DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-24 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/20/26.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0061], Line 1 states “system, we have…” However, is this missing something?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “a communication unit” in claims 4-6.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Line 11, replace “a the” with “the”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the left side" in Line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the right side" in Line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the remote -control device" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 10-12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021093135 (Zhou) in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,679,879 (Baharav et al.).
Regarding Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10-12, 14 and 15, Zhou teaches: Claim 1 - a vehicle (1 - Figure 2) for assisting a deployable aircraft (2) with vertical take-off and/or landing (VTOL), comprising: a left pylon (AA) containing a plurality of left side angled rotors (120 – Figure 2; tilt described on page 8, last full paragraph of EPO translation attached hereto) embedded in the left pylon (AA); a right pylon (BB) containing a plurality of right side angled rotors (120) embedded in the right pylon (BB); a connecting truss (CC/DD/EE) connecting the left pylon (AA) to the right pylon (BB), the connecting truss (CC/DD/EE) including: a lower planar bridge (CC), a left side arm (DD), and a right side arm (EE); wherein the left side of the lower planar bridge (CC) is connected to a left arm lower end of a the left side arm (DD) and the right side of the lower planar bridge (CC) is connected to a right arm lower end of the right-side arm (EE); wherein a left arm upper end is connected to the left pylon (AA); wherein a right arm upper end is connected to the right pylon (BB); wherein the connecting truss (CC/DD/EE) is located below a left side upper surface of the left pylon (AA) and a right-side upper surface of the right pylon (BB) to create an opening between the left pylon (AA) and right pylon (BB); and wherein the deployable aircraft (2) mates with the left side upper surface of the left pylon (AA) and the right-side upper surface of the right pylon (BB) and a fuselage of the deployable aircraft (2) fits within the opening between the left side pylon (AA) and right-side pylon (BB), (Figures 1-12 and Annotated Figure 1 Below); Claim 2 – a connection device (such as (151) as seen in Figure 4) for connecting the deployable aircraft (2) to the vehicle (1), (Figures 1-12 And annotated Figure 1 Below); Claim 3 – a processing system, wherein the processing system controls the plurality of left side angled rotors (120) and the plurality of right side angled rotors (120) to control flight of the vehicle (1), (Figures 1-12 and Annotated Figure 1 Below); Claim 4 – a communication unit for communicating with the deployable aircraft (2) as described in at least page 4, first full paragraph, of the EPO translation attached hereto, (Figures 1-12 and Annotated Figure 1 Below); Claim 7 - a left side planar mating surface on the left side upper surface of the left pylon (AA) and a right-side planar mating surface on the right-side upper surface of the right pylon (BB), (Figures 1-12 and Annotated Figure 1 Below); Claim 8 - wherein a left wing of the deployable aircraft (2) mates with the left side planar mating surface and a right wing of the deployable aircraft (2) mates with the right-side planar mating surface, (Figures 1-12 and Annotated Figure 1 Below); Claim 10 – a left side riser (111) connected to the left side upper end of the left arm (DD) and the left pylon (AA) and a right-side riser (111) is connected to the right-side upper end of the right arm (EE) and the right pylon (BB), (Figures 1-12 and Annotated Figure 1 Below); Claim 11 - wherein the vehicle (1) performs a vertical takeoff with the deployable aircraft (2) mated to the vehicle (1) as described in at least the “Summary of the invention” section of the EPO translation attached hereto, (Figures 1-12 and Annotated Figure 1 Below); Claim 12 - wherein the vehicle (1) drops away from the deployable aircraft (2) when the deployable aircraft (2) is released as described in at least the “Summary of the invention” section of the EPO translation attached hereto, (Figures 1-12 and Annotated Figure 1 Below); Claims 14 and 15 - wherein the vehicle (2 – the examiner notes that the vehicle is claimed as the “intended use” of the vehicle and thus the prior art does not to teach specifics of the aircraft itself; additionally, should the vehicle be claimed in the future, the examiner notes that US PG Pub 2019/0168866 (TOVKACH et al.) teaches a no wing craft located on pylons with ducted rotors) is capable of not having wings, and where the vehicle does not have control surfaces, (Figures 1-12 And Annotated Figure 1 Below).
Zhou does not teach: the plurality of left side angled rotors being multi-ducted, and the plurality of right side angled rotors being multi-ducted (Claim 1). However, Baharav et al. teaches: Claim 1 – a vehicle (200) for assisting with vertical takeoff and landing (VTOL), comprising a plurality of left side rotors (790) and a plurality of right side angled rotors (790) being multi-ducted, (Figures 1-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle of Zhou to have the plurality of left side angled rotors being multi-ducted, and the plurality of right side angled rotors being multi-ducted (Claim 1) as taught by Baharav et al. for the purposes of using rotors which are well known, and easy to find and manufacture.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021093135 (Zhou) in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,679,879 (Baharav et al.), and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,000,398 (Rashev).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Zhou as modified by Baharav et al. teaches the vehicle as described above, but does not teach: a communication unit for communicating with the remote-control device (Claim 5); and a communication unit for communicating with a remote computer (Claim 6). However, Rashev teaches: Claims 5 and 6 – a vehicle (FMPAC) for assisting a deployable aircraft (CA) with vertical takeoff and landing (VTOL), comprising: a communication unit for communicating with the remote-control device/remote computer (at least Column 5, Lines 42-65 describe the FMPAC controlled by a remote control), (Figures 1-27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle of Zhou as modified by Baharav et al. to have a communication unit for communicating with the remote-control device (Claim 5); and a communication unit for communicating with a remote computer (Claim 6) as taught by Rashev for the purposes of being able to more accurately control the vehicle from a distance/by remote.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA E RODDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642