DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The Office notes that applicant’s response did not address the priority issue and the issue does not appear to be corrected.
Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite features previously found in claim 3 and additional features not previously claimed. Applicant’s amendment appears to have introduced new matter with regards to claim 2.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Office notes that applicant discusses the Ejiri and Krasulick references at pgs. 5-6. However, applicant’s amendment has required Krasulick and Ejiri to be applied in a new way with regard to amended claim 1.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 04/03/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of JP2023060193 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The Office notes that an attempt to retrieve the application via the Priority Document Exchange was attempted, but that attempt failed on 09/03/2024. Additional information is available in the file history in the document titled “Document Indicating Retrieval Request was Unsuccessful”.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a recess” of claim 2 in combination with “a respective groove part…surrounds the respective substrate-side bonding part” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 has been amended to include recitations regarding a groove and the groove surrounding the respective substrate-side bonding part. See, e.g., Fig. 8A. Claim 3 requires a recess on the bonding surface. See, e.g., Fig. 8B. Applicant’s specification as originally filed appears to only describe these embodiments in the alternative. Accordingly, the specification as originally filed does not show applicant in possession of using both a groove and a recess together at the time of filing.
Claims 10 and 16 contain new matter at least based on their dependence from claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komaki et al. (JP2021157015A), hereafter Komaki, in view of Ejiri et al. (US20140286607A1), hereafter Ejiri, in further view of Krasulick et al. (US20150098676A1A1), hereafter Krasulick
Regarding claim 1, Komaki discloses a laser assembly (Abstract) comprising: a plurality of laser light sources (Fig. 1 element 30-1 to 30-3); a plurality of laser light source bases having main surfaces on which the plurality of laser light sources are placed and arranged apart from each other (Fig. 1 elements 201- to 20-3); an optical waveguide substrate (Fig. 2 element 40) having a main surface on which an optical waveguide layer having optical waveguides configured to guide laser light output from the plurality of laser light sources is provided (Fig. 2 element 51; Fig. 1 elements 51-1 to 51-4); and a plurality of metal films configured to bond the plurality of laser light source bases with the optical waveguide substrate (Fig. 2 elements 71-73), wherein the plurality of metal films correspond to the plurality of laser light source bases and are arranged apart from each other (Fig. 6 elements 71-1 to 73-3; [0048]-[0049]), each of the plurality of metal films is arranged on a substrate-side bonding part (Figs. 2, 5, and 6 elements 71-73). Komaki does not explicitly disclose the substrate-side bonding part defined by a respective groove part formed on a bonding surface of the optical waveguide substrate, the respective groove part surrounds the respective substrate-side bonding part. However, Ejiri discloses the substrate-side bonding part defined by a respective groove part formed on a bonding surface of the optical waveguide substrate (Figs. 11 and 12 element 7 defines a bonding surface 14a). An advantage is to prevent excess bonding material from interfering with the optical path ([0055]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Komaki with a bonding part defined by a groove part formed on the bonding surface of the optical waveguide substrate as disclosed by Ejiri to prevent excess bonding material from interfering with the optical path. Komaki in view of Ejiri do not explicitly disclose the respective groove part surrounds the respective substrate-side bonding part. However, Krasulick discloses a respective groove part surrounds the bonding surface (Fig. 6A elements 304-1 and 304-2 surround 404, 624, and 628; See also Fig. 5 elements 304) provided on the bonding surface of the optical waveguide substrate (Fig. 6A element 104). An advantage is to help with alignment of the light emitting device ([0063]) while preventing the bonding material from interfering with the optical path ([0052]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Komaki in view of Ejiri with the respective groove part surrounds the respective substrate-side bonding part as disclosed by Krasulick to help with alignment of the light emitting device while preventing the bonding material from interfering with the optical path.
