DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the pending claims, 1-45, received 28 November 2023. Accordingly, the detailed action of claims 1-45 is as follows:
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/28/2023, 04/01/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 21, 44-45 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liao et al (US 20230146553 A1, hereafter referred to as Liao).
Regarding claim 21, Liao teaches a method performed by a wireless communication node in a wireless network, comprising:
determining whether a predetermined condition is met (Liao [0056] teaches determining, by a BS, an early paging indicator (PEI) for a UE); and
in response to the predetermined condition being met, transmitting a Downlink Control Information (DCI) to a UE in the wireless network (Liao [0056] teaches responsive to determining a PEI, transmitting a PEI message including the PEI to the UE), wherein the DCI is scramble by a Radio Network Temporary Identification (RNTI) (Liao [0035] teaches a CRC of the DCI scrambled by the P-RNTI) and comprises a paging indication (Liao [0056] teaches the PEI message includes the PEI), and wherein the paging indication indicates whether the UE is to receive a next coming paging occasion (Liao [0056] teaches the PEI is used for a UE in idle mode to determine a PO is to be monitored by the UE).
Regarding claim 44, Liao teaches a device comprising a memory for storing computer instructions (Liao [0027-0028 and 0030]) and a processor in communication with the memory (Liao [0027-0028 and 0030]), wherein, when the processor executes the computer instructions, the processor is configured to implement a method (Liao [0027-0028 and 0030]). The additional limitations of claim 44 do not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claim 21.
Specifically, the additional limitations of claim 44 are identical to the limitations of claim 21, and correspond to the device executing the limitations of method claim 21. Therefore, the additional limitations of claim 44, are rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 21.
Regarding claim 45, Liao-Chatterjee teaches computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable program medium with computer code stored thereupon, the computer code, when executed by one or more processors, causing the one or more processors to implement a method (Liao [0027-0028 and 0030]). The additional limitations of claim 45 do not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claim 21.
Specifically, the additional limitations of claim 45 are identical to the limitations of claim 21, and correspond to the computer redable medium embodying the limitations of method claim 21. Therefore, the additional limitations of claim 45, are rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6, 12-13, 19-20, 22-24, 39, 43 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al (US 20230146553 A1, hereafter referred to as Liao) in view of Chatterjee et al (WO 2022031540 A1, hereafter referred to as Chatterjee).
Regarding claim 1, Liao teaches a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless network, wherein the UE is in an idle or an inactive state (Liao [0006] teaches a UE in idle mode), the method comprising:
receiving a Downlink Control Information (DCI) from a wireless communication node in the wireless network, wherein the DCI is scramble by a Radio Network Temporary Identification (RNTI) and comprises a paging indication (Liao [0050] teaches receiving a PEI message in idle mode, wherein the PEI message includes a PEI and a format of the PEI message is DCI format, wherein the PEI message includes a CRC field scrambled by a P-RNTI [0040, 0035]), and wherein the paging indication indicates whether the UE is to receive a next coming paging occasion (Liao [0006] teaches the PEI message indicates whether the UE is to monitor a PDCCH at a paging occasion);
resolving the paging indication from the DCI (Liao [0051] teaches determining whether to monitor a PDCCH at a paging occasion based the PEI) and
the DCI (Liao [0050, 0032]) is characterized by at least one of:
a paging indication field comprising N bits, wherein N is an integer which is pre-determined or configured by higher layer (Liao [0037] teaches X bits configured as the PEI, wherein X is configured by system information);
or a TRS/CSI-RS availability indication field comprising P bits, wherein P is an integer which is pre-determined or configured by higher layer; and
determining whether the UE is to receive the next coming paging occasion based on the paging indication (Liao [0051] teaches determining whether to monitor a PDCCH at a paging occasion based the PEI).
However, Liao does not explicitly teach resolving the paging indication from the DCI in response to determining that a predetermined condition is met, wherein: the predetermined condition comprises a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) of the DCI being scrambled by a paging RNTI (P-RNTI) or an RNTI configured by higher layer.
Chatterjee, in an analogous art, teaches resolving the paging indication from the DCI in response to determining that a predetermined condition is met (Chatterjee [0074] teaches determining whether the CRC, contained in the DCI, is scrambled by a P-RNTI. Additionally, [0074] teaches an alternate condition, wherein it is determined the CRC is scrambled by the P-RNTI and the short message field has a predetermined bit sequence), wherein:
the predetermined condition comprises a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) of the DCI being scrambled by a paging RNTI (P-RNTI) or an RNTI configured by higher layer (Chatterjee [0074] teaches predetermined conditions including whether the CRC is scrambled by an RNTI, particularly a SI-RNTI, or a P-RNTI).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liao in view of Chatterjee in order to configure the resolution of the paging indication from the DCI, as taught by Liao, be responsive to determining a predetermining condition is met wherein the predetermined condition comprises a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) of the DCI being scrambled by a paging RNTI (P-RNTI) or an RNTI configured by higher layer, as taught by Chatterjee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to enable increased power savings during the paging occasion ([00118]) and other monitoring occasions ([00109]) as well as reduce power consumption and maintain tracking in the idle/inactive mode ([0054]).
