DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, 11-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gudivada et al. (US 2022/0377658) .
Regarding Claim 1, Gudivada teaches a dual Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) transmission method, comprising: performing, by a first SIM of an apparatus, a first service from a first serving cell; (Par. [0067] “At action 402, the UE 215 has established a first connection via the SIM A 210a and a first subscription (SUB 1) with the BS 205a using the first subscriber identity”), determining, by a processor of the apparatus, whether the apparatus needs to be switched to a dual SIM dual active (DSDA) mode in response to a second SIM of the apparatus requiring a second service while the first SIM is performing the first service; (Par. [0067] “The UE 215 determines whether SUB 1 is in standalone mode. If SUB 1 is not in standalone mode, then the UE 215 operates in a DSDS mode at action 404. If, on the other hand, SUB 1 is in standalone mode, then it is possible that UE 215 may find an opportunity for DSDA operation. Examples of the first technology in standalone mode include low band/high band FR1 and FR2”), and selecting, by the processor, a target cell to make the apparatus support the DSDA mode in response to determining that the apparatus needs to be switched to the DSDA mode (Par. [0068] “At action 406, the UE accesses its database and searches for cells with another technology in standalone mode” and Par. [0070] “If the UE 215 is successful in finding a cell with the other technology in standalone mode, then UE 215 may establish a connection via SIM B 210b and SUB 2 with the other cell in standalone mode and operate in DSDA mode at action 410”).
Regarding Claim 2, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 1, further comprising, the second SIM is in a non-connected mode or in a connected mode (Par. [0070] “If the UE 215 is successful in finding a cell with the other technology in standalone mode, then UE 215 may establish a connection via SIM B 210b and SUB 2 with the other cell in standalone mode and operate in DSDA mode at action 410. If no other cell is offering the other technology in standalone mode, then the UE 215 may cause SUB 2 to establish a connection with another available cell (e.g., in non-standalone mode or a legacy technology, such as LTE) and then operate in DSDS mode at action 404”).
Regarding Claim 3, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 2, further comprising, selecting, by the processor, the target cell through a cell re-selection process or a cell selection process to make the apparatus support the DSDA mode; ([0076] “At action 502, the UE selects a second cell associated with a second technology in standalone mode, For instance, if the first SIM card is camped on FR1 in standalone mode, then the UE may select a cell associated with FR2 in standalone mode (or vice versa). Similarly, if the first SIM card is camped on a low band. FR1 in standalone mode, then the UE may select a cell associated with a high band FRI in standalone mode (or vice versa)”), and camping, by the second SIM, on the target cell to perform the second service ([0077] “At action 503, the UE causes the second SIM card to camp on the second cell concurrently with the first SIM card camping on the first cell. As a result of action 503, the two SIM cards in the UE are now camping on two different technologies, both in standalone mode, and those technologies do not interfere with each other”).
Regarding Claim 4, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 2, further comprising,
selecting, by the processor, the target cell through a cell re-selection process or a cell selection process to make the apparatus support the DSDA mode; ([0076] “At action 502, the UE selects a second cell associated with a second technology in standalone mode, For instance, if the first SIM card is camped on FR1 in standalone mode, then the UE may select a cell associated with FR2 in standalone mode (or vice versa)”), camping, by the second SIM, on a second serving cell to perform the second service; ([0077] “At action 503, the UE causes the second SIM card to camp on the second cell concurrently with the first SIM card camping on the first cell. As a result of action 503, the two SIM cards in the UE are now camping on two different technologies, both in standalone mode, and those technologies do not interfere with each other”), and camping, by the first SIM, on the target cell from the first serving cell to perform the first service ([0075] “At action 501, a first SIM card is caused to camp on a first cell associated with the first technology in standalone mode. For instance, the first SIM card may camp on the cell and use a technology such as FR1 in standalone mode, FR2 in standalone mode, or either one of low band or high band FR1 in standalone mode”).
