Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on August 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first fluid delivery pathway and the second fluid delivery pathway implemented using a digital microfluidic device configured to manipulate the first oligonucleotide complex and the second oligonucleotide complex as droplets via electrowetting on a grid of electrodes of claim 23 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. With respect to claim 1, it is not clear how applicant intends the first and second nucleotide complexes to limit the claims. Is applicant intending the first and second delivery pathways to be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or does the “configured to introduce” simply mean first and second fluid delivery pathways capable of respectively introducing the first and second nucleotide complexes into the reaction chamber as they would any other fluid, liquid or solution one desired to introduce into the reaction chamber? Another way of asking this question is what structure distinguishes a fluid delivery pathway configured to introduce the first and second nucleotide complexes into the reaction chamber from a fluid delivery pathway configured to introduce and or capable of introducing another fluid, liquid and/or solution into the reaction chamber. At this point, examiner has not decided to interpret the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) so that the first and second nucleotide complexes will be treated as nonlimiting with respect to the actually claimed structure of two fluid delivery pathways capable of introducing any fluid, liquid and/or solution into the reaction chamber. Moreover, if applicant intends the first and second oligonucleotide complexes encoding a respective first and second arbitrary value to limit the structure, is there a structure required for the oligonucleotide complex (i.e. something with sticky ends capable of hybridizing with one or more of the anchor sequences) or can the oligonucleotide simply be a di- or trinucleotide capable of being added to the free end of the plurality of anchor sequences? As explained above, the oligonucleotide complex language is being treated as being without moment when it comes to defining the structure of the system. With respect to claim 2 it is not clear what structural difference assigning/defining the arbitrary number makes. For example, is applicant attempting to assign a particular number to a specific oligonucleotide sequence or since it is an “arbitrary” value is binary number something that changes without reason. Examiner understands that in the process of storing information, a specific oligonucleotide sequence needs to be associated with a specific value to assemble/synthesize a double-stranded oligonucleotide that can be later used to retrieve the stored information. However, this claim is not directed to a process so that whether the arbitrary value is a binary number or another type of value is not further limiting with respect to the system structure. With respect to claim 3, the “configured to deliver” language has the problems of claim 1 with respect to the “configured to introduce” language. Additionally, since claim 1 fails to define the first or second oligonucleotide as having sticky ends, the “alternate sticky ends” language in claim 3 does not have antecedent basis. Put another way, what part of the first and second oligonucleotide complexes constitute the alternate of the “alternate sticky ends” language in claim 3. With respect to claims 4-5 and 9-10, the “configured to introduce” language has the problems described in claim 1 for similar language. The fact that there are several claims claiming a third fluid delivery pathway points to the respective fluid delivery pathways as capable of introducing multiple types of fluids so that the only way to distinguish the various third delivery pathways is claiming them as being connected to a source of the respective fluids they are capable of/configured to introduce. For examination purposes, examiner will treat any reference that teaches and/or shows the obviousness of four fluid delivery pathways as meeting the requirements of the first through the fourth fluid delivery pathways as currently claimed. That is because examiner is not treating the configured to language as requiring the present of any particular fluid in any of the different fluid delivery pathways. With respect to claims 6 and 7, what structure of claim 1 is used to perform the delivery function? Is the structure covered by claim 6 the same structure covered by claim 7 and the only difference is the source of the chemical being delivered or are the structures of claims 6 and 7 separate delivery structures? Is the delivery performed through the first or second fluid delivery pathways, an as yet undefined additional delivery pathway or something else. If it is something other than the first or second fluid delivery pathways, the structure is insufficient to perform the stated function and the claim is incomplete. Additionally with respect to these claims, is there structure required to provide the instructions indicating completion of synthesis or is that not part of the system being claimed? With respect to claim 8, the language is purely functional so that the structure that performs the functional language is unclear. With respect to claim 11, it is not clear how applicant intends the first and second nucleotide complexes to limit the claims. If applicant intends the first and second oligonucleotide complexes encoding a respective first and second arbitrary value to limit the structure, is there a structure required for the oligonucleotide complex (i.e. something with sticky ends capable of hybridizing with one or more of the anchor sequences), can they be the same oligonucleotide complex, how different do they need to be if they need to be different or can the oligonucleotide simply be a di- or trinucleotide capable of being added to the free end of the plurality of anchor sequences? With respect to claim 12, since claim 11 fails to define the first or second oligonucleotide as having sticky ends, the “alternate sticky ends” language in claim 12 does not have antecedent basis. Put another way, what part of the first and second oligonucleotide complexes of claim 11 constitute the alternate of the “alternate sticky ends” language in claim 12. With respect to claim 14, is the means for cleaving the assembled double stranded oligonucleotide some structure within the reaction chamber or a cleaving agent/reagent delivered to the reaction chamber so that the means requires both the cleaving agent/reagent and the structure used to deliver it to the reaction chamber? Claims not specifically mentioned above depend from one or more of the above claims and fail to correct the problem(s) of the claim from which they depend.
