DETAILED ACTION
1. This non-final Office action is responsive to Applicant’s response filed on 12/12/2025. Applicant elected species 1 (claims 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 13-15) and withdrew species 2-4 (claims 6 and 8-11). Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 13-15 are presented for examination and claims 1-2, 4 and 13-15 are rejected for the reasons indicated herein below.
Election/Restrictions
2. Claims 6 and 8-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/12/2025.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, lines 3-4, recites “or inversely proportional to the neutral point voltage unbalance of the ARCP inverter, to a neutral point unbalance voltage ripple of the ARCP inverter” it should be changed to “or inversely proportional to . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2, 4 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Norrga et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0246746 A1) in view of Mukherjee et al. (“A Flexible Discontinuous Modulation Scheme with Hybrid Capacitor Voltage Balancing Strategy for Three-Level NPC Traction Inverter”; IEEE, Vol. 66, No. 5; May 1, 2019; Pages 3333-3343).
Regarding claim 1, Norrga et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-9) discloses “A control apparatus, comprising a modulator configured to carry out a commutation of an auxiliary resonant commutated pole (ARCP) inverter by a pulse width modulation (PWM) technique (e.g. Figs. 1 and 6, see at least 30-32 and 24, also see the abstract, para. 0030-0038, para. 0060 and para. 0068. Implicit), wherein the modulator configured to use a Continuous PWM (CPWM) for the commutation of the ARCP inverter (e.g. Figs. 1 and 6, see at least 30-32 and 24, also see the abstract, para. 0030-0038, para. 0060 and para. 0068. Implicit), and a modulation control configured to dynamically select the CPWM in a such a way that switching losses of the ARCP inverter are reduced while a failure of the commutation of the ARCP inverter due to a neutral point voltage unbalance of the ARCP inverter is avoided (e.g. Figs. 1 and 6, see at least 30-32 and 24, also see the abstract, para. 0030-0038 and para. 0060-0068. Implicit)”. Norrga et al. does not appear to explicitly disclose “a Discontinuous PWM (DPWM)” and that the modulation control is “configured to dynamically select either the CPWM or the DWPM”. However, Mukherjee et al. discloses the use of “a Discontinuous PWM (DPWM)” and that the modulation control is “configured to dynamically select either the CPWM or the DWPM (Norrga et al. teaches the CPWM; and Mukherjee et al. teaches the DPWM and the ability of selecting one pulse modulation from two different modulations, e.g. see Figs. 1-15, also see the abstract, the Introduction, the Flexible Modulation Strategy, the Performance Analysis and the Conclusion “when the EV runs at high speed with heavy load conditions, the power consumptions are significantly high and the converter efficiency becomes a key factor to consider in this operating zone. Discontinuous PWM (DPWM) is the obvious choice in this region due to its intrinsic characteristics of less number of commutations and the associated lower switching losses. In some operating conditions, DPWM can reduce the switching losses by at most 50% ... This reduction in losses improves the thermal reliability in addition to enhancing the efficiency of the inverter)”. Having a modulation control being configured to dynamically select one of two modulation techniques as taught by Mukherjee et al. in the inverter of Norrga et al. would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a modulation control configured to dynamically select one of two modulation techniques as taught by Mukherjee et al. in the inverter of Norrga et al. for the purpose of being able to switch between the two modulation techniques for their respective advantages. The “DPWM can reduce the switching losses by at most 50% … This reduction in losses improves the thermal reliability in addition to enhancing the efficiency of the inverter”. Also for the purpose of making the device more widely usable.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Norrga et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-9) and Mukherjee et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-15) discloses “wherein the modulation control is configured to select the DPWM, if the neutral point voltage unbalance resulting from the DPWM is estimated to not cause a failure of the commutation of the ARCP inverter (Norrga et al. teaches the CPWM, e.g. Figs. 1 and 6, see at least 30-32 and 24, also see the abstract, para. 0030-0038 and para. 0060-0068; and Mukherjee et al. teaches the DPWM and the ability of selecting one pulse modulation from two different modulations, e.g. see Figs. 1-15, also see the abstract, the Introduction, the Flexible Modulation Strategy “D. Neutral Point Voltage Regulation”, the Performance Analysis “Capacitor Voltage Balancing Performance” and the Conclusion. Implicit), and the modulation control is configured to select the CPWM for the commutation, if the neutral point voltage unbalance resulting from the DPWM is estimated to cause a failure of the commutation of the ARCP inverter (Norrga et al. teaches the CPWM, e.g. Figs. 1 and 6, see at least 30-32 and 24, also see the abstract, para. 0030-0038 and para. 0060-0068; and Mukherjee et al. teaches the DPWM and the ability of selecting one pulse modulation from two different modulations, e.g. see Figs. 1-15, also see the abstract, the Introduction, the Flexible Modulation Strategy “D. Neutral Point Voltage Regulation”, the Performance Analysis “Capacitor Voltage Balancing Performance” and the Conclusion. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Norrga et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-9) and Mukherjee et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-15) discloses “wherein the modulation control is configured to monitor one or more unbalance metrics directly or inversely proportional to the neutral point voltage unbalance of the ARCP inverter, to a neutral point unbalance voltage ripple of the ARCP inverter (Norrga et al. e.g. Figs. 1 and 6, see at least 30-32 and 23-25, also see the abstract, para. 0030-0040 and para. 0060-0072. Implicit), and the modulation control is configured to compare the monitored unbalance metrics with one or more threshold parameters and to dynamically select the CPWM or the DPWM based on a result of the comparison (Norrga et al. teaches CPWM, e.g. Figs. 1 and 6, see at least 30-32 and 23-25, also see the abstract, para. 0030-0040 and para. 0060-0072; and Mukherjee et al. teaches the DPWM and the ability of selecting one pulse modulation from two different modulations, e.g. see Figs. 1-15, also see the abstract, the Introduction, the Flexible Modulation Strategy “D. Neutral Point Voltage Regulation”, the Performance Analysis “Capacitor Voltage Balancing Performance” and the Conclusion. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Norrga et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-9) and Mukherjee et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-15) discloses “wherein the modulator is configured to use space vector modulation (SVM) (Mukherjee et al. e.g. see page 3334, right col. lines 1-5. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Norrga et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-9) and Mukherjee et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-15) discloses “wherein the modulator is configured to use carrier-based modulation (Mukherjee et al. e.g. see page 3342, left col. lines 1-2. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 15, Norrga et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-9) discloses “An auxiliary resonant commutated pole (ARCP) inverter device (e.g. see Figs. 1 and 6), comprising: a control apparatus (e.g. see Figs. 1 and 6. Implicit), a dc-link having a first DC rail and a second DC rail (e.g. Figs. 1 and 6, see 4-8, also see para. 0028. Implicit), a series connection of at least two dc-link capacitances between the first and second DC rails of the dc-link, which series connection through a midpoint, called a neutral point (NP) of the dc-link, is divided into two equal parts (e.g. Figs. 1 and 6, see 4-9, also see para. 0028-0029. Implicit), one or more inverter phases (e.g. see Figs. 1 and 6, also see para. 0026. Implicit), each of said inverter phases including: a series connection of at least two main switching devices between a first DC voltage rail and a second DC voltage rail to alternatively connect the first and second dc-link rails to a phase output by a pulse width modulation (PWM) from the control apparatus (e.g. Figs. 1 and 6, see 2-5 and 12-15, also see para. 0030 and para. 0060. Implicit), one or more resonant capacitors connected in such manner that at least one terminal of the one or more resonant capacitors is operationally connected to one of the first and second DC rails or the neutral point and the other terminal is operationally connected to the phase output (e.g. Figs. 1 and 6, see 2-5 and 10-15, also see para. 0030-0033. Implicit), a series connection of a resonant inductance and at least one bi-directional auxiliary switch between said phase output and said neutral point (e.g. Figs. 1 and 6, see 16-21, and 9-11, also see para. 0037-0038. Implicit), the control apparatus (e.g. Fig. 6) further comprising: a modulator configured to carry out a commutation of the auxiliary resonant commutated pole (ARCP) inverter by a pulse width modulation (PWM) technique (e.g. Figs. 1 and 6, see at least 30 and 24, also see the abstract, para. 0030, para. 0060 and para. 0068. Implicit), wherein the modulator configured to use a Continuous PWM (CPWM) (e.g. Figs. 1 and 6, see at least 30 and 24, also see the abstract, para. 0060 and para. 0068. Implicit), and a modulation control configured to select the CPWM in a such a way that switching losses of the ARCP inverter are reduced while a failure of the commutation of the ARCP inverter due to a neutral point voltage unbalance of the ARCP inverter is avoided (e.g. Figs. 1 and 6, see at least 30-32 and 24, also see the abstract, para. 0030-0038 and para. 0060-0068. Implicit)”. Norrga et al. does not appear to explicitly disclose “a Discontinuous PWM (DPWM)” and that the modulation control is “configured to dynamically select either the CPWM or the DWPM”. However, Mukherjee et al. discloses the use of “a Discontinuous PWM (DPWM)” and that the modulation control is “configured to dynamically select either the CPWM or the DWPM (Norrga et al. teaches the CPWM; and Mukherjee et al. teaches the DPWM and the ability of selecting one pulse modulation from two different modulations, e.g. see Figs. 1-15, also see the abstract, the Introduction, the Flexible Modulation Strategy, the Performance Analysis and the Conclusion “when the EV runs at high speed with heavy load conditions, the power consumptions are significantly high and the converter efficiency becomes a key factor to consider in this operating zone. Discontinuous PWM (DPWM) is the obvious choice in this region due to its intrinsic characteristics of less number of commutations and the associated lower switching losses. In some operating conditions, DPWM can reduce the switching losses by at most 50% ... This reduction in losses improves the thermal reliability in addition to enhancing the efficiency of the inverter)”. Having a modulation control being configured to dynamically select one of two modulation techniques as taught by Mukherjee et al. in the inverter of Norrga et al. would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a modulation control configured to dynamically select one of two modulation techniques as taught by Mukherjee et al. in the inverter of Norrga et al. for the purpose of being able to switch between the two modulation techniques for their respective advantages. The “DPWM can reduce the switching losses by at most 50% … This reduction in losses improves the thermal reliability in addition to enhancing the efficiency of the inverter”. Also for the purpose of making the device more widely usable.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if all the claim objections are overcome and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 5 and 7, none of the prior art, listed in the attached PTO-892 form, alone or in combination discloses “wherein the one or more unbalance metrics includes a fundamental output frequency of the ARCP inverter, and wherein the modulation control is configured to dynamically select the DPWM for the commutation, when the fundamental output frequency of the ARCP inverter is higher than the one or more threshold parameters, and the modulation control is configured to select the CPWM for the commutation when the fundamental output frequency of the ARCP inverter is lower than the one or more threshold parameters, wherein the one or more threshold parameters represents an absolute frequency value or a percentage of a frequency range”. As recited in claims 5 and 7.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
Relevant References:
(See Saha et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0088816 A1) discloses the use of both CPWM and DPWM).
(See Gataric et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0216341 A1) discloses the use of DPWM in inverters).
/YUSEF A AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838