DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant's response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111, dated July 1, 2026, in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1, 10, 21, and 30 have been amended. Claims 1-40 are subject to examination and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20220026551, hereinafter, “Park ‘551”).
Regarding claim 10, Park ‘551 teaches:
A method of operating a network component, comprising (Park ‘551: [0108] Referring to FIG. 9A, an example use case 900 for single sided beam management for bistatic radio frequency sensing is shown … For example, a base station 902 is an example of the base station 304 and is configured to transmit a plurality of beamformed reference signals at varying angles, elevations and/or beam widths. A first reference signal 904 may be configured as a SSRS and/or a STRS and is received by a UE 910 via multiple paths …):
determining a first group of radio frequency sensing (RF-S) nodes for tracking of a target object across a first tracking area based on first information associated with and specific to the target object and second information associated with RF-S capabilities of the first group of RF-S nodes, the first group of RF-S nodes comprising a user equipment (UE) (Park ‘551: [0017] Items and/or techniques described herein may provide one or more of the following capabilities, as well as other capabilities not mentioned. A base station may transmit one or more scanning reference signals. A user equipment may receive one of the scanning reference signals via multiple non-line of sight paths via one or more receive beams. Target groups may be identified based on measurement values of the received reference signal. A scanning signal report identifying one or more target groups associated with the scanning reference signal may be sent to the base station. A tracking reference signal may be transmitted by the base station for each of the one or more target groups. The user equipment may track the target groups associated with each of the transmitted tracking reference signals. The tracking reference signal may be quasi co-located with the scanning reference signal associated with the target groups. Messaging overhead for radio frequency sensing may be reduced … [0108] Referring to FIG. 9A, an example use case 900 for single sided beam management for bistatic radio frequency sensing is shown … the use case 900 highlights scenarios when multiple target groups are detected with a single reference signal. For example, a base station 902 is an example of the base station 304 and is configured to transmit a plurality of beamformed reference signals at varying angles, elevations and/or beam widths. A first reference signal 904 may be configured as a SSRS and/or a STRS and is received by a UE 910 via multiple paths. … the UE 910 may be configured to assign explicit target group identifications to distinguish between target groups ... For example, a first target group includes the first target 905a and the second target 905b, a second target group includes the third target 906, and a third target group includes the fourth target 908. The relative locations and number of objects in the target groups are examples only and not limitations … The target group identifications and the corresponding reference signal identification information may be reported to the base station 902 … the UE 910 may be configured to provide the RSRP values and an indication of the corresponding receive beam to the base station 902 [collectively, first information], and the base station 902 (or other network node) may be configured to assign the target group identifications … [0114] ... In a scanning phase 800, a base station, such as the base station 902 may be configured to transmit sensing-scanning reference signals (SSRS) in a coverage area … Figs. 9A, 9B); and
transmitting RF-S configurations to the first group of RF-S nodes for tracking of the target object (Park ‘551: [0111] In the tracking phase 850, the base station 902 may transmit tracking and target group configuration information 958 for the target groups selected at stage 956. The tracking and target group configuration information 958 may include the sensing-tracking reference signal (STRS) associated with the selected target groups. The STRS may be QCLed with the corresponding SSRS transmitted in the scanning phase 800. The tracking and target group configuration information 958 may include the target group identification information based on the beam and target group information report 954 … The tracking and target group configuration information 958 may be specific for the UE 910, or specific for one or more of the selected target groups. In operation, when multiple target groups are associated with a signal STRS (e.g., STRS #A depicted in FIG. 9B), the tracking and target group configuration information 958 indicates that the STRS is repeated a number of times equal to the number of target groups to be tracked... Figs. 9A, 9B).