Claims 1-14, 21-22 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montgomery (US 6,095,302) in view of Liu (Analytical Chemistry 2006, 78, 4184-4193, hereinafter called Liu ‘06) and further in view of Adleman (Science 1994). In the patent assigned to Combimatrix Corporation, Montgomery teaches a solid phase synthesis method for the preparation of diverse sequences of separate polymers or nucleic acid sequences using electrochemical placement of monomers or nucleic acids at a specific location on a substrate containing at least one electrode that is preferably in contact with a buffering or scavenging solution to prevent chemical crosstalk between electrodes due to diffusion of electrochemically generated reagents. Column 4, lines 44-55 teach that objects of the invention include providing a substrate for separate and pure polymer or oligonucleotide or DNA synthesis that contains a multi-electrode array that allows electrodes to be placed in very close proximity for use in combinatorial chemistry and providing automation of a polymer or DNA synthesis process with the above substrate, and that can be used in functional genomics, diagnostics, gene screening, drug discovery and screening for materials useful for research, industrial, commercial and therapeutic uses. Columns 5 and 6 teach methods for electrochemical synthesis of an array of separately formed oligonucleotides on a substrate through placing a buffering or scavenging solution in contact with an array of electrodes that is proximate to a substrate surface, said surface being proximate to one or more molecules bearing at least one protected chemical functional group attached thereto, selectively deprotecting at least one protected chemical functional group on at least one of the molecules; bonding a first nucleotide having at least one protected chemical functional group to one or more deprotected chemical functional groups of the molecule; selectively deprotecting a chemical functional group on the bonded molecule or another of the molecules bearing at least one protected chemical functional group; bonding a second nucleotide having at least one protected chemical functional group to a deprotected chemical functional group of the bonded molecule or the other deprotected molecule; and repeating the selective deprotection of a chemical functional group on a bonded protected nucleotide or a bonded protected molecule and the subsequent bonding of an additional nucleotide to the deprotected chemical functional group until at least two separate oligonucleotides of desired length are formed on the substrate surface. Figures 1-5 and 7-12 show thes3e steps for creating polymers. Figure 6 presents a top view of a substrate having at its surface a 10 x 10 electrode array, having 100 electrodes and a side view of an exemplary electrode at the surface of the substrate. Figure 13 shows representative results as would be observed using an epifluorescent microscope following exposure to the antibody and fluorescent conjugate in accordance with Example 1. Example 2 in columns 28-30 describes the synthesis of deoxyribonucleic acids in more detail. Column 31, line 46 to column 32, line 53 teach the preparation of the electrode array chips, the structure used to individually address each electrode and the control of the chips by at least one Advantech PCL-812 digital I/O card (in the computer) that was driven by a Pentium based personal computer. The software for driving the I/O card can easily be written by one of ordinary skill in the art. Montgomery does not teach a reaction chamber, fluid pathways to introduce fluids into the reaction chamber or the use of oligonucleotides to create the DNA sequence.