Regarding Claim 5, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 2, further comprising, performing, by the processor, a Tracking Area Update (TAU) procedure or a Mobility Registration Update (MRU) procedure before the second SIM or the first SIM camps on the target cell (Fig. 1, Par. [0049] “After a successful attach to the network, the UE 115 can move around the current TA, For tracking area update (TAU), the BS 105 may request the UE 115 to update the network 100 with the UE 115′s location periodically. Alternatively, the UE 115 may only report the UE 115's location to the network 100 when entering a new TA, The TAU allows the network 100 to quickly locate the UE 115 and page the UE 115 upon receiving an incoming data packet or call for the UE 115”).
Regarding Claim 9, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 2, further comprising, the connected mode is a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode, and the non-connected mode is an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode (Par. [0048] “The UE 115 may transmit a UL communication signal to the BS 105 via a PUSCH and/or PUCCH according to a UL scheduling grant. The connection may be referred to as an RRC connection. When the UE 115 is actively exchanging data with the BS 105, the UE 115 is in an RRC connected state”).
Regarding Claim 11, Gudivada teaches an apparatus for dual Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) transmission, comprising: a first SIM; (Par. [0067] “At action 402, the UE 215 has established a first connection via the SIM A 210a and a first subscription (SUB 1) with the BS 205a using the first subscriber identity”), a second SIM; (Par. [0070] “If the UE 215 is successful in finding a cell with the other technology in standalone mode, then UE 215 may establish a connection via SIM B 210b and SUB 2 with the other cell in standalone mode and operate in DSDA mode at action 410”), a transceiver; (Fig. 6, 610), and a processor, coupled to the transceiver, and configured to: (Fig. 6, Par. [0082] “FIG. 6 is a block diagram of an exemplary UE 600 according to some aspects of the present disclosure. The UE 600 may be a UE 115 or UE 215 as discussed above in FIGS. 1-5. As shown, the UE 600 may include a processor 602, a memory 604, a MultiSim module 608, a transceiver 610 including a modem subsystem 612 and a radio frequency (RF) unit 614, and one or more antennas 616. These elements may be coupled with one another. The term “coupled” may refer to directly or indirectly coupled or connected to one or more intervening elements”), perform, via a first SIM, a first service from a first serving cell; (Par. [0067] “At action 402, the UE 215 has established a first connection via the SIM A 210a and a first subscription (SUB 1) with the BS 205a using the first subscriber identity”), determine whether the apparatus needs to be switched to a dual SIM dual active (DSDA) mode in response to a second SIM of the apparatus requiring a second service while the first SIM is performing the first service; (Par. [0067] “The UE 215 determines whether SUB 1 is in standalone mode. If SUB 1 is not in standalone mode, then the UE 215 operates in a DSDS mode at action 404. If, on the other hand, SUB 1 is in standalone mode, then it is possible that UE 215 may find an opportunity for DSDA operation. Examples of the first technology in standalone mode include low band/high band FR1 and FR2”), and select a target cell to make the apparatus support the DSDA mode in response to determining that the apparatus needs to be switched to the DSDA mode (Par. [0068] “At action 406, the UE accesses its database and searches for cells with another technology in standalone mode” and Par. [0070] “If the UE 215 is successful in finding a cell with the other technology in standalone mode, then UE 215 may establish a connection via SIM B 210b and SUB 2 with the other cell in standalone mode and operate in DSDA mode at action 410”).
Regarding Claim 12, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 11, further comprising, the second SIM is in a non-connected mode or in a connected mode (Par. [0070] “If the UE 215 is successful in finding a cell with the other technology in standalone mode, then UE 215 may establish a connection via SIM B 210b and SUB 2 with the other cell in standalone mode and operate in DSDA mode at action 410. If no other cell is offering the other technology in standalone mode, then the UE 215 may cause SUB 2 to establish a connection with another available cell (e.g., in non-standalone mode or a legacy technology, such as LTE) and then operate in DSDS mode at action 404”).