Regarding claim 30, Park ‘551 teaches:
A network component, comprising (Park ‘551: [0108] Referring to FIG. 9A, an example use case 900 for single sided beam management for bistatic radio frequency sensing is shown … For example, a base station 902 is an example of the base station 304 and is configured to transmit a plurality of beamformed reference signals at varying angles, elevations and/or beam widths. A first reference signal 904 may be configured as a SSRS and/or a STRS and is received by a UE 910 via multiple paths …):
one or more memories;
one or more transceivers; and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to (Park ‘551: [0069-0078] … the base station 304 … include memory circuitry implementing memory components … 386 … processing system 384 … transceiver 350 … transceiver 360 ... Figs. 9A, 9B):
determine a first group of radio frequency sensing (RF-S) nodes for tracking of a target object across a first tracking area based on first information associated with and specific to the target object and second information associated with RF-S capabilities of the first group of RF-S nodes, the first group of RF-S nodes comprising a user equipment (UE) (Park ‘551: [0017] Items and/or techniques described herein may provide one or more of the following capabilities, as well as other capabilities not mentioned. A base station may transmit one or more scanning reference signals. A user equipment may receive one of the scanning reference signals via multiple non-line of sight paths via one or more receive beams. Target groups may be identified based on measurement values of the received reference signal. A scanning signal report identifying one or more target groups associated with the scanning reference signal may be sent to the base station. A tracking reference signal may be transmitted by the base station for each of the one or more target groups. The user equipment may track the target groups associated with each of the transmitted tracking reference signals. The tracking reference signal may be quasi co-located with the scanning reference signal associated with the target groups. Messaging overhead for radio frequency sensing may be reduced … [0108] Referring to FIG. 9A, an example use case 900 for single sided beam management for bistatic radio frequency sensing is shown … the use case 900 highlights scenarios when multiple target groups are detected with a single reference signal. For example, a base station 902 is an example of the base station 304 and is configured to transmit a plurality of beamformed reference signals at varying angles, elevations and/or beam widths. A first reference signal 904 may be configured as a SSRS and/or a STRS and is received by a UE 910 via multiple paths. … the UE 910 may be configured to assign explicit target group identifications to distinguish between target groups ... For example, a first target group includes the first target 905a and the second target 905b, a second target group includes the third target 906, and a third target group includes the fourth target 908. The relative locations and number of objects in the target groups are examples only and not limitations … The target group identifications and the corresponding reference signal identification information may be reported to the base station 902 … the UE 910 may be configured to provide the RSRP values and an indication of the corresponding receive beam to the base station 902 [collectively, first information], and the base station 902 (or other network node) may be configured to assign the target group identifications … [0114] ... In a scanning phase 800, a base station, such as the base station 902 may be configured to transmit sensing-scanning reference signals (SSRS) in a coverage area … Figs. 9A, 9B); and
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, RF-S configurations to the first group of RF-S nodes for tracking of the target object (Park ‘551: [0111] In the tracking phase 850, the base station 902 may transmit tracking and target group configuration information 958 for the target groups selected at stage 956. The tracking and target group configuration information 958 may include the sensing-tracking reference signal (STRS) associated with the selected target groups. The STRS may be QCLed with the corresponding SSRS transmitted in the scanning phase 800. The tracking and target group configuration information 958 may include the target group identification information based on the beam and target group information report 954 … The tracking and target group configuration information 958 may be specific for the UE 910, or specific for one or more of the selected target groups. In operation, when multiple target groups are associated with a signal STRS (e.g., STRS #A depicted in FIG. 9B), the tracking and target group configuration information 958 indicates that the STRS is repeated a number of times equal to the number of target groups to be tracked... Figs. 9A, 9B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 21-22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deixler et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230224739, hereinafter, “Deixler”) in view of Stevens et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240280683, hereinafter, “Stevens”).
Regarding claim 1, Deixler teaches:
A method of operating a network component, comprising (Deixler: [0039] FIG. 1 shows schematically and exemplarily an embodiment of a network with a plurality of network devices comprising a radio frequency sensing control device …):
receiving information associated with a radio frequency sensing (RF-S) capability of a RF-S node; determining a coverage area associated with the RF-S node based on the information (Deixler: [0045] ... The network controlling unit 112 is then adapted to control the network device 103 based on the provided neighboring network information provided by the neighboring network information providing unit 111. In particular, network controlling unit 112 is adapted to control network device 103 such that the network device 103 is enabled to detect a signal useable for radio frequency sensing [i.e., capability] in a detection area 170 extending outside of the detection area 120 of the network 100, wherein the detection signal is transmitted by one of the neighbor network devices 151, 152, 153, 154 ... [0040] In this example, the network 100 is positioned near a neighboring network 150. The neighboring network 150 comprises neighbor network devices 151, 152, 153, 154 that communicate within the neighboring network 150 by using communication messages 180, for instance, to maintain the neighboring network 150. In this example, also at least one of the neighbor network devices 151, 152, 153, 154 comprises a radio frequency capability, i.e. is adapted to perform radio frequency sensing in a detection area 160 … Fig. 1);
generating a RF-S coverage map based on the coverage area associated with the RF-S node and one or more additional coverage areas associated with one or more additional RF-S nodes (Deixler: [0045] ... In particular, network controlling unit 112 is adapted to control network device 103 such that the network device 103 is enabled to detect a signal useable for radio frequency sensing in a detection area 170 extending outside of the detection area 120 of the network 100, wherein the detection signal is transmitted by one of the neighbor network devices 151, 152, 153, 154. For instance, if the neighboring network information indicates that the neighboring network 150 provides its communication signals 180 on the same communication channel as the communication signals 130 used in the network 100, the network controlling unit 112 can be adapted to control the network device 103 to use the communication signals 180 of the neighboring network 150 received by the network device 103 for radio frequency sensing in detection area 170 …); and
performing one or more actions based on the RF-S coverage map (Deixler: [0045] ... The network controlling unit 112 can then be adapted to control the network [device] 103 to use the return signal 141 for radio frequency sensing in the detection area 170.),
wherein the RF-S node, the one or more additional RF-S nodes or both, comprise at least one wireless network infrastructure component of a cellular network (Deixler: [0008] The network can be any kind of wireless network and can be based on different kinds of radio frequency technologies and communication protocols like … Cellular device2device communication, V2X protocol ... The network is then preferably formed by a plurality of network devices according to the technology and protocol used for the network. However, the network can also be defined by only one network device that is network enabled, i.e. enabled to form a network when brought in communicative contact with another network device. In this special case the network can be regarded as being the only one network device and the detection area of the network can comprise an extent of zero or the network device can use reflections of its own signals for radio frequency sensing such that also in this case a certain extent of the detection area can be provided based on the presence or absence of reflectors in the environment of the network device. Preferably, the network comprises at least three network devices).