In the paper Liu ‘06 teaches a fully integrated and self-contained microfluidic device developed to rapidly identify influenza A hemagglutinin and neuraminidase subtypes and sequence portions of both genes. The device consists of a DNA microarray with 12,000 features and a microfluidic cartridge that automates the fluidic handling steps required to carry out a genotyping assay for pathogen identification and sequencing. The fully integrated microfluidic device consists of microfluidic pumps, mixers, valves, fluid channels, reagent storage chambers, and DNA microarray silicon chip. Microarray hybridization and subsequent fluidic handling and reactions were performed in this fully automated miniature device before fluorescent image scanning of the microarray chip. A micromixing technique based on gas bubbling generated by electrochemical micropumps was developed. Low-cost check valves were implemented in the cartridge to prevent cross talk of the stored reagents. The genotyping results showed that the device identified influenza A hemagglutinin and neuraminidase subtypes and sequenced portions of both genes, demonstrating the potential of integrated microfluidic and microarray technology for multiple virus detection. The device provides a cost-effective solution to eliminate labor-intensive and time-consuming fluidic handling steps and allows the detection and identification of influenza virus in a rapid and automated fashion. The last full paragraph on page 4185 describes the DNA microarray as a CombiMatrix microarray slide and a microfluidic plastic cartridge. The microarray slide is a 1 in. by 3 in. alumina slide with an 11 by 25 mm silicon chip affixed in a cavity in the ceramic package. The silicon chip is an integrated circuit manufactured using a commercial mixed signal complementary metal oxide semiconductor process. The microarray chip used has 12,544 electrodes, each with a size of 44 µm in diameter. The CombiMatrix microarray technology platform allows the manufacture of oligonucleotide arrays using electrochemical control. Utilization of active circuit elements in the design permits the selection and parallel activation of individual electrodes in the array to perform in situ oligonucleotide synthesis of customized content on the chip. Using this in situ synthesis method, unique oligomers of 35-40 bases were synthesized at each electrode. Figure 1 shows a schematic of the microfluidic array device that consists of five electrochemical micropumps (on the top row), six duckbill check valves, five chambers for the storage of different buffers and reagents (i.e., storage 1-5), an array chamber (the reaction chamber), and a waste chamber. Each storage chamber has two loading ports: one is used to load solution while the other one is used to vent out the gas during the loading. The paragraph bridging pages 4186-4187 describes the microfluidic cartridge as having six microvalves, five micropumps, five chambers for the storage of different buffers and reagents, an array chamber, and a waste chamber, as shown in Figure 1. In operation a sample solution was loaded in the array chamber using a pipet. Other solutions required for assays were separately loaded in different storage chambers. For subtyping assays, these solutions included four washing buffer solutions and a labeling solution. For sequencing assays, the solutions included a ligase buffer, an enzyme solution containing T4 DNA ligase and Taq polymerase, a NaOH solution, and a wash buffer solution. After sealing the loading ports using a sealing tape, the device was then inserted into an instrument, which provided hybridization heating, temperature sensing, and electrical power for liquid pumping and mixing. The instrument has a clamping manifold, a printed circuit board, and a power supply. The microfluidic device was inserted into the manifold where a thin-film heating element was pressed on the microarray slide of the device to provide the heating of the array chamber during the hybridization process. The thin-film heating element included a temperature sensor that provided the temperature feedback to the control circuit board. A flexible cable connector was used to connect the circuit board with the electrical pins for the electrochemical pumps in the cartridge. The board provides electronic control of the hybridization heating, temperature sensing, and electrical power for liquid pumping and mixing. The first full paragraph on page 4188 describes the on-chip sequencing assay process including hybridization and ligation. Beginning with the paragraph bridging pages 4191-4192 several benefits/advantages of the described system are given. These include more stringent processing control over the microarrays and elimination of variations in array data caused by subtle, day-to-day differences in protocol and manual handling. This self-contained and fully integrated microfluidic array device is disposable and requires simple, low-cost, and portable instruments for operation, as compared to some bulky, expensive, and delicate commercial robotic workstations. The plastic microfluidic cartridges can be fabricated using injection molding (instead of laser machining reported here) that would lead to low-cost microfluidic devices. Other strategies were being examined to reduce the cost of the microarray chip including