Regarding Claim 13, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 12, further comprising, the processor configured to: select the target cell through a cell re-selection process or a cell selection process to make the apparatus support the DSDA mode; (Par. [0076] “At action 502, the UE selects a second cell associated with a second technology in standalone mode, For instance, if the first SIM card is camped on FR1 in standalone mode, then the UE may select a cell associated with FR2 in standalone mode (or vice versa). Similarly, if the first SIM card is camped on a low band. FR1 in standalone mode, then the UE may select a cell associated with a high band FRI in standalone mode (or vice versa)”), and camp, via the second SIM, on the target cell to perform the second service (Par. [0077] “At action 503, the UE causes the second SIM card to camp on the second cell concurrently with the first SIM card camping on the first cell. As a result of action 503, the two SIM cards in the UE are now camping on two different technologies, both in standalone mode, and those technologies do not interfere with each other”).
Regarding Claim 14, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 12, further comprising, the processor configured to: select the target cell through a cell re-selection process or a cell selection process to make the apparatus support the DSDA mode; (Par. [0076] “At action 502, the UE selects a second cell associated with a second technology in standalone mode, For instance, if the first SIM card is camped on FR1 in standalone mode, then the UE may select a cell associated with FR2 in standalone mode (or vice versa)”),
camp, via the second SIM, on a second serving cell to perform the second service; (Par. [0077] “At action 503, the UE causes the second SIM card to camp on the second cell concurrently with the first SIM card camping on the first cell. As a result of action 503, the two SIM cards in the UE are now camping on two different technologies, both in standalone mode, and those technologies do not interfere with each other”),
and camp, via the first SIM, on the target cell from the first serving cell to perform the first service (Par. [0075] “At action 501, a first SIM card is caused to camp on a first cell associated with the first technology in standalone mode. For instance, the first SIM card may camp on the cell and use a technology such as FR1 in standalone mode, FR2 in standalone mode, or either one of low band or high band FR1 in standalone mode”).
Regarding Claim 15, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 12, further comprising, the processor configured to: performing, by the processor, a Tracking Area Update (TAU) procedure or a Mobility Registration Update (MRU) procedure before the second SIM or the first SIM camps on the target cell (Fig. 1, Par. [0049] "After a successful attach to the network, the UE 115 can move around the current TA, For tracking area update (TAU), the BS 105 may request the UE 115 to update the network 100 with the UE 115′s location periodically. Alternatively, the UE 115 may only report the UE 115's location to the network 100 when entering a new TA, The TAU allows the network 100 to quickly locate the UE 115 and page the UE 115 upon receiving an incoming data packet or call for the UE 115").
Regarding Claim 19, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 12, further comprising, the connected mode is a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode, and the non-connected mode is an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode. (Par. [0048] “The UE 115 may transmit a UL communication signal to the BS 105 via a PUSCH and/or PUCCH according to a UL scheduling grant. The connection may be referred to as an RRC connection. When the UE 115 is actively exchanging data with the BS 105, the UE 115 is in an RRC connected state”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudivada et al. (US 2022/0377658) in view of Shukair et al. (US 2023/0180170) in further view of Xie et al. (US 2023/0362978).
Regarding Claim 6, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 2, but does not teach modifying, by the second SIM, a measurement report to switch to the target cell to make the apparatus support the DSDA mode; transmitting, by the second SIM, the modified measurement report to a second serving cell; and switching, by the second SIM, from the second serving cell to the target cell based on a handover procedure to perform the second service.
Shukair, in the same field of endeavor, teaches modifying, by the second SIM, a measurement report to switch to the target cell to make the apparatus support the DSDA mode; (Par. [0072] “In cases where the UE 115-a is configured for communications associated with each SIM, the UE 115-a may adjust configured communications, such as by reporting a radio link failure (RLF) to reduce a number of secondary CCs (SCCs) in a CA configuration, by adapting RI and CQI to reduce or increase throughput requests, by adapting RF measurement reports to add one or more SCCs, by utilizing a network capability exchange, by adapting a buffer status report (BSR) associated with one or more of the SIMs to reduce network uplink grants, or any combinations thereof”), transmitting, by the second SIM, the modified measurement report to a second serving cell; (Par. [0067] “Based on a determined resource partition, the UE 115-a may transmit a first indication of supported communication parameters associated with the first SIM 230 in measurement report 255 to the first base station 105-a, and may transmit a second indication of supported communication parameters associated with the second SIM 235 to the second base station 105-b”),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gudivada’s dual SIM apparatus with Shukair’s measurement reports to produce an expected result of efficiency when a dual SIM device has entered the DSDA mode.