Although Deixler teaches enabling a radio frequency sensing network device to detect a signal useable for radio frequency sensing in a detection area outside a detection area within its network, wherein the detection signal is transmitted by one of the neighbor network devices, Deixler does not explicitly teach:
the RF-S coverage map defining a region where one or more RF-S quality thresholds are satisfied for RF-S operations.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Stevens teaches:
the RF-S coverage map defining a region where one or more RF-S quality thresholds are satisfied for RF-S operations (Stevens: [0009] ... Generally, the network is adapted to perform the radiofrequency sensing in a first sensing area and in a second sensing area, wherein the first sensing area and the second sensing area are separated by at least one physical separation … [0042] In another example, the baseline determination unit 131 can be adapted to determine the first and second baseline based on received radiofrequency signals for the same physical state of the first 101 and second area 102, for example the empty state. Since the fluctuations introduced into the received radiofrequency signal are higher in case the first area is occupied than in case the second area is occupied, the first baseline can be determined as a value up to 20% above an average amplitude value of the signals received in the empty state. Since in this case a person outside or in the second sensing area only introduces fluctuations between 10% and 20% above the average value, the baseline determination unit 131 can be adapted to determine as second baseline the average amplitude signal of the received signals. Thus, when utilizing the first and second baseline for radiofrequency sensing, for instance, by only taking into account signals that lie above the respective threshold, for determining the presence of a subject in the first sensing area 101 only received radiofrequency signal fluctuations above the first baseline are considered. Whereas lower fluctuations can be taken into account utilizing the second baseline for determining a presence in the second sensing area … Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Deixler to include the features as taught by Stevens above in order to differentiate between events in the first and second sensing areas. (Stevens, ¶ [0042]).
Regarding claim 21, Deixler teaches:
A network component, comprising (Deixler: [0039] FIG. 1 shows schematically and exemplarily an embodiment of a network with a plurality of network devices comprising a radio frequency sensing control device …):
one or more memories;
one or more transceivers; and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or 1nore processors, either alone or in combination, configured to (Deixler: [0081] Procedures like the providing information on a neighboring network, the controlling of at least one network device, etc., performed by one or several units or devices can be performed by any other number of units or devices. These procedures, particularly the control of the network device in accordance with the control method carried out by the radio frequency sensing control device can be implemented as program code means of a computer program and/or as dedicated hardware. [0082] A computer program may be stored/distributed on a suitable medium, such as an optical storage medium or a solid-state medium, supplied together with or as part of other hardware …):
receive, via the one or more transceivers, information associated with a radio frequency sensing (RF-S) capability of a RF-S node; determine a coverage area associated with the RF-S node based on the information (Deixler: [0045] ... The network controlling unit 112 is then adapted to control the network device 103 based on the provided neighboring network information provided by the neighboring network information providing unit 111. In particular, network controlling unit 112 is adapted to control network device 103 such that the network device 103 is enabled to detect a signal useable for radio frequency sensing [i.e., capability] in a detection area 170 extending outside of the detection area 120 of the network 100, wherein the detection signal is transmitted by one of the neighbor network devices 151, 152, 153, 154 ... [0040] In this example, the network 100 is positioned near a neighboring network 150. The neighboring network 150 comprises neighbor network devices 151, 152, 153, 154 that communicate within the neighboring network 150 by using communication messages 180, for instance, to maintain the neighboring network 150. In this example, also at least one of the neighbor network devices 151, 152, 153, 154 comprises a radio frequency capability, i.e. is adapted to perform radio frequency sensing in a detection area 160 … Fig. 1);
generate a RF-S coverage map based on the coverage area associated with the RF-S node and one or more additional coverage areas associated with one or more additional RF-S nodes (Deixler: [0045] ... In particular, network controlling unit 112 is adapted to control network device 103 such that the network device 103 is enabled to detect a signal useable for radio frequency sensing in a detection area 170 extending outside of the detection area 120 of the network 100, wherein the detection signal is transmitted by one of the neighbor network devices 151, 152, 153, 154. For instance, if the neighboring network information indicates that the neighboring network 150 provides its communication signals 180 on the same communication channel as the communication signals 130 used in the network 100, the network controlling unit 112 can be adapted to control the network device 103 to use the communication signals 180 of the neighboring network 150 received by the network device 103 for radio frequency sensing in detection area 170 …); and
perform one or more actions based on the RF-S coverage map (Deixler: [0045] ... The network controlling unit 112 can then be adapted to control the network [device] 103 to use the return signal 141 for radio frequency sensing in the detection area 170.),
wherein the RF-S node, the one or more additional RF-S nodes or both, comprise at least one wireless network infrastructure component of a cellular network (Deixler: [0008] The network can be any kind of wireless network and can be based on different kinds of radio frequency technologies and communication protocols like … Cellular device2device communication, V2X protocol ... The network is then preferably formed by a plurality of network devices according to the technology and protocol used for the network. However, the network can also be defined by only one network device that is network enabled, i.e. enabled to form a network when brought in communicative contact with another network device. In this special case the network can be regarded as being the only one network device and the detection area of the network can comprise an extent of zero or the network device can use reflections of its own signals for radio frequency sensing such that also in this case a certain extent of the detection area can be provided based on the presence or absence of reflectors in the environment of the network device. Preferably, the network comprises at least three network devices).
