein said contact arms protrude in an insertion direction (Albert: Fig4, plugs insert right to left and the heater is just to the left of electrical connection 31).”
The above noted limitations are considered functional language, and as the structure disclosed in the reference anticipates the claimed structure, the structure disclosed is capable of performing the recited function, see MPEP 2114.I,II. However, the functional language is disclosed as noted above.
Wagner discloses that housing parts 13/2 are each formed of plastic and Albert discloses that the cover part 45 to which the electrical connection in integral is formed of plastic.
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block, Albert, and Okamoto are silent to the selection of plastic or any particular material as the material for the body of the electrical connection.
It is well known to select plastic for electrical housings and covers in order to provide electrical insulation protection for users.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a material for the electrical housing body of the modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block, Albert, and Okamoto, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have to make such a material selection, and it is well known to select plastic for electrical housings and covers in order to provide electrical insulation protection for users, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block, Albert, and Okamoto with a working and well known material selection of plastic for the body of the electrical connections.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner (DE 10 2014 210 669) in view of Block (US 7,941,884), and in further view of Okamato (JP 2009-024970).
Claim 5
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block discloses: “The device according to claim 1, wherein said electrical connection device has contact fields connected to said heating conductors (Wagner: Fig3, electrical connection generically / schematically shown between heater 9 and electrical connection 10), …”
The modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block is silent the particular internal electrical between the heater and the input electrical connection.
Okamoto teaches (SpecQuote) that it is known in the art of to form an electrical connection between a housing component and an internal movable during assembly component by using leaf springs to electrically contact metal contacts embedded on the internal component.
SpecQuote: “In this case, the three metal contacts are embedded through the side wall of the water supply tank 30 so that the metal contacts and the water in the water supply tank 30 can be electrically connected. Therefore, when the tip of the leaf spring urges the metal contact embedded in the side surface of the water supply tank 30, the contact is turned on, and the contact is in electrical communication with the water in the water supply tank 30. It becomes. By comprising in this way, it is embedded in the side wall of the water supply tank 30, and the said contact located below the water surface of the water supply tank 30 among the above-mentioned three contacts is in the water supply tank 30. Conduction with water. Therefore, the three contact points are urged by the three leaf springs, and the conduction state between the three contact points and the water in the water supply tank 30 is detected to detect the conduction state. The water level can be measured.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to the prior art to select known electrical connections for the internal connection between the heater and the housing of the modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have to make such a selection in order to practice the disclosure of the modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block, and Okamoto teaches that it is known in the art to use leaf spring electrical connections between a housing and an internal component to form an electrical communication between the two components, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the modified arrangement of Wagner by the teachings of Block with a working and known leaf spring electrical communication/connection between the heater and the input electrical connection in the housing, as Okamoto teaches that the application of leaf springs are a known and working electrical connection selection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN S HUNTER, JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3761