DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Examiner acknowledges the cancellation of claims 3-4 and 9.
Applicant’s arguments in view of the claim amendments, see page 7 of the Remarks, filed 8 September 2025, with respect to the claim objections of claims 1, 6, 8, and 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of claims 1, 6, 8, and 11 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments in view of the claim amendments, see page 7 of the Remarks, filed 8 September 2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) Rejection of claims 3-4 and 9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) Rejection of claims 3-4 and 9 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 8 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Drawing Objections seen on Page 6 of the Remarks:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant that the first antenna does not need to be shown in the Figures.
The First antenna needs to be shown in the figures as it is claimed within the claims submitted 8 September 2025. While it is understood that the antenna is part of the connecting member, it should be shown in order to allow for further clarity when reading the specification and viewing the drawings. The further clarity would also apply to the other components listed in the claims and are not shown in the Figures as seen below. The drawing objections will be maintained.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections seen on pages 7-8 of the Remarks:
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant that one of ordinary skill in the art would find that combining Leatherman and Boisen with Bates and Cloutier would render the design unsatisfactory for its intended purpose for claim 1.
Bates and Cloutier teach the pressurized fluid source, a fluid transfer pipe with an upstream end connected to the pressurized source and a downstream end, and an active radio frequency identification module. Bates disclosed a fluid transfer pipe (22, Figure 1, the fluid transfer pipe is the dispenser conduit) comprising an upstream end (26, Figure 1) connected to the fluid source (17, Figure 1) and a downstream end (28, Figure 1). Bates was further modified by Boisen that taught a pressurized fluid source (260, Figure 1) with the motivation to fuel a hydrogen vehicle to reduce pollution that may impact the environment (Paragraph [0002]). The pressurized fluid source in Boisen when implemented in Bates would have the pressurized fluid source connected to the fluid transfer pipe. The combination of Boisen and Bates would function as Bates states that delivery system is for any type of fluid for any type of vehicle (Column 4, Lines 33-41). Cloutier taught an active radio-frequency identification module (Paragraph [0054], the antenna (7) and microcontroller (3) are the active radio-frequency identification module) that is in the housing (1, Figure 1) with the motivation to read the tags to determine when to start and stop pumping of fuel to reduce the potential for spills (Paragraph [0014]). Leatherman was also used in the rejection to further teach the active radio-frequency identification module (50, Figure 3) with the motivation to ensure enough energy is in the nozzle to permit the communication between the nozzle and the dispenser (Column 5, Lines 45-48). The addition of Leatherman is further modifying the filling systems of Bates and Cloutier.
Each of the references used in the rejection are directed to communication between a filling station and a vehicle. Bates discloses delivery system is for any type of fluid for any type of vehicle (Column 4, Lines 33-41) to control the operation of the fluid pump (Column 3, Lines 21-28). Cloutier teaches the dispenser is in communication with an RFID tag to control the pumping unit to prevent misfuelling (Paragraphs [0013-0014]). Leatherman teaches a nozzle having communication with the dispenser (Column 2, Lines 25-27). Boisen teaches communication between a filling station for pressurized fluid and a vehicle (Paragraph [0004]).