Regarding claim 2, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the method in response to determining that the UE needs to receive the next coming paging occasion, receiving the next coming paging occasion (Liao [0024] teaches upon receipt of a PEI, performing paging PDCCH decoding as well as Paging PDSCH decoding, by monitoring paging occasions [0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the method wherein determining whether the UE is to receive the next coming paging occasion based on the paging indication comprises:
in determination that the paging indication indicates a paging group that the UE belongs to (Liao [0024] teaches a group of UEs are associated with the PO such that the UE group is associated with the PEI and corresponding PO), determining that the UE is to receive the next coming paging occasion (Liao [0024] teaches determining, based on the PEI, a UE in the UE group is paged).
Regarding claim 4, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the method wherein the DCI comprises a channel state information reference signal availability indication (Chatterjee [0074] teaches the availability of the TRS or CSI-RS are indicated in the DCI).
Regarding claim 5, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the method wherein: the DCI comprises at least one non-reserved field from a first field set (Liao [0033] discloses a plurality of possible fields of the DCI format [0032]), and the first field set comprises at least one of:
a Transport Block (TB) scaling field (Liao [0052]); a Short Messages Indicator field (Liao [0052]; a Short Messages field (Liao [0033]); a Frequency domain resource assignment field (Liao [0052]); a Time domain resource assignment field (Liao [0052]); a Virtual Resource Block to Physical Resource Block (VRB-to-PRB) mapping field (Liao [0052]); or a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) field (Liao [0052]); and the predetermined condition comprises the at least one non-reserved field being set to a predetermined value (Chatterjee [0074] teaches the short message indicator field having a predetermined value).
Regarding claim 6, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the limitations of claim 5, as rejected above.
Additionally, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the method wherein at least one of following conditions is satisfied:
the at least one non-reserved field comprises the TB scaling field, and the predetermined value is binary "11";
the predetermined value is determined by setting all bits of the at least one non-reserved field to 0 (Chatterjee [0074] teaches determining whether a value of the short message indicator filed indicates ‘00’);
the at least one non-reserved field comprises the MCS field, and the predetermined value comprises an integer in the range of 8 and 31, inclusive; or
the at least one non-reserved field comprises one of the Frequency domain resource assignment field and the Time domain resource assignment field, and the predetermined value is determined by setting all bits of the at least one non-reserved field to 1.
Regarding claim 12, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the method wherein the paging indication is carried in at least one of a reserved bits field of the DCI or a non-reserved field of the DCI (Liao [0033 and 0052] teaches at least one of the non-reserved fields or a reserved field are repurposed as the PEI), and wherein resolving the paging indication from the DCI comprises resolving the paging indication from at least one of the reserved bits field or the non-reserved field (Liao [0050] teaches determining whether there is a PEI indication in the received message, wherein the PEI is located in the non-reserve fields [0051-0052] or reserved field [0032]).
Regarding claim 13, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the limitations of claim 12, as rejected above.
Additionally, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the method wherein at least one of following conditions is satisfied:
at least a portion of the paging indication is carried in a VRB-to-PRB mapping field of the DCI (Liao [0033] discloses the non-reserved and reserved fields repurposed as the PEI, including the VRB-to-PRB field [0052]);
at least a portion of the paging indication is carried in an MCS field of the DCI (Liao [0033] discloses the non-reserved and reserved fields repurposed as the PEI, including the MCS field [0052]);
at least a portion of the paging indication is carried in a subset of all bits in the MCS field of the DCI (Liao [0033] discloses at least one unused bit of the non-reserved and reserved fields repurposed as the PEI, including the MCS field [0052]); or
a subset of all bits in the paging indication indicates channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) availability (Chatterjee [0074] teaches the TRS or CSI-RS availability indicated in two bits of the short message indicator field).
Regarding claim 19, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the method wherein P equals to a bit number of a reserved bits field of a paging DCI (Liao [0037] teaches X bits configured as the PEI, wherein X is configured by system information and includes one of the fields of the PEI message [0033], including a field of reserved bits [0032]), and wherein a CRC of the paging DCI is scramble by a P- RNTI (Liao [0035]).