Although Deixler teaches enabling a radio frequency sensing network device to detect a signal useable for radio frequency sensing in a detection area outside a detection area within its network, wherein the detection signal is transmitted by one of the neighbor network devices, Deixler does not explicitly teach:
… the RF-S coverage map defining a region where one or more RF-S quality thresholds are satisfied for RF-S operations.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Stevens teaches:
… the RF-S coverage map defining a region where one or more RF-S quality thresholds are satisfied for RF-S operations (Stevens: [0009] ... Generally, the network is adapted to perform the radiofrequency sensing in a first sensing area and in a second sensing area, wherein the first sensing area and the second sensing area are separated by at least one physical separation … [0042] In another example, the baseline determination unit 131 can be adapted to determine the first and second baseline based on received radiofrequency signals for the same physical state of the first 101 and second area 102, for example the empty state. Since the fluctuations introduced into the received radiofrequency signal are higher in case the first area is occupied than in case the second area is occupied, the first baseline can be determined as a value up to 20% above an average amplitude value of the signals received in the empty state. Since in this case a person outside or in the second sensing area only introduces fluctuations between 10% and 20% above the average value, the baseline determination unit 131 can be adapted to determine as second baseline the average amplitude signal of the received signals. Thus, when utilizing the first and second baseline for radiofrequency sensing, for instance, by only taking into account signals that lie above the respective threshold, for determining the presence of a subject in the first sensing area 101 only received radiofrequency signal fluctuations above the first baseline are considered. Whereas lower fluctuations can be taken into account utilizing the second baseline for determining a presence in the second sensing area … Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Deixler to include the features as taught by Stevens above in order to differentiate between events in the first and second sensing areas. (Stevens, ¶ [0042]).
Regarding claims 2 and 22, Deixler-Stevens discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 21 as outlined above.
Stevens further teaches:
wherein the one or more RF-S quality thresholds comprise a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) threshold (Stevens: [0042] In another example, the baseline determination unit 131 can be adapted to determine the first and second baseline based on received radiofrequency signals for the same physical state of the first 101 and second area 102, for example the empty state. Since the fluctuations introduced into the received radiofrequency signal are higher in case the first area is occupied than in case the second area is occupied, the first baseline can be determined as a value up to 20% above an average amplitude value of the signals received in the empty state. Since in this case a person outside or in the second sensing area only introduces fluctuations between 10% and 20% above the average value, the baseline determination unit 131 can be adapted to determine as second baseline the average amplitude signal of the received signals. Thus, when utilizing the first and second baseline for radiofrequency sensing, for instance, by only taking into account signals that lie above the respective threshold, for determining the presence of a subject in the first sensing area 101 only received radiofrequency signal fluctuations above the first baseline are considered. Whereas lower fluctuations can be taken into account utilizing the second baseline for determining a presence in the second sensing area … [0039] ... For example, an average amplitude can be used as baseline or the average amplitude can be increased with a predetermined value to take into account potential additional noise [i.e., signal-to-noise] … Fig. 1).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Stevens is the same as the rationale and motivation for claims 1 and 21.
Regarding claims 5 and 25, Deixler-Stevens discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 21 as outlined above.
Deixler further teaches:
wherein the information comprises an indication of the coverage area associated with the RF-S node (Deixler: [0045] ... The network controlling unit 112 is then adapted to control the network device 103 based on the provided neighboring network information provided by the neighboring network information providing unit 111. In particular, network controlling unit 112 is adapted to control network device 103 such that the network device 103 is enabled to detect a signal useable for radio frequency sensing in a detection area 170 extending outside of the detection area 120 of the network 100, wherein the detection signal is transmitted by one of the neighbor network devices 151, 152, 153, 154 … Fig. 1).
Claims 3-4, 9, 23-24, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deixler-Stevens in view of Park et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20220030440, hereinafter, “Park”).
Regarding claims 3 and 23, Deixler-Stevens discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 21 as outlined above.
Deixler-Stevens does not explicitly teach:
wherein the RF-S node corresponds to a static RF-S node.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
wherein the RF-S node corresponds to a static RF-S node (Park: [0039] ... In some examples, the RF sensing device 103 may correspond to a UE 104, a base station 102 or 180, or other access point in the communication system in FIG. 1 … [0053] The base station may include and/or be referred to as a gNB, Node B, eNB, an access point, a base transceiver station, a radio base station, a radio transceiver, a transceiver function, a basic service set (BSS), an extended service set (ESS), a transmit reception point (TRP), or some other suitable terminology. The base station 102 provides an access point to the EPC 160 or core network 190 for a UE 104 …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Deixler-Stevens to include the features as taught by Park above in order to provide beam management for radio frequency (RF) sensing at a wireless device. (Park, ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claims 4 and 24, Deixler-Stevens discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 21 as outlined above.