redesigning the array so that four assays can be run on the same array chips and reusing the array by stripping the hybridized DNA/RNA targets using chemicals before the next use. The integration of microfluidics adds new, significant functionalities to the conventional microarray platform. Although sequencing and subtyping assays were demonstrated in this study, this integrated microfluidic platform can potentially be applied to many other assays. Although the sample and reagent consumption in that microfluidic device design was tens to hundreds of microliters, it was believed that the design could be further miniaturized so that the sample and reagent consumption could be significantly reduced. It is also possible to integrate front-end sample preparation and DNA amplification into the same platform, which would lead to a fully integrated system with direct sample-to-answer capability. The microfluidic components in the device are simple in design, inexpensive, and easy to fabricate and integrate into a complex microfluidic system. Because the power consumption of the electrochemical pumps is low (~mW), hand-held field use of the integrated microfluidic components is feasible. The integrated microfluidic platform provides a step toward fulfilling the promise of rapid, automated genetic analysis from complex sample fluids in cost-effective and portable instruments.
In the paper Adleman describes using molecular biology tools to solve an instance of the directed Hamiltonian path problem. A small graph was encoded in molecules of DNA, and the "operations" of the computation were performed with standard protocols and enzymes. This experiment demonstrates the feasibility of carrying out computations at the molecular level. 5 steps are outlined on pages 1021-1022 that solve the directed Hamiltonian path problem. The graph shown in Figure 1 with designated vertices Vin = 0 and Vout = 6 was solved with an algorithm implemented at the molecular level. To implement Step 1 of the algorithm, each vertex i in the graph was associated with a random 20-mer sequence of DNA denoted Oj. For each edge i->j in the graph, an oligonucleotide Oi->j was created that was the 3' 10-mer of Oi (unless i = 0, in which case it was all of Oi) followed by the 5' 10-mer of Oj (unless j = 6, in which case it was all of Oj). This construction preserves edge orientation because O2->3 will not be the same as O3->2. The 20-mer oligonucleotide with the sequence that is Watson-Crick complementary to Oi was also produced (see Figure 2 and its description). For each vertex i in the graph (except i = 0 and i = 6) and for each edge i->j in the graph, 50 pmol of the sequence that is Watson-Crick complementary to Oi and 50 pmol of Oi->j, respectively, were mixed together in a single ligation reaction (each oligonucleotide (50 pmol) with 5'-terminal phosphate residue, 5 units of T4 DNA ligase, ligase buffer, and ddH20 to a total volume of 100 µl was incubated for 4 hours at room temperature). The Oi Watson-Crick complementary oligonucleotides served as splints to bring oligonucleotides, associated with compatible edges together for ligation (see Figure 2). Hence the ligation reaction resulted in the formation of DNA molecules encoding random paths through the graph. The scale of this ligation reaction far exceeded what was necessary for the graph under consideration. For each edge in the graph, approximately 3 X 1013 copies of the associated oligonucleotide were added to the ligation reaction. Hence it is likely that many DNA molecules encoding the Hamiltonian path were created. In theory, the creation of a single such molecule would be sufficient. As a result, for this graph quantities of oligonucleotides less than an attomole would probably have been sufficient. Alternatively, a much larger graph could have been processed with the picomole quantities used. The paragraph bridging the center and right columns of page 1022 describes how different paths through the graph would be encoded and distinguished. The paragraph bridging the left and center columns of page 1023 explains that the choice of random 20-mer oligonucleotides for encoding the graph was based on the following rationale. First, because 420 20-mer oligonucleotides exist, choosing randomly made it unlikely that oligonucleotides associated with different vertices would share long common subsequences that might result in "unintended" binding during the ligation step (Step 1). Second, it was guessed that with high probability potentially deleterious (and presumably rare) features such as severe hairpin loops would not be likely to arise. Finally, choosing 20-mers assured that binding between "splint" and "edge" oligonucleotides would involve 10 nucleotide pairs and would consequently be stable at room temperature. This approach was successful for the small graph considered, but might need to be adjusted for larger graphs. The following paragraphs on page 1023 describe several potential advantages to this method of computation. These include the potential to process much larger volumes of information at a speed greater than computers available at the time. Additionally, storing information in molecules of DNA allows for an information density of approximately 1 bit per cubic nanometer, a dramatic improvement over existing storage media such as videotapes.
With respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to integrate the electrode array of Montgomery into a fluid handling structure such as taught by Liu ‘06 with 4 or more fluid delivery pathways and a reaction chamber associated with the electrode array as taught by Liu ‘06 because that appears to be what Liu ‘06 did since the assignee of Mongomery is Combimatrix corporation and the electrode array used by Liu ‘06 was a CombiMatrix microarray and the address of the authors is the CombiMatrix corporation (see the line under the listed authors in page 4184). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use oligonucleotides such as the oligonucleotides of Adleman to produce designated sequences as taught by Adleman in the Montgomery system because of the ability to use oligonucleotides to represent random values that can be combined to store information in a manner capable of storing a significant amount of information into a high density format as taught by Adleman. Examiner notes that what is actually being delivered by the first and second pathways has been held by examiner to be non-limiting on the structure of the system of claim 1 and the claims which depend therefrom because they are not currently being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
With respect to claim 2, what the actual arbitrary value designates is a choice not structure. Therefore, it is not of patentable moment since the same oligonucleotide can be chosen to be associated with or representative of any value (i.e., the binary numbers 1 or 0 or a constant such as p) in one instance and a different value in a second instance. Thus claim 2 fails to add additional structure beyond what is required for claim 1 and is obvious for the reasons given above for claim 1. With respect to claims 3-5 and 9-10, because Liu ‘06 teaches a structure having 5 fluid delivery pathways, its combination with Montgomery shows the obviousness of at least that many fluid delivery pathways depending on the number of different fluids that need to be supplied to the reaction chamber for the reasons given above for claim 1. With respect to claims 6-7, column 18, line 56 to column 19, line 63 of Mongomery teach cleavable linkers and at least chemical cleaving agents that can be used at any time to transfer of the synthesized nucleic acid sequence to another electrode array or to a second substrate. With respect to claim 8, the different nucleic acid sequences being synthesized is under the control of a controller (control circuitry). With respect to claim 21, Liu ‘06 teaches a heater to control the temperature during different parts of the process so that modifying Montgomery with the teachings of Lui shows the obviousness of providing the system with a temperature controlled heater because of the ability/need to provide a temperature controlled environment when using the Montgomery electrode array for synthesis or association of additional nucleotides. With respect to claim 22, Montgomery teaches several steps in which the steps are repeated and the reagent/monomer being added to the synthesized differs from the previous step and/or is not being added to a particular oligonucleotide at one or more of the electrodes. Since the association of the reagent/monomer with the oligonucleotide at one or more of the electrodes is based on the voltage being activated, at least during periods in which a reagent/monomer is not being added, the electrode experiences an inactive period between active periods.