The combination of Bates, Cloutier, Leatherman and Boisen would not render the design unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. The response to claim 1 above is also applied to all claims dependent from claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument for the same reasons for claim 1. Lee taught the connection member (10, Figure 1) being configured to be in a third configuration, in which it is connected in a removable and sealed fashion (Paragraph [0033], the fill pipe is attached to the storage tank (11) with the inlet (14) where it is sealed when engaged in the third configuration) the motivation to prevent the operator from potential harm if a leak of the fuel were to occur. Lee further modified the connection member of Bates as it teaches a device for filling a fuel gas storage tank (Paragraph [0006]). The combination of Bates, Cloutier, Leatherman, Lee, and Boisen would not render the design unsatisfactory for its intended purpose.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first antenna of claims 1 and 11, the second antenna of claims 1 and 11, the passive radio-frequency identification module of claims 1 and 11, the active radio-frequency identification module of claims 1 and 11, the third antenna of claims 8 and 11, and the second active radio-frequency identification module of claims 8 and 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 43, the two periods at the end of the claim should be amended to only one. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bates (US 6085805 A) in view of Cloutier (EP 4086222 A1) in further view of Leatherman (US 6571151 B1) and Boisen (US 20200346554 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Bates discloses a filling station (10, Figure 1, the system is the filling station), comprising:
- a fluid source (17, Figure 1);
- a fluid transfer pipe (22, Figure 1, the fluid transfer pipe is the dispenser conduit) comprising an upstream end (26, Figure 1) connected to the fluid source (17, Figure 1) and a downstream end (28, Figure 1);
- a connection member (32, Figure 1, the nozzle is the connection member) connected to the downstream end (28, Figure 1);
- a control unit (68, Figure 1) configured to order filling with fluid (Column 8, Lines 3-5, the control unit controls the pumps for filling);
- a housing (14, Figure 1, the fuel management system is the housing), the housing being stationary (Figure 1, the housing is stationary);
- the connection member (32, Figure 1) comprising a passive radio-frequency identification module comprising a first antenna (Column 5, Lines 55-60, the transponder (38) is the first antenna that is passive), the housing (14, Figure 1) comprising a second antenna (36, Figure 1).
Bates does not disclose:
A filling station for filling a vehicle with a pressurized fluid, comprising:
- a pressurized fluid source;
- a fluid transfer pipe comprising an upstream end connected to the pressurized fluid source and a downstream end;
- a housing for receiving the connection member, the housing being stationary, the housing and the connection member being configured to make the connection member removable from the housing, the connection member being configured to be in a first configuration, in which it is received by the housing, and to be in a second configuration, in which it is outside the housing;
- the connection member comprising a passive radio-frequency identification module comprising a first antenna, the housing comprising an active radio-frequency identification module comprising a second antenna, the active radio-frequency identification module being configured so that the second antenna generates a magnetic field which is able to supply energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module, when the connection member is in the first configuration.
Cloutier teaches a fuel dispenser, comprising:
- a housing (1, Figure 1, the fuel dispenser is the housing) for receiving the connection member (4, Figure 1, the fuel nozzles are the connection member), the housing being stationary, the housing (1, Figure 1) and the connection member (4, Figure 1) being configured to make the connection member removable from the housing (Paragraph [0065]), the connection member being configured to be in a first configuration, in which it is received by the housing (Paragraph [0044], the idle position is the first configuration), and to be in a second configuration, in which it is outside the housing (Paragraph [0065], the second configuration is when the nozzle is removed from the dispenser);
- the connection member (4, Figure 1) comprising a passive radio-frequency identification module comprising a first antenna (Paragraph [0048], the RFID tag is the passive radio-frequency module that is an antenna), the housing (1, Figure 1) comprising an active radio-frequency identification module (Paragraph [0054], the antenna (7) and microcontroller (3) are the active radio-frequency identification module) comprising a second antenna (7, Figure 1), the active radio-frequency identification module being configured so that the second antenna generates a magnetic field which is able to supply energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module, when the connection member is in the first configuration (Paragraph [Paragraph [0054], the antenna is energized and sending radio frequency waves).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bates to include a housing for receiving the connection member, the housing being stationary, the housing and the connection member being configured to make the connection member removable from the housing, the connection member being configured to be in a first configuration, in which it is received by the housing, and to be in a second configuration, in which it is outside the housing; the connection member comprising a passive radio-frequency identification module comprising a first antenna, the housing comprising an active radio-frequency identification module comprising a second antenna, the active radio-frequency identification module being configured so that the second antenna generates a magnetic field which is able to supply energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module, when the connection member is in the first configuration as taught by Cloutier with the motivation to read the tags to determine when to start and stop pumping of fuel to reduce the potential for spills.