Regarding claim 20, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the method wherein P equals to a bit number of indication bits within a reserved bits field of a paging DCI (Liao [0037] teaches X bits configured as the PEI, wherein X is configured by system information and includes one of the fields of the PEI message [0033], including a field of reserved bits [0032]), the indication bits being used for TRS/CSI-RS availability indication (Chatterjee [0074] discloses the bits of the field being used to indicate TRS or CSI-RS occasions are available), and a CRC of the paging DCI being scramble by a P-RNTI (Liao [0035]).
Regarding claim 22, Liao teaches the limitations of claim 21, as rejected above.
However, Liao does not explicitly teach the method wherein the DCI comprises a channel state information reference signal availability indication.
Chatterjee, in an analogous art, teaches the method wherein the DCI comprises a channel state information reference signal availability indication (Chatterjee [0074] teaches the availability of the TRS or CSI-RS are indicated in the DCI).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liao in view of Chatterjee in order to configure the DCI, as taught by Liao, comprises a channel state information reference signal availability indication, as taught by Chatterjee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to enable increased power savings during the paging occasion ([00118]) and other monitoring occasions ([00109]) as well as reduce power consumption and maintain tracking in the idle/inactive mode ([0054]).
Regarding claim 23, Liao teaches the limitations of claim 21, as rejected above.
Additionally, Liao teaches the method wherein the DCI comprises at least one non-reserved field from a first field set (Liao [0033] discloses a plurality of possible fields of the DCI format [0032]), and the first field set comprises at least one of:
a Transport Block (TB) scaling field (Liao [0052]); a Short Messages Indicator field (Liao [0052]; a Short Messages field (Liao [0033]); a Frequency domain resource assignment field (Liao [0052]); a Time domain resource assignment field (Liao [0052]); a Virtual Resource Block to Physical Resource Block (VRB-to-PRB) mapping field (Liao [0052]); or a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) field (Liao [0052]).
However, Liao does not explicitly teach and the predetermined condition comprises the at least one non-reserved field being set to a predetermined value.
Chatterjee, in an analogous art, teaches and the predetermined condition comprises the at least one non-reserved field being set to a predetermined value (Chatterjee [0074] teaches the short message indicator field having a predetermined value).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liao in view of Chatterjee in order to configure the predetermined condition comprises the at least one non-reserved field being set to a predetermined value, as taught by Chatterjee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to enable increased power savings during the paging occasion ([00118]) and other monitoring occasions ([00109]) as well as reduce power consumption and maintain tracking in the idle/inactive mode ([0054]).
Regarding claim 24, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the limitations of claim 23, as rejected above.
Additionally, Liao-Chatterjee teaches the method wherein at least one of following conditions is satisfied:
the at least one non-reserved field comprises the TB scaling field, and the predetermined value is binary "11";
the predetermined value is determined by setting all bits of the at least one non-reserved field to 0 (Chatterjee [0074] teaches determining whether a value of the short message indicator filed indicates ‘00’);
the at least one non-reserved field comprises the MCS field, and the predetermined value comprises an integer in the range of 8 and 31, inclusive; or
the at least one non-reserved field comprises one of the Frequency domain resource assignment field and the Time domain resource assignment field, and the predetermined value is determined by setting all bits of the at least one non-reserved field to 1.
Regarding claim 39, Liao-Chatterjee teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless network (Liao [0027-0028 and 0030]), comprising a memory for storing computer instructions (Liao [0027-0028 and 0030])and a processor in communication with the memory (Liao [0027-0028 and 0030]), wherein, when the processor executes the computer instructions, the processor is configured to cause the UE (Liao [0027-0028 and 0030]). The additional limitations of claim 39 do not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claim 1.
Specifically, the additional limitations of claim 39 are identical to the limitations of claim 1, and correspond to the device executing the limitations of method claim 1. Therefore, the additional limitations of claim 39, are rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 1.
Moreover, Liao-Chatterjee are combined according to the reasons set forth above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 43, Liao-Chatterjee teaches computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable program medium with computer code stored thereupon, the computer code, when executed by one or more processors, causing the one or more processors to implement a method (Liao [0027-0028 and 0030]). The additional limitations of claim 43 do not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claim 1.
Specifically, the additional limitations of claim 43 are identical to the limitations of claim 1, and correspond to the computer redable medium embodying the limitations of method claim 1. Therefore, the additional limitations of claim 43, are rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 1.
Moreover, Liao-Chatterjee are combined according to the reasons set forth above regarding claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10, 28 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin (US 20220271878 A1);
SHEAN TOKUTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2446
/SHEAN TOKUTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446