DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, directed to claims 1-11 in the reply filed on March 3, 2026, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that no burden exists because the effects of the subject matter is substantially similar. This is not found persuasive because the devices of inventions I and II appear to be measuring potentials of different points leading to possible offset measurements and different measurements of potential.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 12-20 are withdrawn as non-elected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
In particular, claims 1-11 include the use of limitations such as “connector potential” but describes measurement at a single point. It is unclear what the voltage at the measurement point is being compared to for potential to be measured.
Further, claim 4 includes the limitation “the evaluation unit for determining the potential difference between the connector potential and the mating connector potential”. The limitation lacks antecedent basis. Clarification/correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. 2017/0237205 (“Fuehrer”).
Claim 1
Fuehrer discloses the connector having an output unit for connecting to an evaluation unit for determining a temperature of a contact point, the connector comprising: a connector contact element for electrically contacting the connector with a mating connector contact element of a mating connector at the contact point (plug connector 4 and mating element 44), connector tap for tapping a connector potential at the connector contact element, mating connector contact probe for determining a mating connector potential of the mating connector contact element (sensor elements 431B-E), wherein the evaluation unit is configured to determine the temperature of the contact point from a potential difference between the connector potential and the mating connector potential (paragraph [0054]).
Claim 2
Fuehrer discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein the mating connector contact probe comprises a head portion for releasable contacting the mating connector contact element, the head portion for tapping the mating connector potential (Figs. 4A-4D).
Claim 3
Fuehrer discloses the connector according to claim 2, wherein the head portion comprises a spring member, a sliding member, a brush member, or a bracing member (paragraph [0046], bracing by plugged engagement).
Claim 4
Fuehrer discloses the connector according to claim 1, further comprising the evaluation unit for determining the potential difference between the connector potential and the mating connector potential (paragraph [0053], difference in intensity based on difference in potential).
Claim 5
Fuehrer discloses the connector according to claim 4, wherein the evaluation unit comprises an input for receiving at least one of a value of a current level through the connector contact element, a connector temperature at the connector contact element, and a mating connector temperature at the mating connector contact element (sensor elements 431B-E).
Claim 6
Fuehrer discloses the connector according to claim 1, further comprising a temperature sensor for determining at least one of a connector temperature and a mating connector temperature (paragraph [0042]).
Claim 7
Fuehrer discloses the connector according to claim 1, further comprising an output unit for outputting a signal, wherein the signal is based on at least the temperature of the contact point, the potential difference, the connector potential, the mating connector potential, a connector temperature at the connector contact element, and a mating connector temperature at the mating connector contact element (paragraph [0026, 0053], sensor potentials from sensors 431 converted to intensity signals for thermal camera image).
Claim 8
Fuehrer discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein the connector tap is disposed between a connector tip of the connector contact element and the contact point and wherein the mating connector contact probe is disposed between a mating connector tip of the mating connector contact element and the contact point (Figs. 4A-4D).
Claim 9
Fuehrer discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein the connector contact element comprises a pin and the connector tap is guided in the pin (paragraph [0046], contact pins).
Claim 10
Fuehrer discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein the connector contact element comprises a socket and the mating connector contact probe is passed through an opening in the socket (Figs. 4A-4D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2017/0237205 (“Fuehrer”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2016/0291059 (“Ausserlechner”).
Claim 11
Fuehrer discloses the connector according to claim 1.
Fuehrer does not appear to explicitly disclose further comprising a potential separation for galvanically separating a high-voltage circuit for tapping the connector potential and for determining the mating connector potential from a low-voltage circuit, the low-voltage circuit for evaluating the potential difference, in particular wherein the potential separation comprises an isolation amplifier.
Ausserlechner discloses a current sensor including mating connector with high and low voltage (paragraphs [0071-0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a potential separation for galvanically separating a high-voltage circuit for tapping the connector potential and for determining the mating connector potential from a low-voltage circuit, the low-voltage circuit for evaluating the potential difference, in particular wherein the potential separation comprises an isolation amplifier, as disclosed by Ausserlechner, into the invention of Fuehrer, for the purpose of ensuring isolated wiring (Ausserlechner, paragraphs [0071-0072]).
Conclusion
/ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853