Bates and Cloutier do not teach:
A filling station for filling a vehicle with a pressurized fluid, comprising:
- a pressurized fluid source;
- a fluid transfer pipe comprising an upstream end connected to the pressurized fluid source and a downstream end;
- the active radio-frequency identification module being configured so that the second antenna generates a magnetic field which is able to supply energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module, when the connection member is in the first configuration.
Leatherman teaches a fuel dispenser, comprising:
- the active radio-frequency identification module (50, Figure 3, the communications electronics are the active-radio frequency identification module) being configured so that the second antenna (82, Figure 3) generates a magnetic field which is able to supply energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module (92, Figure 3, , the communications electronics are the passive-radio frequency identification module), when the connection member is in the first configuration (Column 6, Lines 48-53, the electromagnetic coupling occurs between the nozzle and the dispenser).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bates and Cloutier to include the active radio-frequency identification module being configured so that the second antenna generates a magnetic field which is able to supply energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module, when the connection member is in the first configuration as taught by Leatherman with the motivation to ensure enough energy is in the nozzle to permit the communication between the nozzle and the dispenser.
Bates, Leatherman, and Cloutier do not teach:
A filling station for filling a vehicle with a pressurized fluid, comprising:
- a pressurized fluid source;
- a fluid transfer pipe comprising an upstream end connected to the pressurized fluid source and a downstream end.
Boisen teaches hydrogen fueling and electric charging comprising:
A filling station (206, Figure 2A) for filling a vehicle (202, Figure 2A) with a pressurized fluid (Paragraph [0028], the pressurized fluid is hydrogen), comprising:
- a pressurized fluid source (260, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bates, Leatherman, and Cloutier to include a filling station and a pressurized fluid source as taught by Boisen with the motivation to fuel a hydrogen vehicle to reduce pollution that may impact the environment.
Regarding Claim 2:
Bates discloses:
A first antenna (38, Figure 1) and a second antenna (36, Figure 1)
Bates and Boisen do not teach:
the active radio-frequency identification module being configured to make a magnetic coupling between the first antenna and the second antenna, when the connection member is in the first configuration.
Cloutier teaches:
the active radio-frequency identification module (7 and 3, Figure 1) being configured to make a coupling between the first antenna (6, Figure 1) and the second antenna (7, Figure 1), when the connection member is in the first configuration (Paragraph [0054]).
Bates, Cloutier, and Boisen do not teach:
the active radio-frequency identification module being configured to make a magnetic coupling between the first antenna and the second antenna, when the connection member is in the first configuration.
Leatherman teaches:
the active radio-frequency identification module (50, Figure 3) being configured to make a magnetic coupling between the first antenna and the second antenna, when the connection member is in the first configuration (Column 6, Lines 48-53, the electromagnetic coupling occurs between the first antenna (102) and the second antenna (82)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bates, Boisen, and Cloutier to include the active radio-frequency identification module being configured to make a magnetic coupling between the first antenna and the second antenna, when the connection member is in the first configuration as taught by Leatherman with the motivation to allow for power transmission between different circuits.
Regarding Claim 5:
Bates discloses:
The control unit (68, Figure 1).
Bates and Boisen do not teach:
the control unit being configured to control the active radio-frequency identification module so that the active radio- frequency identification module:
- detects the presence of the passive radio-frequency identification module when the connection member is in the first configuration;
- exchanges data with the passive radio-frequency identification module when the connection member is in the first configuration.
Cloutier teaches:
the control unit (2, Figure 1) being configured to control the active radio frequency identification module (7 and 3, Figure 1) so that the active radio-frequency identification module:
detects the presence of the passive radio-frequency module when the connection member is in the first configuration (Paragraph [0054]).
Bates, Cloutier, and Boisen do not teach:
- exchanges data with the passive radio-frequency identification module when the connection member is in the first configuration.
Leatherman teaches:
Exchanges data with the passive radio-frequency identification module (Column 10, Lines 4-11, the data is exchanged to the passive radio-frequency identification module (82)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bates, Boisen, and Cloutier to include exchanges data with the passive radio-frequency identification module as taught by Leatherman with the motivation to control the components within the dispenser based on the information of the vehicle.
