Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 14, “pivoting” at the end of the limitation should be removed since the pivoting function is already mentioned.
In line 3 of claim 20, “the structure” should read ---a structure--- to establish antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "the rope passes through the central passage of the ring and at end at the rope angle when the passage axis is horizontal" in lines 16-17 is unclear. Is the rope passing at an end of the rope angle or is the rope passing at the front edge end of the ring at which the rope angle is formed?
Claims 2-20 are rejected because they are dependents of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 14-15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warden (US1589776A) in view of LV (CN204701747U).
Regarding claim 1, Warden discloses a multi-angle bearing head (8; Figures 1-2, 7, and 9) having a front (left side; Figure 2) and a rear (right side; Figure 2), the multi-angle bearing head (8) being configured to be used with a rope (7) and a complementary component (24), the multi-angle bearing head (8) comprising: a ring (25) having a passage axis, the ring (25) defining a central passage (center opening of ring 25) therethrough, the ring (25) having a plurality of holes (threaded holes shown in Figure 7 for screws 24) separated from the central passage adapted for the complementary component (24) to be attached thereto, where the central passage has a front edge (left side edge of ring 25); and at least one bearing member (46; 47) coupled to the ring (25), the at least one bearing member (46; 47) extending at least partially within the central passage providing a guiding surface (concave surface of the rollers 46,47) for the rope (7) to pass through the ring (25) by the central passage while preventing the rope to rub against the front edge of the central passage of the ring (25), wherein the multi-angle bearing head (8) is adapted for the rope (7) to extend either vertically or horizontally at a rope angle with respect to the passage axis beyond the front edge of the ring (25) with the at least one bearing member (46; 47) preventing the rope (7) from rubbing against the front edge of the ring (25) as the rope passes through the central passage of the ring and at end at the rope angle when the passage axis is horizontal (the roller 47 is sized and positioned to prevent the rope from contacting the surfaces of the ring 25 when the rope is deflected in the downward vertical direction and/or the roller 46 is sized and positioned to prevent the rope from contacting the surfaces of the ring 25 when the rope is deflected in the upward vertical direction), but fails to teach wherein the at least one bearing member extending at least partially in front of the front edge of the ring, the at least one bearing member providing a guiding surface at least partially in front of the front edge of the central passage of the ring; wherein the multi-angle bearing head is adapted for the rope to extend either vertically or horizontally at a rope angle of at least 90 degrees with respect to the passage axis beyond the front edge of the ring.
LV teaches a similar multi-angle bearing head and further teaches wherein the at least one bearing member (3; Figure 2) extending at least partially in front of the front edge (top side edge of ring 1; Figure 2) of the ring (1), the at least one bearing member (3) providing a guiding surface at least partially in front of the front edge of the central passage (center opening of ring 1) of the ring (1); wherein the multi-angle bearing head is adapted for the rope to extend either vertically or horizontally at any rope angle with respect to the passage axis (central axis of ring 1) beyond the front edge of the ring (1; Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multi-bearing head of Warden to include the bearing members as taught by LV and the rope extending either vertically or horizontally at a rope angle of at least 90 degrees in order to better align the rope in the direction and angle of rope operation while preventing the rope from contacting portions of the bearing head to avoid damage to the rope. LV further teaches that the bearing head accommodates to guiding the rope to any direction and angle needed for the operation of the rope and since the bearing members of LV extend beyond the front edge of the ring, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art that the rope angle can be formed at least up to 90 degrees.
Regarding claim 2, Warden discloses wherein the plurality of holes (threaded holes shown in Figure 7 for screws 24) are static relative to the passage axis.
Regarding claim 3, Warden discloses comprising a support (9, 17, 20; Figure 1) secured to the ring (25).
Regarding claim 4, Warden discloses wherein the support (9, 10, 17, 20) comprises a support component (17, 20) secured to the ring (25), a base (9, 10) securable to a structure (locomotive; Figure 9), wherein the support component (17, 20) and the base (9, 10) are rotatable relative to each other.
Regarding claim 6, Warden discloses further comprising a disk assembly (29, 30, 33; Figure 2) coupled to the ring (25), the disk assembly (29, 30, 33) adapted for freely pivoting around the passage axis.
Regarding claim 7, Warden discloses wherein the at least one bearing member (46; 47) is a spool mounted to the disk assembly (29, 30, 33).
Regarding claim 8, Warden discloses wherein the disk assembly (29, 30, 33) comprises a first disk (30; Figure 6) and a second disk (33) that are coupled to each other with the ring (25) wedged in-between.
Regarding claim 9, Warden discloses wherein the disk assembly (29, 30, 33) comprises a low-friction coupling component (35; Figure 1) wedged between the first disk (30) and the ring (25).