With respect to claim 11, it is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Thus, a source of oligonucleotide is required as part of the structure. However, production of the compounds of Adleman with the electrode array of Montgomery or the system of Montgomery in view of Liu ‘06 would require the presence of at least two different oligonucleotide complexes designating a value be provided by some fluid delivery pathway so that claim 11 is obvious for the same reasons given above for claim 1. With respect to claim 12, Adleman teaches different paths through the graph in which different vertices are omitted. In order to create the different paths through the graph different sets of oligonucleotides would be required. Thus, Adleman builds/uses a set of oligonucleotide complexes with alternate sticky ends. As such production of the compounds of Adleman with the electrode array of Montgomery or the system of Montgomery in view of Liu “06 would require the presence of at least two different oligonucleotide complexes with alternate sticky ends be provided by some fluid delivery pathway so that claim 12 is obvious for the same reasons given above for claim 11. With respect to claim 13, both Liu ‘06 and Adleman teach the use of a ligase so that so that claim 13 is obvious for the same reasons given above for claim 11. With respect to claim 14, column 18, line 56 to column 19, line 63 of Mongomery teach cleavable linkers and at least chemical cleaving agents that can be used at any time to transfer of the synthesized nucleic acid sequence to another electrode array or to a second substrate. With respect to claim 24, Liu ‘06 teaches a heater to control the temperature during different parts of the process so that modifying Montgomery with the teachings of Lui shows the obviousness of providing the system with a temperature controlled heater because of the ability/need to provide a temperature controlled environment when using the Montgomery electrode array for synthesis or association of additional nucleotides. With respect to claim 25, Montgomery teaches several steps in which the steps are repeated and the reagent/monomer being added to the synthesized differs from the previous step and/or is not being added to a particular oligonucleotide at one or more of the electrodes. Since the association of the reagent/monomer with the oligonucleotide at one or more of the electrodes is based on the voltage being activated, at least during periods in which a reagent/monomer is not being added, the electrode experiences an inactive period between active periods. With respect to claim 26, Liu ‘06 teaches optical detection of the different materials on the microelectrode array so that modification of Montgomery with the teachings of Liu ‘06 would show the obviousness providing an optical detection means for the reasons given above for claim 11.
Claim 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mongomery in view of Liu ‘06 and Adleman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (Journal of Micromechanics and Microengineering 2008, hereinafter called Liu ‘08). Montgomery does not teach a digital microfluidic device as the first fluid delivery pathway and the second fluid delivery pathway.
In the paper Liu ’08 teaches an automatic ultramicro-volume DNA ligation process using a coplanar electrode type of electrowetting-on-dielectric (EWOD) microfluidic system was designed for economy of reagent. The droplets, containing DNA, a ligation enzyme and a multi-salt reaction buffer, served to complete the ligation using a developed EWOD system. Droplets of ultramicro volume (0.3 μL) were successfully generated from reservoirs between one plate with coplanar electrodes and another plate with a hydrophobic surface free of electrodes. In one successful cloning, the total usage of reagents in an ultramicro-volume EWOD chip was 2.1 μL; no volume was wasted, in comparison with 85% waste with the standard protocol and 80% waste with a free-cover coplanar EWOD chip. The results also show that the entire process was accomplished without damage to the chip surface and without biomaterial annulment. With a design consisting of electrode pathways in a flexible pattern and multiplex reservoirs, an EWOD digital microfluidic system with coplanar electrodes would be improved as an efficient parallel DNA-cloning system in the construction of an artificial library or expression library. Figure 1 illustrates droplet movement on a coplanar EWOD chip. Figure 2 illustrates the ligation process in which an enzyme ‘ligase’ forms covalent bonds between the two DNA fragments through A–T and G–C pairing. Figure 7 shows the difference in reagent consumption and waste for a commercial kit, a cover free design and the covered design. The conclusion on page 7 teaches that this system successfully diminished the total usage of reagents by creating ultramicro-volume droplets from reservoirs. In one successful cloning process, an ultramicro-volume EWOD chip achieved a ligation mixture of volume 2.1 μL with none wasted. For comparison, with a standard protocol and a free-cover coplanar EWOD chip, about 85% and 80%, respectively, of DNA and enzyme/buffer volume were wasted. In the future, especially in the proteomics field, to clone many genes from genomic DNA or cDNA libraries, or to subclone each gene into multiple expression vectors, coplanar EWOD digital microfluidics might be designed and improved as an efficient parallel DNA cloning system for construction of an artificial library or expression library in the post-genome era.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the Montgomery system/electrode array with a digital microfluidic device such as taught by Liu ’08 because of the reduction in reagent volume taught by Liu ’08.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additionally cited art is related to biological data storage and electrode arrays used in analysis and synthesis.
/ARLEN SODERQUIST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797