Through the combination of Bates, Cloutier, Boisen, and Leatherman, the control unit of Bates controls the active radio-frequency identification module when in the first configuration as seen in Cloutier where it can exchange information as seen in Leatherman.
Regarding Claim 6:
Bates discloses:
a first communication interface (34, Figure 1, the interrogator is the first communication interface), the control unit (68, Figure 1) being configured to:
- generate or receive via the first communication interface, or receive from the passive radio-frequency identification module via the active radio- frequency identification module, at least one first datum, the first datum notably being single-use (Column 8, Lines 5-11, the first datum is the account number that is received from the first communication interface); and
- receive authorization to fill the tank, via the first communication interface, prior to the order to fill with fluid (Column 7, Lines 45-47 and Column 8, Lines 10-12, authorization is transferred by the first communication interface based on the proximity sensor).
Bates and Boisen do not teach:
- control the active radio-frequency identification module so that the active radio-frequency identification module exchanges at least one second datum with the passive radio-frequency identification module, the connection member being in the first configuration, the active radio-frequency identification module supplying energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module.
Cloutier teaches:
the connection member (4, Figure 1) being in the first configuration (Paragraph [0054], it is located in the boot), the active radio-frequency identification module (3 and 7, Figure 1) supplying energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module (Paragraph [0054], the energy is supplied to the passive radio-frequency identification module).
Bates, Cloutier, and Boisen do not teach:
- control the active radio-frequency identification module so that the active radio-frequency identification module exchanges at least one second datum with the passive radio-frequency identification module.
Leatherman teaches:
- control the active radio-frequency identification module (50, Figure 3) so that the active radio-frequency identification module (50, Figure 3) exchanges at least one second datum (Column 6, Lines 61-64, the second datum is the volumetric flow data) with the passive radio-frequency identification module (92, Figure 3) and the active radio-frequency identification module supplying energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module (Column 6, Lines 48-53).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bates, Boisen, and Cloutier to include control the active radio-frequency identification module so that the active radio-frequency identification module exchanges at least one second datum with the passive radio-frequency identification module and the radio-frequency identification module supplying energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module as taught by Leatherman with the motivation to control the components within the dispenser based on the information of the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 8:
Bates, Cloutier, Leatherman and Boisen teach the filling station according to claim 1.
Bates discloses an apparatus (Figure 1, the apparatus is the vehicle (12) and the management system (10)), comprising:
the vehicle (12, Figure 1) comprising:
an inlet (40, Figure 1) of a pressurized fluid tank (42, Figure 1) to be filled,
the inlet (40, Figure 1) of the pressurized fluid tank (42, Figure 1) comprising a second active radio-frequency identification module (46, Figure 1, the vehicle module is the second active radio-frequency identification module) comprising a third antenna (44, Figure 1),
the connection member (32, Figure 1) being configured to be in a third configuration, in which it is connected to the inlet of the pressurized fluid tank (Figure 1, the connection member is in its third configuration), the second active radio-frequency identification module (46, Figure 1) being configured so that the third antenna generates a magnetic field which is able to supply energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module, when the connection member is in the third configuration (Column 5, Lines 56-67, the third antenna is magnetically coupled to the passive radio-frequency identification module).
Bates, Cloutier, and Leatherman do not explicitly teach:
A pressurized fluid tank.
Boisen teaches:
A pressurized fluid tank (257-1, Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bates, Leatherman, and Cloutier to include a pressurized fluid tank by Boisen with the motivation to have a vehicle that does not produce gas emissions that can harm the environment.
Regarding Claim 10:
Bates discloses:
the vehicle (12, Figure 1) comprising a second control unit configured to control the second active radio-frequency identification module so that the second active radio-frequency identification module (Column 6, Lines 37-43, the vehicle module (46) is both the second control unit and the active radio-frequency identification module):
- detects the presence of the passive radio-frequency identification module (38, Figure 1) when the connection member is in the third configuration (Column 6, Lines 67-40);
- exchanges data with the passive radio-frequency identification module, the connection member being in the third configuration (Column 6, Lines 40-43, data including identification code is transmitted from the passive radio-frequency identification module), the second radio- frequency identification module supplying energy to the passive radio- frequency identification module (Column 5, Lines 59-60).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bates in view of Cloutier in further view of Leatherman, Boisen, and Lee (US 20160178126 A1).