Gudivada in view of Shukair, however, does not teach switching, by the second SIM, from the second serving cell to the target cell based on a handover procedure to perform the second service.
Xie, in the same field of endeavor, teaches switching, by the second SIM, from the second serving cell to the target cell based on a handover procedure to perform the second service (Fig. 8C, Par. [0132] “In FIG. 8C, after the UE determining to change the second connection 824 as discussed above, the UE 802 has changed the second connection 824 for the second SIM 806 by performing a handover from the first base station 812 (e.g., using the first frequency resource) to the second base station 814 (e.g., using the second frequency resource)”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gudivada’s dual SIM apparatus as combined with Shukair’s measurement reports with Xie’s SIM switching to a target cell to produce an expected improvement in efficiency when a dual SIM device has entered the DSDA mode.
Regarding Claim 7, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 2, further comprising, performing, by the second SIM, the second service from a second serving cell (Par. [0070] If the UE 215 is successful in finding a cell with the other technology in standalone mode, then UE 215 may establish a connection via SIM B 210b and SUB 2 with the other cell in standalone mode and operate in DSDA mode at action 410.), but Gudivada does not teach the aspects of modifying, by the first SIM, a measurement report to switch to the target cell to make the apparatus support the DSDA mode, transmitting, by the first SIM, the modified measurement report to the first serving cell, and switching, by the first SIM, from the first serving cell to the target cell based on a handover procedure to perform the first service.
Shukair, in the same field of endeavor, teaches modifying, by the first SIM, a measurement report to switch to the target cell to make the apparatus support the DSDA mode; (Par. [0072] “In cases where the UE 115-a is configured for communications associated with each SIM, the UE 115-a may adjust configured communications, such as by reporting a radio link failure (RLF) to reduce a number of secondary CCs (SCCs) in a CA configuration, by adapting RI and CQI to reduce or increase throughput requests, by adapting RF measurement reports to add one or more SCCs, by utilizing a network capability exchange, by adapting a buffer status report (BSR) associated with one or more of the SIMs to reduce network uplink grants, or any combinations thereof”), transmitting, by the first SIM, the modified measurement report to the first serving cell; (Par. [0067] “Based on a determined resource partition, the UE 115-a may transmit a first indication of supported communication parameters associated with the first SIM 230 in measurement report 255 to the first base station 105-a, and may transmit a second indication of supported communication parameters associated with the second SIM 235 to the second base station 105-b”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gudivada’s dual SIM apparatus with Shukair’s measurement reports to produce an expected result of flexibility when a dual SIM device has entered the DSDA mode.
Gudivada in view of Shukair, however, does not teach switching, by the first SIM, from the first serving cell to the target cell based on a handover procedure to perform the first service.
Xie, in the same field of endeavor, teaches switching, by the first SIM, from the first serving cell to the target cell based on a handover procedure to perform the first service (Fig. 8B, Par. [0131] “In FIG. 8B, after the UE determining to change the first connection 822 as discussed above, the UE 802 has changed the first connection 822 for the first SIM 804 by performing a handover from the first base station 812 (e.g., using the first frequency resource) to the second base station 814 (e.g., using the second frequency resource)”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Gudivada’s dual SIM apparatus combined with Shukair’s measurement reports with Xie’s SIM switching to a target cell to produce an expected improvement in flexibility when a dual SIM device has entered the DSDA mode.
Regarding Claim 16, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 12, but fails to teach the processor further being configured to modify, via the second SIM, a measurement report to switch to the target cell to make the apparatus support the DSDA mode, transmit, via the second SIM, the modified measurement report to a second serving cell, and switch, via the second SIM, from the second serving cell to the target cell based on a handover procedure to perform the second service.