Deixler-Stevens does not explicitly teach:
wherein the RF-S node corresponds to mobile RF-S node.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
wherein the RF-S node corresponds to mobile RF-S node (Park: [0039] ... In some examples, the RF sensing device 103 may correspond to a UE 104, a base station 102 or 180, or other access point in the communication system in FIG. 1 … [0053] … Examples of UEs 104 include a cellular phone, a smart phone, a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone, a laptop, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a satellite radio, a global positioning system, a multimedia device, a video device, a digital audio player (e.g., MP3 player), a camera, a game console, a tablet, a smart device, a wearable device, a vehicle, an electric meter, a gas pump, a large or small kitchen appliance, a healthcare device, an implant, a sensor/actuator, a display, or any other similar functioning device. Some of the UEs 104 may be referred to as IoT devices (e.g., parking meter, gas pump, toaster, vehicles, heart monitor, etc.). The UE 104 may also be referred to as a station, a mobile station, a subscriber station, a mobile unit, a subscriber unit, a wireless unit, a remote unit, a mobile device, a wireless device, a wireless communications device, a remote device, a mobile subscriber station, an access terminal, a mobile terminal, a wireless terminal, a remote terminal, a handset, a user agent, a mobile client, a client, or some other suitable terminology.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Deixler-Stevens to include the features as taught by Park above in order to provide beam management for radio frequency (RF) sensing at a wireless device. (Park, ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claims 9 and 29, Deixler-Stevens discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 21 as outlined above.
Deixler-Stevens does not explicitly teach:
wherein the RF-S node corresponds to a user equipment (UE), a wireless network component, a repeater, or a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
wherein the RF-S node corresponds to a user equipment (UE) (Park: [0039] ... In some examples, the RF sensing device 103 may correspond to a UE 104 … in the communication system in FIG. 1 … [0053] … Examples of UEs 104 include a cellular phone, a smart phone … The UE 104 may also be referred to as a station, a mobile station ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Deixler-Stevens to include the features as taught by Park above in order to provide beam management for radio frequency (RF) sensing at a wireless device. (Park, ¶ [0006]).
Claims 6-7 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deixler-Stevens in view of Edge et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230421993, hereinafter, “Edge”).
Regarding claims 6 and 26, Deixler-Stevens discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 21 as outlined above.
Deixler-Stevens does not explicitly teach:
wherein the information is associated with a monostatic RF-S capability of the RF-S node, a bistatic RF-S capability of the RF-S node, or both.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Edge teaches:
wherein the information is associated with a monostatic RF-S capability of the RF-S node, a bistatic RF-S capability of the RF-S node, or both (Edge: [0116] At stage 860, the UEs 852 may perform RF sensing operations based at least in part on the assistance data. For example, the UEs 802, 804, 806, 808 may be configured to jointly perform monostatic RF sensing operations based on assigned geographic areas (e.g., the areas 802a, 804a, 806a, 808a), time division, frequency division, and/or combinations of area, time and frequency. In an example, the UEs 802, 804, 806, 808 may be configured for bistatic RF sensing such that the RF signals transmitted by one UE that are reflected, scattered, diffracted, and/or absorbed by target objects may be received and utilized by other UEs to detect the target objects).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Deixler-Stevens to include the features as taught by Edge above in order to provide RF sensing performed by multiple wireless enabled devices. (Edge, ¶ [0033]).
Regarding claims 7 and 27, Deixler-Stevens discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 21 as outlined above.
Deixler-Stevens does not explicitly teach:
transmitting a request RF-S capability information of the RF-S node, wherein the information is received from the RF-S node in response to the request.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Edge teaches:
transmitting a request RF-S capability information of the RF-S node, wherein the information is received from the RF-S node in response to the request (Edge: [0115] ... In an example, the LMF 120 (or other crowdsourcing server) may be configured to send RF sensing request messages 854 to one or more of the UEs 852, e.g. via LPP or TCP/IP messaging. The UEs 852 may respond with RF sensing capabilities messages 856 to indicate their respective capabilities to participate in RF sensing operations ... Fig. 8C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Deixler-Stevens to include the features as taught by Edge above in order to provide RF sensing performed by multiple wireless enabled devices. (Edge, ¶ [0033]).
Claims 8 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deixler-Stevens in view of Kalantari (WIPO (PCT) Patent Application Publication, WO2024027890A1, hereinafter, “Kalantari”).
Regarding claims 8 and 28, Deixler-Stevens discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 21 as outlined above.