Regarding Claim 7:
Bates discloses:
The connection member (32, Figure 1) being configured to be connected to an inlet (40, Figure 1) of a pressurized gas tank (42, Figure 1) to be filled.
Bates, Cloutier, Leatherman, and Boisen do not teach:
The connection member being configured to be connected in a sealed fashion to an inlet of a pressurized gas tank to be filled.
Lee teaches a fuel gas tank filling system, comprising:
The connection member (10, Figure 1) being configured to be connected in a sealed fashion to an inlet of a pressurized gas tank to be filled (Paragraph [0033], the fill pipe is attached to the storage tank (11) with the inlet (14) where it is sealed when engaged).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bates, Boisen, Leatherman, and Cloutier to include the connection member being configured to be connected in a sealed fashion to an inlet of a pressurized gas tank to be filled as taught by Lee with the motivation to prevent the operator from potential harm if a leak of the fuel were to occur.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bates (US 6085805 A) in view of Cloutier (EP 4086222 A1) in further view of Leatherman (US 6571151 B1), Boisen (US 20200346554 A1), and Lee (US 20160178126 A1).
Regarding Claim 11:
Bates discloses a filling station (10, Figure 1, the system is the filling station), comprising:
- a fluid source (17, Figure 1);
- a fluid transfer pipe (22, Figure 1, the fluid transfer pipe is the dispenser conduit) comprising an upstream end (26, Figure 1) connected to the fluid source (17, Figure 1) and a downstream end (28, Figure 1);
- a connection member (32, Figure 1, the nozzle is the connection member) connected to the downstream end (28, Figure 1);
- a control unit (68, Figure 1) configured to order filling with fluid (Column 8, Lines 3-5, the control unit controls the pumps for filling);
- a housing (14, Figure 1, the fuel management system is the housing), the housing being stationary (Figure 1, the housing is stationary);
- a first communication interface (34, Figure 1, the interrogator is the first communication interface);
- the connection member (32, Figure 1) comprising a passive radio-frequency identification module comprising a first antenna (Column 5, Lines 55-60, the transponder (38) is the first antenna that is passive), the housing (14, Figure 1) comprising a second antenna (36, Figure 1);
the apparatus (Figure 1, the apparatus is the vehicle (12) and the management system (10)) comprising a vehicle (12, Figure 1) comprising an inlet (40, Figure 1) of a pressurized fluid tank (42, Figure 1) to be filled, the inlet (40, Figure 1) of the pressurized fluid tank (42, Figure 1) comprising a second active radio-frequency identification module (46, Figure 1, the vehicle module is the second active radio-frequency identification module) comprising a third antenna (44, Figure 1), the connection member (32, Figure 1) being configured to be in a third configuration, in which it is connected to the inlet of the pressurized fluid tank (Figure 1, the connection member is in its third configuration), the second active radio-frequency identification module (46, Figure 1) being configured so that the third antenna generates a magnetic field which is able to supply energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module, when the connection member is in the third configuration (Column 5, Lines 56-67, the third antenna is magnetically coupled to the passive radio-frequency identification module) , the method comprising the steps of:
a) generating at least one first datum, the first datum being single-use, the first datum being received by the first communication interface or generated by the control unit or generated by the passive radio-frequency identification module (Column 8, Lines 5-11, the first datum is the account number that is received from the first communication interface);
c) exchanging at least one third datum between the second active radio-frequency identification module and the passive radio- frequency identification module, the connection member being in the third configuration (Column 6, Lines 40-43, data including identification code is transmitted from the passive radio-frequency identification module), the second active radio-frequency identification module supplying energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module (Column 5, Lines 59-60); and
d) receiving authorization to fill the tank via the first communication interface (Column 7, Lines 45-47 and Column 8, Lines 10-12, authorization is transferred by the first communication interface based on the proximity sensor).