Shukair, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the processor further being configured to modify, via the second SIM, a measurement report to switch to the target cell to make the apparatus support the DSDA mode, (Par. [0072] “In cases where the UE 115-a is configured for communications associated with each SIM, the UE 115-a may adjust configured communications, such as by reporting a radio link failure (RLF) to reduce a number of secondary CCs (SCCs) in a CA configuration, by adapting RI and CQI to reduce or increase throughput requests, by adapting RF measurement reports to add one or more SCCs, by utilizing a network capability exchange, by adapting a buffer status report (BSR) associated with one or more of the SIMs to reduce network uplink grants, or any combinations thereof”), and transmit, via the second SIM, the modified measurement report to a second serving cell, (Par. [0067] “Based on a determined resource partition, the UE 115-a may transmit a first indication of supported communication parameters associated with the first SIM 230 in measurement report 255 to the first base station 105-a, and may transmit a second indication of supported communication parameters associated with the second SIM 235 to the second base station 105-b”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gudivada’s dual SIM apparatus with Shukair’s measurement reports to produce an expected result of efficiency when a dual SIM device has entered the DSDA mode.
Gudivada in view of Shukair, however, does not teach teaches switching, via the second SIM, from the second serving cell to the target cell based on a handover procedure to perform the second service.
Xie, in the same field of endeavor, teaches switching, via the second SIM, from the second serving cell to the target cell based on a handover procedure to perform the second service (Fig. 8C, Par. [0132] “In FIG. 8C, after the UE determining to change the second connection 824 as discussed above, the UE 802 has changed the second connection 824 for the second SIM 806 by performing a handover from the first base station 812 (e.g., using the first frequency resource) to the second base station 814 (e.g., using the second frequency resource)”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Gudivada’s dual SIM apparatus combined with Shukair’s measurement reports with Xie’s SIM switching to a target cell to produce an expected improvement in efficiency when a dual SIM device has entered the DSDA mode.
Regarding Claim 17, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 12, further comprising, performing, by the second SIM, the second service from a second serving cell; (Par. [0070] “If the UE 215 is successful in finding a cell with the other technology in standalone mode, then UE 215 may establish a connection via SIM B 210b and SUB 2 with the other cell in standalone mode and operate in DSDA mode at action 410”), but Gudivada does not teach the aspects of modifying, by the first SIM, a measurement report to switch to the target cell to make the apparatus support the DSDA mode, transmitting, by the first SIM, the modified measurement report to the first serving cell, and switching, by the first SIM, from the first serving cell to the target cell based on a handover procedure to perform the first service.
Shukair, in the same field of endeavor, teaches modifying, by the first SIM, a measurement report to switch to the target cell to make the apparatus support the DSDA mode; (Par. [0072] “In cases where the UE 115-a is configured for communications associated with each SIM, the UE 115-a may adjust configured communications, such as by reporting a radio link failure (RLF) to reduce a number of secondary CCs (SCCs) in a CA configuration, by adapting RI and CQI to reduce or increase throughput requests, by adapting RF measurement reports to add one or more SCCs, by utilizing a network capability exchange, by adapting a buffer status report (BSR) associated with one or more of the SIMs to reduce network uplink grants, or any combinations thereof”), and transmitting, by the first SIM, the modified measurement report to the first serving cell; (Par. [0067] “Based on a determined resource partition, the UE 115-a may transmit a first indication of supported communication parameters associated with the first SIM 230 in measurement report 255 to the first base station 105-a, and may transmit a second indication of supported communication parameters associated with the second SIM 235 to the second base station 105-b”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gudivada’s dual SIM apparatus with Shukair’s measurement reports to produce an expected result of flexibility when a dual SIM device has entered the DSDA mode.
Gudivada in view of Shukair, however, does not teach switching, by the first SIM, from the first serving cell to the target cell based on a handover procedure to perform the first service.
Xie, in the same field of endeavor, teaches switching, by the first SIM, from the first serving cell to the target cell based on a handover procedure to perform the first service (Fig. 8B, Par. [0131] “In FIG. 8B, after the UE determining to change the first connection 822 as discussed above, the UE 802 has changed the first connection 822 for the first SIM 804 by performing a handover from the first base station 812 (e.g., using the first frequency resource) to the second base station 814 (e.g., using the second frequency resource)”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Gudivada’s dual SIM apparatus combined with Shukair’s measurement reports with Xie’s SIM switching to a target cell to produce an expected improvement in flexibility when a dual SIM device has entered the DSDA mode.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudivada et al. (US 2022/0377658) in view of Akdim et al. (US 2023/0008399).