Deixler-Stevens does not explicitly teach:
selecting one or more groups of RF-S nodes for tracking of one or more target objects across one or more tracking areas based on the RF-S coverage map.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kalantari teaches:
selecting one or more groups of RF-S nodes for tracking of one or more target objects across one or more tracking areas based on the RF-S coverage map (Kalantari: [Page 20, lines 28-33] … Another example is to divide UEs 12 that have radar sensing capability into groups, for example two groups, and let these groups have access to predetermined subsets of resources. The network 10 may use a flag to map the SIB resources to the priority levels of the respective UEs 12. For example, the UEs 12 having radar subscriptions have access to better sensing resources, as compared to UEs 12 lacking such subscriptions … [Page 21, lines 1-10] Another aspect discussed herein is mapping SIB resources to beam directions of the network 10. That is, the allocations of communication resources for radar sensing use may vary in each transmit beam direction of each radio network node 22. For example, with respect to any given radio network node 22, the radar resource allocation provided in one SSB coverage area is different than the radar resource allocation in another SSB direction. The SIB transmitted for each SSB coverage area may carry restriction signaling 40 indicating the radar allocation for that SSB coverage area and for one or more neighboring SSB coverage areas. The particular amount of communication resources allocated to each SSB coverage area, or the particular communication resources, may depend on the density or number of UEs 12 using radar and/or communications within each SSB coverage area … [Page 7, lines 18-20] … As noted, “radar sensing” refers to any given UE 12 transmitting a signal for object detection or environmental sensing, rather than for conventional communications, with the UE 12 performing radar processing on return reflections of the transmitted signal.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Deixler-Stevens to include the features as taught by Kalantari above in order to reduce signaling overhead in the network. (Kalantari, ¶ [Page 19, line 20]).
Claims 11, 14, 16, 31, 34, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park ‘551 in view of Edge et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230421993, hereinafter, “Edge”).
Regarding claims 11 and 31, Park ‘551 discloses on the features with respect to claims 10 and 30 as outlined above.
Park ‘551 does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first information comprises:
a location of the target object, or
a speed of the target object, or
a trajectory of the target object, or
a navigation route of the target object, or
a tracking accuracy requirement of the target object, or
any combination thereof.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Edge teaches:
wherein the first information comprises:
a location of the target object (Edge: [0162] …wherein the radio frequency sensing assistance data includes information related to at least one of a movement, a location of a target object).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park ‘551 to include the features as taught by Edge above in order to provide RF sensing performed by multiple wireless enabled devices. (Edge, ¶ [0033]).
Regarding claims 14 and 34, Park ‘551 discloses on the features with respect to claims 10 and 30 as outlined above.
Park ‘551 does not explicitly teach:
wherein the RF-S configurations comprise monostatic RF-S configurations.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Edge teaches:
wherein the RF-S configurations comprise monostatic RF-S configurations (Edge: [0116] At stage 860, the UEs 852 may perform RF sensing operations based at least in part on the assistance data. For example, the UEs 802, 804, 806, 808 may be configured to jointly perform monostatic RF sensing operations based on assigned geographic areas (e.g., the areas 802a, 804a, 806a, 808a), time division, frequency division, and/or combinations of area, time and frequency …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park ‘551 to include the features as taught by Edge above in order to provide RF sensing performed by multiple wireless enabled devices. (Edge, ¶ [0033]).
Regarding claims 16 and 36, Park ‘551 discloses on the features with respect to claims 10 and 30 as outlined above.
Park ‘551 does not explicitly teach:
wherein the RF-S configurations comprise bistatic RF-S configurations.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Edge teaches:
wherein the RF-S configurations comprise bistatic RF-S configurations (Edge: [0116] ... In an example, the UEs 802, 804, 806, 808 may be configured for bistatic RF sensing such that the RF signals transmitted by one UE that are reflected, scattered, diffracted, and/or absorbed by target objects may be received and utilized by other UEs to detect the target objects).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park ‘551 to include the features as taught by Edge above in order to provide RF sensing performed by multiple wireless enabled devices. (Edge, ¶ [0033]).
Claims 12-13, 18, 32-33, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park ‘551 in view of Kalantari (WIPO (PCT) Patent Application Publication, WO2024027890A1, hereinafter, “Kalantari”).
Regarding claims 12 and 32, Park ‘551 discloses on the features with respect to claims 10 and 30 as outlined above.
Park ‘551 does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first group of RF-S nodes further comprises one or more wireless network components.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kalantari teaches:
wherein the first group of RF-S nodes further comprises one or more wireless network components (Kalantari: [Page 20, lines 28-33] … Another example is to divide UEs 12 that have radar sensing capability into groups, for example two groups, and let these groups have access to predetermined subsets of resources. The network 10 may use a flag to map the SIB resources to the priority levels of the respective UEs 12. For example, the UEs 12 having radar subscriptions have access to better sensing resources, as compared to UEs 12 lacking such subscriptions … [Page 5, lines 22-26] A Radio Access Network (RAN) 20 of the network 10 provides the air interface(s) used to couple respective UEs 12 to the network 10 via wireless signaling. The air interface(s) comprise one or more carriers in one or more frequency bands, supporting downlink communications from the network 10 to respective UEs 12 and uplink communications from the respective UEs 12 to the network 10 ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park ‘551 to include the features as taught by Kalantari above in order to reduce signaling overhead in the network. (Kalantari, ¶ [Page 19, line 20]).
Regarding claims 13 and 33, Park ‘551 discloses on the features with respect to claims 10 and 30 as outlined above.
Park ‘551 does not explicitly teach:
the RF-S capabilities of the first group of RF-S nodes.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kalantari teaches:
the RF-S capabilities of the first group of RF-S nodes (Kalantari: [Page 20, lines 28-33] … Another example is to divide UEs 12 that have radar sensing capability into groups, for example two groups, and let these groups have access to predetermined subsets of resources. The network 10 may use a flag to map the SIB resources to the priority levels of the respective UEs 12. For example, the UEs 12 having radar subscriptions have access to better sensing resources, as compared to UEs 12 lacking such subscriptions …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park ‘551 to include the features as taught by Kalantari above in order to reduce signaling overhead in the network. (Kalantari, ¶ [Page 19, line 20]).