Bates does not disclose:
A method for safely filling a pressurized fluid tank using an apparatus comprising a filling station for filling a pressurized fluid tank comprising:
- a pressurized fluid source;
- a fluid transfer pipe comprising an upstream end connected to the pressurized fluid source and a downstream end;
- a housing for receiving the connection member, the housing being stationary, the housing and the connection member being configured to make the connection member removable from the housing, the connection member being configured to be in a first configuration, in which it is received by the housing, and to be in a second configuration, in which it is outside the housing;
- the connection member comprising a passive radio-frequency identification module comprising a first antenna, the housing comprising an active radio-frequency identification module comprising a second antenna, the active radio-frequency identification module being configured so that the second antenna generates a magnetic field which is able to supply energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module, when the connection member is in the first configuration;
the connection member being configured to be in a third configuration, in which it is connected in a removable and sealed fashion, the method comprising the steps of:
b) exchanging at least one second datum between the active radio-frequency identification module and the passive radio-frequency identification module, the connection member being in the first configuration, the active radio-frequency identification module supplying energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module.
Cloutier teaches a fuel dispenser, comprising:
- a housing (1, Figure 1, the fuel dispenser is the housing) for receiving the connection member (4, Figure 1, the fuel nozzles are the connection member), the housing being stationary, the housing (1, Figure 1) and the connection member (4, Figure 1) being configured to make the connection member removable from the housing (Paragraph [0065]), the connection member being configured to be in a first configuration, in which it is received by the housing (Paragraph [0044], the idle position is the first configuration), and to be in a second configuration, in which it is outside the housing (Paragraph [0065], the second configuration is when the nozzle is removed from the dispenser);
- the connection member (4, Figure 1) comprising a passive radio-frequency identification module comprising a first antenna (Paragraph [0048], the RFID tag is the passive radio-frequency module that is an antenna), the housing (1, Figure 1) comprising an active radio-frequency identification module (Paragraph [0054], the antenna (7) and microcontroller (3) are the active radio-frequency identification module) comprising a second antenna (7, Figure 1), the active radio-frequency identification module being configured so that the second antenna generates a magnetic field which is able to supply energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module, when the connection member is in the first configuration (Paragraph [Paragraph [0054], the antenna is energized and sending radio frequency waves), the method comprising the steps of:
b) the connection member (4, Figure 1) being in the first configuration (Paragraph [0054], it is located in the boot), the active radio-frequency identification module (3 and 7, Figure 1) supplying energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module (Paragraph [0054], the energy is supplied to the passive radio-frequency identification module).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bates to include a housing for receiving the connection member, the housing being stationary, the housing and the connection member being configured to make the connection member removable from the housing, the connection member being configured to be in a first configuration, in which it is received by the housing, and to be in a second configuration, in which it is outside the housing; the connection member comprising a passive radio-frequency identification module comprising a first antenna, the housing comprising an active radio-frequency identification module comprising a second antenna, the active radio-frequency identification module being configured so that the second antenna generates a magnetic field which is able to supply energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module, when the connection member is in the first configuration, and the connection member being in the first configuration, the active radio-frequency identification module supplying energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module as taught by Cloutier with the motivation to read the tags to determine when to start and stop pumping of fuel to reduce the potential for spills.
Bates and Cloutier do not teach:
A method for safely filling a pressurized fluid tank using an apparatus comprising a filling station for filling a pressurized fluid tank comprising:
- a pressurized fluid source;
- a fluid transfer pipe comprising an upstream end connected to the pressurized fluid source and a downstream end;
- the active radio-frequency identification module being configured so that the second antenna generates a magnetic field which is able to supply energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module, when the connection member is in the first configuration;
the connection member being configured to be in a third configuration, in which it is connected in a removable and sealed fashion, the method comprising the steps of:
b) exchanging at least one second datum between the active radio-frequency identification module and the passive radio-frequency identification module, the connection member being in the first configuration, the active radio-frequency identification module supplying energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module.
