DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/22/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 12-14 is/are pending in the application.
Withdrawal of Finality of Last Office Action
Since this application is eligible for the transitional procedure of 37 CFR 1.129(a), and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(r) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.129(a). Applicant’s first submission after final filed on 08/26/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. (US5997808) in view of Fujikawa et al. (US5096518).
Regarding Claim 12, Jones teaches a TiAl alloy comprising (abstract):
Element
Claimed Range
Prior Art Range
Al
47-50
42-48
Nb
1-2
2-5
Zr
2-5
3-8
B
0.05-0.3
0-1
Ti
Balance
Balance
The prior art range overlaps with the claimed ranges for the claimed elements, in the case where a claimed range overlaps with a range taught by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05(I))
Jones teaches a TiAl alloy but does not teach the claimed method steps of sealing by filling a metal sheath TiAl alloy powder and hot isostatic pressure treating from 1200-1300 C. However, Fujikawa teaches a method of forming a TiAl alloy where powder is formed into a sealed blank sheath (encapsulated foil) and is sintered (abstract) by hot isostatic pressing of 1250 C at 2000 kgf/cm2 (196 MPa)(See Abstract and Col. 13, Lines 49-50) reading on the claimed temperature range of 1200-1300 C and reading on the claimed pressure range of 150 MPa or higher for the purpose of undergoing uniform conformity during pressing and can be easily removed (Col. 3, Lines 19-30)
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to performed the claimed method steps as taught by Fujikawa to form an alloy product as taught by Jones for the purpose of forming a dense TiAl alloy product with uniform conformity during pressing and where the sheath can be easily removed.
Regarding Claim 13, the Al range of 42-48% overlaps with the claimed range of 47-48% and the Zr range of 3-8 overlaps with the claimed range of 2-5% Zr In the case where a claimed range overlaps with a range taught by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05(I));
Regarding Claim 14, the Al range of 42-48% overlaps with the claimed range of 47 or 48% and the Zr range of 3-8 overlaps with the claimed range of 5 or 3% Zr In the case where a claimed range overlaps with a range taught by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05(I));
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nazmy et al. (US5286443A1) in view of Fujikawa et al. (US5096518).
Regarding Claim 12, Nazmy teaches a TiAl alloy comprising (abstract):
Element
Claimed Range
Prior Art Range
Al
47-50
46-54
Nb
1-2
(Me)1-4
Zr
2-5
(Me)1-4
B
0.05-0.3
0.01-1
Ti
Balance
Balance
The prior art range overlaps with the claimed ranges for the claimed elements, in the case where a claimed range overlaps with a range taught by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05(I))
Nazmy teaches a TiAl alloy but does not teach the claimed method steps of sealing by filling a metal sheath TiAl alloy powder and hot isostatic pressure treating from 1200-1300 C. However, Fujikawa teaches a method of forming a TiAl alloy where powder is formed into a sealed blank sheath (encapsulated foil) and is sintered (abstract) by hot isostatic pressing of 1250 C at 2000 kgf/cm2 (196 MPa)(See Abstract and Col. 13, Lines 49-50) reading on the claimed temperature range of 1200-1300 C and reading on the claimed pressure range of 150 MPa or higher for the purpose of undergoing uniform conformity during pressing and can be easily removed (Col. 3, Lines 19-30)
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to performed the claimed method steps as taught by Fujikawa to form an alloy product as taught by Nazmy for the purpose of forming a dense TiAl alloy product with uniform conformity during pressing and where the sheath can be easily removed.
Regarding Claim 13, the Al range of 46-54% overlaps with the claimed range of 47-48% and the Zr range of 1-4 overlaps with the claimed range of 2-5% Zr In the case where a claimed range overlaps with a range taught by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05(I));
Regarding Claim 14, the Al range of 46-54% overlaps with the claimed range of 47 or 48% and the Zr range of 1-4 overlaps with the claimed range of 5 or 3% Zr In the case where a claimed range overlaps with a range taught by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05(I));
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 4-5, filed 08/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 12-14 under Jones in view of Fantao; and Nazmy in view of Fantao have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nazmy et al. (US5286443A1) in view of Fujikawa et al. (US5096518); and Jones et al. (US5997808) in view of Fujikawa et al. (US5096518).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO D MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738