Regarding claim 2, Komaki in view of Ejiri do not explicitly disclose each of the plurality of metal films is arranged in a recess provided on the bonding surface of the optical waveguide substrate. However, Krasulick discloses each of the plurality of metal films (Fig. 6A elements 404, 624, and 628) is arranged in a recess (Fig. 6A; Fig. 4 element 408; [0056]) provided on a bonding surface of the optical waveguide substrate (Fig. 6A element 104). An advantage is to help with alignment of the light emitting device ([0063]) while preventing the bonding material from interfering with the optical path ([0052]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Komaki in view of Ejiri with each of the plurality of metal films is arranged in a recess provided on a bonding surface of the optical waveguide substrate as disclosed by Krasulick in order to help with alignment of the light emitting device while preventing the bonding material from interfering with the optical path.
Regarding claim 4, Komaki further discloses the plurality of metal film comprise Sn ([0041]) and a metal that can be eutectic with Sn ([0041]).
Regarding claim 5, Komaki further discloses an antireflection film is formed between the bonding surface of the optical waveguide substrate and the metal film (Fig. 2 element 81; [0032]).
Regarding claims 8, 10, 12, and 13, Komaki further discloses a laser module having a package (Fig. 6) in which the laser assembly is housed (Fig. 6).
Claims 6, 7, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komaki in view of Ejiri in further view of Krasulick, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Nakashini et al. (JP2015197616A), hereafter Nakashini.
Regarding claim 6, Komaki further discloses the optical waveguide layer is a planar Lightwave circuit (PLC) ([0025]). Komaki in view of Ejiri in further view of Krasulick do not explicitly disclose the PLC is made of a glass material. However, Nakashini discloses the PLC is made of a glass material ([0028]). An advantage is to make a smaller and less expensive PLC ([0016]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Komaki in view of Ejiri in further view of Krasulick with the PLC is made of a glass material as disclosed by Nakashini in order to make a smaller and less expensive PLC and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 7, Komaki further discloses the optical waveguide layer is a planar Lightwave circuit (PLC) ([0025]). Komaki in view of Ejiri in further view of Krasulick do not explicitly disclose the PLC is made of a lithium niobate film. Nakashini discloses the PLC is made of a lithium niobate film ([0035]). An advantage is to make a smaller and less expensive PLC ([0016]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Komaki in view of Ejiri in further view of Krasulick with the PLC is made of a lithium niobate film as disclosed by Nakashini in order to make a smaller and less expensive PLC and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Komaki further discloses a laser module having a package in which the laser assembly is housed (Fig. 6).
Claims 9, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komaki in view of Ejiri in further view of Krasulick, as applied to claim 8, 10, 12, and 13 respectively, in view of Tinch (US20160274362A1), hereafter Tinch
Regarding claims 9, 16, 18, and 19, Komaki in view of Ejiri in further view of Krasulick do not explicitly disclose XR glasses comprising the laser module. However, Tinch discloses a similar laser module (Fig. 4) for use in XR glasses ([0004]). An advantage is to improve the size and weight of the device to allow for better comfort while using the glasses ([0009]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Komaki in view of Ejiri in further view of Krasulick with XR glasses comprising the laser module in order to improve the size and weight of the device to allow for better comfort while using the glasses.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komaki in view of Ejiri in further view of Krasulick in further view of Nakashini, as applied to claim 14 above, in further view of Tinch.
Regarding claim 20, Komaki in view of Ejiri in further view of Krasulick in further view of Nakashini do not explicitly disclose XR glasses comprising the laser module. However, Tinch discloses a similar laser module (Fig. 4) for use in XR glasses ([0004]). An advantage is to improve the size and weight of the device to allow for better comfort while using the glasses ([0009]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Komaki in view of Ejiri in further view of Krasulick in further view of Nakashini with XR glasses comprising the laser module in order to improve the size and weight of the device to allow for better comfort while using the glasses.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited. See, e.g., JP2021157013A, JP2021157014A, WO2020196489A1, and JP2021157012A. US20240142787, US20240283215, US20230134378, and US20240255828 are related cases by a common assignee/applicant but do not appear to constitute prior art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Joshua King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828 10/02/2026