Leatherman teaches a fuel dispenser, comprising:
- the active radio-frequency identification module (50, Figure 3, the communications electronics are the active-radio frequency identification module) being configured so that the second antenna (82, Figure 3) generates a magnetic field which is able to supply energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module (92, Figure 3, , the communications electronics are the passive-radio frequency identification module), when the connection member is in the first configuration (Column 6, Lines 48-53, the electromagnetic coupling occurs between the nozzle and the dispenser) , the method comprising the steps of:
b) exchanging at least one second datum (Column 6, Lines 61-64, the second datum is the volumetric flow data) between the active radio-frequency identification module (50, Figure 3) and the passive radio-frequency identification module (92, Figure 3) and the active radio-frequency identification module supplying energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module (Column 6, Lines 48-53).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bates and Cloutier to include the active radio-frequency identification module being configured so that the second antenna generates a magnetic field which is able to supply energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module, when the connection member is in the first configuration, and exchanging at least one second datum between the active radio-frequency identification module and the passive radio-frequency identification module and the active radio-frequency identification module supplying energy to the passive radio-frequency identification module as taught by Leatherman with the motivation to ensure enough energy is in the nozzle to permit the communication between the nozzle and the dispenser.
Bates, Leatherman, and Cloutier do not teach:
A method for safely filling a pressurized fluid tank using an apparatus comprising a filling station for filling a pressurized fluid tank comprising:
- a pressurized fluid source;
- a fluid transfer pipe comprising an upstream end connected to the pressurized fluid source and a downstream end;
the connection member being configured to be in a third configuration, in which it is connected in a removable and sealed fashion.
Boisen teaches hydrogen fueling and electric charging comprising:
A method for safely filling a pressurized fluid tank (Paragraph [0028], the pressurized fluid is hydrogen) using an apparatus comprising a filling station (206, Figure 2A) for filling a pressurized fluid tank (257-1, Figure 2) comprising:
- a pressurized fluid source (260, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bates, Leatherman, and Cloutier to include method for safely filling a pressurized fluid tank using an apparatus comprising a filling station for filling a pressurized fluid tank and a pressurized fluid source as taught by Boisen with the motivation to fuel a hydrogen vehicle to reduce pollution that may impact the environment.
Bates, Leatherman, Boisen, and Cloutier do not teach:
the connection member being configured to be in a third configuration, in which it is connected in a removable and sealed fashion.
Lee teaches a fuel gas tank filling system, comprising:
the connection member (10, Figure 1) being configured to be in a third configuration, in which it is connected in a removable and sealed fashion (Paragraph [0033], the fill pipe is attached to the storage tank (11) with the inlet (14) where it is sealed when engaged in the third configuration).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bates, Boisen, Leatherman, and Cloutier to include the connection member being configured to be in a third configuration, in which it is connected in a removable and sealed fashion as taught by Lee with the motivation to prevent the operator from potential harm if a leak of the fuel were to occur.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seymour (US 8924037 B2) teaches a fuel-fill area data port comprising a first antenna, a second antenna, a passive radio-frequency identification module, an active radio-frequency identification module, and a nozzle.
DeLine (US 20090048707 A1) teaches a fuel dispenser comprising a nozzle, a first antenna, and a second antenna.
Weitzhandler (US 20110100507 A1) teaches an apparatus for dispensing fuel comprising a vehicle, a dispenser, a nozzle, a passive radio-frequency identification module, an active radio-frequency identification module, and a controller.
Braden (US 9650235 B2) teaches an apparatus for transferring data between dispenser and vehicle comprising a passive radio-frequency identification module, an active radio-frequency identification module, a nozzle, a hose, a vehicle tank, and a tank inlet.
Leigh (US 20070250452 A1) teaches an apparatus for automotive data control comprising a dispener, a passive radio-frequency identification module, an active radio-frequency identification module, a nozzle, a hose, a vehicle tank, and a tank inlet.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHANIE A SHRIEVES/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753