DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on March 2, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US 11,957,900; US 11,980,756; US 12, 151,099 and US app. 18/525,842 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 2, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot due to the new grounds of rejection which are necessitated by the currently amended claims.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted amended claims (1, 6-8 and 12-13) directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Inventions I (currently amended claims 1, 6-8, 12-13 and 16) and II (claims 11 and 14-15) are directed to related apparatuses. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed have materially different designs and modes of operation. Invention I no longer requires a catheter sheath, catheter or sheath. Invention II (as well as previously presented claim 1 on May 9, 2025) requires a sheath disposed over the leads. As such Invention I and Invention II have materially different design and modes of operation. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, now presented in Invention II (claims 11 and 14-15), this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 1, 6-8, 12-13 and 16 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avellanet et al. (US 7,957,819).
As to claim 11, Avellanet et al. discloses an electrode system connectable to a pacemaker for sequentially pacing both the atrium and ventricle of a human heart comprising: a plurality of insulated electrical leads comprising a first set of three ventricle leads, and a second set of four atrium leads, an catheter sheath disposed over said plurality of leads, the er sheath being retractable from the ventricle leads to deploy the ventricle leads in the ventricle, each of the ventricle and atrial leads having a resiliency and shape to be deployed in contact with the ventricle wall when the sheath is retracted therefrom, the outer catheter sheath also being retractable from the atrium leads to deploy the atrium leads in the atrium, each of the atrium leads having the resiliency and shape to be deployed in contact with the atrium wall when the catheter is retracted (col. 1, line 66 to col. 3, line 23).
Avellanet et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed with a catheter sheath, but does not explicitly disclose a separate catheter system for the atrial and ventricle leads. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have two separate sheaths, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (see MPEP 2144.04). Additionally, it also has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlicnman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. (see MPEP 2144.04)
Therefore, for the reasons stated above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the sheath disposed over the leads to be a separate sheath for the atrial leads and a separate sheath for the ventricle leads in order to provide the predictable results of optimizing insertion and device performance and preventing leads being tangled during implantation.
As to claim 14, the modified Avellanet et al. discloses that there is an outer catheter sheath disposed over a first and second sheath.
As to claim 15, the modified Avellanet et al. discloses that there are 5 ventricle leads and thus include 3 ventricle leads.
NOTE: The examiner does not consider the limitation “exactly” to limit the system to “only” three leads. Should the Applicant wish to claim only 3 leads, the examiner recommends amending the claim language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALYSSA M ALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796