Regarding claim 10, Warden discloses wherein the ring (25) comprises a circular inner edge (inner diameter face of ring 25 retains the bearings 35), and wherein the coupling component (35) is adapted for the first disk (30) to slide relative to the circular inner edge and thereby pivoting around the passage axis.
Regarding claim 11, Warden discloses wherein the at least one bearing member (46; 47) is a spool comprising a shaft (45; Figure 1) wedged between the first disk (30) and the second disk (33; joint 38,43 additionally makes up the assembly of the disks 30,33 wherein the shafts 45 are wedged therebetween).
Regarding claim 14, Warden discloses wherein the disk assembly (29, 30, 33) freely pivoting more than 360 degrees around the passage axis, pivoting (bearings 35 allow the disk assembly to rotate freely about the passage axis).
Regarding claim 15, Warden discloses wherein the spool has two edges (left and right-side edges of roller 46,47) having an edge diameter, and an intermediary diameter (concave surface of roller 46,47) in-between that is smaller than the edge diameter.
Regarding claim 20, Warden discloses an apparatus used as a hoisting apparatus (6; Figure 9), the apparatus comprising: a structure (locomotive); and the multi-angle bearing head (8), the multi-angle bearing head (8) being coupled to the structure (locomotive), wherein the multi-angle bearing head (8) defines a passage having a substantially closed perimeter adapted for the rope (7) to pass therethrough.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warden, in view of LV, and in further view of Roe (US2581298A).
Regarding claim 5, modified Warden discloses the above multi-angle bearing head, but fails to teach wherein the support component and the base comprise holes that can be aligned when the support component is rotated at a first angle and at a second angle relative to the base, and a pin mountable to the holes to releasably secure the multi-angle bearing head at the first angle and at the second angle.
Roe teaches a similar multi-angle bearing head and further teaches wherein the support component (32, 36; Figures 3-5) and the base (38) comprise holes (34, 40) that can be aligned when the support component (32, 36) is rotated at a first angle and at a second angle relative to the base (38; slotted holes enable rotation and fixation of the support 32,36 at various angles with respect to the base 38), and a pin (44) mountable to the holes (34, 40) to releasably secure the multi-angle bearing head at the first angle and at the second angle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multi-bearing head of Warden to include the support component and base as taught by Roe in order to provide rigid support when needed at a desired bearing head angular position.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warden, in view of LV, and in further view of Leslie (US20180093848A1).
Regarding claims 12-13, modified Warden discloses the above multi-angle bearing head, but fails to teach fittings mounted to the first disk, and a pilot mounted to the fittings providing a path for the rope between the pilot and the at least one bearing member; wherein the pilot has a first end and a second end, the guiding surface being rotatable relative to a first one of the fittings, the multi-angle bearing head comprising a releasable pin adapted to releasably mount the second end to a second one of the fittings.
Leslie teaches a similar multi-angle bearing head and further teaches fittings (F; see Leslie annotated Figure 2B below) mounted to the first disk (D), and a pilot (P) mounted to the fittings (F) providing a path for the rope (9; Figure 2A) between the pilot (P) and the at least one bearing member (23); wherein the pilot (P) has a first end and a second end (left and right side of pilot P), the guiding surface (concave surface of the roller 23) being rotatable relative to a first one of the fittings (1F; see Leslie annotated Figure 1B below), the multi-angle bearing head (10) comprising a releasable pin (PN) adapted to releasably mount the second end to a second one of the fittings (2F). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multi-bearing head of Warden to include the pilot as taught by Leslie in order to maintain the rope within the concave surface of the bearing member to prevent run off and damage to the rope.
Leslie, Annotated Figure 1B
Leslie, Annotated Figure 2B
Claim(s) 1-4 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courbis (FR2662314A1).
Regarding claim 1, Courbis discloses a multi-angle bearing head (1; Figures 1-2) having a front (left side; Figure 4) and a rear (right side; Figure 4), the multi-angle bearing head (1) being configured to be used with a rope and a complementary component (14), the multi-angle bearing head (1) comprising: a ring (7) having a passage axis, the ring (7) defining a central passage therethrough, the ring (7) having a plurality of holes (threaded holes shown in Figure 2 for screws 14) separated from the central passage adapted for the complementary component (14) to be attached thereto, where the central passage has a front edge (left side edge of ring 7); and at least one bearing member (2-6, 8) coupled to the ring (7), the at least one bearing member (2-6, 8) extending at least partially within the central passage and at least partially in front of the front edge of the ring (7; rollers 4 and 6 extend partially in front of the edge of the ring), the at least one bearing member (4 and 6) providing a guiding surface (outer surface of the rollers 4 and 6) at least partially in front of the front edge of the central passage of the ring (7) for the rope to pass through the ring (7) by the central passage while preventing the rope to rub against the front edge of the central passage of the ring (25), wherein the multi-angle bearing head (1) is adapted for the rope to extend vertically at a rope angle with respect to the passage axis beyond the front edge of the ring (7) as the rope passes through the central passage of the ring (7) and at end at the rope angle when the passage axis is horizontal (the rollers 2,3 are sized and positioned to prevent the rope from contacting the surfaces of the ring 7 when the rope is deflected laterally along the horizontal plane and/or the rollers 4-6,8 are positioned near the edge of the frame to prevent the rope from contacting the surfaces of the ring 25 when the rope is deflected in the upward or downward vertical direction). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multi-bearing head of Courbis to include the rope extending vertically at a rope angle of at least 90 degrees in order to better align the rope in the direction and angle of rope operation while preventing the rope from contacting portions of the bearing head to avoid damage to the rope. Since the bearing members 4 and 6 of Courbis extend beyond the front edge of the ring, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art that the rope angle can be formed in the vertical direction at least up to 90 degrees.