Regarding claims 18 and 38, Park ‘551 discloses on the features with respect to claims 10 and 30 as outlined above.
Park ‘551 does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first group of RF-S nodes is determined for tracking of the target object across the first tracking area during a first set of slots, and
wherein a second group of RF-S nodes that is different from the first group of RF-S nodes is determined for tracking of the target object across a second tracking area during a second set of slots.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kalantari teaches:
wherein the first group of RF-S nodes is determined for tracking of the target object across the first tracking area during a first set of slots (Kalantari: [Page 21, lines 1-10] Another aspect discussed herein is mapping SIB resources to beam directions of the network 10. That is, the allocations of communication resources for radar sensing use may vary in each transmit beam direction of each radio network node 22. For example, with respect to any given radio network node 22, the radar resource allocation provided in one SSB coverage area is different than the radar resource allocation in another SSB direction. The SIB transmitted for each SSB coverage area may carry restriction signaling 40 indicating the radar allocation for that SSB coverage area and for one or more neighboring SSB coverage areas. The particular amount of communication resources allocated to each SSB coverage area, or the particular communication resources, may depend on the density or number of UEs 12 using radar and/or communications within each SSB coverage area … [Page 22, lines 4-14] … The UE 12 may use the neighboring relation of the SSBs, which may be provided in the SIB, to identify the indexes of undetectable SSBs. Alternatively, a field included in the SIB 1 transmitted for each SSB beam direction indicates the neighboring SSBs and the UE 12 compares the currently detected SSBs vs the list to figure out the indexes of the undetectable SSBs. As a variation of this approach, the SIB transmitted in each SSB coverage area to convey the restriction signaling 40 may contain reserved time info only for the current SSB coverage area. Here, "current" refers to the SSB that corresponds with the transmitted SIB. Similarly, for each SSB direction, the SIB may indicate time/frequency resources that are permitted for radar operation, e.g., OFDM symbols, slots, frames, Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs), Bandwidth Parts (BWPs), CORESETS, or other frequency region definitions …), and
wherein a second group of RF-S nodes that is different from the first group of RF-S nodes is determined for tracking of the target object across a second tracking area during a second set of slots (Kalantari: [Page 21, lines 1-10] Another aspect discussed herein is mapping SIB resources to beam directions of the network 10. That is, the allocations of communication resources for radar sensing use may vary in each transmit beam direction of each radio network node 22. For example, with respect to any given radio network node 22, the radar resource allocation provided in one SSB coverage area is different than the radar resource allocation in another SSB direction. The SIB transmitted for each SSB coverage area may carry restriction signaling 40 indicating the radar allocation for that SSB coverage area and for one or more neighboring SSB coverage areas. The particular amount of communication resources allocated to each SSB coverage area, or the particular communication resources, may depend on the density or number of UEs 12 using radar and/or communications within each SSB coverage area … [Page 22, lines 4-14] … The UE 12 may use the neighboring relation of the SSBs, which may be provided in the SIB, to identify the indexes of undetectable SSBs. Alternatively, a field included in the SIB 1 transmitted for each SSB beam direction indicates the neighboring SSBs and the UE 12 compares the currently detected SSBs vs the list to figure out the indexes of the undetectable SSBs. As a variation of this approach, the SIB transmitted in each SSB coverage area to convey the restriction signaling 40 may contain reserved time info only for the current SSB coverage area. Here, "current" refers to the SSB that corresponds with the transmitted SIB. Similarly, for each SSB direction, the SIB may indicate time/frequency resources that are permitted for radar operation, e.g., OFDM symbols, slots, frames, Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs), Bandwidth Parts (BWPs), CORESETS, or other frequency region definitions …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park ‘551 to include the features as taught by Kalantari above in order to reduce signaling overhead in the network. (Kalantari, ¶ [Page 19, line 20]).
Claims 15, 17, 35, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park ‘551-Edge in view of Park et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20220030440, hereinafter, “Park”).
Regarding claims 15 and 35, Park ‘551-Edge discloses on the features with respect to claims 14 and 34 as outlined above.
Park ‘551-Edge does not explicitly teach:
wherein the monostatic RF-S configurations comprise a resource allocation, a beam allocation, or both, associated with one or more monostatic RF-S operations for tracking of the target object.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
wherein the monostatic RF-S configurations comprise a resource allocation, a beam allocation, or both, associated with one or more monostatic RF-S operations for tracking of the target object (Park: [0055] FIG. 2A illustrates an example of monostatic RF sensing 200 in which the RF sensing device 203 transmits the RF signal using beams 205 and receives a reflection of the RF signal that is reflected by the target 207 using the same beams 205. In the monostatic example, a transmission-reception beam pair may include a single beam. FIG. 2A illustrates the transmission beam being the same beam as the reception beam. Beam management may be applied for a single beam, e.g., the transmission beam, whereas beam management for wireless communication, such as for beamforming between a base station 102 or 180 and a UE 104 in FIG. 1 may involve management of different transmission beams and reception beams. For example, beam management may include the determination of a transmission beam from the base station and a reception beam at the UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park ‘551-Edge to include the features as taught by Park above in order to provide beam management for radio frequency (RF) sensing at a wireless device. (Park, ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claims 17 and 37, Park ‘551-Edge discloses on the features with respect to claims 16 and 36 as outlined above.