Regarding Claim 8, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 2, but fails to teach modifying, by the first SIM or the second SIM, a measurement report by increasing a signal quality of the target cell.
Akdim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches modifying, by the first SIM or the second SIM, a measurement report by increasing a signal quality of the target cell (Par. [0126] “Additionally, if cell 818 measurements are essential and have to be reported to the network, then the UE may, at least in some embodiments, tweak (e.g., adjust) its signal level measurements (e.g., such as RSRP and/or SINR among other signal level measurements)”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Akdim’s adjusting of signal level in a measurement report with Gudivada’s SIM to better improve the target cell selection when a dual SIM device has entered the DSDA mode.
Regarding Claim 18, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 12, but fails to teach the processor being further configured to modify, via the first SIM or the second SIM, a measurement report by increasing a signal quality of the target cell.
Akdim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the processor being further configured to modify, via the first SIM or the second SIM, a measurement report by increasing a signal quality of the target cell (Par. [0126] “Additionally, if cell 818 measurements are essential and have to be reported to the network, then the UE may, at least in some embodiments, tweak (e.g., adjust) its signal level measurements (e.g., such as RSRP and/or SINR among other signal level measurements)”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Akdim’s adjusting of signal level in a measurement report with Gudivada’s SIM to better improve the target cell selection when a dual SIM device has entered the DSDA mode.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudivada et al. (US 2022/0377658) in view of Cherian et al. (US 2022/0312347).
Regarding Claim 10, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 1, but does not teach determining, by the processor, that the apparatus needs to be switched to a DSDA mode in response to the apparatus currently being in a dual receive-DSDA (DR-DSDA) mode.
Cherian, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining, by the processor, that the apparatus needs to be switched to a DSDA mode in response to the apparatus currently being in a dual receive-DSDA (DR-DSDA) mode (Fig. 1, Par. [0134] “In some implementations of the present disclosure, the UE 115 may support a radio frequency re-configuration from a dual receive DSDA (DR-DSDA) deployment to a mobile DSDA deployment to facilitate the use of a shared LNA via a joint radio re-configuration and retune across the SUB1 and the SUB2”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gudivada’s apparatus switching to a DSDA mode with Cherian’s UE changing from a DR-DSDA mode to a DSDA mode to produce an expected result of improvement in dual SIM devices entering the DSDA mode.
Regarding Claim 20, Gudivada teaches the invention of Claim 11, but does not teach the processor determines that the apparatus needs to be switched to a DSDA mode in response to the apparatus currently being in a dual receive-DSDA (DR-DSDA) mode.
Cherian, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the processor determines that the apparatus needs to be switched to a DSDA mode in response to the apparatus currently being in a dual receive-DSDA (DR-DSDA) mode (Fig. 1, Par. [0134] “In some implementations of the present disclosure, the UE 115 may support a radio frequency re-configuration from a dual receive DSDA (DR-DSDA) deployment to a mobile DSDA deployment to facilitate the use of a shared LNA via a joint radio re-configuration and retune across the SUB1 and the SUB2”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gudivada’s apparatus switching to a DSDA mode with Cherian’s UE changing from a DR-DSDA mode to a DSDA mode to produce an expected result of improvement in dual SIM devices entering the DSDA mode.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Matolia discloses “When an application requires use of a network slice available via a first SIM/eSIM and the application also requires minimal interruption while in use, the dual-SIM/eSIM wireless device can switch from the DSDS mode to the DSDA mode while the application is in use. In the DSDA mode, the dual-SIM/eSIM wireless device can maintain a data connection for the application via the first SIM/eSIM and originate or terminate voice calls (or other voice and/or data connections) via the second SIM/eSIM without interrupting the application. The dual-SIM/eSIM wireless device can also use the DSDA mode temporarily to perform network search and/or radio measurements of wireless networks when operating in an area of limited cell service or weak signal strength for a second SIM/eSIM and one or more applications with high priority data connections via the first SIM/eSIM are in use, in order to minimize communication interruptions by the second SIM/eSIM activities impacting the one or more applications using the first SIM/eSIM” (Par. [0036]).
/J.N.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641