Regarding claim 2, Courbis discloses wherein the plurality of holes (threaded holes shown in Figure 2 for screws 14) are static relative to the passage axis.
Regarding claim 3, Courbis discloses comprising a support (9, 10, 11; Figure 1) secured to the ring (7).
Regarding claim 4, Courbis discloses wherein the support (9, 10, 11) comprises a support component (9, 10) secured to the ring (7), a base (11) securable to a structure (machine; page 2, ¶18, frame of machine), wherein the support component (9, 10) and the base (11) are rotatable relative to each other.
Regarding claim 16, Courbis discloses wherein the ring (7) consists in a first jaw (7.1, 7.3-7.4; Figure 1) and a second jaw (15) rotatable relative to the first jaw (7.1, 7.3-7.4) between an open position (Figure 1) and a closed position (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 17, Courbis discloses wherein the at least one bearing member (2-6, 8) consists of a plurality of spools neighboring one another and providing a plurality of individual guiding surfaces that together sum up to the guiding surface with gaps between any two neighboring ones of the plurality of individual guiding surfaces being smaller than a diameter of the rope to be used (the gaps shown in Figure 2 show that spacing between the spools are smaller than the rope that ranges in different sizes).
Regarding claim 18, Courbis discloses wherein the neighboring spools (bearing members 2-6, 8) have pivot axes (16; Figure 2) that are oblique to each other (spools are angled with respect to each other).
Regarding claim 19, Courbis discloses wherein the guiding surface (outer surface of the rollers 2-6, 8) defines a closed perimeter in the closed position (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 20, Courbis discloses an apparatus used as a hoisting apparatus (page 2, lines 2-3, for use with machines driving movement in space), the apparatus comprising: a structure (machine; page 2, ¶18, frame of machine) and the multi-angle bearing head (1), the multi-angle bearing head (1) being coupled to the structure (machine), wherein the multi-angle bearing head (1) defines a passage having a substantially closed perimeter adapted for the rope to pass therethrough.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/24/2025 with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, in the last 3 paragraphs of page 7, in page 8, and first nine lines of page 9, the applicant argued that there is no disclosure in Warden, Courbis, Leslie and Roe wherein the at least one bearing member extending at least partially in front of the front edge of the ring, the at least one bearing member providing a guiding surface at least partially in front of the front edge of the central passage of the ring; wherein the multi-angle bearing head is adapted for the rope to extend either vertically or horizontally at a rope angle of at least 90 degrees with respect to the passage axis beyond the front edge of the ring.
The examiner agrees that the disclosure of Warden, Leslie, and Roe fail to teach wherein the at least one bearing member extending at least partially in front of the front edge of the ring, the at least one bearing member providing a guiding surface at least partially in front of the front edge of the central passage of the ring; wherein the multi-angle bearing head is adapted for the rope to extend either vertically or horizontally at a rope angle of at least 90 degrees with respect to the passage axis beyond the front edge of the ring. However, the examiner construed that the disclosure of LV teaches the deficiencies of Warden, as described above. Furthermore, the examiner construed that the disclosure of Courbis teaches wherein the at least one bearing member (rollers 4 and 6) extending at least partially in front of the front edge of the ring 7, the at least one bearing member providing a guiding surface at least partially in front of the front edge of the central passage of the ring; wherein the multi-angle bearing head is adapted for the rope to extend either vertically at a rope angle with respect to the passage axis beyond the front edge of the ring. Since the bearing members 4 and 6 of Courbis extend beyond the front edge of the ring, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art that the rope angle can be formed in the vertical direction at least up to 90 degrees in order to better align the rope in the direction and angle of rope operation while preventing the rope from contacting portions of the bearing head to avoid damage to the rope. Thus, contradicting to applicant’s assertions, such amendment does not overcome the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654