Park ‘551-Edge does not explicitly teach:
wherein the bistatic RF-S configurations comprise a resource allocation, a beam allocation, or both, associated with one or more bistatic RF-S operations between pairs of RF-S nodes among the first group of RF-S nodes for tracking of the target object.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
wherein the bistatic RF-S configurations comprise a resource allocation, a beam allocation, or both, associated with one or more bistatic RF-S operations between pairs of RF-S nodes among the first group of RF-S nodes for tracking of the target object (Park: [0056] FIG. 2B illustrates an example of bistatic RF sensing 250 in which a transmission unit 201a transmits the RF signal using one or more transmission beams 205a and a reception unit 201b receives the RF signal using one or more reception beams 205b. The transmission unit 201a and reception unit 201b may be located at separate locations. In FIG. 2B, the transmission beam is separate from the reception beam, whereas the transmission unit and reception unit in FIG. 2A are co-located. FIG. 2B illustrates the first transmission-reception beam pair for a reflection of the signal from the target 207, whereas the second transmission-reception beam pair is for the signal received directly from the transmission unit 201a. The transmission and reception beam pairs in the bi-static RF example may be separately managed for RF sensing. The beam management for RF sensing may be performed separately than beam management for beam pairs for communication. For example, the first transmission-reception beam pair may be selected for RF sensing, whereas, the second transmission-reception beam pair may be selected for communication.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park ‘551-Edge to include the features as taught by Park above in order to provide beam management for radio frequency (RF) sensing at a wireless device. (Park, ¶ [0006]).
Claims 19 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park ‘551 in view of Deixler et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230224739, hereinafter, “Deixler”).
Regarding claims 19 and 39, Park ‘551 discloses on the features with respect to claims 18 and 38 as outlined above.
Park ‘551 does not explicitly teach:
wherein at least one RF-S node is common to both the first group of RF-S nodes and the second group of RF-S nodes.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deixler teaches:
wherein at least one RF-S node is common to both the first group of RF-S nodes and the second group of RF-S nodes (Deixler: [0039] ... The network 100 is formed by network devices 101, 102, 103 and 104 communicating with each other and maintaining the network 100 via communication signals 130, wherein the communication signals 130 are radio frequency signals ... At least one of the network devices 101, 102, 103, 104 [i.e., first group] comprises as additional functionality a radio frequency sensing functionality, i.e. is adapted to perform radio frequency sensing in a detection area 120 of the network 100 … [0040] ... The neighboring network 150 comprises neighbor network devices 151, 152, 153, 154 that communicate within the neighboring network 150 by using communication messages 180, for instance, to maintain the neighboring network 150. In this example, also at least one of the neighbor network devices 151, 152, 153, 154 [i.e., second group]comprises a radio frequency capability, i.e. is adapted to perform radio frequency sensing in a detection area 160 … [0045] ... In particular, network controlling unit 112 is adapted to control network device 103 such that the network device 103 is enabled to detect a signal useable for radio frequency sensing in a detection area 170 extending outside of the detection area 120 of the network 100 [i.e., network device 103 can perform sensing in both areas among both groups of network devices], wherein the detection signal is transmitted by one of the neighbor network devices 151, 152, 153, 154. For instance, if the neighboring network information indicates that the neighboring network 150 provides its communication signals 180 on the same communication channel as the communication signals 130 used in the network 100, the network controlling unit 112 can be adapted to control the network device 103 to use the communication signals 180 of the neighboring network 150 received by the network device 103 for radio frequency sensing in detection area 170 …)… Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park ‘551 to include the features as taught by Deixler above in order to improve the radio frequency detection in peripheral areas of a network. (Deixler, ¶ [0005]).
Claims 20 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park ‘551 in view of Kim et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240129870, hereinafter, “Kim”).
Regarding claims 20 and 40, Park ‘551 discloses on the features with respect to claims 18 and 38 as outlined above.
Park ‘551 does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first set of slots is identified with a period and offset that is based on system frame number (SFN) and slot number.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
wherein the first set of slots is identified with a period and offset that is based on system frame number (SFN) and slot number (Kim: [0124] The SS/PBCH block that the base station transmits to the terminal may include configuration information for configuring the signal regarding the RIS pattern. The configuration information for configuring the signal regarding the RIS pattern may include at least one of information regarding a slot offset or information regarding a transmission period of the signal regarding the RIS pattern. The transmission period of the signal regarding the RIS pattern may be indicated by using at least one of a system frame number (SFN), the number of subframes, or the number of slots. The terminal may pre-receive the configuration information for configuring the signal regarding the RIS pattern from the base station through higher layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park ‘551 to include the features as taught by Kim above in order to perform beam sweeping by using a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) reflection pattern. (Kim, ¶ [0002]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416